Other formats

    Adobe Portable Document Format file (facsimile images)   TEI XML file   ePub eBook file  


    mail icontwitter iconBlogspot iconrss icon

The Spike or Victoria University College Review 1948

Political Science Society

Political Science Society

The Political Science Society's first year was marked by success in all activities undertaken. In addition to Messrs McHenry, Theiler, Davies, and McCombs, whose speeches were reported in last year's Spike, the Society sponsored Mr. Witten-Hannah—'The Position of the Maori People'; and Mr. R. M. Algie, M.P.—'The National Party'.

The average attendance at the 1947 meetings was 50. We feel that such interest proves the necessity of our existence, and we look to the future confident that the Society has already achieved a high place in College life.

Our thanks are due to Mr. T. Smith for facilitating the successful publication of the C.P.I. notes on France, and to Mrs. Castles for typing the stencils for these.

Last year we stated that we desired the establishment of Departmental Committees in the College; the encouragement of similar Departmental Societies; the publication of a journal; and an Honours stage in the Department.

Though we have not achieved the first of these, we are grateful to the Staff of the Department for their valuable co-operation in our activities. We wish every success to other Departmental Societies formed last year. If a few more 2000-5000 word articles come to hand in the near future, the journal will be published this year. We also hope that, with the appointment of Professor Parker, an Honours stage will soon be established.

In 1948 we hope to expand our activities on the basis formed last year. We feel that, in providing facilities for the scientific discussion of political problems, we are rendering a service to the community by educating the future citizen to exercise his political power in a wise manner.


Patrons: Mr. E. Theiler (Consul for Switzerland), Professor Parker, Mr. K. J. Scott. President: Mr. B. C. Lumsden. Vice-President: Mr. B. M. O'Connor. Secretary-Treasurer: Mr. M. J. O'Brien. Committee: Miss Aileen Casey, Mr. A. T. Howarth, Mr. T. Qualter.