Other formats

    Adobe Portable Document Format file (facsimile images)   TEI XML file   ePub eBook file  


    mail icontwitter iconBlogspot iconrss icon

Salient. An Organ of Student Opinion at Victoria College, Wellington, N.Z. Vol 7, No. 5 June 21, 1944


The annual general meeting of the V.U.C. Debating Society was held on Friday, 2nd June. The annual report and balance sheet was received, approved and duly adopted. The secretary reported that during the year Miss Helen O'Flynn and Mr. K. T. Fowler had successfully represented V.U.C. at the Joynt Scroll contest and brought home the "bacon." The club awards for 1943 were as follows:—Plunket Medal: H. M. O'Leary. Union Prize: Stan Campbell. New Speakers' Prize: No award.

The new executive is as follows:—President, Prof. F. L. W. Wood; Chairman, S. Campbell; Vice-chairman, B. O'Connor; Secretary, Miss M. Marshall; Treasurer, V. O'Kane; Committee, Misses C. Crompton and J. Patrick, Messrs. D. Hartley and K. T. Fowler.

The programme for the year includes two New Speakers' Debates, and it is hoped that sufficient interest will be displayed to encourage the awarding of this prize for 1944.