Other formats

    TEI XML file   ePub eBook file  


    mail icontwitter iconBlogspot iconrss icon

The Cyclopedia of New Zealand [Nelson, Marlborough & Westland Provincial Districts]

Present Members Of The House Of Representatives

Present Members Of The House Of Representatives.

The Right Honourable Richard John Seddon , who sits for Westland in the House of Representatives, was first returned to Parliament in the year 1879, as one of the two members for Hokitika. He served the Hokitika district until 1881, and was returned as the first member for the new electorate of Kumara in 1882. On the 24th of January, 1891, he became Minister of Public Works in the Administration of Mr. John Ballance, who died on the 27th of April, 1893, and was succeeded in the Premiership by Mr. Seddon on the 1st of May. Mr. Seddon still (December, 1905) holds that office. He was made a member of the Privy Council of Great Britain in 1897. Mr. Seddon is further referred to at pages 40, 41, and 42 of the Wellington volume of this Cyclopedia.

The Honourable Arthur Robert Guinness , Member of the House of Representatives for Grey, has represented the electorate since the 22nd of July, 1884. He was Chairman of Committees for ten years, and was elected Speaker of the House of Representatives in June, 1903. Mr. page 483 Guinness is further referred to as a member of the firm of Guinness and Kitchingham, solicitors.

The Hon. A. R. Guinness.

The Hon. A. R. Guinness.