Other formats

Adobe Portable Document Format file (facsimile images)   TEI XML file   ePub eBook file  

Connect

mail icontwitter iconBlogspot iconrss icon

The Pamphlet Collection of Sir Robert Stout: Volume 31

Copies of Testimonials In Support of The Candidature of Millen Coughtrey

page break

Copies of Testimonials

Printed at "Evening Star" Office Dunedin Dunedin.

March, 1874.
page break
page break

To the Honourable the Chancellor of the University of Otago.

Dunedin, N. Z.,

Sir,

I beg respectfully to offer myself as a Candidate for the Chair of Anatomy and Physiology in your University, and I have the honour to submit for your consideration the following evidence of my fitness for the office to which 1 aspire:—

I am a Graduate with honours in Medicine and Surgery, of the University of Edinburgh, at which school I received my medical education.

Prior to and subsequent to graduation my attention has been devoted almost entirely to the study of Anatomy and Physiology.

I received a careful training in the various methods of pursuing anatomical research under the superintendence of the Professor of Anatomy in Edinburgh, for whom I did much work in Comparative and Human Anatomy, both in relation to Physiology and Pathology.

I have bad considerable experience in public and private teaching of the above subjects, both in Edinburgh University and in the Liverpool Schools of Medicine and Science.

Should I have the honour of being elected to the Professorship, it shall be my sole aim to forward the interests of the University and its Students to the best of my ability.

I have the honour to be, Your obedient servant,

Millen Coughtrey.

page 4
A.—The following is a list of the chief appointments I have held:—

Junior Demonstrator of Anatomy in the University of Edinburgh. Session 1871—72.

(On my resigning the above office, the Students presented me with a Testimonial, which I have at the present time in New Zealand.)