Other formats

    Adobe Portable Document Format file (facsimile images)   TEI XML file   ePub eBook file  


    mail icontwitter iconBlogspot iconrss icon

The Spike: or, Victoria College Review, 1939

Harrier Club

page 65

Harrier Club

With the close of the eighth season of its existence the Harrier Club feels assured that although it was not very successful in open competition this year, there is no need for any fears for its future. With a membership larger than for some years, ranging from those who felt the exhilarating feeling of splashing through the Silverstream for the first time to others who knew every hill and valley around Wellington, there was also evident a great keenness and esprit de corps which inspired every man to do his bit for the good of his Club and the name of Victoria.

No matter how old a harrier may be he is never too old to enjoy an invitation run, and once more this year from the President to the youngest junior we all enjoyed many a tasty afternoon tea in a cosy home, where, between sups of tea and munching of choice tit-bits, conversation of young members was commingled with the voices of old timers as they fraternised freely and each man was able to make friends with each of his club mates and Club supporters.

The usual Club races were held during the season, but were more keenly contested than last year. The first race, the Novice, was won by Newall, with Northey second and O'Flynn third. Newall was also first home in the Sherwood Cup handicap race, with Scrymgeour second and Northey third, while C. G. Wilson won the handicap and the Cup. In the 6¼-mile race, being the second for the Club Championship, Scrymgeour won from Newall, Burge being third. A sealed handicap held in conjunction with this race was won by Henderson. At the time of writing the Endeavour Cup race, which is also the deciding race for the Championship, is yet to be run. The Cup, awarded on a sealed handicap basis, was won last year by de la Mare. The Cairns Cup, presented last season for the most improved runner, was won by O'Flynn. This year's winner is not yet known.

Again the Club had a lean time in inter-club events, having to be satisfied with seventh place in the Dorne Cup and seventh in the provincial championships, Newall and Scrymgeour gaining ninth and tenth places respectively in the former race, while Scrymgeour was ninth in the latter. In the new junior provincial championship race, our team performed creditably and some promising runners were in evidence.

Despite strenuous training the team that travelled to Auckland to compete for the Dixon trophy was no match for the opposition, and filled third place. The team was composed of Scrymgeour (captain), Newall, O'Flynn, Farquhar, de la Mare and Henderson.

In the Vosseler Shield race, run the week after the N.Z.U.C.C.C., we were unable to field a team, but Scrymgeour secured eighth place.

We again wish to express our appreciation of the generosity and interest of our many good friends without whom the Club could never aspire to the true ideals of friendliness and good sportsmanship. Nor must we forget Mr. G. C. Sherwood, who has once again this year enthusiastically and unselfishly given of his time to the Club as coach and adviser and has also made his home available to us for two invitation runs.