The Cyclopedia of New Zealand [Canterbury Provincial District]
Killinchy is within about four miles of Doyleston and three of Leeston. It is bounded by Brookside, Leeston, and Dunsandel. Originally the district consisted to some extent of swamp, which has been thoroughly drained, and now yields heavy crops, but the land towards the south, or Upper Killinchy, is of lighter quality. The district has a post office, an Anglican church, a public library and hall, and a public school. Many of the settlers came from County Down, Ireland, and the district is named after a town in the Old Land. Killinchy is a prosperous district, and the settlers cultivate those habits of thrift which generally assure permanency to material wellbeing.
McClure, George, Farmer, Killinchy. Mr. McClure was born at Killinchy, County Down, Ireland, in 1840, and came to New Zealand in 1860, by the ship “Matoaka.” He began his colonial experience with Mr. George Weston, of Kaiapoi, and eight months later was employed by Mr. Bealey, at the river Styx. When Mr. Bealey purchased an estate of 2000 acres near Leeston, Mr. McClure went there too, and remained with Mr. Bealey altogether about three years. Mr. McClure then started farming on his own account, and purchased his present fine property, then in its wild, native swampy state. He has always taken an interest in the public affairs of the district, and has from the first been a member of the Killinchy school committee. Mr. McClure is a member of the Ellesmere Agricultural and Pastoral Association, and a constant exhibitor and prize-taker at the local shows. He married Miss Hogg, a sister of the late Mr. Thomas Hogg, of Killinchy, and of a family of nine, one son and one daughter are married.