Other formats

    Adobe Portable Document Format file (facsimile images)   TEI XML file   ePub eBook file  


    mail icontwitter iconBlogspot iconrss icon

The Spike or Victoria College Review June 1914

College Officers

page break

College Officers.

Students' Association.

Patron: Professor Adamson. President: G. G. G. Watson.

Vice-Presidents: Miss F. W. Cooke, G. S. Strack.

Secretary- R. V. Kay.

Treasurers: Miss D. Gavin, A. W. Watters.

Committee: Misses E. R. Davies, F. L. Ross and M. Richmead:

Messrs. W. H. Stainton, R. M. Bruce, W. F. Hogg and

F. T. Clere.

Auditor: P. Verschaffelt.

Tournament Delegates: J: C. McDowall and C. H. E. Strack.

Graduates' Association.

President: S. Eichelbaum, M.A., LL.B.

Treasurer: G. G. G. Watson, M.A., LL.B.

Secretary: C. J. Cooke, B.A.

Committee: Misses M. E. Hales, M.A., and E. Watson, M.A., and Messrs. H. E. Evans, B.A., LL.M., and P. B.

Broad, LL.B. Auditor: G. F. Dixon.

Debating Society.

Patron: His Excellency the Governor.

President: Professor Easterfield.

Vice-Presidents: G. G. G. Watson, M.A., LL.B. (Chairman), and P. H. Broad, LL.B. (Vice-Chairman).

Hon. Secretary: A. H. Sievwright.

Hon. Treasurer: L. A. Rogers.

Committee: Misses M. E. Pumphrey and E. North, and

W. F. Hogg and J. Byrne.

Auditor: A. E. Caddick, M.A.

Women's Debating Society.

Chairwoman: Miss North.

Vice-Chairwoman: Miss Hueston.

Secretary and Treasurer: Miss Richmond.

Committee: Misses Tolley, Taylor, and Pumphrey

Glee Club.

Hon. Conductor and Chairman: W. H. Stainton.

Deputy-Conductor: Miss Clachan.

Hon. Secretary: C. G. Turner. Hon. Treasurer: C. W. Batten.

Hon. Librarian: Miss Edwards.

Committee: Miss Cathie and F. T. Clere.

Hon. Auditor: J. C. McDowall.

page break

Ladies' Hockey Club.

Captain: Miss J. Dobbyn. Secretary and Treasurer: Miss E. McAuliffe.

Committee: Misses D. Hurreil, K. Jamieson, and M. Neumann.

Cricket Club.

Club Captain: S. W. Dempsey. Hon. Secretary: A. E. Caddick. Hon. Treasurer: A. W. Duncan. Committee: P. B. Broad, J. Fanning, A. Miller, and G. Howe.

Auditor: V. B. Willis.

Tennis Club.

President: Professor Easterfield.

Vice-President: W. J. Robertson.

Hon. Secretary: F. T. Clere. Hon. Treasurer: G. H. Seddon.

Committee: Misses F. Cooke, G. M. Lawry and M. Sievwright;

Messrs. G. M. Cleghorn, H. H. Daniell and A. Hudson.

Football Club.

Patron: Chairman of the Professorial Board. President: Professor Hunter.

Vice-Presidents: Messrs. H. H. Ostler, H. F. O'Leary, A. Curtayne, G. V. Bogle, F. A. de la Mare, and I. Davey.

Club Captain: P. J. Ryan.

Deputy Club Captain: A. S. Faire.

Hon. Secretary: D. A. Harle. Hon. Treasurer: A. East.

Hon. Auditor: P. B. Broad.

Non-Player on Committee: W. J. Melody.

Delegates to W.R.U.: Messrs. Ryan, Faire and Perry.

Athletic Club.

President: Professor Picken.

Club Captain: C. Strack.

Hon. Secretary: A. Hudson. Hon. Treasurer: H. Williams.

Committee: A. East, A. B. Sievwright, and the above. Delegate to Wellington Centre N.Z.A.A.A.: A. T. Duncan.

Boxing Club.

President: J. D. Brosnan.

Chairman: D. R. Hoggard. Vice-Chairman: E. Stewart.

Secretary: A. Hudson. Treasurer: L. A. Rogers.

Committee: H. Buckley, A. F. Meldrum, J. George, and the above.

Auditor: G. H. Seddon.

page break

Hockey Club.

Club Captain: F. G. Gaze.

Hon. Secretary: D. C. Bowler.

Hon. Treasurer: E. Fitzgerald-Eager.

Committee: C. H. E. Strack, E. Rountree, B. J. Hawkins, and the above.

Hon. Auditor: G. Strack.

Delegates: F. G. Gaze and C. H. E. Strack.

Christian Union.

President: G. S. Strack.

Women's Vice-President: Miss W. A. Cathie.

Men's Vice-President: A. F. D. East.

Women's Corresponding Secretary: Miss L. Chapman.

Men's Corresponding Secretary: K. Ross.

Women's Hon. Treasurer: Miss F. Hind.

Men's Hon. Treasurer: E. Rountree.

Recording Secretary: Miss J. Park.

Hon. Auditor: H. E. Evans.

Heretics' Club.

Patron: Sir Robt. Stout.

President: Professor von Zedlitz.

Vice-Presidents: Professors Laby and McKenzie, and Messrs. F. A. de la Mare, G. H. Nicholls, and C. H. Taylor.

Chairman: Professor Hunter.

Vice-Chairman: Mr. C. J. Cooke.

Hon. Secretary and Treasurer: H. M. Ewart.

Committee: Misses Richmond and Hueston; L. P. Leary and G. M. Cleghorn.


Editor: A. E. Caddick, M.A.

Sub-Editor: P. B. Broad, LL.B.

Financial Secretary: H. M. Ewart.