Other formats

    Adobe Portable Document Format file (facsimile images)   TEI XML file   ePub eBook file  


    mail icontwitter iconBlogspot iconrss icon

The Spike: or, Victoria College Review, 1939

Dramatic Club

Dramatic Club

Without a doubt 1939 has been one of the Society's most successful years in recent times. Attendances at debates have been uniformly high and it has been gratifying to notice the number of students—particularly freshers—who have contributed to the discussions. The fact that the debates organised have been mainly on subjects of vital social and political interest has probably accounted for the frequent necessity for extending the time allotted collectively to speakers from the floor.

The Society's outstanding function of the year was the Visitors' Debate held in the Gymnasium on the 14th July on the question of whether the Labour Government merits the continued confidence of the country. More people than could be wedged into the hall came to hear Dr. McMillan. M.P., say that it does, and Mr. S. G. Holland, M.P., that it does not. On this occasion both the judge, Mr. W. P. Rollings, and the chairman, Mr. D. M. Hatherly, took the opportunity of stressing the urgent need for a new Students' Association building.

The Joynt Scroll Contest was held in Dunedin this year and our representatives, Messrs. R. W. Edgely and R. L. Meek, brought the Scroll back with them. Mr. Meek was adjudged the best of the individual speakers participating in the contest. A radio debate which was held with the C.U.C. during the year also resulted in a victory for V.U.C.

Although the attendance at the Plunket Medal Oratory Contest held in the Concert Chamber of the Town Hall on 29th July was not large, the judges were able to compliment the nine speakers who took part upon the standard of the addresses delivered by them. The Medal was won by Mr. O'Connor with Mr. Meek a close second.

Mr. J. B. Aimers, last year's chairman of the Society' this year toured Australia as a member of a debating team of two sent across the Tasman by the N.Z.U.S.A.

The Union Prize for the speaker gaining the most points in debates held during any year was won last year by Mr. E. K. Braybrook. Mr. W. Wah was runner-up. The prize awarded last year to the winner of the New Speakers' Contest went to Mr. B. M. O'Connor.