Other formats

    Adobe Portable Document Format file (facsimile images)   TEI XML file   ePub eBook file  


    mail icontwitter iconBlogspot iconrss icon

The Spike or Victoria University College Review 1943

Sports Clubs — Cricket Club

Sports Clubs

Cricket Club.

This benevolent institution provided a temporary resting place for many a transient cricketer claiming senior status in his own home town be it Auckland or Owhango. To accommodate these stalwarts various seniors retired gracefully to the seconds and consequently several seconds retired to the sidelines, the only difference being the marked lack of grace. In the words of the poet, they "made sweet moan" but what-the-hell, who are the seconds anyway? It is not uncommon for cricket clubs to be run so as to ensure that the senior team wins as many matches as possible while the other club members merely pay their subscriptions in order to aid and abet this laudable objective. It was indeed unfortunate for Varsity that the seniors caddishly failed to co-operate by carrying out their allotted task.

Anyone who, like the writer, has ever had the task of selecting Varsity cricket teams can sympathise with a committee which succumbs to the temptation complained of here, especially during the long vacation, but there are limits and last season they were certainly ignored.

There were only two teams fielded last season but they partly compensated for this by being stronger than the previous season. The seniors had an impressive batting string which nonetheless performed rather erratically until near the end of the season. By far the most consistent were Gilbert Stringer and Bernie Paetz who put up some excellent performances including a century by Stringer. The less said about the bowling the better. By contrast the seconds were relatively stronger in bowling with the two Moores and the speed merchants Brian and Anderson. Captained by the wily Henry Moore this team at one stage won five games in a row and finished well up in its grade championship.

The Hain Trophy for fielding was won by Bob Vance.