Other formats

    Adobe Portable Document Format file (facsimile images)   TEI XML file   ePub eBook file  


    mail icontwitter iconBlogspot iconrss icon

The Spike or Victoria University College Review

College Officers

page break

College Officers

Students' Association

Patron: Professor Hunter. President: J. L. Short.

Vice-Presidents: Miss G. Saxon and G. H. Nicholls.

Secretary: F G Hall-Jones.

Treasurers: Miss M. L. Nicholls and F. L. G. West.

Committee: Misses Jenkins, Houghton, and Tennant, Messrs. Broad,

Burbidge, McDowall and Wright.

Auditor: G. W. Reid.

Tournament Delegates: T. Rigg .G S. Struck.

Graduates' Association.

President: Mr. S. Eichelbaum.

Secretary and Treasurer: Miss M. E. Hales.

Committee: Miss Tennant. Messrs. H. H. Ostler, H. E. Evans, and G. Reid.

Auditor: Mr. G. F. Dixon.

Debating Society.

Patron: His Excellency the Governor.

President: Professor Garrow.

Vice-Presidents: M. H. Oram (Chairman) and A Fair (Vice-Chairman).

Secretary: F. G. Hall-Jones. Treasurer: G. W. Morice

Committee: Misses Currie and Nicholls, Messrs. G. G. Watson, A. E.

Caddick and J. L. Short.

Women's Branch.

President: Mrs. McPhail.

Chairwoman: Miss A. E. Currie.

Vice-Chairwoman: Miss M. L. Nicholls.

Secretary: Miss D. B. Hursthouse.

Committee: Misses Jenkins, Lawry, and Isaac.

Tennis Club.

President: Professor T. H. Laby. Vice-President: A. Fair.

Secretary: J. C. McDowall. Treasurer: G. M. Cleghorn.

Committee: Misses J. Scott, G. Saxon and Atkinson, Messrs. S.

Eichelbaum, N. Mansfield, and E. Wright.

page break

Men's Hockey Club.

Club Captain: C. Strack. Secretary: P. Burbidgé.

Treasurer: G. Morice.

Committee: G. Strack, T. Rigg, and J. McDowall.

Ladles' Hockey Club.

President: Mrs. Adamson.

Vice-Presidents: Mesdames Kirk, Brown, Easterfield, Von Zedlitz, Mackenzie, Hunter, Gray and Wilson.

Club Captain: Miss B. Bisset.

Secretary and Treasurer: Miss W. A. Cathie.

Committee: Misses McKenzie. Shepherd, Sievwright.

Cricket Club.

Club Captain. S. Dempsey. Secretary: P Burbidge.

Treasurer: P. Broad. Committee: A. E. Caddick and J. H. Griffiths.

Football Club.

Patron and President: Professor T. A. Hunter.

Vice-Presidents: Remaining members of Professorial Board, R. McCallum. Esq., and Dr. Hunter.

Club Captain: A. Curtayne. Deputy Club Captain: J. D. Brosman.

Secretary: A. E. Dobbie. Treasurer: H. Fathers

Committee: J. Ryan, W. J. Robertson. W. Rountree, and officers.

Auditor: J. L. Short.

Delegates to W.R.F.U.: Professor T. A. Hunter, W. Perry, and J. L. Short.

Amateur Athletic Club.

President: Professor Kirk.

Vice-Presidents: The Professorial Board and Messrs. J. P. Firth. E. D. Bell, and L. Paul.

Club Captain: J. L. Short. Secretary: T. Rigg.

Treasurer: G. S. Strack. Committee: C. Strack, A. T. Duncan.

Delegate to Wellington Centre N.Z.A.A.A.: J. L. Short.

Auditor: A. H. Bogle.

Glee Club.

Conductor: G. Reid. Deputy Conductor: Miss Clachan.

Secretary: B. Egley. Treasurer: W. F. Hogg.

Librarian: J. McDowall.

page break

Men's Common Room Club.

Patron: Professor Hunter. President: J. Thompson.

Vice-Presidents: G. H. Nicholls, A. Pair. Secretary: W. Robertson.

Treasurer: P. L. G. West.

Committee: P. B. Broad, A. E. Dobbie, F. Hall-Jones, E. G. Wright.

Christian Union.

President: G. W. Morice.

Vice-Presidents: Miss H. Jenkins and J. C. McDowall.

Corresponding Secretaries: Miss O. Haddrell and P. Burbidge.

Treasurers; Miss K. Houghton and T. Rigg.

Recording Secretary: Miss I. Edwards.

Swimming Club.

President: Professor D. K. Picken.

Vice-Presidents: Professors Adamson, Easterfield, Hunter, Laby, Kirk, von Zedlitz, Messrs. C. A. Cotton, L. W. Ludwig and F. P. Wilson.

Captain: T. Ronayne. Secretary: G. H. Nicholls.

Committee: C. Aston and F. Kelly.

Delegates to Wellington Centre: G. H. Nicholls and T. Ronayne.

Auditor: F. A. Wilson.

Boxing Club.

President: Professor Hunter.

Vice-Presidents: Professors Picken and Laby, Dr. Napier McLean,

Messrs. Beauchamp, Platts, E. D. Bell, Bridge, F. M. B. Fisher,

H. H. Ostler, J. P. Firth, A. L. D. Herdman.

Chairman: J. T. Brosnan. Vice-Chairman: D. K. Hoggard.

Secretary: F. Hall-Jones. Treasurer: C. Freyburg.

Committee: Messrs. Grey, Jackson and W. J. Robertson.

Auditor: G. H. Nicholls.

Physical and Chemical Society.

President: B. C. Aston.

Vice-Presidents: Professors Laby and Easterfield.

Secretary and Treasurer: J. C. McDowall.

Council: Miss Taylor, Messrs. Burbidge, Donovan and Robertson.


Editor: C. H. Taylor.

Sub-Editors: Miss M. Nicholls, Messrs. G. H. Nicholls and G. M. Cleghorn.

Financial Secretary: J. McDowall.

Assistant Secretary: G. H. Robertson.