Other formats

    Adobe Portable Document Format file (facsimile images)   TEI XML file   ePub eBook file  


    mail icontwitter iconBlogspot iconrss icon

Salient: Victoria University Students' Paper. Vol. 28, No. 7. 1965.

NZUSA Voting Changes

NZUSA Voting Changes

At its first plenary session NZUSA Easter Council discussed the reallocation of voting rights.

President Moriarty said that it was becoming increasingly unreal, to allot voting strengths arbitrarily and without reference to any set of principles.

Mr. Moriarty's scheme was to give each constituent association two basic votes. The remainder of the votes were to be allocated in accord with the fraction that each constituent represented of the national student population.

This resulted in Auckland receiving six votes, Waikato two, Massey three, Victoria five, Canterbury five, Lincoln two, and Otago five votes.

Both Massey and Lincoln pointed out that this could lead to three universities committing the other four universities to expenditure and courses of action they did not necessarily agree with. However, after being told that Australian experience had shown the rivalry between the big associations usually offset these tendencies, they withdrew their objections.—NZSPA.