Other formats

    TEI XML file   ePub eBook file  


    mail icontwitter iconBlogspot iconrss icon

Settler Kaponga 1881–1914 — A Frontier Fragment of the Western World

Road Board and County Councils

Road Board and County Councils

As with most of our local bodies, those of South Taranaki have yet to enjoy the ‘luxury’ of resources for the preservation, secure storage and professional arrangement of archives. These notes on Kaponga District local body membership are therefore the best that can be put together from our newspaper and directory searches. For its first quarter century the Kaponga District's main local body concern was to get a fair deal from the Waimate Road Board, which came into existence on 18 May 1883. Kapongas first storekeeper did noble service in the early years. When he resigned-Kaponga briefly lost any representation—the board's district was not divided into ridings, and in the by-election Kaponga's E.J. Ellerm lost out to a candidate from elsewhere. However Ellerm succeeded at the next election, there being only five nominations for the five vacancies.

(1) Kaponga residents elected to the Waimate Road Board
Membership dates
Henry Whitworth Davy May 1885-July 1887
Edward John Ellerm May 1888-c. 1891
W.A. McCutchan c.1891–?
Coxhead (Arthur?) May 1894–?
F.W. Wilkie c.1896-April 1904
Robert Gibson June 1904–April 1905
William Swadling June 1904-c.1905
Maurice Fitzgerald May 1905–1906
page 357
(2) Kaponga residents elected to the Hawera County Council
Membership dates
E.J. Ellerm c.1890-Dec. 1892
F.W. Wilkie c.1897-c.1900
(3) Kaponga residents elected to Kaponga Riding of the Eltham County Council (Eltham County formed 1906)
Membership dates
William Swadling 1906-June 1912 (death)
Maurice Fitzgerald 1906–09
William O'Neill 1909–14
A. Voullaire 1909–11
David Black 1912–?1917