Other formats

    Adobe Portable Document Format file (facsimile images)   TEI XML file   ePub eBook file  


    mail icontwitter iconBlogspot iconrss icon

Salient. An Organ of Student Opinion at Victoria College, Wellington, N.Z. Vol. 17, No. 8. May 27, 1953

Debating Society

Debating Society

The Debating Society has so far held two successful meetings which augur well for the success of what will be one of the most active years for some time. Plunket Medal, always a highlight of the year is set down for July while debates for Union Prize will be held fortnightly. In addition it is intended to reintroduce inter-faculty debating for the Inter-Faculty Scroll last competed for in 1931.

Joynt Scroll is being held at Auckland during Winter Tournament and with the added incentive of gaining a debating blazer this year, competition promises to be keen. In conjunction with Joynt Scroll, Bledisloe Modal will be hold. This is awarded to the best orator in a competition in which each collage of the University of New Zealand is allowed two representatives.

With debates tentatively arranged against Weir House and the Junior Chamber of Commerce the debating session for 1953 promises to be one of the most memorable in the Society's history. The standard of debating this year has been high with four Union Prizemen and three Plun-[unclear: a] Medallists [unclear: crerng] the lists but a scarcity of new speakers is evident Students are reminded of the Now Speakers Prize which is competed for by speakers who have not spoken at debates of the Society during any previous year. Contenders for this year's Plunket Medal are also reminded that to qualify they must speak in two-thirds of the regular debates.

The next debate is net down for May 29 on the motion "That the Church has become divorced from the public." Bo there. At this year's Easter Tournament Victoria were welcomed "as that hall of argument and debate." It rests with present students whether that reputation can be maintained.

Show your interest by being present at the next debate and at Plunket Medal.

For any additional information contact any of the following:
  • President, C. V. Bollinger, M.A.
  • Vice-President: D. R. Mummery.
  • Secretary: O. N. Cruden.
  • Treasurer: Miss M. O'Reilly.
  • Committee: Misses E. A. Olsen and P. Thom, Messrs. C. G. Hubbard and J. L. McLean.