The Cyclopedia of New Zealand [Auckland Provincial District]
Mr. Cecil Albert DeLautour, ex-Member of the House of Representatives, who represented Mount Ida, Otago, from 1876 to 1884, is a well-known barrister and solicitor of Gisborne. He was born in India in 1845, and is a son of Mr. Edward de Lautour, of the Indian Civil Service, who, at the time of his death in 1862, was a Judge of the High Court at Calcutta. Mr. de Lautour was educated at Cheltonham College, and held an appointment for Addiscombe, the Military College of the East India Company. On Addiscombe being done away with, about 1863, when the old East India Company's army was amalgamated with the Queen's troops, Mr. de Lautour decided to come out to New Zealand, to which he had been attracted by a book named “The Britain of the South,” written by one of the Hursthouses of Nelson. He landed in Auckland in June, 1863, from the ship “War Spirit.” This vessel also brought out about 200 Germans, who settled at Puhoi near Waiwera. In consequence of the war which was then going on, there was no opening in Auckland, and Mr. de Lautour went to Otago a few months later and engaged in pastoral pursuits for several years. Having been disabled by an accident from following an active life, he became editor and part proprietor of the “Mount Ida Chronicle.” While editing the “Chronicle” in 1874, he contested the district of Mount Ida for the Provincial Council of Otago, on the same platform as the Hon. James Oliver, against the two sitting members, Messrs J. P. Armstrong and David Hunter Mervyn. Both he and Mr. Oliver were returned, and he sat in the Council until the abolition of the provinces came into force. In 1876 Mr. de Lautour was returned as member for the Mount Ida district to the House of Representatives. He continued to sit for Mount Ida until 1884, and was returned unopposed twice. Having resided at Napier and Gisborne for some years, Mr. de Lautour intimated to his old constituents of Mount Ida that he would not seek re-election for a southern district, and at the next general election, at the request of the [unclear: Lib]eral Party, he contested the Newton district against Mr. Peacock, who was returned. In 1893 Mr. de Lautour contested the district of Waiapu against the Hon. James Carroll, but was again defeated. Since then he has stood aside from politics, attending to his business as a lawyer. Mr. de Lautour has always taken an active part in municipal and educational affairs, and was returned to the first Education Board for the Otago provincial district. He has been mayor of Naseby, and mayor of Gisborne, and has sat as a councillor for the borough and as a member of the Gisborne Harbour Board. Mr. de Lautour has always been regarded as a Liberal in politics.
Mr. C. A. de Lautour.
Borough of Gisborne.
The Borough Of Gisborne has an annual revenue of £5000, and has a debt of £16,000, contracted for town improvements. The annual value to let is £33,150, and there is a general rate of 1s 9d in the £, and a special rate of 3d. The town is supplied with gas, not, however, by the Corporation, but by the Gisborne Gas Company, at a charge of 11s 4d net per 1000 feet. Gisborne itself is pleasantly situated on the sea coast between two rivers, and it has, with its suburbs, a population of about 5000, exclusive of Maoris. The area of the borough is 1260 acres. It is bounded on the south by the sea, on the east by the Turanganui river, on the north by the Taruheru river, and on the west by the Poverty Bay road district. The town is well lighted by twenty incandescent gas lamps, and a large loan for town improvements, including water supply and drainage, has been sanctioned by the residents. The local fire brigade is supported largely by contributions from the Borough Council, which has supplied and maintained all the plant. Members for 1901: Mr. J. Townley, mayor; and Messrs R. N. Jones, J. W. Bright, W. D. Lysnar, W. Miller, D. Hepburn, J. Whinray, J. A. Harding, T. Morrison, and A. F. Kennedy; Mr. R. D. B. Robinson, town clerk and treasurer; Mr. E. J. Chrisp, borough solicitor; Mr. M. Morgan, road overseer; and Mr. J. R. Little, inspector of nuisances.
His Worship The Mayor Of Gisborne, Mr. John Townley , was born at Warrington, Lancashire, in 1837, and like many other men from that county, he has made his mark in his adopted country, and especially in the town of Gisborne, which owes a great deal of its civic prosperity to his energy. Mr. Townley is the eldest son of Mr. Richard Townley, of Warrington, and was educated at Preston, Lancashire, and at the Church of England Sunday schools in Manchester. He served his apprenticeship at cabinetmaking in Manchester and subsequently worked at page 961 Shrewsbury for three years. In July, 1863, he landed in Napier, via Auckland, and worked as a carpenter for nine years, when he joined Mr. Large and the firm started as furniture manufacturers and house furnishers. In consequence of the rapid growth of Gisborne, the firm decided to open a branch there, and in 1873 Mr. Townley removed thither and has since carried on one of the most successful establishments in Poverty Bay. During his residence in Napier, Mr. Townley was connected with the volunteers and was present in 1867 at the capture of the Omaranui Pah, where the Maoris made such a gallant stand against their Pakeha foes. On the formation of the borough of Gisborne Mr. Townley was elected one of the first councillors, and has been elected mayor yearly since 1892. He has also been chairman of the Harbour Board for about ten years, and superintendent of the Fire Brigade, and chairman of the local Building Society since 1897. Mr. Townley's business is referred to in another article.
Mr. J. Townley.
Councillor J. W. Bright is referred to elsewhere as manager for the New Zealand Loan and Mercantile Agency Company.
Councillor John Alfred Harding, of the Gisborne Borough Council, was born in Tipperary, Ireland, on the 11th of January, 1853. He is the second son of Mr. William Holmes Harding, and arrived at Auckland with his parents when he was about fourteen years of age. Mr. Harding was educated at Dr. Kidd's school, and at St. Matthew's Church of England school, Hobson Street, Auckland, and decided to follow the surveying profession. In this calling he was engaged for fourteen years in Auckland and on the East Coast of the North Island, but owing to ill-health he relinquished the work, and carried on storekeeping at Waipiro Bay for about nine years. Mr. Harding then engaged in the timber and shipping trade for some time. He has been a member of the Gisborne Corporation since 1888, is vice-president of the Gisborne Racing Club, and treasurer of the local hospital and trustee of the Druids Lodge. In sporting matters he takes a keen interest and occupies the position of Master of the Poverty Bay Hunt Club. Mr. Harding is a past master of Lodge Turanganui, E.C., has passed through all the chairs, and now holds the office of treasurer of that lodge.
Councillor J. A. Harding.
Councillor Duncan Hepburn, who has been almost continuously a Member of the Borough Council since 1883, and has also served on the Hospital and Charitable Aid and harbour Boards since 1894, was born in Auckland in 1844. After five years' experience in farming, he went to sea, and qualified as a captain. Mr. Hepburn was for three years at Greymouth, where he was engaged in coal mining, and he afterwards had some experience of mining on the Thames goldfield. For four years subsequently he was brickmaking in Auckland, and in 1874 he settled in Gisborne, where he established himself in business as a brickmaker, and has made the greater portion of the bricks used in buildings in the district. He served for six years as a member of the Cook County Council. In Freemasonry he is attached to Lodge Montrose, of which he is a Past Master, and as a Forester he has been through all the chairs in Court William Gladstone. Mr. Hepburn was married, in 1869, to a daughter of the late Mr. R. Jackson, of Lyttelton, and has six sons and four daughters.
Councillor Robert Noble Jones is referred to elsewhere as a solicitor.
Councillor Alexander Francis Kennedy, F.I.A.N.Z., who is a Member of the Gisborne Borough Council and a Trustee of the Hospital, has held a seat on the Charitable Aid Board since 1894. He was born in 1862 in Napier, where he was educated, and joined the service of the Union Steamship Company in 1878. In 1881 he entered the service of Mr. F. W. Williams, the founder of the firm of Williams and Kettle, Ltd. For ten years he was employed as accountant by the firm in Napier, and in 1891, when it was decided to open a branch of the business at Gisborne, Mr. Kennedy was entrusted with the duty of opening the office, and became its manager. He still holds that position. Since settling in Gisborne he has always taken an interest in the progress of the district, and is president of the Gisborne Horticultural Society and Gisborne Rowing Club, and vice-president of the Gisborne Beautifying Association and Caledonian Society. As a Freemason he is a Past Master of Lodge Abercorn, and Past Grand Senior Deacon of the Grand Lodge of New Zealand. Mr. Kennedy was married, in 1885, to a daughter of Mr. W. Adair, of Gisborne, and has two daughters.
Councillor A. F. Kennedy.
Councillor Cecil Francis Lewis, who has been a member of the Gisborne Borough Council since 1899, and holds a seat on the Charitable Aid Board, was born on the 12th of September, 1866, and is the eldest son of Mr. Henry Lewis, a well known and respected merchant of Gisborne. He was educated at the Auckland College and Grammar School, and also at the Rev. Peter Mason's private school in the same city. On leaving school Mr. Lewis worked with his father and remained in his employment for nine years. From 1881 to about 1883, he was in the office of Mr. T. D. McDougall, an old English barrister, who formerly practised in Gisborne. About 1885 Mr. Lewis started as an auctioneer, etc., and has acquired an extensive and flourishing connection. He was the Government Valuator for the borough of Gisborne, has been Census Enumerator since 1887, and has acted as collector of agricultural statistics for Cook County for six years. Mr. Lewis was initiated into Freemasonry in Lodge page 962 Montrose S.C. and now holds the rank of Senior Warden. He has taken great interest in football, volunteering, rowing, and other local affairs, and as a member of the Gisborne Football Club, represented Poverty Bay for several years. He was a member of the Gisborne Artillery Corps, and afterwards held the rank of sergeant and trumpeter in the East Coast Hussars during the Te Kooti raid. In 1900 he became first lieutenant in the Gisborne Rifles. Mr. Lewis was the promoter of the Gisborne Poultry Fanciers' Club, in which he takes great interest, and he is secretary of the Gisborne branch of the New Zealand Natives' Association, in connection with which he has been a prominent worker. In 1892 Mr. Lewis married the daughter of Mr. Russell, of Hokitika, and has three children.
Councillor W. D. Lysnar is elsewhere referred to as a barrister and solicitor.
Councillor Thomas Morrison is referred to in another article as founder and senior partner of the firm of Morrison Bros.
Councillor James Whinray, a member of the Gisborne Borough Council, is the well-known proprietor of the Furnishing Warehouse, Gladstone road. He was born in Lancashire in 1845, and was educated in his native county. When fourteen years of age, Mr. Whinray was apprenticed as cabinetmaker, wheelwright, and house carpenter. After working in London for ten years, he came to New Zealand, and landed in Napier in 1874. He afterwards went to Australia and remained there two years, when he returned to New Zealand, and was for six months at the gold diggings at Kumara. After visiting New Plymouth, Auckland, and Taurana, Mr. Whinray went to Gisborne, and started business in Gladstone Road in 1877. 1884 he took a trip to England, and on his return built his present large and handsome brick and stone warehouse. Mr. Whinray is an ardent supporter of the scheme for cutting a cattle track through the Uriwera Country to Rotorua, and prospecting the back country. He has been over a considerable portion of the ground himself, and has been the means of cutting the track as far as it has gone (thirty miles). He married in 1872, and has five children.
Councillor J. Whinray.
Mr. J. Whinray's Premises.
Mr. Reginald D. B. Robinson, Town Clerk, Valuator, Treasurer and Collector, also Secretary of the Chamber of Commerce, Gisborne, was born in Auckland in 1871, and is the eldest son of Mr. W. R. Robinson, barrister and solicitor. He was educated at Gisborne, and in 1888 entered the service of the corporation as junior clerk. In 1891 he was elected to his present position at the early age of twenty years, being probably the only town clerk ever appointed at that age in New Zealand. During the same year he was also in charge of the Gisborne Harbour Board office for four months. Mr. Robinson has been identified with athletics since his boyhood, and still takes an active interest especially in connection with rowing, in which he represents Poverty Bay against Hawke's Bay in their annual aquatic contests. He was a keen exponent of the Rugby game of football, and acted as secretary for the Poverty Bay Rugby Union, besides representing Gisborne for several years. In 1896 Mr. Robinson married Miss Johnston, daughter of Mr. D. Johnston, Collector of Customs at Invercargill.
Mr. R. D. B. Robinson.
Mr. Edmund James Chrisp, Borough Solicitor of Gisborne, was born in Auckland in 1863, and was educated in England. He served his articles in Gisborne, and was admitted a barrister and solicitor in 1885, when he established his practice. As a volunteer Mr. Chrisp served in the J Battery for several years. He was married, in 1886, to a daughter of Mr. J. Townley, of Gisborne, and has three sons and two daughters.
Mr. Charles Debenham Bennett, Ex-Mayor of Gisborne (and partner in the firm of Messrs Bennett and Sherratt), was born in the historic town of Worcester, England, in 1835, and is a son of Mr. Joseph Bennett, draper, of that place. Mr. Bennett was educated at the celebrated Blue Coat School, London, where he remained until he was fifteen years of age, and then was apprenticed to the well-known firm of Messrs Copestake and Co., warehousemen, of Bow Church Yard, London, in whose employment he remained until 1857. In 1858 Mr. Bennett joined a cavalry corps, attached to the East India Company's service, and arrived in India just on the termination of the Indian Mutiny in August of the same year. In 1859 the corps was transferred to the British Crown, and merged into the regiment known as the 21st Hussars, and Mr. Bennett remained in the service until 1863, when he purchased his discharge. In 1864 he emigrated to Canterbury, New Zealand, per ship “Ivanhoe,” but on arrival at Lyttelton went to Taranaki, where he joined the Military Settlers, and was engaged in active service against the Maoris in that province. In 1868 he joined the Armed Constabulary as a private, but shortly obtained his commission as sub-inspector, and took part in nearly every engagement throughout the East and West Coast campaigns, being twice mentioned in Colonel McDonnell's despatches for services rendered. Mr. Bennett finally retired from the service in 1878, and on the formation of the borough of Gisborne, received the appointment of town clerk, which he retained until joining Messrs Ferris and Pitt, auctioneers. In 1879 Mr. Bennett was elected councillor, and became mayor of Gisborne in 1882. In 1865 he married a daughter of Mr. James Dunlop, of Gisborne, and has six children.
Mr. C. D. Bennett.
Mr. William F. Crawford, Ex-Mayor of Gisborne, is a native of Tipperary, Ireland, where he was born in 1844. He is the eldest son of the late Mr. Thomas Crawford, and was educated at Home. He came to New Zealand, per ship “Statesman,” in 1863, and landed at Auckland, where he remained for two years, and then left to go to the West Coast goldfields, where he was engaged, in the first instance, as manager for Mr. C. Petchler, storekeeper; but in 1868 he went to the Thames, where, a year later, he accepted an appointment at Whitson's (later, Ehrenfried's) brewery. There he learned the brewing business, and in 1874 he was appointed to take charge of a brewery at Gisborne. In the following year he took over the business, and when a company was formed in 1895 to run the brewery, Mr. Crawford was appointed manager. He was a member of the first borough council elected in Gisborne, and subsequently held the office of mayor for two successive years. He is an ex-member of the Harbour Board, and during the Te Kooti scare he enrolled himself among the volunteers. Mr. Crawford is a most successful amateur photographer, and has taken a large number of very artistic pictures in Gisborne and its neighbourhood. On the occasion of the celebration of the Queen's Record Regin he exposed no fewer than seventy-two plates in one day.
Captain W. H. Tucker, an Ex-Mayor of Gisborne, was born at Auckland in 1844, and is the only surviving son of Captain Henry Tucker, R.N., who was formerly attached to the “Buffalo,” a vessel well known in New Zealand waters during the Maori war, and wrecked in Kennedy or Mercury Bay many years ago. Captain W. H. Tucker was educated at Wesley College, Auckland, and went in 1859 to Hawke's Bay, where he became a cadet at Woodlands Station, of which he was manager during the years 1863–4–5. He settled down in Poverty Bay in 1866 as a sheep-farmer, but had to abandon his run in consequence of the Hauhau rebellion, and other attendant causes. During 1858 Captain Tucker joined Captain Eley's Battery of Volunteer Artillery in Auckland, and on its disbandment, he transferred his services to the Victoria Rifles (Captain Howell), and remained with that corps until leaving for Hawke's Bay. On the outbreak of hostilities with the Waikato Natives in 1863, the Waipawa Cavalry Corps, Hawke's Bay, was formed, and Captain Tucker joined as a private trooper, but subsequently rose to the position of lieutenant. When Te Kooti made his celebrated and blood-thirsty raid upon the inhabitants of Poverty Bay in July, 1868, the militia were called out, and Captain Tucker was attached to No. 1 Company, of which he was appointed commander in 1869. When the rebel chief was driven to Te Karetu, and thence to Ngatipu, Captain Tucker, amongst a number of other settlers, joined the colonial forces, and served with them until the capture of the pa at Ngatipu, whence Te Kooti escaped to the Waikato. For some time the refractory Maori remained quiescent, but in August, 1870, he made another raid on Tolago Bay, and all the available forces were sent from Gisborne to protect the residents. Captain Tucker proceeded with a party of 120 friendly Maoris to Mangatio, in order to intercept Te Kooti, but, owing to intelligence having been secretly imparted to the rebel, he was enabled to avoid the pursuing party, who followed him for three days and nights through a hitherto impenetrable forest. At a place called Makihoi the chase had to be abandoned, and the men under Captain Tucker, who had been without food and shelter of any kind for three days, returned to Gisborne without achieving their object. During Captain Tucker's residence in Poverty Bay, he has been identified with almost every movement for the welfare of the district. He has been twice elected mayor of Gisborne, and has held the chairmanship of the Gisborne Harbour Board, by virtue of his occupancy of the civic chair. He is a prominent member and ex-president of the Poverty Bay Prohibition League. In 1865 Captain Tucker married Miss Elizabeth Randall, of Taranaki, and their family consists of one son and four daugthers.
Mr. Thomas Adams, who served for a time as a Member of the Gisborne Borough Council, has long been known as a bookseller and stationer in Poverty Bay. He was born at Portglenone, County Antrim, Ireland, where he was educated and brought up to country life. Mr. Adams landed in Victoria in 1851, and came to New Zealand twelve years later; he was two years in Westport, whence he removed to Auckland. In 1870 Mr. Adams settled in Poverty Bay, and took a position in the late Captain Read's store. After being four years there he founded his present business.
Mr. James Charleston Dunlop, who served for nine years as a Member of the Gisborne Borough Council, and was also a member of the Hospital and Charitable Aid Board, was born in Gisborne, in 1858. He was educated at Wesley College, Auckland, was brought up to mercantile life, and served three years with the Union Bank in Gisborne. For ten years Mr. Dunlop was in business as a wine and spirit merchant, and for six years subsequently was manager of the Farmers' Association. He established the business which he now conducts as an estate and financial agent in 1900. Mr. Dunlop is generally interested in athletic sports, and is a member of the local racing club. He was married, in 1883, to a daughter of the late Mr. P. Bourke, of Gisborne, and has two sons and two daughters.
Mr. Robert Johnston, J.P., who entered the Gisborne Borough Council in 1891, and also became a member of the Hospital and Charitable Aid Board and the High School Board of Governors, was born at Falkirk, Scotland, in 1851, and was brought up to the trade of a tailor. Mr. Johnston came to Auckland by the ship “Duneraig” in 1880, and shortly afterwards settled in Poverty Bay, where he established the business which has since borne his name. Mr. Johnston served for about six years as a corporal in the East Coast Hussars. In Freemasonry he is a Past Master of Lodges Montrose, S.C., and Turanganui, E.C. He was one of the founders of the local lodge of Druids, and has held office as Senior District President. Mr. Johnston was married, in February, 1880, to a daughter of the late Mr. J. Foster, of Inniskillen, Ireland, and has three daughters and one son.
Mr. R. Johnston.
Mr. Edward Pattricks Joyce, who has been a Member of the Gisborne Borough Council for nearly twenty years, is also a hospital trustee, and a member of the Charitable Aid Board, and was for some time chairman of the Whataupoko Road Board. Mr. Joyce was also one of the first members of the Gisborne Harbour Board. He is a son of Edmond Joyce, of Tiernakiel House, County Galway, Ireland, was born in 1845, and settled in Gisborne in 1873. Mr. Joyce has for years carried on a commission agency business. At the general election of 1899 he was a candidate for a seat in the House of Representatives, but withdrew before the election. Mr. Joyce is president of the Liberal Association in Gisborne, and is a Past Master of the Masonic Order. He was proprietor of the Poverty Bay Independent for over three years.
Mr. Henry Lewis, J.P., who was for eighteen years a member of the Gisborne Borough Council, was born in London in 1833, and left England for Australia when he was twenty-one years of age. He landed in Sydney, and after spending a few months there, came to New Zealand and reached Auckland in January, 1855. Mr. Lewis and his brothers were in business as soft goods merchants, and he remained in Auckland for twenty years, when he went to Gisborne. He started business in Gladstone Road in 1878, and at first occupied temporary premises, which he replaced in 1893 by a large warehouse. Shortly after his arrival in Gisborne Mr. Lewis was elected to a seat on the school committee, but resigned after several years' service. He was mayor of the town for a term and has been a Justice of the Peace for many years. For thirteen years Mr. Lewis was a member of the Poverty Bay Licensing Committee, and its chairman for eleven years. Mr. Lewis was president of the Chamber of Commerce in 1896–97. While he was on the Borough Council he succeeded in carrying a resolution which resulted in Gisborne being lighted by kerosene lamps prior to the introduction of gas. Mr. Lewis resigned his seat on the council in 1898, on removing into the country. In 1864 he married Miss Mary Reid, lately arrived from England. Mrs Lewis died several years ago, leaving four sons.
Gisborne Harbour Board.
Mr. James William Witty, Secretary and Treasurer to the Gisborne Harbour Board, was born in Wiltshire, England, in 1838, and is a son of the Rev. John F. Witty, Vicar of St. Matthew's, Sheffield. He served his articles as a solicitor in London, but owing to failing health, left England for the Colonies, and arrived in Melbourne in 1861. After a sojourn in Australia he came to New Zealand, and landed in Otago, at the time of the Dunstan “rush,” in 1862. He joined a prospecting party which went into the interior of Otago, and was on one occasion snowed in for five days. The party, in fact, suffered great hardships, and Mr. Witty himself had to be taken to the Dunedin Hospital, where he was for twenty-six weeks. He went to Hawke's Bay in 1865, and was enrolled among the military settlers. Mr. Witty acted as private secretary and orderly sergeant to Lieut.-Colonel Fraser, and accompanied him through his East Coast campaign, at Poverty Bay, Wairoa, Petane, and Waikaremoana. After serving under Colonel Whitmore at Taupo, the military settlers were marched to Wairoa, and then disbanded and placed on their land. On the return of Te Kooti from the Chatham Islands, Mr. Witty was placed in charge of the militia in the Wairoa district. He then went with an expedition to Waikaremoana, and met the advance guard of Te Waru, who was attacking Wairoa. The Maoris were repulsed, and the force, hearing that Mohaka was attacked by Te Kooti, formed an expedition for its relief. Mr. Witty was left in charge at Mohaka, and followed Te Kooti to Waikaremoana, where he recovered sixty-six horses, which had been stolen by the rebel. After another visit to Waikaremoana under Colonel Herrick, Mr. Witty had charge of the Transport Corps at Taupo, and had 135 pack horses loaded with stores and ammunition. Then he had command of an expedition which Sir Donald McLean organised from the friendly tribe of the Ngatipawhero Maoris, and was at Waikaremoana for five months engaged in conflict with the Uriwera natives. Ultimately, having “dug out” two canoes, he crossed the lake and attacked the pa from the rear, when the defenders surrendered, and the hostile chiefs were marched to Wairoa to meet Sir Donald McLean. After this Mr. Witty was put on the unattached list, and settled at Napier. He then engaged in sheepfarming in the Wairoa district for four years, and experimented in hop-growing. Mr. Witty then went to Gisborne, where for seven years he held the position of wharfinger, and in 1890 he was appointed secretary and treasurer to the Harbour Board.
Captain Alexander Thomson, Harbourmaster and Pilot at the Port of Gisborne, was born at Aberdeen, Scotland, in 1836, and is the second son of Mr. Alexander Thomson, a prominent Arctic explorer, who died at the ripe age of ninety-two years. Captain Thomson was educated at Poterhead, and afterwards studied navigation in London, and passed his examination as master before the Metropolitan Board of Trade. Mr. Thomson joined the merchant navy in 1854, when he shipped as carpenter upon the barque “Leonidas,” and sailed under three masters for seven years to various parts of the globe. Subsequently he served on the Arctic whaler “Columbus,” and then transferred to the s.s. “Iniut,” a whaler, Captain Allardice. This vessel was wrecked in the Arctic regions, and the crew was rescued by the brig “Lady Franklin,” and landed at Peterhead. On returning to London, Mr. Thomson again shipped under Captain Allardice, trading to Brisbane, and was afterwards engaged in the intercolonial trade between Java, Sydney, Melbourne, Mauritius and New Zealand. In 1861, Captain Thomson returned to the Old Country, where he remained until 1863, when, as chief officer, he joined the ship “Prospector,” trading to Valparaiso and Australia, and in 1867 he was appointed master of the vessel. Later he had command of the “William Cargill,” trading to the west coast of South America. In 1876, the Union Steamship Company of New Zealand employed Captain Thomson to bring out the s.s. “Waitaki” from Glasgow to Dunedin, via Suez. After his arrival in New Zealand he traded to Kaipara, Newcastle and Dunedin as master of coastal vessels until 1890, when he was offered and accepted his present post.
Mr. John King, Engineer to the Gisborne Harbour Board, was born in Perthshire, Scotland, in 1842. He came to Lyttelton by the ship “Chrysolite” in 1861, and qualified as a surveyor in Wellington. For a time he took survey contracts under the Government, and was for many years engineer to the counties of North and South Wairarapa. Mr. King has held his present position in Gisborne since July, 1897. As a volunteer he served in the Masterton Cavalry Corps for five years.
County of Cook.
The County Of Cook was created with other counties in 1876, and its boundaries extended from Cape Runaway in the north to Paretu Bluff, south of Poverty Bay. The capital value of its ratable property at that time was £260,000, but owing to the rapid increase of population and settlement, the ratable value of property occupied by Europeans in 1890 was £1,720,000. In that year the settlers in the north successfully petitioned Parliament to constitute a new county, to consist of what was known as the “Waiapau Riding,” and to be called Waiapu County, extending from Cape Runaway to Anaura, forming nearly one half of the County of Cook, and leaving an area of 1,000,000 acres to Cook County. Progress was still, however, the order of the day, and at the close of 1896, the ratable value of property occupied by Europeans was £1,720,000, its value prior to the partition of the county, and in 1900 it stood at £2,581,000. Owing to the scarcity of stone suitable for road metal, the county council has a difficulty in constructing roads for the constantly increasing traffic; as it is, much of the stone used on the main roads costs from 14s. to 16s. 6d. per yard, and is not of a durable quality. There are ninety miles of metalled roads, 180 miles of formed and drained roads, and about 100 miles of half-formed roads and tracks under the care of the council. The bridges throughout the county are built of timber, and represent a very large outlay, every penny of which has been raised by local taxation. The timber used is for the most part kauri, imported from Auckland, very little serviceable timber being available within the settled portion of the county. The revenue of the county in 1900 was £9,200, and the expenditure £10,200. The present indebtedness of the county is £25,000 for loans, and £6,000 in overdraft.
Cook County Council. This council controls the affairs of the extensive county of Cook, which is divided into six ridings, namely, Tolago, Waikohu, Whatanupoko, Waimata, Arai, and Gisborne. The first chairman of the council was Mr. James Woodbine Johnson, of Maractaha. He was succeeded by Mr. Andrew Graham (afterwards Member of the House of Representatives for the East Coast), and then, in order of succession, by Messrs W. K. Chambers, of Repongare, John Clark, of Opua, Charles Gray, of Waiohika, and lastly James Macfarlane, of Takapau, the present chairman. All these gentlemen have given their time and attention to the county's business without salary or travelling allowances. The members for 1900 were: Mr. J. Macfarlane (chairman), and Messrs W. Cooper, W. King, T. Jex-Blake, W. Graham, A. Hutchinson, W. J. Mossman, and J. Tombleson; with Mr. J. Warren as clerk and treasurer. The council chambers, which are in Lowe Street, are leased from the Gisborne Library Committee, and consist of a portion of a fine wooden building erected in 1883.
Councillor James Macfarlane, J.P., who has been Chairman of Cook County since 1895, and has represented Tolago riding since 1892, is also a member of the Hospital and Charitable Aid and Harbour Boards. He was born in North Canterbury in 1853, educated at the Old High School, Christchurch, was brought up to station life, and became a runholder at Amuri. Mr. Macfarlane removed to Gisborne in 1892, and has acquired 10,500 acres of freehold land, 4,500 acres of leasehold land, on which he runs 22,000 sheep and about 1300 head of Shorthorn cattle. Mr. Macfarlane is president of the Agricultural and Pastoral Society. Before leaving Canterbury he served for a good many years on the Amuri County Council, and was for nine years its chairman.
Councillor W. Cooper, a Member of the Cook County Council, is referred to elsewhere as a sheepfarmer.
Councillor Thomas Jex-Blake, of the Cook County Council, was born at Norwich, England, in 1857, and is the only son of the Rev. C. Jex-Blake, M.A., vicar of Lammas, Norfolk, England. He was educated at Repton School and Trinity College, Cambridge, and came out to New Zealand in the s.s. “Tongariro,” landing at Wellington. Mr. Jex-Blake resided with his uncle, Mr. Woodbine Johnson, of Wairakaia Station, Poverty Bay, for about twelve months, and then became manager for Mr. R. J. Reynolds, of Tauraka Station, where he remained until purchasing the Waerengaokuri property, consisting of 1600 acres, principally hilly country, which is well watered and sheltered. The run carries generally about 2300 cross-bred Lincolns, whose average fleece weighs seven and a half pounds per sheep, and the whole clip produces forty-five bales of wool. There are also seventy head of cattle and several horses grazing upon the land. In 1897, Mr. Jex-Blake purchased another property of 2000 acres, called Mangakioro, in the Te Arai district, part of which was shortly afterwards broken up, but the balance was left in its virgin state. Mr. Jex-Blake married Miss Green, daughter of the late Mr. W. Abbott Green, sometime Inspector General of Hospitals in India, and sister of the late Colonel Green, C.B., of the Indian Army. Mr. Jex-Blake was elected a member of the Cook County Council in 1896, and is also a member of the Poverty Bay Pastoral and Agricultural Society.
Councillor John Tombleson, who has represented Waimata Riding on the Cook County Council since 1896, is also a member of the Hospital and Charitable Aid Board. He was born in 1866 at Barton-on-Humber, Lincolnshire, England, educated at Eastbourne, and brought up to country life. Mr. Tombleson arrived in Wellington by the s.s. “Ionic” in 1883, and after two years' experience as a cadet in Hawke's Bay, he revisited England for a few months. On returning to the colony he purchased 1500 acres of land from the Government at Waimata, where he carries on farming operations. In 1898 Mr. Tombleson purchased 160 acres at Makaraka from Mr. J. E. Espie, together with his mob of 500 purebred Lincoln ewes, and has since resided on the property. This property is remarkable for the immense quantity of natural gas which rises with the artesian water. On the estate there are three wells from which gas is obtainable, and in one of the troughs in the paddock, the gas on the surface of the water will burn if a lighted match is applied. Mr. Tombleson has had the gas laid on to his home, where it is used for lighting and cooking purposes. In one of the bores a gas-bearing strata, of pumice was met with at a depth of 100 feet, and the exhalation gave an estimated measurement of 2000 feet per day. It is probable that, in the near future, this wonderful supply of natural gas may be more extensively utilised than it is at the present time. Before his election to the County Council Mr. Tombleson served for about seven years as chairman of the Waimata Road Board. He was married, in 1891, to a daughter of the late Mr. G. Johnstone, of Gisborne, and has four sons.
Mr. John Warren, Clerk and Treasurer of Cook County Council, was born at Woolwich, England, in 1844, and is the only son of Mr. John Warren, of the Royal Engineers. In 1847 he arrived at Auckland with his parents, and received his education at the Academy of the Rev. John Gorrie. He was apprenticed as a carpenter, and worked at his trade until 1880. During the Maori war of 1863–65 he served with the Victoria Rifles under Captain Derrom, saw active service, and in 1887 received the long service medal. In 1873 he settled in Gisborne as a builder, and successfully followed that occupation until 1880, when he joined the Cook County Council as Clerk and Treasurer. Mr. Warren is an enthusiastic Oddfellow and was the founder of the Gisborne and Ormond Lodges. He has been connected with the Presbyterian Church since 1873, as elder and treasurer, and has held the office of superintendent of the Sunday school since 1888. In 1867 Mr. Warren married Miss Elizabeth, Inglis, daughter of Mr. James Inglis, of Glasgow, and has had a family of thirteen children. Two sons have unfortunately been drowned. Mr. Warren is a skilful worker of inlaid woodwork, and has exhibited at the Wellington and local exhibitions.
Mr. J. Warren.
Mr. Charles Gray, who represented Waimata riding on the Cook County Council between 1884 and 1896, was born at Godmanchester, near Huntingdon, England, in 1840. He spent eleven years at sea, and rose to the position of captain. After being a grazier in Queensland for seven years. Mr. Gray came to Auckland in 1877, and soon afterwards settled in Poverty Bay district, where he has a property, named “Waiohika,” of about 3000 acres in extent. Mr. Gray takes a great interest in all local matters, and is a member of the Poverty Bay Agricultural and Pastoral Society, of which he was president for two years. He was married, in 1868, and eleven years later Mrs Gray died. In 1882 Mr. Gray was married to a daughter of Bishop Williams, of Waipau, and has five sons and three daughters.
The Whataupoko Road Board was established in 1882, and the district is often called North Gisborne. It lies to the north and north-east of the borough, and is bounded by the Waimata river on the north and by the Taruheru river on the east; there are two bridges, a traffic bridge and a foot-bridge, over the Taruheru river. The Pouawa road district lies on the north, and the Taruheru road district on the west. The total value of ratable property in 1900 carried a general rate of £3/4d in the £, and a special rate of 41/2d. The total loans of the district amount to £3553, and the gross revenue from all sources for 1900 was £575; the total liabilities, including loans, were £812. The population is over 1000, and there were about 200 dwellings and 300 ratable properties owned by 260 ratepayers. There are about twenty miles of roads in the district. Members for 1900: Mr. A. F. Matthews, Chairman, and Messrs E. P. Joyce, W. T. Ranger, T. McConnell, and W. Sievwright.
Mr. Alfred Forde Matthews, Chairman of the Whataupoko Road Board since 1897, was vice-president of the Gisborne Chamber of Commerce in 1900. He was born in Auckland in 1851, but was educated chiefly in Otago, where he studied as an engineer and surveyor. He entered the Government Lands and Survey Office in Invercargill as a cadet, and was engaged in engineering work on the construction of the Invercargill-Bluff railway, and became an assistant surveyor in 1878. Mr. Matthews was stationed in Wellington as computer and draughtsman for two years. He then retired from the department and went into private practice in 1881, in Gisborne. During his long residence in the district Mr. Matthews has laid off a number of estates, and has done engineering work for various road boards. He holds the office of engineer to the Kaiti Road Board. As a Freemason he is attached to Lodge Turanganui.
Mr. Thomas McConnell, who was elected a Member of the Whatupoko Road Board in 1900, was born in Auckland in 1853, and learned his trade as a butcher with Messrs Hellaby Brothers, with whom he remained for seven years. He settled in Gisborne in 1878, and worked at his trade till the establishment of the firm of McConnell and Millington, in 1895. As a Forester Mr. McConnell is a member of Court William Gladstone, of which he is a Past Sub-Chief. He was married, in 1881, to a daughter of Mr. J. Millington, of Auckland, and has three sons and three daughters.
The Poverty Bay Road Board governs the district bounded on the north and east by the Taruheru road district, on the north by the Ormond district, on the west by the Waipara river, and on the south by the Awapuni lagoon. The board has about eleven miles of roads to attend to, and the total revenue for the year 1900 was £160, on which it received a subsidy from the County Council. The total liabilities of the district consist in a loan of £300 raised under the Loans to Local Bodies Act, and a rate of one-sixteenth of a penny is levied for its liquidation. Members for 1900: Mr. John Allan (chairman), and Messrs W. King, W. Jobson, A. M. Gray, and T. Finnucane; with Mr. A. F. Cuff as secretary.
Mr. Arthur Francis Cuff, Secretary of the Poverty Bay Road Board, was born at Kilburn, near London, in 1842. He was educated partly at Derby, England, and partly at Pigeon Bay, Canterbury, having arrived with his parents at Lyttelton in the barque “Minerva” in 1853. In 1869 Mr. Cuff was sawmilling at Banks' Peninsula, and afterwards took the management of a flaxmill at Saltwater Creek near Kaiapoi. In the same year he removed to Hawke's Bay, and started a flaxmill near Wairoa for his brother, Mr. F. Cuff. In 1870 Mr. Cuff became manager of Mr. King's sawmill at Makauri. Afterwards he leased the Mangatu run from the natives, and held it for twelve years. Since that time Mr. Cuff has been farming at Waerenga-a-hika on part of the mission property. He has fourteen acres at Te Kaiparo, and forty-two acres, part of the Willows estate, in the Poverty Bay district. For two years Mr. Cuff served in the Poverty Bay Cavalry. He was appointed secretary to the board in 1897. Mr. Cuff married a half caste, sister of Mr. Wi Pere, M.H.R. Mrs Cuff died in 1873, leaving one daughter; and in 1874 Mr. Cuff married a daughter of the late Mr. T. Younger, of the North of England, and two daughters and two sons have been born of this union.
The Kaiti Road Board was established in 1887. It is a suburban district adjoining the borough of Gisborne, from which it is divided by the Turanganui river, which forms the eastern boundary. The district was originally included in the area of the Titirangi road district, from which it was cut off in 1898, and with which it is connected by a bridge. The ratable value of the district is about £60,000, on which a general rate of £3/4d in the £ and a special rate of £2/4d in the £ are struck. An amount of £3700 has been obtained from the Government for road construction, and a special rate is levied to provide payments on account of this loan. The page 968 total revenue from all sources for the year 1900 was £595, and the total liabilities, including loan, £3854. The population is about 700, and there are about 120 dwellings and 150 ratepayers, who own altogether 220 ratable properties. Members: Mr. G. Matthewson (chairman), and Messrs J. H. Colebourne, G. O. Wylie, J. A. Harding, and F. C. Bull.
The Ngatapa Road Board was founded in 1893. Members for 1900: Mr. W. K. Chambers, chairman, and Messrs D. Dobbie, P. Barker, F. Hall, and J. Hutchison; Mr. H. M. Porter, secretary. The Board has jurisdiction over the district generally known as Motu, which adjoins Waikohu and Patutahi districts, on the main road from Gisborne to Opotiki. It levies no rates, and is subsidised by the County Council out of the fund for the maintenance of district roads. There is a special loan of £2000, and the district has received a special grant of £1000 to construct a dray road to connect with the Opotiki road.
Mr. William Knox Chambers, Chairman of the Ngatapa Road Board, served as a member of the Cook County Council for ten years, and was its chairman for two years. He has been a member of the Harbour Board for some years, and has also served on the Ormond and Waikohu Road Boards. Mr. Chambers was born in South Australia in 1850, and was educated in Hawke's Bay, whither the family had removed when he was about four years of age. He was brought up to sheep farming, and settled in the Poverty Bay district in 1873, when he acquired a fine property of 6000 acres, known as “Repongaere” at Waerenga-a-hika. This fine estate is in a good state of cultivation, and maintains 10,000 sheep during the winter and 500 head of cattle. During his residence in Hawke's Bay Mr. Chambers served in the local volunteers. He was married, in 1880, to a daughter of the late Mr. T. R. Arthur, of Hereford, England, and has one son and one daughter.
The Taruheru Road District, which was established in 1897, lies generally to the east of the Taruheru river, and to the west of the Whataupoko road district. It is also partly on the west of Gisborne borough, and adjoins the Poverty Bay road district on the east. The district includes the Park Company's ground and Messrs Nelson Brothers' Freezing Works. The ratable value is £35,000; no general rate is levied, but a special rate of £1/2d in the £ is collected to provide for a portion of an original loan to the Whataupoko Road Board, from which this district was severed. There are forty-five dwellings in the district, and fifty-three ratable properties, owned by a like number of ratepayers. The total revenue for the year 1900 was £259. Members: Mr. J. Macfarlane, chairman, and Messrs A. Dewing, W. H. Tucker, F. Tietjen, and H. Tucker.
Mr. Thomas Holden, who has been a Member of the Pouawa Road Board since 1896, was born in 1856, near Preston, Lancashire, England. When he was ten years of age he came to Wellington with his parents, was brought up to farming in Hawke's Bay, and was for a number of years farming with two brothers in the county of Waipawa. In 1893 he removed to Gisborne, and bought in the Pouawa district, a station of 6000 acres, known as Rumurua, on which he depastures 6000 sheep and 300 head of Shorthorn cattle. Mr. Holden served as a member of the Ruataniwha Road Board for several years. He was married, in 1895, to a daughter of Mr. E. D. Collison, of Hastings, Hawke's Bay, and has two sons and one daughter.
Mr. T. Holden.
Mr. Arnold Wethered, who has been a Member of the Pouawa Road Board since 1897, lives at Makahakaha, in the Waimata district, where he has a property of 2948 acres. Mr. Wethered was born at Clifton, near Bristol, England, in 1865, and arrived at the Bluff by the s.s. “Rimutaka” in 1884. Four years later he settled in Poverty Bay, and bought his present property. Mr. Wethered was married, in 1890, to a daughter of Mr. J. Dunlop, of Gisborne, and has one daughter.
The Aroha Road Board was established in 1898. The district under the jurisdiction of this body was originally part of the Te Arai road district. The valuation is about £60,000, but no rates are levied, a subsidy of £50 per annum being granted by the Cook County Council. Members for 1900; Messrs F. Morice (chairman), W. Morice, A. Hegarty, and C. Cameron; with Mr. D. Morice as clerk. The district contains only ten dwellings, and seven ratable properties, owned by ten ratepayers.
The East Coast Mounted Rifles date from the 24th of February, 1900. The strength of the corps is eighty-four, and the officers for 1900 were: Captain G. J. Winter, and Lieutenants J. H. Colebourne, W. Miller, and W. Hutchinson.
Lieutenant John Henry Colebourne, of the East Coast Mounted Rifles, was born in 1861 at Bodenham Court, in Herefordshire, England, where he was educated and apprenticed to the hardware business. He arrived in Auckland in 1877 by the ship “Jessie Osborne,” and after being for six years in the employment of Messrs T. and S. Morrin, removed to Gisborne in 1885. Mr. Colebourne had charge of the hardware department of Messrs Graham, Pitt and Bennett's business for some time, and in 1891 he entered the employment of Messrs Williams and Kettle, Ltd., Gisborne, to take charge of the goods department. His experience as a volunteer extends over a number of years. He joined the East Coast Hussars in 1887, and held the rank of sergeant-major until November, 1891, when he was elected lieutenant, and remained in the corps till it was disbanded in 1895. On the establishment of the East Coast Mounted Rifles in January, 1900, Mr. Colebourne became senior lieutenant. He has always been interested in athletic sports, and has been associated with the Rugby Union and Athletic Sports Committee for some years. He is a member of the Gisborne Rowing, Cricket, and Football Clubs, and was secretary and treasurer of the first-named for several years. Mr. Colebourne was one of the founders of the Gisborne Club, of which he is a trustee. He was married, in 1887, to a daughter of the late Mr. Ambridge, of London.
The Gisborne Rifles, a foot company, was established in October, 1900, and has a strength of sixty-three members. Weekly drill takes place at the Gisborne Drill Shed, and the officers are Captain J. Warren and Lieutenants C. F. Lewis and A. Bold.
General Government Departments.
The Post Office, Gisborne. This office faces the main street which is named Gladstone road, and the postal and telegraph work is carried on on the ground floor. The public office is at the side of the main entrance, and from it branch the mail-room, instrument-room, and the chief postmaster's room. It is noticeable that, to a greater extent than is customary in other parts of the Colony, the people of Poverty Bay come to their main town to transact business. This makes postal and telegraphic work busier in the main centre. No better indication of the progress that Poverty Bay has made during the past ten years can be seen than in the increase of its postal and telegraph business, which now requires double the staff it did ten years ago. The office employs a chief postmaster, senior clerk, six telegraphists and clerks, three telephonists, one lineman, and six letter-carriers and messengers. The whole of the telegraph work is carried by one wire connected with Napier. This wire is worked on the “Duplex” page 971 principle when necessary, which makes it equal to two wires. The telephone exchange was opened in March, 1897.
Mr. Gerard William Sampson, the Chief Postmaster at Gisborne, is the eldest son of the late Mr. Gerard de Thierry Sampson, of Wellington. He is a native of the Colony, and was born at Parnell, Auckland, in 1853, and entered the Telegraph Department at Wellington in 1866, when the Cook Strait cable was laid. He has filled various positions in connection with the post and telegraph service. He was postmaster at Brighton in 1871, and subsequently at Roefton and Port Chalmors, and was promoted to his present position as chief postmaster at Gisborne early in 1897. In 1880 Mr. Sampson married Fanny, daughter of Mr. Richard Chattock, of Chatford, Reefton, by whom he has one son and two daughters.
Mr. Edward William Pasley, Collector of Customs, Gisborne, was born in the Bengal Presidency, India, in 1836, and is the third son of Colonel G. J. Pasley, of the 49th Foot. Mr. Pasley was educated at Bath, England. In 1851 he came to this Colony in the ship “Maori,” and landed at Nelson. He remained with his uncle (who was farming) until 1855, and was afterwards sheepfarming in the Wairau district until 1863. In 1864 he joined the Customs Department at Nelson as junior clerk, and subsequently worked up to the position of landing waiter at that port. In August, 1876, he received the appointment of Collector at Blenheim, where he remained till December, 1894, when he was transferred to Gisborne. He has always been connected with the Church of England, and has held various lay offices during his residence in the Colony. Mr. Pasley was married in 1858 to Miss F. L. Huddleston, of Nelson, by whom he has had a family of ten children.
Mr. E. W. Pasley.
Mr. Llewellyn Smith, District Surveyor and Land Officer for the Poverty Bay district, was born in Shropshire in 1840, and arrived in New Zealand in 1852. He was educated at the old Nelson College, and in 1863 entered the Government Survey Department as a cadet. He was afterwards stationed as district surveyor on the West Coast goldfields, where he remained for eighteen months, when he returned to Canterbury, and was subsequently transferred to the head office at Wellington. After a long and arduous service of twenty-five years, Mr. Smith received his present appointment in March, 1897. He married Miss Bannister, of Wellington, and has a family of two daughters.
Mr. Henry Gaunt Price, Chief Draughtsman in the Lands and Survey Office at Gisborne, was born at Beechworth, Victoria, in 1857, and is the fourth son of the late Mr. Matthew Price, S.M., who was many years on the West Coast of the South Island, and afterwards at Gisborne, where he died. Mr. H. G. Price was educated at Invercargill, at Scott's School, Hokitika, and at the Rev. Mr. Alabaster's School in Christchurch, and entered the public service as a cadet in March, 1874, at Hokitika. For about fourteen years he served on the field staff in the Westland and Hawke's Bay districts, and was appointed to his present position in 1891. Mr. Price was married, in 1888, to a daughter of Mr. J. W. Bancroft, of Lincolnshire, England, and has five daughters.
The Land And Deeds Registry Office for Poverty Bay is domiciled in a portion of the ground floor of the Post Office buildings, fronting Gladstone Road.
Mr. Charles Henry Walter Dixon, Assistant Registrar of Lands and Deeds, was born in Christchurch in 1864. He entered the Stamp Office in Christchurch, and subsequently served at Auckland, Wellington, and Dunedin, and was appointed to his present position in Gisborne in 1897.
The Stock Department at Gisborne is a branch of the Department of Agriculture. Its quarters are in the Post Office building, and it has charge of the whole of the Poverty Bay district.
Mr. Campbell Thomson, Inspector of Stock for the District of Poverty Bay, was born in 1832 in St. Andrew's, Fifeshire, Scotland. In 1847 he accompanied his father to Melbourne, and served for some years in a merchant's office in that city. Afterwards he had two years' experience on the goldfields, and came to Otago in 1858. For ten years Mr. Thomson had a sheep and cattle station at Strath Taieri. In 1868 he took the management of the Ashley Downs Station, and four years later bought a station near Mataura. Owing to ill-health in 1873, Mr. Thomson sold out and settled at Opotiki, where he bought property and was engaged in sheep-farming for seven years. In 1878 he was appointed inspector of sheep for Opotiki, and in 1881 was transferred to Warkworth. Since January, 1883, Mr. Thomson has had charge of the Poverty Bay district. During his residence in Otago he served for a short time in the volunteers. He was married, in 1861, to a daughter of the late Rev. C. Jeffreys, of Otago, and has seven sons and two daughters.
The Cook Hospital And Charitable Aid Board was established in 1886. It is charged with the duty of raising funds for the maintenance of the hospital and charitable aid in the district. In 1900 it levied in all £860 on the local bodies within its jurisdiction, and received a Government subsidy of £ for £. The Board also supplies the funds for the Old Men's Home. The members are: The Mayor of Gisborne, who is chairman, ex-officio, and the members of the Borough Council and County Council.
Mr. Henry McKay, Secretary of the Cook Hospital and Charitable Aid Board and of the Kaiti, Whataupoko, Taruheru, and Pouawa Road Boards, was born in 1850 in India, and was educated at Simla. He arrived in Auckland in 1861, and was brought up to mercantile life. From 1867 to 1878 he was on the Thames goldfield, and was for two years of that time a storekeeper at Mackaytown. In 1879 he removed to Gisborne, and became editor of the local newspaper, but entered business on his own account as an accountant and commission agent in 1884. As a volunteer Mr. McKay served in the J Battery. He was married, in 1882, to a daughter of the late Mr. C. R. McKenzie, of Melbourne, and has one daughter.
The Gisborne Hospital, which was founded in 1878, is under the management of a Board of Trustees, and is supported by public subscriptions, patients' fees, Government grants, and an amount raised by levy on the local bodies by the Charitable Aid Board. For the year ended March, 1901, the receipts were £1971, including the Government grant of £623. The expenditure on the building for the same year was £715, and on ordinary expenditure £1407. Dr. J. Craig is the medical officer, and Miss C. H. G. page 972 Stewart is the matron. The daily average number of patients is nineteen. The building is erected on a site of eight acres on the banks of the Taruheru river. It is built of wood, with an iron roof, and includes a private ward, men's ward, surgical and operating ward, female ward, matron's room, and nurses' quarters. There is a fine dining hall, and the usual kitchen and out offices, with baths, lavatory and laundry. At present (1901) the hospital has accommodation for thirty patients. The trustees are making further additions to the buildings, and expect to be able during the present year to provide forty beds. The Hospital is surrounded with tastefully laid out gardens and walks. Trustees for 1901: Mr. J. W. Nolan, chairman, Mr. J. A. Harding, treasurer, and Messrs A. Dewing, R. Johnston, E. P. Joyce, A. F. Kennedy, James Macfarlane, A. Tohy, and John Warren. The secretary of the Hospital is Mr. T. A. Coleman.
The Old Men's Home at Gisborne was established in 1886, and is situated in Roebuck Road. About four buildings are utilised for the purpose of the Home, seven of the inmates of which in 1900 were old age pensioners. The average cost of maintenance per head is about 10s per week, including all charges. Mr. G. Heslop is custodian of the Home.
The Gisborne High School Board was incorporated by Act of Parliament in 1885, with a view to the consolidation of the revenues arising from educational reserves in Poverty Bay district. It was intended that when sufficient funds had accrued a first-class secondary school should be established in the district. So far, however, secondary education has been provided for by the Board subsidising the Education Board of Hawke's Bay to maintain the Gisborne public school as a district high school, and by providing scholarships supplementary to the school grants made by the Education Board. Pupils have thus been enabled, without expense, to qualify for matriculation at Gisborne. This scheme has answered well, so far, in supplying the wants of the district, but with the progress of settlement and increase of population the Governors are looking forward to establishing secular education on an enlarged basis, at an early date, and, with this end in view, they are husbanding their finances, which are steadily accumulating. If, however, the Government follows out an expressed intention to aid district high schools, the Governors' resources will then be devoted to the establishment of substantial scholarships and bursaries, to enable brilliant pupils to attend the colleges which are affiliated with the University of New Zealand. Members of the Board for 1900: Mr. W. Morgan, chairman and treasurer; Messrs J. Warren, J. Coleman, J. W. Nolan, R. Johnson; and Mr. C. A. de Lautour, honorary secretary. Mr. de Lautour is now the only Governor who has been continuously a member of the Board.
Mr. William Morgan, Chairman of the Gisborne High School Board of Governors, has held the position as well as that of treasurer, since 1891, and was a member of the Gisborne Borough Council for about two years. He was born in County Kildare, Ireland, in 1851, and was brought up to business in Galway as a saddler. In 1874 Mr. Morgan landed in Port Chalmers from the ship “Dunfillan,” and found employment in Dunedin for about two years. He started in business on his own account in Roxburgh in 1876, but for reasons of health he removed to Gisborne in 1883, when he established his present business. During his residence in Roxburgh Mr. Morgan was a member of the Borough Council for some years, and was also page 973 chairman of the school committee. As an Oddfellow Mr. Morgan is connected with Lodge Roxburgh, Manchester Unity, in which he has passed the chairs. Since 1886 he has been a member of the Gisborne school committee, and was chairman for eight years. Mr. Morgan was president of the Gisborne Chamber of Commerce in 1900–1901. He was married, in 1876, to a daughter of the late Mr George Browne, of H.M. Customs, Liverpool, and has four daughters and three sons.
The District High School, Gisborne, was erected in 1870, and is located in Derby street. It consists of a fine wooden building, containing seven large rooms, and an infant school of two large rooms. The playgrounds are extensive and well kept. The staff consists of the headmaster, six assistants, and seven pupil teachers. A gold medal, presented many years ago, for annual competition among the scholars in the Hawke's Bay educational district, has been won only twice by scholars attending other schools. There are over 600 names on the school roll.
Mr. Robert Cole, Second Assistant Master at the Gisborne District High School, holds a D2 certificate. He was born in 1872 at Greymouth, and served his pupil teachership at Forbury School, Dunedin. After studying for eighteen months at the Normal Training College, he became relieving teacher at the North School, Oamaru, and in 1893 was appointed to his present position in Gisborne. Mr. Cole has acted as secretary and treasurer of the Gisborne Rowing Club, the Poverty Bay Rugby Union, and the Poverty Bay Cricket Association. He was married, in 1900, to a daughter of Mr. L. Dawson, of Milton.
Mr Edward H. Mann, B.A., who holds a B1 certificate, is the master in charge of the secondary classes at the Gisborne District High School. Mr. Mann was born in London in 1862, educated at private schools, and studied at the London University, where he graduated B.A. in 1886. He was assistant at Christ College, Finchley, from 1885 to 1887, and arrived in Wellington in the latter year. After a short time at Greymouth Mr. Mann received an appointment at Wellington College, but resigned his position after a few weeks to take charge of the secondary work at the Gisborne District High School. As a Freemason Mr. Mann is a Past Master of Lodge Abercorn, N.Z.C. He is secretary of the Poverty Bay Golf Club, vice-president of the Gisborne Tennis Club, and also a member of the Bowling Club.
Church Missionary Society Native Training College, Te Rau Kahikatea, Gisborne. The college for training native candidates for ordination is under the control of the New Zealand Mission Trust Board, to which the Church Missionary Society has handed over the management of its work in New Zealand. The foundation of the College dates from 1883, when the Rev. A. O. Williams was appointed tutor, although Archdeacon Williams (now Bishop of Waiapu) continued to act as Principal, and had had candidates under his care at Gisborne from time to time. The need for a college was soon practically demonstrated by the number of students, and in 1884 the erection of a larger building—the present college—was undertaken. In 1885 the Rev. A. O. Williams removed to Wanganui, and was succeeded by the Rev. E. Jennings, who held the post till his appointment in 1890 as headmaster of the Waeranga-a-hika Native School, when he in turn was followed by the Rev. H. W. Williams, who is now assisted in the work by Mr. H. A. Hawkins. The students are drawn from all parts of the North Island. Of those who have passed through the college many are now working as clergy in the various Anglican dioceses.
St. Joseph's Convent Of Mercy (Superior, Mother M. Xavier), Gisborne. The convent was founded in Gisborne in 1893, as an offshoot of the parent society stationed at Greymouth. Mother Xavier and seven other Sisters conduct the select parochial schools attached to the parish, with the zeal and ability which are characteristic of the order to which they belong. The convent contains eight rooms, including dormitories, and a reception room, and there are two roomy class-rooms, which are occupied by the pupils of both schools. The curriculum, apart from the syllabus required by the Government standards, includes French, Latin, algebra, euclid, music, singing, and calisthenics. There are thirty day scholars at the select school, and seventy children in the parochial school.
The Anglican Church in Gisborne is a cruciform wooden building, dedicated to the Holy Trinity. It is built in the early English style of Gothic architecture, though when a chancel and transept were added a few years ago, some details of the decorative style were introduced by the architect, Mr. Finneran. There are 450 sittings in this church, all of which are free, the services being entirely maintained by freewill offerings. The organ, a small but sweet-toned instrument, presented to the church by the late Captain Read, is ably presided over by Mr. William Marr. The page 974 service is semi-choral in the morning, and there is a full choral service at night.
The Reverend Canon Anthony S. Webb, who was born at Portsmouth, England, is a Master of Arts of St. John's College, Cambridge. He was ordained deacon in 1861, by Charles Richard Sumner, Bishop of Winchester, and priest in the following year by the same bishop. After serving in curacies at Portsmouth, Bath, Ripley, Surrey, and Birmingham, he was appointed Vicar of Stockingford, Nuneaton, Warwickshire, in 1871. Stockingford lies in what is known as the George Eliot Country, and is described in the “Scenes from Clerical Life,” under the name of Padiford Common. In July, 1884, Canon Webb (having resigned the Vicarage of Stockingford) landed in New Zealand, and commenced his colonial life in the Seventy Mile Bush, where he had charge of the townships of Ormondville, Makotuku, Norsewood, Matamau, and Kopua. During his charge of that district, the church of St. Saviours, Makotuku, was built, and the church of the Epiphany, Ormondville, was re-built and greatly enlarged. After being appointed several times on the Standing Committee of the Diocese of Waiapu, and an Assessor of the Bishop's Court, Mr. Webb was appointed Canon of the Diocese of Waiapu in 1890, and in 1892 vicar of Gisborne. In 1895 he was elected a clerical representative to the General Synod, which met at Nelson that year.
Mr. William Marr, Choirmaster of the Anglican Church, Gisborne, was born in 1861 in Edinburgh, Scotland. He was a choir boy at St. Peter's Church, and sang in Edinburgh Cathedral, and afterwards in Salisbury Cathedral, as a counter-tenor. Mr. Marr came to Wellington by the s.s. “Aorangi” in 1884. Soon afterwards he settled in Poverty Bay, and was farming at Patutahi for twelve years. In 1896 he resumed his profession, as a teacher of music, in Gisborne.
St. Andrew's Presbyterian Church, Gisborne. The pioneer minister of the Presbyterian Church in Poverty Bay was the Rev. George Morice, who spent a few months in the district about the end of 1871. Mr. Morice held services throughout the district, and succeeded in getting together a congregation, for which the little church still in use at Matawhero was procured. The Rev. William Hevingham Root was appointed to the charge about a year later, and resided at first at Matawhero, the most populous part of his district. Mr. Root removed to Gisborne in 1873, and held regular services in the old courthouse. He at once set about raising funds to build a church, and in March, 1874, had so far succeeded as to justify the managers in proceeding with the erection of St. Andrew's Church—a wooden building forty-four by twenty-two feet—which was finished and opened on the 18th of October, 1874. Mr. Root's ministry was eminently successful; in 1878 a manse was erected adjacent to the church, at a cost of £450, and by July of that year it was decided to double the size of the church. Almost immediately thereafter Mr. Root received a call to Greymouth, and accepted it. The church was then without a settled minister until May, 1879, when the Rev. John McAra was called from Balclutha. Under page 975 his ministry, church services were conducted in many remote parts of the district, and in 1885 an assistant minister was appointed. Owing, however, to commercial depression, the services of the assistant had to be discontinued. In January, 1890, Mr. McAra was killed on the Palmerston road by a fall from his buggy, and his loss was severely felt by all sections of the community. In October, 1890, the Rev. Robert Middleton Ryburn, M.A. (New Zealand University), was ordained as minister of St. Andrew's. He was a zealous and sincere pastor, an effective preacher, and sought out the distressed and suffering of all classes, and made himself generally beloved. On the 7th of September, 1879, he was called to Wanganui, and in June, 1898, the Rev. James G. Paterson, formerly of St. Paul's, Napier, was called to the pastorate, and since his appointment a debt of £270 has been paid off, and the church has been enlarged at a cost of £300. A Sunday school was established in 1874, under the superintendency of Mr. William Teat, a Gisborne merchant, and it steadily increased until, in 1884, there were thirteen teachers and 150 scholars on the roll. Mr. Teat died in October, 1888, and was succeeded by Mr. John Warren, the present superintendent. A branch of the Christian Endeavour Society was opened in 1892, and now has a membership of forty.
The Rev. James Gillies Paterson, Minister in charge of St. Andrew's Presbyterian Church, Gisborne, was born in 1841, in Forfarshire, Scotland. He was educated at Aberdeen University and at the Free Church Divinity Hall of the same place, and was licensed by the Presbytery of Strathbogie in 1873. Mr. Paterson came to Port Chalmers by the ship “Auckland” in 1874, and was stationed for two years at Waihola. He was then called to St. Paul's Church, Invercargill, and was its pastor for seven years. During his residence at Invercargill Mr. Paterson had the satisfaction of seeing large additions made in connection with his church, and on leaving was presented with an illuminated address, testifying to the value of his work in the district; a new church capable of holding about 800 people having been erected during his ministry. Mr. Paterson left Invercargill in response to a call to St. Paul's church, Napier, where he was in charge for nearly fifteen years, during which the church was twice enlarged, and the congregation grew very considerably. Mr. Paterson has been stationed at Gisborne since June, 1898. He was married, in 1878, to a daughter of the late Mr. G. Joyce, a squatter of Plaistow, Victoria, and has one daughter.
The Rev. Robert Middleton Ryburn, M.A., formerly Minister of St. Andrew's Presbyterian Church, Gisborne, whence he was transferred to St. Paul's, Wanganui, is a native of Auckland. He was born in 1865 and is the second son of Mr. R. N. Ryburn, an old and respected settler of Auckland provincial district. The reverend gentleman received his early training at Panmure, Newmarket, and City East Schools, and was a pupil at the Auckland College and Grammar School for five years, during which he held the district and open scholarships. Later on he attended the Auckland University College, where he obtained his B.A. degree and a Senior College Scholarship, and finished his studies at the University of Otago, where he took his M.A. degree. Mr. Ryburn was also a student at the Theological Hall, Dunedin, and held a Somervell Scholarship during his theological training. He afterwards was licensed by the Auckland Presbytery, and in 1890 he was ordained and inducted to the charge of St. Andrew's, Gisborne, but resigned in September, 1897, in consequence of receiving a unanimous call to St. Paul's, Wanganui. During the reverend gentleman's ministry, the congregation steadily retained its adherents, and a new church was built at Ormond and the Matawhero sanctuary was enlarged. Mr. Ryburn's departure from Gisborne was appropriately commemorated by a splendid farewell gathering in the Theatre Royal, and leading clergymen and citizens of all denominations gave expression to their respect and esteem for Mr. Ryburn's sterling qualities as a minister of the Gospel and a Christian man. At this gathering a beautiful illuminated address, signed by the members of St. Andrew's congregation, was presented to the reverend gentleman, and a very handsome reference Bible was subscribed by the members of the Ormond congregation. Mr. Ryburn was a member and an ex-president of the Prohibition League of Waiapu, and he has long taken an active interest in Maori missionary work.
St. Mary's Star Of The Sea Roman Catholic Church, Gisborne, stands on a section of an acre and a half at the corner of Lowe and Childer's Road. It was erected in 1878, and is a wood and iron building with accommodation for 300 worshippers. The presbytery, which [gap — reason: illegible]joins the church is a fine two storey building, with nine rooms. A separate building used as a school by the Sisters of Mercy, also adjoins the church, and has accommodation for 140 pupils. Services organised at St. Mary's are held at Ormond and Patutahi, where there are churches, and also at Murewai, Te Arai, Matawhero, Makuri, Waerenga-a-hika, Te Karaka and Tolago Bay, generally in school rooms.
The Rev. Father Mulvihill, of the Star of the Sea Church, Gisborne, was born in County Kerry, Ireland, in 1868. He was educated at Maynooth and Killarney Colleges, and ordained at Maynooth in 1892 by the Right Rev. Dr. Walsh, Archbishop of Dublin. Father Mulvihill went to Edinburgh and officiated at St. Patrick's Church in that city until the end of 1895, when he left for New Zealand, and arrived in Auckland, via Wellington, to take up an appointment in St. Patrick's Cathedral. In 1898 he was appointed to his present position at Gisborne.
The Rev. William O'Connor, Assistant Priest at St. Mary's, Gisborne, was born in Queen's County, Ireland, in 1869. He was educated at Rockwell College, Ireland, at the French College, Black Rock, Ireland, and at the University Gregoria at Rome. Father O'Connor was ordained in 1899, at Dublin, and arrived at Auckland also in 1899, when he almost immediately took up his duties in Gisborne.
Wesleyan Church, Gisborne. This church was completed in 1891, and is a wooden building with sitting accommodation for about 220 worshippers. There is also a schoolroom, which seats 160 persons, and was formerly the church. Both buildings are situated in Bright page 976 Street. The Wesleyan body has two other preaching places in the district, though the church has no property in those places. At Waimata service is held in a public hall, and at Ormond in the schoolroom. The number of adherents returned to last Conference was 356; members, fifty-three; and Sunday School scholars, 120. There is a good parsonage of eight rooms situated in Palmerston Road. Both church and parsonage were built during the ministry of the Rev. Josiah Ward.
The Rev. B. F. Rothwell is now minister in charge of the Wesleyan Church at Gisborne, to which he was transferred by the Conference of March, 1901, in succession to the Rev. F. B. Oldham, transferred to Australia.
The Salvation Army Barracks at Gisborne were erected in 1898, and stand in a good position in Gladstone Road. The corps was established in the district in 1866, and for some time occupied a wooden building, which was taken down and replaced by the fine brick structure now in use. There are two halls, which are respectively used by the senior and junior soldiers; that of the seniors seats 300, and the other 150 persons. The Army possesses a good band in Gisborne, and Captain James McKay is now (1901) in command.
The Poverty Bay Club, which is situated at the corner of Childers' Road and Customs Street, stands on a section of half an acre of land. The club dates back to 1870, and in 1900 had 110 members. For a number of years it was conducted in a wing of the Albion Club Hotel, in Gladstone Road, but a special building was afterwards erected by Mr Crawford in Gladstone Road, and was occupied for eleven years. The fine building now occupied was erected in June, 1898. It is of wood and iron, two stories in height, and has a large balcony around the front and two sides. There are eleven rooms, a billiard room, a bar, and a large reading room. The dining room will seat thirty persons, and there are three sitting rooms, besides comfortable accommodation for the stewards; and the grounds surrounding the club are tastefully laid out. Mr. T. Chrisp is president; Mr. J. Macfarlane, vice-president; Mr. A. Rees, honorary treasurer, and Mr. G. Grant, honorary secretary.
Mr. George Grant, C.E., Honorary Secretary of the Poverty Bay Club, was born in London. He was educated in his native city and in Germany, and was brought up as an engineer in London. Having served some time with Sir Charles Fox, he came to Port Chalmers by the ship “Otago” in 1871. Two years afterwards he joined the Public Works Department and served in Otago and Southland. During the construction of the Blueskin section of the Government railways Mr. Grant was in charge for the contractors; he afterwards had charge of the Kaitangata railway, and also supervised the opening up of the Kaitangata coal mine. For about seven years Mr. Grant was a partner in the firm of Dennison and Grant, engineers in Oamaru. He settled at Gisborne in 1881, and after working for some years in connection with the Native Lands Settlement Company, engaged in general practice, after retiring from the firm of Dennison and Grant, about 1886. For twelve years Mr. Grant was Government valuator in the district. He acts as engineer for the Patutahi, Waikohu, and Ngatapa road districts.
Mr. G. Grant.
Loyal Gisborne Lodge, I.O.O.F., M.U., 6087, was established in 1873. Officers for 1900: C. H. Hyett, G.M.; G. Goldsmith, N.G.; B. Quigley, V.G.; A. Kirk, elective secretary, and C. H. Ambridge, permanent secretary. Messrs J. T. Evans, A. W. Rees, and W. C. McLean are trustees. There are 119 members, and the accumulated sick and funeral funds of the lodge are put down at £2000. The surplus funds amount to £785, and the management funds to £20.
Turanganui Lodge, No. 7, U.A.O.D., Gisborne, was established in 1882. Officers for 1900: J. A. Eaton, A.D.; G. W. Primrose, treasurer, and H. McKay, secretary. There are about 300 members on the roll, and the accumulated funds exceed £2000.
The Poverty Bay Rowing Club was established in 1884. Officers for 1900: Mr. E. Murphy, president; Mr. J. Webb, captain; Mr. J. H. Warren, treasurer, and Mr. W. Fraser, secretary. There are forty-five members, and the club owns two good sheds on the Taruheru river. Its property consists of twelve fine boats, and annual matches are held with the Gisborne Club and the two Napier Clubs.
The Gisborne Bowling Club has over one hundred members. Officers for 1900–1901: Mr. J. W. Bright, president; Mr. W. Pettie, vice-president; Mr. C. W. Ferris, treasurer, and Mr. C. H. W. Dixon, secretary. The green is situated at Kaiti. It is beautifully laid out into two lawns, and affords ample space for thirteen rinks at the same time. The lawns are divided by a wooden pavilion containing three rooms and out offices. The Whataupoko and Kaiti clubs are subsidiary to the Bowling Club, the members of which have the privilege of joining. The Champion Fours Tournament was held on the Gisborne green in January, 1901.
The Gisborne Cricket Club was established in 1888. Officers for 1900: Mr. W. O. Skeet, president; Mr. R. Cole, secretary and treasurer, and Mr. A. J. Massey, captain. There are fifty members, and practices are held in the Victoria Domain. The club has two senior elevens, who usually give a good account of themselves during the season.
The Poverty Bay Golf Club was established in 1893. Officers for 1900: Mr. G. Maclean, president; Mr. R. J. Reynolds, vice-president, and Mr. E. H. Mann, secretary and treasurer. There are about eighty members, and the links consist of a good eighteen-hole course in the vicinity of the borough. Contests are held regularly between the Gisborne and Hawke's Bay Clubs.
The Gisborne Poultry Fanciers' Club dates from 1893. Officers for 1900: Mr. H. M. Porter, chairman, and Messrs W. Gault, G. R. Moore, W. Green, C. Ferris, R. Moore, H. Williams; Mr. W. Ranger, secretary and treasurer. The annual show takes place in July, and in 1900 there were over 900 exhibits. There are about ninety members, and it is considered that the show is among the best of its kind held in New Zealand.
The Poverty Bay Park Company, Ltd., was established in 1888. The park is situated on the Makaraka Road, opposite the cemetery, and consists of 112 acres. There is a large, well laid out racecourse, on which the Gisborne Racing Club holds its meeting, and the Caledonian and other athletic sports are held on the ground. Mr. H. M. Porter is secretary to the company.
The Gisborne Racing Club, which was formed in 1889 by some of the leading commercial men of Gisborne, holds two race meetings during the year, one in January and the other in July. The course is situated upon the Gisborne Park grounds, and the club is in a flourishing condition.
Poverty Bay Turf Club, Gisborne. This club was founded in 1870 by some leading Poverty Bay settlers; the first meetings were held under somewhat exciting circumstances, a troop of armed constabulary being drawn up behind the stand in case of friction between the Europeans and Maoris. For some years the club held its race meetings at a very pretty spot, called the “Island,” at Waerenga-a-hika, but, on the settlement of the Makauri block, this property was sub-divided, and the club moved its racecourse to its present site at Makaraka. The grounds are beautifully laid out, over £2000 having been spent in improvements. Two meetings are held annually, the spring meeting in October, and the summer carnival in January. The membership of the club, which is in a flourishing condition, stands at about fifty.
The New Zealand Natives' Association (Poverty Bay Section) was established in 1899. Officers for 1900: Rev. H. Williams, president; N. G. Nasmith, junior, treasurer, and C. F. Lewis, secretary. There are over 200 members, and the club rooms, situated in Gladstone Road over the premises of Messrs R. Johnston and Co., are well furnished, and consist of a reading room and card room. There is a piano, and the latest colonial and British papers are filed. During the winter months lectures on intellectual and social subjects are delivered, and no gambling or drinking is allowed on the premises. The branch is in a good financial position, and there is no debt on the furniture.
The Poverty Bay Agricultural And Pastoral Society dates from 1879. Officers for 1900: Mr. J. Macfarlane, president; Mr. W. W. Smith, vice-president; Mr. J. W. Bright, honorary treasurer, and Mr. G. R. Wyllie, secretary. There is also a committee of twelve. Annual shows are held at the Gisborne Park Company's ground, and the attendance is usually about 5000. The catalogue for the show of 1900 contained 571 exhibits, and the show, which is held in October, is one of the events of the year in Poverty Bay.
The Gisborne City Band was established in 1876. Officers for 1900: Mr. T. Morrison, bandmaster, and Mr. C. Adair, secretary. It is a full brass band of twenty-four members, and is ever ready to perform on public occasions, and especially for charitable purposes. The band owns a practice room in Palmerston Street; it was erected in 1876, and enlarged in 1888, and measures 20ft by 20ft.
The Turanganui Public Library was established about 1875. It contains 3000 volumes, and has a large reading room supplied with daily and illustrated papers, and magazines, and is domiciled in a large building, which was erected in Lowe Street by the Library Trustees some years ago. Portions of the building are leased to the County Council and Borough Council for offices. A small museum is attached to the library. Mr. C. P. Davies is treasurer, and Mr. L. T. Symes, secretary.
Gisborne Orchestral Society, This society was founded in February, 1892, under the conductorship of Mr. Thomas Wildman, the honorary secretaryship being in the hands of Mr. M. Foster, who has held the position ever since. The first conductor was succeeded by Mr. H. G. Spackman, late organist of Napier Cathedral, and he continued to wield the baton until November, 1896, when he was succeeded by Mr. William Marr. The orchestra numbers about twenty-two members, and the performances are highly appreciated by the general public.
East, Charles James, Music Teacher, Gisborne. Mr. East was born at Gisborne in 1875, and is the eldest son of Mr. James East of that town. He was educated in his native place, and afterwards engaged in business with his father, but developing marked musical abilities, it was decided that he should follow that profession. Mr. East studied the theory of music, pianoforte and organ, under Mr. R. S. Airey, R.A.M., and holds a first-class certificate with senior honours from Trinity College, London. Since 1891, Mr. East has devoted himself to teaching. He has a good connection, and is still assiduously practising and studying his art.
Mr. C. J. East.
Lewis, Cecil Francis, Importer of Musical Instruments, General Commission and Insurance Agent, Gladstone Road, Gisborne. Telephone 75. Bankers, Bank of Australasia. Mr. Lewis has been census enumerator since 1887. He has convenient premises centrally situated in Gladstone Road, and is well known throughout the district.
The Poverty Bay Herald, a daily paper, was established in 1874 by Messrs Dinwiddie and Walker, of the Hawke's Bay Herald. It has been published regularly without intermission ever since, and, like Tennyson's brook, bids fair to go on for ever. From Messrs Dinwiddie and Walker it passed to a company, and subsequently into other hands, but became the property of the present proprietor, Mr. A. R. Muir, in 1884.
Mr. A. R. Muir was born in Wellington and has been identified from his boyhood with New Zealand journalism, his father having been one of the founders and for many years a proprietor of the “New Zealand Independent,” afterwards “The New Zealand Times,” one of Wellington's first papers.
Mr. A. L. Muir, the Editor of the paper, is a son of the proprietor, and was born in page 978 Wellington. He was educated at Nelson College, and entered journalism soon after his father's arrival at Gisborne in 1884. After a steady course of training in his profession, including attendance for six sessions in the Press Gallery, at Wellington, Mr. Muir assumed control of the literary department of the paper in May, 1896.
Supreme Court, Gisborne. Periodical sittings of the Supreme Court are held at Gisborne by Mr. Justice Conolly, whose head-quarters are at Auckland.
Mr. George John Alexander Johnstone, Deputy Registrar and Deputy Sheriff of the Supreme Court, and Clerk of the Magistrate's Court, was born in 1865, in Stirling, Scotland. In 1882 he entered the Magistrate's Court at Gisborne as a cadet, and was promoted to the position of assistant clerk in 1893, when he was also appointed clerk of the Native Lands Court. In 1899 he was appointed Deputy Registrar of the Supreme Court and Deputy Sheriff and Clerk of the Magistrate's Court in June, 1900. As a volunteer he served for three years in the J Battery, which was subsequently disbanded. Mr. Johnstone accompanied the expedition which was organised to prevent the archrebel Te Kooti coming to Gisborne.
Stipendiary Magistrate's Court, Gisborne. This court serves the whole of the Poverty Bay district, and was presided over by Mr. James Booth from 1883 until the time of his death, which occurred on the 14th of May, 1900. Mr. Booth was succeeded by Mr. W. A. Barton, who had been Clerk of the Court, and also Registrar and Sheriff of the Supreme Court at Gisborne. The Court stands on a section of about three-quarters of an acre of land with frontages to Read's Quay and Customhouse Street. It is built of wood and iron, and contains a large court room with offices for the Magistrate, or Judge, and rooms for the clerk, bailiff, jury, ladies, and prisoners. The court has also a large public office, and convenient strong rooms, and the law library is situated in one of the wings.
Mr. William Alfred Barton, Stipendiary Magistrate, Registrar of the Supreme Court and Sheriff and Returning Officer for the district of Poverty Bay, was born at Birmingham on the 3rd of December, 1852, arrived in Australia at the early age of ten years, and was educated partly in Queensland and later in Hokitika, New Zealand. Mr. Barton entered the Department of Justice at Hokitika as a cadet in 1867, and in 1870 he was appointed assistant clerk at Hokitika. In 1879 he was made Receiver of Gold Revenue and Clerk of the Magistrate's and Warden's Court at Kumara, where he remained until October, 1882, when he received a similar appointment at Greymouth, where he acted also as Clerk of the District Court. He held these offices until 1891, when he was transferred to Gisborne as Clerk of the Stipendiary Magistrate's Court, etc. On leaving Kumara, the citizens of that goldmining centre presented Mr. Barton (through the Mayor, Mr. O'Hagan) with a gold watch and chain and an illuminated address, the Premier, Mr. Seddon, being one of the chief promoters of the function. A similar testimonial was presented to Mr. Barton when he left Greymouth. He was appointed to his present position on the 1st of June, 1900, as successor to the late Mr. James Booth. Mr. Barton was married in March, 1878, to Miss Hawkins, second daughter of Mr. George F. Hawkins, solicitor, Hokitika, and has had three sons.
Mr. W. A. Barton.
Mr. Lionel Fitzherbert Williams, Assistant Clerk of the Court, and Deputy Registrar of Births, Deaths, and Marriages, at Gisborne, was born in 1877 at Wairoa, Hawke's Bay, where he was educated, and at Te Aute College. He is the eldest son of Mr. H. J. Williams, sometime of the Wairoa County Council. Mr. Williams joined the public service in December, 1897, as assistant at the Magistrate's Court, Gisborne. He has been a member of the East Coast Mounted Rifles since the inception of the corps, and he is a member of the New Zealand Natives' Association. His mother is a sister of the Hon. James Council. Native Minister.
Mr. Francis Thomas Hewitt Bullen, Bailiff of the Magistrate's Court, Gisborne, was born in Cork, Ireland, in 1834. In 1852 he came out to Australia, where he served six years in the Victorian police, and was occasionally on the Mounted Gold Escort. He arrived in Otago in 1862, when he joined the Mounted Police, and was stationed in various parts of Otago. In 1890 he left the police force and accepted his present position.
Mr. James Booth, sometime Stipendiary Magistrate, Commissioner of the Native Land Court, and Coroner for Poverty Bay District, was born in Westmorland, England, and is the eldest son of Mr. Richard Booth, of that county. He was educated in Westmorland and London, and in 1852 came to New Zealand in connection with the Church Missionary Society, per ship “Slains Castle, and arrived at Wanganui on Christmas Eve. In consequence of ill health Mr. Booth revisited England in 1854, but returned to the Colony in 1856, when he settled down at Pipikiri, in the Upper Wanganui district, and engaged in pastoral pursuits and teaching until 1864. Early in that year the Hauhaus broke out in rebellion and came overland from Taranaki to Pipikiri, with the intention of ultimately attacking the town of Wanganui. Mr. Booth, with his wife and family, were made prisoners, and for three days and nights were kept in constant fear of being murdered, but owing to the friendly influence of the young chieftain Hori Patene, their lives were spared and they were allowed to escape, after losing everything they possessed, except the clothes they wore. A few days after this miraculous escape, a great fight took place between the Friendly Natives and the Hauhaus at Moutoa, where the rebels were defeated and dispersed. Mr. Booth then went to Wanganui, but returned shortly afterwards in company with Dr. Featherston, then Superintendent of the Province of Wellington, who was escorted by an armed force, which captured several Hauhaus and eventually took them to Wellington, to stand their trial for sedition and rebellion. Mr. Booth was left in military charge of the Upper Wanganui, and in October, 1864, he was present at a fight at Ohoutahi, between the Friendly Natives and the rebels, where the celebrated chief John Williams was slain. The Upper Wanganui Natives had then joined the Hauhaus and again threatened to attack Wanganui, with the object of driving the pakeha out of the country. However, before attempting to carry out that threat, they wrote to the Friendly Natives, informing them that they had no ill-feeling towards their own countrymen, but wanted permission to pass down the Wanganui River in their canoes, without landing at any of the villages belonging to the Friendly Natives. These loyal Maoris replied to the effect that they would protect the Wanganui settlers, and resist the threatened expedition, and with that object they assembled at Hiruharama or Jerusalem, near Ohoutahi, where the fight of October, 1864, took place. Both parties were armed with flintlocks and double-barrelled guns, the Government never having up to that time supplied either arms or ammunition to the Friendly Natives, who fought the colonists' battles at the cost of their lives and pockets. During the contest the ammunition of the Friendly Natives ran low and Mr. Booth with a native crew paddled to Wanganui, a distance of fifty miles, for a fresh supply. A meeting of the Justices of the town was held, and the serious position of affairs being explained, it was decided to apply to the military authorities quartered in Wanganui, and these supplied the necessary ammunition. The return of Mr. Booth and party happily saved the allies, whose ammunition was on the point of exhaustion. Thus was brought about the defeat of the rebel Hauhaus, and for this important service Mr. Booth received the thanks of the Native Minister, then the Hon. Mr. Mantell. Shortly afterwards Pipiriki and three other posts were occupied by the Imperial troops, and the town of Wanganui was thus placed beyond the risk of attack. In September, 1865, Mr. Booth was appointed Resident Magistrate of the Wanganui district, and a year later was made Judge of the Native Land Court. In 1867 the Patea district was placed under his jurisdiction, and the Imperial troops were withdrawn. After their departure, the natives shewed much discontent in consequence of the settlers being placed upon their confiscated lands. They burned the settlers' homes, destroyed their sheep and cattle, stole horses, and threatened to rise up in arms throughout the district. Mr. Booth took immediate steps for the recovery of the stolen property, and for the protection of the settlers, and in the performance of his duties he was in constant danger of being murdered. On one occasion near the Ketemarae Settlement, he escaped the fate which over took three settlers, Messrs Cahill, Squire and Clark, who were killed and shockingly mutilated. Immediately afterwards the Ngatiruanui natives rose up in open rebellion under the notorious Titokowaru, who was eventually captured, but not until the lapse of many years. In 1876 Mr. Booth was transferred to the Native Land Purchase Department, as Commissioner, and in 1883 he was appointed Magistrate in the Poverty Bay district. He held office until he died on the 14th of May, 1900.
Mr. J. Booth.
The Gisborne Police Sub-District includes the country extending for fifty miles south from the East Cape. The sergeant in charge, five constables, and one detective, are stationed in Gisborne, and there are three constables in the outlying districts, and two Maori constables. The station is located in Childers' Road, and consists of iron buildings, including two dwellinghouses of four and six rooms respectively. There are two cells attached to the station.
Mr. James Siddells, Sergeant in charge of the Gisborne District, was born in Nelson in 1859. He entered the police force at the age of eighteen, and was stationed at Wellington, Porangahau, Ormondville, and Dannevirke, before taking up his present position at Gisborne in 1900. Sergeant Siddells was promoted to his present rank in 1898.
Native Land Court And Native Land Validation Court (Mr. James Meacham Batham, Judge). A notice of Mr. Batham, as Land Registrar, etc., appears in the Wellington volume. He has, however, since its publication been appointed Judge of the Native Land Court and of the Native Land Validation Court at Gisborne.
Mr. J. Brooking.
De Lautour, Cecil Albert, Barrister and Solicitor, Gisborne. Guided by the advice of Mr. Wilson Gray, so long and so honourably known as a District Court Judge in Otago, Mr. de Lautour about 1879 decided to qualify for the bar. Mr. W. L. Rees, then a member of the House of Representatives, who was in business at Napier, offered to aid him by allowing him to join his office, and so he became articled to Mr. Rees for three years. Having passed all the examinations then required of barristers, he applied for admission, but was refused by the Supreme Court on the ground that his attendance in Parliament was inconsistent with the position of an articled clerk. Exclusion from the bar of one who had passed all examinations and had been engaged for many years in making laws was felt to be a hardship, and facilitated the passing of the Law Practitioners' Act, 1882, which did away with articles in the case of barristers and solicitors. With the concurrence of the Hon. Mr. Whitaker, then Attorney General, this provision was made retrospective, and Mr. de Lautour was at the close of the session at once admitted to practice. He commenced practice at Gisborne, where he has since continued. In 1872 Mr. de Lautour married the daughter of Mr. Bust, formerly of Waikouaiti, Otago, by whom he has a large family. Mr de Lautour is further referred to elsewhere as an ex-member of Parliament.
Mr. Albert McKay, Licensed Interpreter and Managing Law Clerk to Mr. C. A. de Lautour, was born at Port Waikato on the 14th of February, 1852. He was educated under the late Archdeacon Maunsell at the Kohanga Mission Station, near Port Waikato. In 1877 Mr. McKay removed to Napier, where he was engaged as compositor on the Maori newspaper “Te Wananga,” until towards the end of 1879, when he left and entered the office of Mr. W. L. Rees, as Licensed Interpreter and law clerk, in Napier until 1882. In that year he removed to Gisborne, where he still remained in the same employment until 1885, but in 1886 he entered the Native Land Court Office at Gisborne as Government Interpreter and Clerk of the Court, and held the position till 1888. Since that year he has occupied his present position in Mr. de Lautour's office. Mr. McKay has been a member of the Order of Rechabites since 1894, and is attached to the Gisborne Tent. He was married, in 1890, to Cecelia Kathleen, a daughter of Mr. William Greening, of Mahia, Hawke's Bay, and has two daughters and one son.
Finn, Hugh Joseph, Barrister and Solicitor, Union Bank Buildings, Gisborne. Mr. Finn was born at Kilkenny, Ireland, in the year 1847. His education was commenced by private tuition at home, and when he was about twelve years of age it was continued at the French College, Blackrock, near Dublin, afterwards at the Jesuit College, Amiens, France, subsequently at the Church of England Grammar School, Melbourne, under the late Dr. Bromby, and thence he entered the Melbourne University. In 1869 he entered the office of Mr. George Godfrey, one of the leading solicitors of Melbourne, as an articled clerk, and successfully passed his law examinations. In March, 1874, Mr. Finn arrived in Dunedin, and in August of that year he was called to the New Zealand Bar, before His Honour the late Mr. Justice Chapman, and immediately afterwards commenced the practice of his profession at Queentown, Otago. In 1877, Mr. Finn married Miss E. McLean, the youngest daughter of the late Mr. John McLean, of the Kurow Station, near Oamaru. In 1879 he successfully contested the Wakatipu seat in the House of Representatives as a Liberal candidate, his opponent being the ex-member, Mr. Manders, and Mr William Mason, the first Mayor of Dunedin; and he occupied the seat until the expiration of the seventh parliament in 1882, when he declined to offer himself for re-election, as he had ceased to reside in the district. In 1881 he visited Poverty Bay to conduct some legal business there, with the result that he has made Gisborne his home. He is a commissioner of the Supreme Courts of Victoria and of South Australia. During the early period of Mr. Finn's career he joined the Pontifical Zouaves in Italy and was associated with the late Sir Patrick Buckley, who was attached to the famous Irish Brigade. In the year 1873 he received his commission as lieutenant in the Sandridge Volunteer Artillery Corps (Victoria), but resigned in 1874 on his departure for New Zealand. In 1876, Mr. Finn received his commission as Captain of the Queenstown Rifles and acted as such until the corps disbanded in 1878, when he was appointed to the command of the “M” Battery of Artillery. In 1880 he received his commission as Major of the New Zealand Volunteer Force, and was appointed to the command of the Lakes District Volunteers, but resigned the command in 1882. He still retains his commission as Major, having been placed on the honorary unattached list.
Jones, Robert Noble, Solicitor, Gladstone Road, Gisborne. Bankers, Bank of New South Wales. Mr. Jones was admitted as a solicitor of the Supreme Court of New Zealand on the 22nd of August, 1890, before Mr Justice Conolly, and has since then practised his profession in Gisborne. He takes a prominent interest in public matters.
Lysnar, William Douglas, Barrister and Solicitor, New Zealand Loan and Mercantile Agency Company's Chambers, Gisborne. Bankers, Bank of Australasia. Mr. Lysnar was born at Auckland on the 30th of April, 1867, and is the second son of Mr. W. Dean Lysnar, a retired schoolmaster, residing in Gisborne. Mr. Lysnar was educated by his father, and after leaving school he acquired two years' experience of station life, before entering the office of Mr. Edward ffrancis Ward, barrister and solicitor, with whom he remained for several years. In 1887 Mr. Lysnar joined the firm of Messrs Sievwright and de Lautour, and after the dissolution of the firm he remained with Mr de Lautour until 1892, when he began to practise on his own account. Mr. Lysnar was admitted as a solicitor, before Mr. Justice Conolly on the 26th of February, 1891. Subsequently he passed the barristers' examination, took the required sections of the LL. degree through the New Zealand University, and was admitted as barrister on the 8th of August, 1895. In the days of the war Mr. Lysnar was a member of the East Coast Hussars, who captured Te Kooti. Outside his profession, he is largely interested in pastoral properties in the Poverty Bay district. In 1893 Mr. Lysnar married Miss Ida Eleanor Tiffen, second daughter of Mr. F. J. Tiffen, runholder, of Hawke's Bay.
Nolan, James Wrey, Barrister and Solicitor, Gisborne. Mr. Nolan was born at Bathurst, New South Wales, and educated at the Wesley College and Grammar School, Auckland. He was articled to Messrs Russell and Devore, solicitors, Auckland; was admitted in 1879 to the New Zealand Bar, by the late Mr Justice Gillies, and immediately commenced practice in Gisborne. In 1886 Mr. Skeet was admitted as a partner. Mr. Nolan has been crown solicitor since 1882. He has been a member of the Gisborne Hospital Board for fourteen years and is at present chairman. Mr. Nolan is also president of the Poverty Bay Turf Club, and of the Gisborne Cricket Club, vice-president of the Poverty Bay Rugby Union, captain of the local golf club, one of the governors of the Gisborne High School, and an ex-member of the local school committee. He was also a member of the Gisborne Borough Council for some years. During his residence in Auckland Mr. Nolan was a prominent athlete and a skilful exponent of the Rugby game, being an old representative player and a member of the first Auckland football team that toured New Zealand.
Rees Brothers (Arthur Westland Rees and William Lincoln Lee Rees), Barristers and Solicitors, Lowe Street, Gisborne. This firm was constituted in 1892. Both partners are sons of Mr. W. L. Rees, who for many years has been a prominent man at Gisborne, and who is noticed as an ex-member of Parliament at pages 105 and 106 of this volume.
Mr. A. W. Rees was born in Hokitika in 1866, and was admitted a barrister and solicitor in 1891. He was married, in 1893, to a daughter of Mr. W. F. Crawford, of Gisborne, and has two daughters.
Mr. W. L. L. Rees, the other partner in the firm, was born in Melbourne in 1865, and was admitted to the bar in the same year as his brother. He was married, in 1893, to a daughter of Mr. H. M. Jervis, of Auckland, and has two sons.
Sievwright, William, Barrister, Solicitor and Notary Public, Gisborne. Mr. Sievwright was admitted as a solicitor in Scotland in 1863. He joined his father as a partner in an old-established solicitor's business in his native town of Lerwick, and continued to practise there under the style of W. and W. Sievwright. In 1877 he left for New Zealand, on the invitation of Messrs Sievwright and Stout, solicitors, Dunedin; was admitted in New Zealand in 1878 as a barrister and solicitor, and joined the firm of Sievwright and Stout, in their Wellington office; there he practised till 1883, when he removed to Gisborne, where he has since practised. Mr. Sievwright is now, and has been since 1884, a member of the Gisborne Harbour Board. He is a solicitor in the Poverty Bay district for the Public Trustee, and also district solicitor for the Government Advances to Settlers Office. Mr. Sievwright is a warm advocate for a New Zealand state-currency, managed by a purely non-politically constituted State Bank Board; currency to be issued on operative current accounts, against specific security of land or chattels pledged, and interest to be charged on the daily debit balance of each account, but not at a rate exceeding four per cent.
Cole, George William, L.R.C.P. (Edin. and Glasgow), Physician and Surgeon, Gladstone Road, Gisborne. Dr. Cole took his diploma in 1872 in Glasgow, and also at Edinburgh in the same year. He came out to Port Chalmers in 1873 as surgeon in charge of the ship “Lady Jocelyn,” and was for some time on the staff of the hospital at Wellington. His present practice in Gisborne was established in December, 1895.
Craig, John, L.R.C.P., L.R.C.S.I., L.M. (Rotunda Hospital), Physician and Surgeon, Gisborne. Dr. Craig was born on the 21st of April, 1859, and was educated at Erasmus Smith's High School, Dublin. He studied surgery at the Royal College of Surgeons, Dublin, medicine at King and Queen's College (now the Royal College of Physicians), and midwifery at the Rotunda Hospital, Dublin. He also studied at the following hospitals:—City of Dublin Hospital, Baggot Street, Adelaide Hospital Peter Street, and Molesworth Street Eye and Ear Infirmary, under Drs. Swanzy and Fitzgerald. Dr. Craig received his diploma from the Royal College of Surgeons, Ireland, in 1882, from the Rotunda Hospital in 1882 and from King and Queen's College in 1884. He arrived in this Colony in 1892.
Hughes, Leonard, M.R.C.S., L.R.C.P. (England), Physician and Surgeon, Gisborne. Dr. Hughes is a son of the late Mr. Henry Hughes, engineer, of Wellington. He was born in Leicestershire, England, and came to the Colony in 1887, but he re-visited England in 1891, and studied medicine at the University College Hospital, London. On returning to New Zealand in 1896, Dr. Hughes established his present practice.
Noble-Campbell, Stuart A., Surgeon Dentist, Lowe Street, Gisborne. Mr. Noble-Campbell was born in Christchurch in 1870, and was educated at Wellington College. He was registered under the Dental Board in 1892, and settled at Gisborne, and established his present practice in 1894.
Sykes, Walter James, Surgeon Dentist, Gladstone Road, Gisborne. Mr. Sykes is an English dentist, and had two years' experience in Sydney before coming to Auckland in 1876. He established his present business in 1891.
Hood, Thomas, Chemist, Gladstone Road, Gisborne. This business dates from April, 1900. The proprietor was born in 1866 in New Plymouth, where he learned his trade. After gaining experience in various parts of the colony, he founded his present business.
Kane, Harold, Chemist and Druggist, Gladstone Road, Gisborne. Telephone 14. Private residence, Carnarvon Street. This business was established in 1878 by Mr. H. Bishop, and was acquired by the present proprietor in 1898.
The Bank Of New South Wales, Gisborne, occupies part of the premises belonging to Mr. Edward Murphy, situated at the corner of Gladstone Road and Customs Street. This branch of the bank has twice suffered misfortune in the burning of its leasehold domiciles, first in May, 1894, and again in May, 1897.
Mr. Frederick Parker, Manager of the Bank of New South Wales, Gisborne, was page 982 born in Napier in 1861; he was educated there, and entered the service of the bank in 1876. Mr. Parker was appointed manager in 1888.
The Bank Of Australasia in Gisborne was opened in December, 1892, in temporary premises in Gladstone Road. The present building, erected for its owner, Mr. C. A. de Lautour, is situated at the corner of Read's Quay and Gladstone Road. It is a two-storey brick building, and the ground floor is used as the banking chamber and offices.
Mr. Louis Thorley Symes, Manager of the Bank of Australasia at Gisborne, was born in Nelson in 1860. He joined the bank in 1877 at Waverley, Taranaki, was appointed manager at Gore in 1883, and was sent in December, 1892, as manager to open the branch at Gisborne, where he has ever since remained in charge.
Union Bank Of Australia, Ltd. This bank opened its Gisborne branch about 1873. The present building, erected in 1885, is of brick, and contains the bank premises, in addition to two shops, which are let to tenants. The building is of two stories, and the second floor is used as a twelve-roomed residence for the manager.
Mr Francis Traver Morgan, Manager of the Union Bank at Gisborne, was born in Adelaide, South Australia, where he commenced his banking experience. He was stationed at Timaru in 1873, and was afterwards in Napier for two years. In Christchurch he held the position of ledger-keeper for four years; he became accountant in Gisborne in 1881, and was promoted to the position of manager in 1893.
The Gisborne Chamber Of Commerce was founded in 1894. Committee for 1900: Mr. W. Morgan, president; Mr. A. F. Matthews, vice-president; and Messrs J. Whinray, T. Adair, W. J. Henning, C. F. Lewis, C. H. Ambridge; with Mr. R. D. B. Robinson as secretary and treasurer. The chamber holds meetings quarterly, and the committee meets once a month. In February, 1900, on the occasion of the turning of the first sod of the Gisborne Te Karaka railway, Mr. J. Whinray, then president of the Chamber, presented a banner, which he called the “Gisborne Chamber of Commerce Banner,” the production of a local artist. It measured 12ft by 7ft 6in. In the background there are some good representations of typical New Zealand bush scenes, and a bullock team, labouring along a bad road in the Motu settlement, is seen in another part. The proverbial swagger is also in evidence, and a railway train is seen wending its way along the plain. Poverty Bay, with its breakwater and shipping, and the Gisborne freezing works, occupy another position. The artist also presents a bush settler's home, and packhorses to remind colonists of the primitive means of communication through the bush. In the margin there are portraits of three members of the Government, and of several notable Gisborne residents.
Professional, Commercial and Industrial.
Adair, William, Insurance and Commission Agent, Lowe Street, Gisborne. Telephone 111. Bankers, Union Bank of Australasia. Private residence, Customhouse Street. Mr. Adair is agent for the Sun Insurance Company, T. H. Green and Company, Christchurch, and for Messrs Levin and Co., Ltd., Wellington. He is referred to elsewhere as an ex-member of the Gisborne Borough Council.
Mr. J. Coleman.
Porter, Herbert Musgrave, Accountant, Auditor, Land, Commission, and Station Agent, Gladstone Road, Gisborne. Telephone 118. Bankers, Bank of New South Wales. Private residence, “Alvington,” Whataupoko. This business was established in 1887. The proprietor, as secretary of the Gisborne Building Society, is referred to in another article. Mr. Porter is agent for the Liverpool and London and Globe Insurance Company, secretary to the Poverty Bay Park Company, Ltd., and acts as agent for several stationholders.
Sheridan and Co., (John Sheridan), Forwarding Agents and General Merchants, Gladstone Road, Gisborne. Telephone 128. This business was established in 1898. The firm imports and exports produce, and does a considerable business.
Skipworth, Frederick Green, Licensed Interpreter and Native Agent, Gisborne. Mr. Skipworth was born in Rothwell, Lincolnshire, England, in 1837, educated at Chatham, in Kent, and was brought up to mercantile life in the office of his father, who was a timber merchant. Afterwards Mr. Skipworth had three years' experience in the railway clearing house, Euston Square, London. After a visit to Norway he came to Wellington in 1858 by the ship “Robert Small.” in 1862 he joined the colonial defence force at Napier, and served during the native troubles. He settled in Poverty Bay in 1868, and having studied the Maori language, he was appointed as Government interpreter, under the late Major Biggs, R.M., who was one of the victims of the Poverty Bay massacre, on the 10th of November of the same year. At the time of the landing of Te Kooti at Whareongaonga from the Chatham Islands, Mr. Skipworth was sent with a party of 100 natives from Murewai to follow Te Kooti's band. He camped on the very spot that had been vacated by the outlaws on the previous night. Presents were sent by the enemy to the natives under Mr. Skipworth's control, and having received word that his men were not to be trusted, he, accompanied by a trustworthy Maori named Paora Parau, left the men who were under his charge, and joined the party who were page 984 sent out to intercept Te Kooti at Paparatu, where an engagement was fought. Mr. Skipworth was subsequently employed by the late Captain Read, the founder of Gisborne, and afterwards became one of the executors of that gentleman's estate. He afterwards founded the business which he has since conducted, and has done a great deal in connection with the purchase of native lands in the district. Mr. Skipworth was married, in 1866, to a daughter of the late Mr. T. Uren, of Makaraka, and has three sons and four daughters.
Stubbs and Company (George Stubbs, J.P.), Commission Agents, Gisborne. Bankers, Bank of Australasia. This business was originally founded in 1884, but four years thereafter Mr. Stubbs removed to Napier, where he was in business for a number of years, but after selling his interest in that city, he returned to Gisborne in 1900. Mr. Stubbs was born in London in 1858, and was educated at Alford Grammar School, Lincolnshire. He was brought up to mercantile life in London, and came to Lyttelton in the ship “Pleiades” in 1878, settling immediately afterwards in Poverty Bay. In 1879 he removed to Napier, and was on the staff of the Hawke's Bay “Herald.” Mr. Stubbs, in 1893, founded the firm of Stubbs, Paterson and Company, financial agents, with which he was connected till he sold out his interest in 1898. In 1897 and 1898 he was proprietor of the Petane Manure Works and the Defiance Packing Company, of Hastings. Mr. Stubbs was appointed a Justice of the Peace in 1897. He visited the Old Country on pleasure and in the interests of his firm in 1895–96. Mr. Stubbs was the founder of the Poverty Bay Almanac and the Poverty Bay Trade Protection Society. He was married, in 1882, to a daughter of Mr. T. Mossman, of Napier, who died in 1899, in the 100th year of his age.
Wyllie And Mason (G. R. Wyllie and R. H. Mason), Auctioneers, Land and Estate Agents, Lowe Street, Gisborne. Telephone 35. P.O. Box 29. Bankers, Union Bank of Australia. Private residences: Mr. Wyllie, Kaiti; Mr. Mason, Whataupoko. The firm has been constituted since 1899, prior to which the business was conducted by the senior partner. Sales of horses, produce, and furniture are held every Saturday, and there is a monthly stock sale at Waerenga-a-hika. Wool and grain sales are held monthly at the auction rooms in Lowe Street, and special sales as required. The firm is agent for the Royal Insurance Company.
Mr. Gavin Ralston Wyllie, Senior Partner of the firm of Wyllie and Mason, was born in Gisborne, and is a son of Mr. James Ralston Wyllie, an old settler of Poverty Bay. He received his education in the Hawke's Bay and Poverty Bay districts, was engaged in storekeeping for some years, and was afterwards interested in pastoral pursuits until 1893. He then started as a stock and station agent, and became a partner with Mr. C. D. Pitt. The partnership was dissolved in 1895, and Mr. Wyllie continued to carry on business on his own account till he was joined by his present partner in 1899.
Mr. Robert Henry Mason, Junior Partner in the firm of Wyllie and Mason, Auctioneers, was born in the Hutt Valley, near Wellington, in 1859. He was educated at the old Wellington College, was brought up to sheepfarming, and was in business on his own account in Hawke's Bay from 1876 to 1895. Having settled in Gisborne, he became a member of the firm of Wyllie and Mason. Mr. Mason was married, in 1881, to a daughter of the late Mr. F. R. Jackson, auctioneer, of Wanganui, and has four sons and one daughter.
Finneran, William Peter, Architect, Lowe Street, Gisborne. Mr. Finneran has practised as an architect in Gisborne since 1878, and has designed and supervised the erection of a large number of public and private buildings in the district.
Matthews, Alfred Forde, Engineer and Authorised Surveyor, Land Agent and Valuator, Lowe Street, Gisborne. Telephone 148. Bankers, Bank of New Zealand. Private residence, Whataupoko. Mr. Matthews is elsewhere referred to as chairman of the Whataupoko Road Board.
Quigley, William James, Architect and Quantity Surveyor, Gladstone Road, Gisborne. Mr. Quigley was born in Belfast, Ireland, in 1855, and is the eldest son of Mr. James Quigley of that city. Mr. Quigley was educated in his native city, and afterwards articled to Mr. James McDowell, Birmingham, architect, with whom he remained five years. In 1875 he came to Auckland, per ship “British Empire,” and on arrival there he entered the firm of Messrs E. Mahoney and Sons, architects, with whom he remained a short time, and then settled down at Gisborne. For some years he was employed in the office of Messrs King and Co., timber merchants, and with the well-known merchant, Mr. W. Adair. In 1882 he started in the profession of architect, and has practised ever since. Mr. Quigley has acted as architect in Poverty Bay, for the Hawke's Bay Education Board for about fifteen years, and acts as clerk of works to the Public Works Department. He also is returning officer for the borough, director's auditor of the Gisborne Building Society, and secretary to the Gisborne school committee. In 1879 Mr. Quigley married the daughter of Mr. Coles, of Onga Onga, Hawke's Bay, and they have a family of ten children.
Mr. S. S. Springall.
Teesdale, Alfred, Authorised and Licensed surveyor, Gladstone Road, Gisborne. Bankers, Bank of New South Wales. Mr. Teesdale was born in 1848 in London, where he was educated, and arrived in Auckland by the ship “Chapman,” in 1862. Having studied for his profession, he became qualified in Auckland, and removed in 1871 to Napier, where he worked as a surveyor and was employed for nine months in the Public Works Office. He then settled in Poverty Bay, where he at once commenced to practise, and he is one of the oldest surveyors in the district. As a Freemason he is a member of Lodge Turanganui, E.C. Mr. Teesdale is also a member of the Gisborne Bowling Club.
Cox, B. S., Photographer, Studio, Gladstone Road, Gisborne. Telephone 124. This business was established in January, 1876, by Mr. C. P. Browne, from whom Mr. Cox lately bought it. The premises are freehold, including a wooden building with vestibule and office, waiting and dressing rooms, and a fine studio 35 feet long. There are also finishing and enlarging rooms, and portraiture is made a specialty.
Craig, James, Baker, Confectioner, Biscuit Manufacturer and Public Caterer, Gladstone Road, Gisborne. Bankers, Bank of New South Wales. Telephone 18. Mr. Craig was born in Antrim, Ireland, in 1841, and is the youngest son of Mr. Samuel Craig, linen manufacturer, of Antrim. He was educated in Antrim at the national school and at private schools, and afterwards was sent to learn farming at Edlinton Agricultural College, near Derry, where he remained for three years. In 1865, Mr. Craig sailed from his native land, per ship “Caduceus,” for Auckland, where he arrived in 1866, and was engaged in various occupations incidental to early colonial life. Mr. Craig left Auckland for Hawke's Bay, where he worked on a station for twelve months, and then obtained employment with a schoolmate named Johnson, a baker, who taught him the business. He remained in Mr. Johnson's employment for seven years, and afterwards worked for Mr. Blake for a period of five years. In 1878, he bought the business of Mr. Thomas Duncan, baker, Gisborne, and it grew into the present prosperous and extensive establishment. About fifteen years ago, Mr. Craig commenced the manufacture of biscuits, etc., and his present plant is one of the best in the Poverty Bay district. The bakery is situated at the rear of the premises. It is built of brick and is two stories in height. The upper storey has a flat roof, where the laundry work of the establishment is carried on upon the latest and most economic principles. The bakery contains one of John Baker and Sons' latest patent ovens, entitled the “Baily Baker,” which is fitted up with mechanical devices which facilitate the baking of biscuits, etc. There are also patent dough rolling and cutting machines, which are employed in the manufacture of biscuits. The whole plant is driven by one of Messrs Crosby and Co.'s gas engines, which also pumps water into the cisterns at the top of Mr. Craig's dwelling house. Mr. Craig has succeeded in shutting out the importation of ship or station biscuits, as his locally made biscuits are preferred to the imported article.
Mr. J. Craig's Premises.
Oatridge, Francis James, Baker and Confectioner, Gladstone Road, Gisborne. Telephone 136. Bankers, Union Bank of Australia. Private residence, Gladstone Road. This business dates from the 1st of January, 1897. The premises are centrally situated, and consist of a two storey iron building containing a shop and dwelling, with a bakehouse behind. Mr. Oatridge was born in Birmingham, England, in 1860, and, having come to the colony at an early age, was educated at the Thames and in Auckland. He has been a settler in Gisborne since 1882, and was for five years a member of the firm of Oatridge and Veale. Mr. Oatridge was subsequently for eighteen months in West Australia. After returning to Poverty Bay he worked for three years as a journeyman, and then founded his present business. As a volunteer he served in the Thames Cadets, and was afterwards a member of the J. Battery in Gisborne. As a Forester he is attached to Court William Gladstone. Mr. Oatridge was married, in 1896, to a daughter of Mr. T. Cross, of Gloucestershire, England, and has two sons and one daughter.
Mr. D. J. Barry.
Matthewson, George, Wine and Spirit Merchant, Gisborne. Mr. Matthewson was born in Selkirkshire, Scotland. He arrived in Wellington in March, 1868, and joined the firm of Messrs W. and G. Turnbull (Mr. Walter Turnbull being his cousin). He remained with that firm until January, 1873, and then took up land in the Poverty Bay district, under a Native title, which, however, proved so unsatisfactory that he disposed of his interests and started business in Gisborne. In or about 1884 Mr. Matthewson was nominated by the Government to a seat on the Gisborne Harbour Board, and in this position he has consistently opposed the policy of the majority of the Board in regard to the site of the breakwater and many other matters relating to the tariff of the port. Mr. Matthewson has been prominently identified with other local bodies, and has devoted much of his spare time to the welfare of the district. He has for a number of years been a member of the Hawke's Bay Land Board.
Mackrell And Colley (John William Mackrell and John Colley), Builders, Contractors, and Timber Merchants, Gladstone Road, Gisborne. Telephone 149. Bankers, Bank of New South Wales. Private residences: Mr. Mackrell, Cobden Street; Mr. Colley, Derby Street. This business was established by the firm in September, 1899. The premises are held under lease, and consist of timber yards, workshops, and offices. The firm is well known in the district, and, in addition to many other buildings, it has already erected Messrs Williams and Kettle's woolshed, a large sample room, and some additions to the Masonic Hotel.
Mr. John William Mackrell, of the firm of Mackrell and Colley, was born in 1857, in Halifax, Yorkshire, England, where he was educated and brought up to business as a carpenter. He came to Auckland in 1879, and after working two years at his trade, settled in Gisborne. For a number of years, prior to starting on his own account, he was employed by Mr. W. O. Skeet. Mr. Mackrell was married, in 1879, to a daughter of the late Mr. J. Craven, of the Hutt, and has three daughters and two sons.
Mr. John Colley, one of the Partners of the firm of Mackrell and Colley, was born at the Thames in 1868. He came to Gisborne with his parents in 1876, and served an apprenticeship with Mr. J. Somervell. Prior to joining his partner in founding the firm, he was for a number of years employed by Mr. W. O. Skeet. As a volunteer he served in J Battery, and has been a long time a member of Lodge Turanganui, U.A.O.D. He was married, in 1894, to a daughter of the late Mr. K. Nasmith, of Sydney, and has one son and one daughter.
Maxted and Co., (George Maxted and Lewis Nathan), Builders and Contractors, Grey Street, Gisborne. Bankers, Bank of New Zealand. This firm, which dates from 1900, has erected the local police camp and other important buildings. Its shop is situated in Grey Street, and it employs from twelve to seventeen hands.
Mr. George Maxted, Senior Partner of Messrs Maxted and Co., was born in 1849 in Wairau, Marlborough, where he was educated and learned his trade. After spending four years in his native place as a contractor, he removed to Wellington, and worked there as a journeyman, and also in the same capacity subsequently at Hawera, Auckland, Whangaroa, and Gisborne. The present firm was established in 1899. As a volunteer Mr. Maxted served in the Marlborough Hussars for several years; he was a member of the No. 2 Victoria Rifles in Auckland, and since setting in Gisborne, he has joined the Poverty Bay Rifles. He is a member of the New Zealand Natives' Association. Mr. Maxted was married, in 1880, to a daughter of the late Mr. Short, of Wellington, and has one son.
Ormond, John Henry, Coachbuilder, Peel Street, Gisborne. Branch, Makaraka. Telephone 71. Bankers, Bank of New South Wales. Private residence, Whataupoko. This well known business was founded in 1872 by Messrs Brown and Ballantyne, and was afterwards conducted under the style of Brown and Smale. The establishment in Gisborne is an extensive one. The buildings, which are of wood and iron, consist of a coach-building department, show room, paint shop, shoeing, and smith's, wheelwright's and body-making shops. There is also a bulk store, in addition to the offices. Mr. Ormond is an importer of American buggies, of which he sells a great many in the district. In conjunction with Mr Ritchie, he is the patentee of a tank filter, which has been proved very effective, and is meeting with considerable demand. Mr. Ormond was born in Roxburgh, Otago, in 1869. He removed to Gisborne in 1885, and learned his trade in the district, but he afterwards visited various large centres, where he obtained additional experience of great value to him in his business. For three years Mr. Ormond was in the employment of Messrs Brown and Smale, and was also for some years with Mr. G. Humphreys. As a musician he has been connected with local societies, and plays the violin, trombone, and mandoline. He is a member of the Order of Oddfellows, and is attached to the Loyal Gisborne Lodge. Mr. Ormond was married, in 1900, to a daughter of the late Mr. H. T. Cox, of Gisborne.
Lucas, John Alexander, Aerated Water and Cordial Manufacturer, Central Cordial Factory, Gladstone Road, Gisborne. Telephone 6. Bankers, Bank of New Zealand. This factory is erected on a section of half an acre of land; the building is of iron, and the plant, which is exceptionally complete, is worked by means of a gas engine. The produce of the factory is supplied to all parts of Poverty Bay. Mr. Lucas is referred to in another article as a member of the Te Arai Road Board.
Morrison Bros. , (Thomas Morrison and James Morrison), Painters and Decorators, Gladstone Road, Gisborne. Telephone 101. Bankers, Bank of Australasia. Private residence, Victoria Esplanade. This well known business was established in 1882 by Mr. T. Morrison, the senior partner, who was joined by his brother in 1895. The premises consist of a double-fronted shop with a verandah a showroom upstairs, and a workroom at the back, and the building is of wood and iron. Messrs Morrison Bros. have worked for the principal contractors in town, and have done a good deal of work in the various public buildings, including the hospital, banks, and Government offices.
Mr. Thomas Morrison, Founder of the firm of Morrison Bros., was born at Blantyre, in Lanarkshire, Scotland, in 1861, and was educated in Glasgow. He came to Auckland by the ship “Durham,” in 1873, and about three years later removed to Gisborne, where he learned his trade. Mr. Morrison worked as a journeyman prior to establishing his present business. He served for fifteen years in the local volunteer fire brigade, and resigned his position as deputy superintendent at the conclusion of that page 987 period; he also served five years as a noncommissioned officer in the local artillery volunteers. His tastes are musical, and since 1890 he has been bandmaster of the City Band, and is now a member of the Borough Council. As a Freemason Mr. Morrison is attached to Lodge Turanganui, E.C., and he is also a member of the local Lodge of Druids. He was married, in 1886, to a daughter of Mr. C. Patterson, of Gisborne, and has three daughters and one son.
Mr. James Morrison, Junior Partner of the Firm of Morrison Bros., was born in 1872 at Blantyre, Lanarkshire, Scotland. He was educated in Gisborne, and learned his business chiefly with his brother, though he had experience also in Wellington and at Wanganui. Mr. Morrison is a Freemason and a Druid. He was married, in 1896, to a daughter of Mr. W. T. Wildish, of Oamaru, and has one daughter.
Ovenden, Frederick Bohm, House Decorator, Painter, etc., Gladstone Road, Gisborne. Bankers, Bank of New Zealand. Mr. Ovenden was born in Dunedin in 1858, and is the eldest son of Mr. Francis Edmund Ovenden. He was educated at Herbert, Otago, and afterwards apprenticed to Messrs Smith and Smith, the well-known house decorators, etc., of the Octagon, Dunedin. Mr. Ovenden then worked as a journeyman in various parts of New Zealand until 1890, when he arrived in Gisborne and worked at his trade under employers till 1892, when he started in business for himself. Mr. Ovenden manufactures his arum mixed paints, which are highly appreciated in the trade, and one of the mixtures, named “Eonium,” is patented. Outside his ordinary calling, Mr. Ovenden is specially interested in technical education, and is a member of the committee of the Gisborne Technical Institution. He is also an enthusiastic bee breeder, and has been very successful with his apiary. In 1893 he married Miss Eskdale, of Tapanui, Otago, and has two children.
Adair Bros. , (Thomas Adair and Charles Adair), Drapers, Gladstone Road, Gisborne. The premises of this business consist of the ground floor of a substantial two-storey brick building, and cover about 4500 feet of floor space.
New Zealand Clothing Factory (Hallenstein Bros. and Co.), Gisborne Branch, Gladstone Road, Gisborne. Telephone 169. Mr. C. H. Ambridge, manager. Bankers, Bank of New Zealand. The Gisborne branch of this well-known Dunedin firm was opened in 1883. It has centrally situated premises in the main street, a large and well assorted stock in all lines is maintained, and a good business is done throughout Poverty Bay.
Mr. Charles Henry Ambridge, Manager of the Gisborne Branch of the New Zealand Clothing Factory, was born in 1862, in Buckinghamshire, England. He served an apprenticeship to the soft goods trade in London, became an assistant, was afterwards in a wholesale department in that city, and had a together twelve years' experience. In 1885 Mr. Ambridge arrived in Auckland by the s.s. “Kaikoura,” and, settling in Gisborne, was employed for five years by Mr. W. Adair. In January, 1898, he became local manager for the New Zealand Clothing Factory. Mr. Ambridge has been for several years a member of the local school committee, and has held office as secretary of the Technical Classes Association. He is one of the committee of the Chamber of Commerce, of which he has long been a member. For some years he was a member of the Whataupoko Road Board, and, as a volunteer, served in J Battery till it was disbanded. Mr. Ambridge was married, in 1877, and has four daughters and two sons.
Robertson, Robert, Clothier, Mercer, and Hatter, Gladstone Road, Gisborne. Bankers, Bank of New South Wales. Private residence, Palmerston Road. Mr. Robertson established his business in 1897, and carries it on in a wood and iron building of one storey. He maintains a carefully selected and up-to-date stock. Mr. Robertson was born in 1865, in East Lothian, Scotland, and was brought up to the soft goods trade in his native place. In 1881 he came to Auckland by the ship “Famenoth,” and had seven years' experience with Mr. H. Atkins. He then removed to Gisborne, where he was for five years with Mr. W. Adair, and was two years a partner in the firm of Robertson and Adair, before he entered business on his own account. As a Forester Mr. Robertson is attached to Court William Gladstone, and as a Freemason he is Master of Lodge Turanganui, 1480, E.C. Mr. Robertson was married, in 1898, to a daughter of the late Mr. W. Good, of Gisborne, and has one son.
Johnston, R. and Co., (Robert Johnston, J.P., and Thomas Sweet), Tailors, Gladstone Road, Gisborne. Bankers, Bank of New South Wales. Private residences: Mr. Johnston, Derby Street; Mr. Sweet, Whataupoko. This well-known business was founded by the present proprietors about 1880. The premises comprise a double-fronted shop, with measuring, cutting, and work rooms behind.
Mr. Robert Johnston, the Senior Partner, is referred to on another page of this volume as an ex-member of the Borough Council and other public bodies.
Mr. Thomas Sweet was born in Canada in 1859, and arrived in Auckland by the ship “City of Auckland” in 1871. He was taught the trade of a tailor, and till 1880 he worked in Auckland as a journeyman. On removing to Gisborne he became a member of the firm of R. Johnston and Co. Mr. Sweet is a Past Master of Lodge Montrose, S.C., and is also connected with the United Ancient Order of Druids in Gisborne. He was married, in 1885, to a daughter of the late Mr. William Queenin, of Auckland, and has two daughters and one son.
Sandlant, H. and Co., (Harry Sandlant), Tailors, Gladstone Road, Gisborne. Bankers, Bank of New Zealand. Private residence, Whataupoko. This firm was established in March, 1896, and has its premises in a portion of the Masonic Hotel buildings. The shop, which has a very fine plate glass window, is well fitted up in every respect, and has a conveniently situated cutting and work room. Messrs Sandlant and Co. are importers of goods direct from England, Scotland, and other countries, and keep a first-class and well assorted stock.
Mr. Harry Sandlant, Proprietor of the business, was born in 1874 at Catlins River, Otago. He accompanied his parents to Gisborne in 1883, and served his apprenticeship in the district. After working as a journeyman for one year, he was for a short time in Wellington for the purpose of gaining further experience, and was subsequently for two years and a half at Wanganui with Messrs J. Paul and Co. On returning to page 988 Gisborne, he started his present business, and has been very successful. Mr. Sandlant is a member of the city band, of the New Zealand Natives' Association, and of the Turanganui Lodge of Druids. He was married, in 1899, to a daughter of Mr. J. Sherlock, of Te Aroha, and has one daughter.
Zachariah, Adolphus, Merchant Tailor, Gladstone Road, Gisborne. Telephone 129. Bankers, Bank of Australasia. This business was established about 1870 by the New Zealand Tweed Company, and the Gisborne branch was opened in 1890. Mr. Zachariah became manager, and afterwards took over the business in conjunction with his brother. The partnership existed till 1900, and since then Mr. Zachariah has conducted the business on his own account. He was born in 1873 in Christchurch, where he was educated apprenticed. In 1887 he joined the service of the New Zealand Tweed Company in Auckland, and was its manager in Auckland till he removed to Gisborne. He is a member of the East Coast Rifle Volunteers, and of Lodge Turanganui, 1480, E.C.
Public Trust, Office (Gisborne Branch), Lowe Street, Gisborne. This branch was established in 1885, and Mr Thomas Chrisp has represented the Public Trustee since 1889.
Mr. Thomas Chrisp, J.P., Agent for the Public Trustee in Gisborne, was born in Northumberland, England, in 1837. He went to sea at an early age, and became a master mariner in 1866. Mr. Chrisp landed in Nelson in 1853. Subsequently he had an experience on the Victorian goldfields, and settled in Auckland in 1860. He served in the volunteers in the Waikato campaign, and settled in Poverty Bay in 1874 as harbourmaster, a position which he held till 1886. For about four years he was part proprietor of the Poverty Bay “Herald.” Captain Chrisp was married, in 1859, to a daughter of the late Mr. R. Dawson, of Newcastle-on-Tyne. Mrs Chrisp died in 1898, leaving four sons and one daughter.
Mr. Henry Cheetham Jackson is one of the Receivers in the Trust Estate of the Hon. James Carroll and Mr. Wi Pere, M.H.R. He is also one of the trustees of the Mangatu No. 1, 3, and 4 blocks, having been appointed to that position by order of the Governor-in-Council. Mr. Jackson was born at Saffron-Walden, Essex, in 1860. When an infant he was brought to Auckland in the ship “Excelsior” by his father, Mr. J. D. Jackson, of Onehunga, and was educated principally at Onehunga. For three years and a half Mr. Jackson served in the Bank of Australasia, and was stationed part of the time at Wanganui, and afterwards as teller in Auckland. At the time of the opening of the Te Aroha goldfield in 1881 Mr. Jackson was on the scene, and in the following year he entered the Native Land Court Department in Auckland. He was appointed clerk and deputy registrar at Gisborne in 1883, and held those offices till 1894. In 1895 Mr. Jackson was appointed to his present position, and he also acts as sole receiver appointed by the Native Land Court to manage the Whangarae block of about 16,000 acres. During his early days he served as a volunteer in the Onehunga Cadet Corps. Mr. Jackson was married, in 1895, to the daughter of Mr. W. H. Harrison, of Bendigo, Victoria, and has two sons.
The Gisborne Co-Operative Building Society dates from the 17th of July, 1899. Directors for 1900–01: Mr. L. T. Symes, chairman; Mr. W. S. Lunn, vice-chairman, and Messrs R. D. B. Robinson, W. J. T. Ranger, T. B. Sweet, H. J. Reed, F. Harris, H. Miller, and W. Morgan; Mr. A. G. Beere, secretary, and Mr. W. Seivwright, solicitor. This society has been successful. Its operations are conducted under the tarr-Bowkett principle; in the first year £2100 was loaned, out, and the balance sheet showed a profit of £313.
The Gisborne Permanent Land Building And Mutual Investment Society was established in August, 1874. Mr. J. Townley has been chairman almost the whole of the time, and the other directors are: Messrs J. T. Evans, H. J. Bushnell, W. J. Chrisp, W. A. O'Meara, J. Whitby, and W. A. Friar; Mr H. M. Porter, secretary. The society has from the first been a highly successful institution. It has large investments, and has been very useful, and has enabled many persons to acquire small homes of their own.
Mr. Herbert Musgrave Porter, who has since 1891 been Secretary of the Gisborne Building Society and for the Poverty Bay Park Company, is also Secretary for the Ngatapa Road Board. He was born in Sheffield, Yorkshire, England, in 1859, is descended from a Somerset family, was educated at the Independent College, Taunton, and brought up to mercantile life in Weston-Super-Mare and Cardiff. In 1881 Mr. Porter came to Auckland by the ship “Zealandia.” He was for a time in the Bank of New Zealand, and then joined the staff of the New Zealand Loan and Mercantile Agency Company. While in that service he was stationed for two years in Auckland, for one year in Christchurch, and for two years in Gisborne, before severing his connection with it. Mr. Porter was for seven years chairman of the Whataupoko Road Board, and as a member of the Masonic Order he is attached to Lodge Abercorn. He was married, in 1891, to a daughter of the late Mr. W. Langford, of Gisborne, and has two sons.
Attwood, William Nicholas, Furniture and General Dealer, Importer of Crockery and Glass Ware, 129 Gladstone Road, Gisborne. Bankers, Bank of New South Wales. Private residence, Roebuck Road. This business was established in 1894, and is conducted in the main street in a double-fronted shop with a large shed at the back. There are also stores in Roebuck Road. Mr. Attwood, who is a cash buyer of furniture and musical instruments, holds a large and well assorted stock, and can undertake the entire furnishing of houses. He was born in 1858 in Christchurch, where he was educated; he served his time as a cabinet-maker in Dunedin. Subsequently he was for eight years farming at Sawyer's Bay, and removed, in 1894, to Gisborne, where his business has steadily increased since its establishment. During his residence in Christchurch Mr. Attwood was for three years a member of the Woolston Town Board, and had a seat on the licensing and library committees. He was for some time a member of the Heathcote Racing Club. As a volunteer he served four years in the Dunedin Cadets, and three years in the Navals in the same city. He was married, in 1880, to a daughter of Mr. Brayshaw, of Melbourne, and has three daughters and one son.
Reynolds, Edward Gustavus Allen, Cabinetmaker, Picture Framer, and House Furnisher, Gladstone Road and Grey Street, Gisborne. Bankers, Bank of New South Wales. This business was established in 1886, and is conducted in a large double-fronted shop and showroom; with a workshop in the same building, which is a fine one-storey structure. Mr. Reynolds is an importer of crockery, glassware, picture mouldings, and furniture; he keeps a large stock, and can completely furnish houses, whether large or small. He was born in Devonshire, England, in 1863, and came to Auckland by the ship “Hydaspes” in 1874. The family settled in Gisborne, where he completed his education and learned his trade at which he worked for others till he established his present business. Mr. Reynolds is a member of the local prohibition league. He was married, in 1898, and has one son.
Mr. E. G. A. Reynolds.
Townley, John, Cabinetmaker and Upholsterer, Gisborne. Mr. Townley carries on one of the largest furniture making and house furnishing businesses in Poverty Bay. He imports extensively from the British and European markets, besides manufacturing a great deal on his own premises. Mr. Townley has a number of valuable agencies. He is agent for the Northern Insurance Company, for John Brinsmead and Sons' Patent Sostenente pianos; and also for the Victor bicycle, the best wheel in the world, and for the Reliance bicycle, a good up-to-date English wheel. Patent wire-wove mattresses are made on the premises to any size, and with such despatch that an order may be fulfilled while a customer is waiting. Mr. Townley also makes patent Venetian blinds to any page 990 size and of any colour. Material and workmanship are guaranteed to be of the best. Mr. Townley is referred to in another article as Mayor of Gisborne.
Interior of Mr. J. Townley's Premises.
Williams, George, Tobacconist and Billiard Saloon Proprietor, Gladstone Road, Gisborne. Telephone 98. Bankers, Bank of Australasia. Private residence, Grey Street. This business was established in 1883, and the substantial brick and concrete building now occupied was erected in 1899. It is of one storey, measures 60 feet by 26 feet, and contains two shops and a large and well-lighted billiard saloon, in which there is one Alcock and one Wright table. Mr. Williams was born in 1857 in Greece. He is largely self-educated and speaks French, English, and modern Greek. After eight years' experience at sea he landed in Wellington in 1876. Four years later he removed to Greytown, Wairarapa, where he was a grocer and dealer for several years. He then removed to Napier, where he was manager of the Occidental Hotel for one year, after which he settled in Gisborne, and opened a restaurant known as the Cafe de Paris, which he conducted for about four years. Afterwards he was caterer at the Albion Hotel for eighteen months, and subsequently spent two years in Fiji. On returning to New Zealand he founded his present business. As a volunteer he served in the J Battery, until that corps was disbanded. He holds the rank of sergeant-major in the present Gisborne Rifles, which were established mainly owing to his efforts. Mr. Williams was married, in 1887, to a daughter of Mr. F. Hick, of Gisborne. This lady died in 1898, and Mr. Williams has since married Miss Lawrence, a native of Germany, and step-daughter of Mr. J. Hart, of Gisborne.
Gisborne Hotel (Henry Martin, proprietor), corner of Childers' Road and Lowe Street, Gisborne. Telephone 34. Bankers, Bank of New South Wales. This well-known hotel was established in the early sixties, and has been continuously conducted on its present site. The building is of wood and iron, two stories in height, and contains twenty-one rooms, of which fourteen are bedrooms. There are two sitting rooms on the ground floor and one upstairs. The large dining room will seat thirty guests, and there is a well fitted billiard room. Behind the hotel there is a stable with three stalls and a loose box.
Mr. Henry Martin, Proprietor, was born in Roscommon, Ireland, in 1862. He was brought up to farming, and came to Auckland by the s.s. “Westmeath,” in 1883. For ten years Mr. Martin worked for Messrs Whitson and Sons at the Albert Brewery, Auckland, and arrived in Gisborne in 1893. He conducted the Tatipori Hotel for two years and a half, and then returned to Auckland, page 991 where he had the Park Hotel for a similar period. Mr. Martin acquired the Gisborne Hotel in 1898, and has since conducted it. He is a member of the Australasian Hibernian Benefit Society, and is attached to the Auckland Lodge. Mr. Martin was married, in 1894, to a daughter of the late Mr. D. Barry, of Napier.
The Masonic Hotel (J. A. Harding, proprietor), Gisborne. The “Masonic” is one of the leading commercial and family hotels in the Poverty Bay district, and has recently undergone extensive and useful alterations, which are much appreciated by the travelling public.
Mr. Harding, the Proprietor of the Masonic Hotel, first leased the property from Mr. E. P. Joyce, in September, 1889, and purchased it on the expiration of the lease. Mr. Harding is referred to in another article as a member of the Gisborne Borough Council.
Record Reign Hotel (George Anyon, proprietor), Gladstone Road, Gisborne. This house was originally established many years ago under the name of the Settlers' Hotel. In 1897 it was burnt down, and the present two-storey wooden building, containing thirty rooms, including twenty bedrooms and five sitting rooms, was erected. There is accommodation in the dining room for fifty guests, and there is good stabling behind the hotel. The proprietor is referred to at page 1248 of the Wellington volume of this Cyclopedia.
Royal Hotel (Frederick Stevenson, proprietor), Gladstone Road, Gisborne. Bankers, Bank of New South Wales. This house was established prior to 1880, and has been conducted by the proprietor since September, 1900. It is a two-storey wood and iron building with a balcony, and contains twenty-eight rooms, exclusive of the kitchen, and a four-roomed cottage behind the hotel. There are seventeen bedrooms, four sitting rooms below and two sitting rooms above, also a billiard room, and a dining room capable of seating twenty-four guests. There is a ten-stalled stable with two loose boxes behind the hotel.
Mr. Frederick Stevenson, the Proprietor, was born in Gisborne in 1872, and for a number of years followed the business of a livery stable keeper, and had experience as a horse breaker. His father, the late Mr. Samuel Stevenson, who died in 1898, had the Roseland Hotel at Makaraka, where Mr. F. Stevenson obtained his first experience in the business. The late Mr. Stevenson was for thirty years in Gisborne, and was a prominent livery stable keeper. He was one of the first councillors of the borough, and served for a number of years.
Brown, James, Engineer, corner of Childers Road and Lowe Street, Gisborne. Mr. Brown is a native of Glasgow, and came to New Zealand when he was six years of age. He served his apprenticeship at Wilson's Foundry in Dunedin, and was for some time employed by the Union Company as engineer. He went to Poverty Bay in 1867, and in the early days fitted up a flour mill for Messrs King and Co. He then started in business, and after two years was joined by Mr. John Smail, and the firm continued for ten years as horse-shoers, wheelwrights, and general blacksmiths. Mr. Brown afterwards took an appointment at Messrs Nelson Brothers' Freezing Works, where he remained for five years. He was then employed by the Gisborne Freezing Company, in the fitting up of its works, and early in 1897 he started his present business. Mr. Brown undertakes general engineering and blacksmithing work, besides making a specialty of bicycle repairing.
Hall, Frederick, Gisborne Plumbing and Painting Works, corner of Gladstone Road and Bright Street, Gisborne. Telephone 67. Bankers, Bank of New South Wales. This business was established in 1870 by Mr. George Houghton, and seven years later the present proprietor became a partner in the firm of Houghton and Hall. In 1885 the founder retired, and Mr. Hall became sole proprietor. The fine premises in Gladstone Road were erected for the business in 1893. They stand on a freehold section, and consist of a two-storey wooden building with a large verandah, and there are two fine showrooms and large workshops, in addition to a residence of nine rooms. From fifteen to twenty hands are employed, and Mr. Hall has from time to time been engaged on most of the leading public buildings in the district. He is a large importer of paper hangings and other goods required in connection with his business. Mr. Hall is well known as a leading plumber and house decorator in Gisborne. He was born in 1857 in Wiltshire, England, where he was educated, and taught his business as a painter, and came to Auckland, in 1873, by the ship “James Wishart.” After working for three years on his own account, Mr. Hall went to Hokianga, where he found employment. He was afterwards in Auckland for one year, and settled in Gisborne in 1877. Mr. Hall was married, in 1876, to a daughter of the late Mr. J. Poulter, of Auckland, and has three sons and three daughters.
Humphreys And Davys (George Humphreys and Andrew Davys), Engineers, Gladstone Road and Peel Street, Gisborne. This business was established in 1874, by the senior partner, who conducted it on his own account for eighteen years. The firm as at present constituted dates from 1892.
Ranger, W. and Co., (William Ranger and John Ferris), Mechanical Engineers, Gladstone Road, Gisborne. Bankers, Union Bank of Australia. Private residences: Mr. Ranger, Kaiti; Mr. Ferris, Whataupoko. This business was established in 1900. The firm holds the agency for Poverty Bay for the Dayton cycles, and has full appliances for carrying out mechanical engineering work. It also acts for Messrs Booth, Macdonald and Co., Carlyle Implement Works, Christchurch, and for the Davis Verticle Feed Sewing Machine, and the Jones Lever Binder and Mower.
Warren, Harold, General Blacksmith and Farrier, Gladstone Road, Gisborne. Mr. Warren was born in Auckland in 1870, and was educated in Gisborne, where he arrived with his father in 1874. Having been taught the trade of a blacksmith, Mr. Warren commenced business on his own account in 1892. His smithy is built of iron, and there is a good yard attached to it. Mr. Warren served as a cadet for four years, and is a member of the Gisborne Rifles. He is a member of the Loyal Gisborne Lodge of Odd-fellows, and is connected with the Poverty Bay, Cycling Club.
Morgan, William, Saddler and Harness Maker, corner of Gladstone Road and Peel Street, Gisborne. Telephone 157. Bankers, Bank of New Zealand. This business was established by the proprietor in 1883. Mr. Morgan is a manufacturer and importer of saddlery and harness, and does a leading trade in Poverty Bay. He is referred to in another article as chairman of the Board of Governors of the Gisborne High School.
Primrose And Leslie (George Watson Primrose and Thomas Leslie), Saddlers and Harness Makers, corner of Gladstone Road and Peel Street, Gisborne. Telephone 84. Bankers, Bank of New South Wales. Private residences: Mr. Primrose, Carnarvon Street; Mr. Leslie, Bright Street. This business was established in 1889 under the style of Primrose and Deans. In 1894, Mr. Deans retired from the business, and the firm was constituted as it now exists. The premises consist of a good shop and workroom. In addition to manufacturing all kinds of saddlery and harness, the firm imports extensively, and does a considerable trade throughout the Poverty Bay district.
Mr. George Watson Primrose, Senior Partner of the firm of Primrose and Leslie, was born in County Cavan, Ireland, in 1858. When ten years of age he arrived in Auckland by the ship “Ida Zeigler.” He learned his trade at Hamilton, in the Waikato, and in 1876 he settled in Gisborne, where he worked as a journeyman before founding his present business. Mr. Primrose served in the East Coast Hussars for some years prior to their disbandment. As a Freemason he is attached to Lodge Turanganui, and has held the position of treasurer to the Turanganui Lodge of Druids since 1888. Mr. Primrose was married, in 1881, to a daughter of Mr. T. Wiltshire, of Gisborne, and has one daughter.
Gisborne Freezing Works (Frederick James Shelton, lessee), Kaiti, opposite the Gisborne wharves. These works, which commenced freezing operations on the 9th of January, 1896, are erected on four acres of land, leased from the Gisborne Harbour Board. The buildings are of wood and iron, and have two stories and a basement, the latter laid in concrete throughout. The freezing plant consists of a thirty-five ton Hercules machine and a Haslam dry air machine with a capacity of 70,000 cubic feet per hour. On this floor there are extensive stores for tallow and pelts, besides the boiling down, manure, and fellmongery departments. Mutton awaiting shipment is stored in two large apartments on the first floor, and these have space for 28,000 carcases. There are also two small chambers devoted, respectively, to the storage of butter and fish. The second or top flat is fitted with six freezing chambers, with space for 4800 carcases. The slaughtering department is alongside the chambers, and on the same floor the meat preserving is carried on, and 1000 two-pound tins can be turned out daily. Receiving yards for sheep are on the level of the second floor, and those for cattle at the first floor level, connected with the upper floor by an inclined gangway. The works are up to date in every respect, and when in full operation they employ over 100 hands.
Mr. Frederick James Shelton is a prominent figure in the commercial life of Poverty Bay. As managing director of Messrs Common, Shelton and Co., Ltd., he has worked up a large business, which is referred to in another article, and he is lessee of the Gisborne Freezing Works. Mr. Shelton was born in 1858 in London, educated at Salisbury, and gained his earlier experiences of commercial life in the office of Messrs Saunderson, Murray and Co. in London. He arrived by the ship “St. Leonard's” in Wellington in 1879, to join the firm of Murray, Roberts and Co., with whom he continued till 1882, when he joined Mr. W. Common in the business of Common, Shelton and Co. Since then Mr. helton has been prominently connected with the business of which he has been managing partner or director since 1884. He has been twice a member of the Gisborne Harbour Board. As a Freemason he is attached to Lodge Montrose, S.C. Mr. Shelton was married, in 1881, to a daughter of the late Mr. George Pitcher, who died in Fiji, and has five daughters and three sons.
Mr. Joseph Edward Newton, Foreman of the Preserving Department at the Gisborne Freezing Works, was born in 1854, in Deal, England. He accompanied his parents to Lyttelton by the ship “Mystery” in 1858, and was educated in Christchurch. He served an apprenticeship as a pork butcher page 993 in Timaru, and was employed at the New Zealand Meat Preserving Company's Works, Washdyke, from 1872 to 1889. After seven years' service he was promoted to the position of foreman of one of the departments, and subsequently became meat preserver till the works were closed down. He then had charge of the small goods' department of the Christchurch Meat Company at Islington, near Christchurch, and was head meat-preserver for several years. In July, 1899, Mr. Newton removed to Gisborne, and in the ensuing October, became foreman preserver at the Gisborne works. Mr. Newton was an athlete in his early days, and held the championship in 1883 for the colony for the 100 yards flat race. He was married, in 1876, to a daughter of the late Mr. E. Kelly, of Victoria. Mrs Newton died in 1897, leaving four sons and three daughters.
Mr. Thomas Ellery, Foreman of the Fellmongery Department of the Gisborne Freezing Works, was born in 1866, in Victoria. He is a son of the late Mr. Alfred Ellery, of Dunedin, fellmonger, who came to the colony in 1872. Having learned his business with his father, Mr. Ellery continued at the trade in Dunedin till 1883, when he removed to Hawke's Bay and was employed at the Waitangi Boiling Down Works for eighteen months. Mr. Ellery states that it was his father who cured and shipped the first preserved pelts sent from New Zealand. He afterwards worked with his father at the Clive works, till his father died in 1888. Subsequently he was foreman at the fellmongery of the North British Freezing Works, where he continued for two years. After a short stay in Blenheim, he returned to Hawke's Bay, and was working at various places as a wool classer. He subsequently found employment at his trade for two seasons in Wanganui, and had charge of the Longburn fellmongery till 1896. In that year he removed to Gisborne, and has been employed at the Gisborne Freezing Works since they were opened. Mr. Ellery holds excellent testimonials from every employer with whom he has worked. As a Forester he is connected with Court William Gladstone, of which he was C.R. in 1900 for the second time. As a Freemason he is attached to Lodge Montrose. He resides in the Kaiti district, where he has a holding of ten acres and a half, laid out in orchard and paddock. Mr. Ellery was married, in 1891, to a daughter of Mr. S. J. Williams, of Napier, and has four sons and one daughter.
Mr. T. Ellery.
Mr. Selwyn John Campden Spiers, Foreman Butcher at the Gisborne Freezing Works, was born in 1869, in Wellington, where he was educated. He had eight years' experience in connection with the meat trade in Wellington, and settled in Gisborne in 1890. For five years he was employed on the cooling floor at Messrs Nelson Brothers' Works, as assistant foreman; he was employed as a butcher at the Gisborne works when they were started, and six weeks later was promoted to his present position. As a Druid Mr. Spiers is a Past Arch in Lodge Turanganui, and his fellow members presented him with an inscribed clock in 1899 in recognition of his services to the lodge. Mr. Spiers was married, in 1897, to a daughter of the late Mr. C. Ingham, of Auckland.
Hill, Rowland, Butcher, corner of Gladstone Road and Derby Street, Gisborne. Telephone 96. Bankers, Bank of New South Donald, Hatton and Score. It was acquired by Mr. Hill in April, 1900. Mr. Hill was born in London in 1848, and accompanied his parents to Wellington by the ship “Annie Wilson” in 1856. He learned the trade of a butcher in Hawke's Bay, and was twelve years in business on his own account at Meanee and Taradale. In 1880 he removed to Poverty Bay, and acted as a leading hand in connection with the butchery trade in Gisborne, till taking over his present business. During the troublesome days in Hawke's Bay, Mr. Hill served in the Militia, and took part in one engagement, for which he received the New Zealand war medal. He was married, in 1885, to a daughter of Mr. H. Cannon, of Gisborne, and has three sons and three daughters.
McConnell and Millington (Thomas McConnell and William Stewart Millington), Butchers, corner of Peele Street and Gladstone Road, Gisborne. Telephone 97. Private residences: Mr. McConnell, Whataupoko; Mr. Millington, Gladstone Road. The premises of this well-known firm are centrally situated, and consist of a large corner shop with a small goods room and out offices. The slaughterhouse is situated at Matawhero. The firm dates from 1895.
Maynard, John, Butcher, Peel Street, Gisborne. Bankers, Union Bank of Australia. Telephone 23. Mr. Maynard was born in London in 1841, and came to New Zealand in 1854. At that time, however, he remained here for only a few months, and then went to Australia, where he stayed till 1861. Attracted by the rush to the Otago goldfields, he returned to New Zealand, and was for two years engaged in mining in Otago. He then went to Taranaki, and was employed as butcher for the troops engaged in the Maori war. He was afterwards employed by Mr. Read for two years, and opened the first hotel in Gisborne. In 1867 he started business in Gisborne as a butcher, and from 1870 till 1882 he conducted a business at Ormond. He then returned to Gisborne and established himself in his present business. After the Poverty Bay massacre in 1868, Mr. Maynard was for two years engaged in active service against the Maoris. He was initiated into Freemasonry in 1887, in Lodge Montrose, S.C. Mr. Maynard has taken an active interest in racing matters, and took a leading part in the first meeting held in Poverty Bay, over thirty years ago. He is a member of the Poverty Bay Turf Club, and for years held the office of clerk of the scales. He was also a member of the Waerenga-a-hika Jockey Club, and is a large shareholder in the Gisborne Park.
Tareheru Freezing Works (Messrs Nelson Bros., Ltd., proprietors, Tomoana, Hawke's Bay), Gisborne. Manager, Mr. A. Dewing. Telephone 1. These important works are picturesquely situated upon the banks of the Tareheru river, about two and a half miles from Gisborne by road or river. The works occupy a large area of land, and the adjacent grounds are tastefully laid out—willows, flowers and shrubs giving a grace to the scene. The main building consists of a large freezing chamber, capable of storing 20,000 carcases of mutton. Pumice and charcoal are used in the page 994 insulation, the former article having been recently introduced for the process. Previously the “dry air process” was used, but now the machines have been converted to the British Linde Ammonia Patent, or the Brine system. Prior to this change both machines were capable of freezing 500 carcases per diem, but under the new system double that number can be frozen, with half the consumption of coal. The shipment of frozen meat to the ocean-going steamers lying in the Bay is effected by transferring the meat from the chamber into two insulated barges, which are towed by a steam launch to the ship's side. There is a fellmongery, with all necessary appliances, attached to the freezing works. There are also the usual lofty and airy slaughtering yards, and hanging chambers, a large cooperage, fitting shops, boat repairing shed and slip, offices, etc. Besides providing suitable dwelling houses for the accommodation of the manager, clerks, and general employees, the proprietors have built a commodious hall and a library, which is supplied with over 800 volumes, besides periodicals. Large paddocks sown in English grass, well watered, and planted with shelter trees, afford ample pasturage for the sheep which are destined for the frozen meat trade.
Mr. Alfred Dewing, Manager of the Tareheru Freezing Works, was born in Lowestoft, Suffolk, England, on the 23rd of February, 1858. He arrived in New Zealand in 1876, and eventually became a station manager. Prior to receiving his present appointment, Mr. Dewing revisited his native land, and also resided in Queensland and Cape Colony for some time. In October, 1892, he succeeded Mr. Sunderland as manager, and has effected numerous alterations and improvements since he assumed control.
Bennett And Sherratt (Charles Debenham Bennett and William Grice Sherratt), General Merchants and Commission Agents, Gisborne. Telephone 95. Bankers, Bank of Australasia. Private residences: Mr. Bennett, Childers' Road; Mr. Sherratt, Whataupoko. This business was established by the firm in 1898. The premises consist of a large wood and iron building, which is used for the purpose of offices, and as a store for merchandise and wool. All kinds of general merchandise are extensively imported by the firm, which exports wool, hides and skins. The firm has the local agencies of the Victorian Marine, the Royal Exchange Fire, and the Citizens' Life Companies. The senior partner is referred to in another article as an ex-mayor of the borough of Gisborne.
Mr. William Grice Sherratt, of the firm of Bennett and Sherratt, was born in Staffordshire, England, in 1862. He arrived in Auckland in 1877 by the ship “Chili,” and after a short stay in Tauranga, settled in Hawke's Bay, where he engaged in station life. In 1881 he removed to Gisborne, and was for some time manager of a station in the district before he joined Mr. Bennett in partnership. Mr. Sherratt was married, in 1886, to a daughter of the late Mr. J. Garry, of Hawke's Bay, and has four daughters.
Clark, Archibald And Sons, Ltd., (Mr. A. T. Hookey, manager), Merchants and Warehousemen, corner of Gladstone Road and Lowe Street, Gisborne. Head office: Shortland Street, Auckland. Telephone 32. Bankers, Union Bank of Australia. The Gisborne branch of this well-known company was founded in 1892. The whole of the Poverty Bay district is worked from the Gisborne branch.
Mr. Alfred Tily Hookey, Manager for Messrs Archibald Clark and Sons in Gisborne since May, 1898, was born in Lymington, Hampshire, England. He was educated in his native place and at the Solent Collegiate School, and brought up to the soft goods business in England. Mr. Hookey came to Auckland in 1886 by the ship “Northamberland,” and was for nine years in the employment of Messrs Sargood, Son and Ewen. During that time Mr. Hookey travelled over most of the North Island. In 1895 he joined page 995 Messrs Archibald Clark and Sons in Auckland as town traveller, and three years later was transferred to Gisborne. As a Freemason Mr. Hookey was attached to Lodge Ara, in Auckland, is now affiliated with Lodge Abercorn in Gisborne, and was Grand Organist for the Grand Lodge of New Zealand in 1900. Before leaving Auckland Mr. Hookey was organist and choirmaster at the Devonport Presbyterian Church. Mr. Hookey was married, in 1894, to a daughter of Mr. J. Spencer, of Farnham, Surrey, England, and has one son and two daughters.
Mr. Thomas Charles Dawson, sometime Manger at Gisborne for Messrs Archibald Clark and Sons, and now Manager for the firm at Napier, is the eldest son of the late Captain Thomas Dawson of the 67th Regiment. Mr. Dawson was born in Fermoy, Ireland, in 1866, and finished his education at the Church of England Grammar School, Parnell, Auckland. On leaving school he joined the firm of Messrs McArthur and Co., merchants, of Auckland, and gradually rose to the position of manager of the Wanganui branch. He retained that position until Messrs McArthur and Co. sold out their interests in New Zealand in 1895, when he had been twelve and a half years with them. Mr. Dawson then accepted an appointment with his present employers, and became manager of the Gisborne branch. On leaving Wanganui, he was presented by the mayor, Mr. Freeman Jackson, with an illuminated address, signed by the leading business residents; and the Brethren of the Tongariro Lodge, 705, E.C., also presented him with a beautiful gold jewel on resigning the office of senior deacon. Mr. Dawson is an enthusiastic Freemason, as his deceased father was, and was initiated into Freemasonry in Lodge Tongariro, No. 705, E.C., Wanganui, where he filled the junior offices up to senior deacon. On coming to Gisborne, he affiliated with the Turanganui Lodge, No. 1480, E.C., and after filling the offices of the junior and the senior wardens, was elected the master of the lodge in December, 1897, the ceremony of installation being performed by the Most Worshipful District Grand Master of Auckland, Bro. C. C. McMillan, assisted by D.G.S. Bro. J. P. Clark. Before Mr. Dawson left Gisborne to enter on the management of the firm's Napier branch he was presented by his friends with a handsome gold watch, and by the brethren of the Turanganui Masonic Lodge with a beautiful address and a jewel.
Common, Shelton and Co., Ltd., Universal Providers and General Merchants, Peel Street, Gisborne. Telephones: Principal Office, 22; Freezing Works, 52; Managing Director's residence, 3. P.O. Box 50. Bankers, Bank of New Zealand. Private residence, Mr. F. J. Shelton's (managing director) Aberdeen Road. This large business dates back to 1878, when it was founded under the style of Murray, Common and Co. Two years later it was known as W. Common and Co.; it became Common, Shelton and Co. in 1882, and dates as an incorporated company from 1893. The firm's business is divided into departments—shipping, insurance, stations and advances, grocery, ironmongery, drapery, wines and spirits, crockery, and cycles and agricultural implements. The company acts as agents for the Shaw, Savill and Albion and Huddart Parker lines of steamers, and for the Commercial Union Fire and National Mutual Life companies. It also acts for the Gisborne Freezing Company. Each department of the business has its allotted space in the fine brick and iron building, in which the business is centralised; and all the departments are connected with each other by a complete system of house telephones. Acetylene gas is manufactured on the premises, which are brilliantly lighted by large incandescent lamps. Messrs Common, Shelton and Co., Ltd., are not only large importers, for they also figure among the chief exporters of the wealthy district of Poverty Bay.
Mr. Gilbert Kennedy Pasley, Secretary to Messrs Common, Shelton and Company, Limited, is a son of Mr. E. W. Pasley, Collector of Customs. He was born in Nelson in 1870, and was educated at Blenheim, where he afterwards joined the staff of the New Zealand Loan and Mercantile Agency Company, which he served successively at Oamaru, Gore, Dunedin, and Wellington, and was shorthand and corresponding clerk, when he left its employment in March, 1896, to become ledger-keeper to Messrs Common, Shelton and Company. Mr. Pasley was promoted to the position of secretary to the company in August, 1900. As a volunteer he served in the Blenheim School Cadets as lieutenant, and was afterwards for a year in the City Rifles in the same place. Mr. Pasley is an active member of the Gisborne Lawn Tonnis Club. He was married, in 1894, to a daughter of Mr. A. B. Tuson, of Southland, and has two daughters.
Mr. Joseph Burton Kells, Auctioneer to Messrs Common, Shelton and Company, Limited, was born near Auckland in 1858. He was educated in Auckland, and was brought up to farming. Before settling in Poverty Bay, in 1897, he was for fifteen years manager of Tongoio Station, Hawke's Bay. In 1897 Mr. Kells removed to Poverty Bay, and took the position of auctioneer and stock agent for Messrs Common, Shelton and Company. He holds periodical sales throughout the district, and is also buyer for the Gisborne Freezing Works.
Mr. William John Barlow, Manager of the Agricultural Implement and Cycle Department page 996 of Messrs Common, Shelton and Company, Limited, was born at Airdrie, Scotland, in 1867. He was educated at the Airdrie Grammar School, and after arriving in New Zealand attended the West Christchurch School. Mr. Barlow was brought up as a blacksmith and engineer, and studied at the Canterbury College under Professor Scott. He commenced business on his own account in the Springfield district. Four years later he removed to Christchurch as manager of the Crown Iron Works, and eight months subsequently entered into the cycle business as member of the firm of Barlow and Price. A year afterwards he established the Barlow Cycle Manufacturing Company, which he conducted from 1893 to 1900. Having sold out his interest, he settled in Gisborne, on being appointed to his present position. While he was in Christchurch Mr. Barlow took an active part in originating the Christchurch Volunteer Cycle Corps, of which he was a member. As a Freemason he is a member of Lodge Conyers, E.C., and was organist for the Lodge. He was also a member of the Christchurch Motett Society, in which he took part as a soloist, and was choirmaster of the Congregational Church, Christchurch, for a year. Mr. Barlow was married, in 1889, to a daughter of the late Mr. J. H. Chapman, of Fernside, and has one son and one daughter.
Mr. W. J. Barlow.
Mr. Francis Joseph Teat, Manager of the Soft Goods Department in the business of Messrs Common, Shelton and Company, Limited, was born at Napier in 1868. He was educated at Gisborne, and was brought up to the soft goods trade in Poverty Bay, where he served his apprenticeship with Mr. G. R. Moore. He was afterwards for two years with Messrs Graham, Pitt and Bennett, and was subsequently three years in Napier with Messrs Blythe and Co., and Messrs Robjohns and Co. Later on he was for a time with Messrs Kirkcaldie and Stains, in Wellington, and then returned to Gisborne, to take up a position with Mr. W. Pettie, when he left in 1890 to become first assistant with Messrs Common, Shelton and Company. Two years later he was promoted to the position of manager. Mr. Teat has been a member of the Gisborne Rowing Club since 1886; he has served on the committee of that body, and is generally interested in sports. As a volunteer he serves in the East Coast Mounted Rifles. Mr. Teat is well known as a baritone soloist, and has been closely connected with musical societies in Gisborne.
Mr. F. J. Teat.
New Zealand Loan And Mercantile Agency Company, Gladstone Road, Gisborne. The Gisborne branch of this association was opened in 1881, under the management of Mr. R. Hill Fisher, in a small building, but in 1887, a handsome two-storey concrete structure was erected with suitable suites of offices. The staff consists of Mr. J. W. Bright, manager; Mr. F. C. Stubbs, accountant; two junior clerks, and the storeman.
Mr. J. W. Bright, Manager at Gisborne for the New Zealand Loan and Mercantile Agency Company, was appointed to his position in 1887.
Williams And Kettle, Ltd., (Mr. A. F. Kennedy, manager), General Merchants, Stock and Station Agents, and Auctioneers, corner of Gladstone Road and Customhouse Street, Gisborne. Head office, Napier. Telephone 43. Bankers, Bank of New South Wales. This well-known company was founded in 1880, in Napier, by Mr. F. W. Williams. Five years later that gentleman was joined by Mr. N. Kettle, who had previously been manager of Messrs Murray, Roberts and Co.'s Napier branch. In 1891 the business had assumed such large dimensions that in order to meet the requirements of the age, it was turned into a co-operative company. The shares were eagerly taken up, and a very strong directory was formed of some of the leading sheepfarmers in the Hawke's Bay and Poverty Bay districts. By the articles of association dividends on capital are restricted to seven per cent., and the whole of the balance of profits is divided among shareholders in proportion to the amount contributed by them. At the close of the year ending March, 1901, shareholders received a bonus of two per cent, on goods purchased, in addition to the fullest cash discount, and a rebate of twenty per cent, on all commissions contributed by them to the company for the previous year. The offices and stores in Gisborne are in a fine concrete block of buildings fronting Gladstone Road whilst the auction room and the large wool and grain stores stand at the corner fronting Customhouse Street and Childers' Road. In conjunction with the Loan and Mercantile Agency Company, Messrs Williams and Kettle, Ltd., are joint owners of extensive sheep and cattle yards at Matawhero, where regular sales are held. The manager, Mr. Kennedy, also acts as the company's auctioneer. The firm holds the agencies for Nelson Bros., Ltd., the Tyser line of steamers, the Oceanic Steamship Company, the Australian Mutual Provident Society, the National Insurance Company, and the Thames and Mersey Marine Insurance Company, besides the Massey-Harris Company, Cooper's and Law's sheep dips, and many other valuable trade agencies.
Bushnell, Herbert James, Printer and Bookseller, Gladstone Road, Gisborne. Mr. Bushnell was born in Suffo[unclear: l]k, England in 1850, and came to Auckland in 1858, by the ship “Spirit of Trade.” Mr. Bushnell was for some time on the staff of the old “New Zealander,” and afterwards successively on the “Auckland Herald,” “Evening News,” and “Star,” and was for a time in the South Sea Islands on a sailing vessel as a seaman. In 1877 he went to Napier, and was two years on the “Daily Telegraph.” He removed to Gisborne in 1879, and was manager of the “Poverty Bay Herald” till 1898, when he commenced business on his own account as a printer and bookseller. Mr. Bushnell has been treasurer of Court William Gladstone, A.O.F., for the past sixteen years. He is also a director of the Gisborne Gas Company, and of the Gisborne Building Society, and a manager of St. Andrew's Presbyterian Church.
Crawford And Son (William Fitzgerald Crawford and Thomas Fitzgerald Crawford), Booksellers, Stationers, and Fancy Goods Dealers, Gladstone Road, Gisborne. Telephone 87. Bankers, Bank of New South Wales. Private residence, Aberdeen Road. This business was established in 1897, and the premises occupy a portion of the Albion Hotel block. Mr. W. F. Crawford, who is referred to in another article, has been in England since 1898.
Mr. Thomas Fitzgerald Crawford, Junior Partner in the firm, was born in 1871 in Auckland, and was educated in Gisborne, where he has lived since he was three years of age. He was brought up to business as a brewer by his father, and was page 997 engaged in that line for a good many years. Mr. Crawford was married, in 1899, to the second daughter of Mr. J. R. Redstone, of Gisborne.
Mr. T. F. Crawford.
Cox, William John, General Storekeeper, Gladstone Road, Gisborne. Telephone 99. Bankers, Bank of New South Wales. Private residence, Kaiti. This business was established in 1898. The premises include a large shop, with office and store, in which the owner keeps a good general stock of merchandise. Mr. Cox was born in 1872 in Cheltenham, England, where he received a good education. He came to Lyttelton in 1886 by the s.s. “Ruapehu,” and settled in Gisborne, where he was employed first by the Farmers' Co-operative society, and afterwards by Mr. James McKee, with whom he continued till he established his present business. Mr. Cox is a member of the Loyal Gisborne Lodge of Oddfellows, of which he is a Past Master.
East, James, Storekeeper, Gladstone Road, Gisborne. Mr. East is a native of Calstock, Cornwall, where he was born in 1852. He was educated there, and came to this colony in December, 1873, per ship “Douglas,” landing at Wellington. He was with Messrs Robjohns and Co., in Napier, for a short time, and then went to Poverty Bay for two years in connection with a branch of the same firm. After being also another two years with Messrs Graham and Co., he set up for himself as general storekeeper, and is still successfully conducting business in that line. He is well known as a tenor vocalist, and has always been actively associated with musical matters in Poverty Bay, and has freely given his services gratuitously, especially in connection with charitable objects. Mr. East was married in 1873 to Miss Mary W. Robjohns, of Tavistock, Devon, England.
McKee, James, Wholesale Family Grocer and Direct Importer, Gisborne, and Proprietor of the Theatre Royal, Gladstone Road, Gisborne. Bankers, Bank of New Zealand. Telephone 17. Mr. McKee was born in County Derry, Ireland, and engaged in mercantile pursuits in Belfast for a number of years. In 1880 he left for New Zealand, per ship “Dunlowe,” and arrived in Auckland. For some months Mr. McKee was travelling in the Auckland province, and in July, 1880, he moved to Gisborne, where he was engaged with commercial houses until 1893, when he commenced business at his present address.
Mr. J. McKee's Premises.
Mr. D. M. Orr.
Pollock, John, Storekeeper, corner of Derby Street and Gladstone Road, Gisborne. Bankers, Union Bank of Australia. This business was established in 1886 by the proprietor, who was born in 1832, in Paisley, Scotland. He was educated at Castle Douglas, and was brought up as a grocer in Glasgow. Mr. Pollock arrived in Auckland by the ship “Pegasus” in 1865. Soon after the opening of the Thames he went to that goldfield, where he remained for eight years. In 1876 he setled in Gisborne, where he was for some time employed by Mr. East, and was afterwards manager of Mr. Parnell's business for several years. For many years Mr. Pollock has been an elder of the Presbyterian Church, and he acts as agent for the British and Foreign Bible Society. He was married, in 1872, to a daughter of the late Mr. G. Brookes, of Birmingham, England, and has one son and three daugthers.
Teat And Friar (William Ashwood Friar), General Storekeepers and Importers. Gladstone Road, Gisborne. Telephone 68. Bankers, Union Bank of Australia and Bank of New South Wales. Private residence, Childers' Road. This business was established in 1881 by Mr. Friar in conjunction with the late Mr. William Teat, and was conducted by them in co-partnership till the death of Mr. Teat in 1887. The building is of wood, and consists of a large double-fronted shop of one storey, with a verandah. Drapery, crockery, boots and clothing are kept by the firm.
Mr. William Ashwood Friar, Sole Partner in the firm of Teat and Friar, was born in the North of Ireland, where he was educated and brought up to commercial life. He came to Auckland in the ship “Dover Castle” in 1875, and settled in Poverty Bay, where he was employed in mercantile positions till he joined Mr. Teat in establishing the firm which still bears both their names. Mr. Friar has been a member of the Chamber of Commerce since its inception. In the early days he served as a volunteer, and was connected with the J Battery. Mr. Friar was married, in 1881, to Miss McKenzie, of Waipu, who was born in Nova Scotia, and has two sons and two daughters.
Whitby, John Eugene, Storekeeper, Gladstone Road, Gisborne. Telephone 62. Bankers, Union Bank of Australia. Private residence, Whataupoko. This business was established in 1889. Mr. Whitby was born in 1840 at King's Lynn, Norfolk, England. He came out to Melbourne in 1861, and four years later was at Gabriel's Gully, Otago. After goldmining on the West Coast and at the Thames, he became one of the prospectors of the Mercury Bay gumfields, and was a storekeeper at Gumtown. He was for five years subsequently in business at Coromandel, and removed to Gisborne in 1877, when he established his present business.
The Gisborne Gas Company, Limited, was incorporated in 1883. The works are situated in Grey Street on an acre and a quarter of land, on which stands the office of the company and the manager's residence. There are two large gas holders, capable of holding conjointly 21,000 feet. The buildings are mostly of iron, and contain ten retorts, besides a complete purifying plant. The borough of Gisborne is lighted from the works; and a cable pipe below the bed of the Tareheru river conveys gas to the Whataupoko district, while a telescope pipe across the swing bridge over the Turanganui river supplies Kaiti. The secretary of the company is Mr. W. S. Lunn, and the manager of the works, Mr. A. Spence. Directors for 1901: Mr. Thomas Chrisp (chairman), and Messrs H. J. Bushnell, e. J. Chrisp, J. T. Evans, G. Matthewson, P. McLoughlin, and J. Townley.
British Empire Stables (Donald McKenzie, proprietor) behind the British Empire Hotel, Gisborne. These stables have fifty stalls and two loose boxes, with plenty of accommodation for vehicles, and there is a good waiting room for ladies.
Mr. Donald McKenzie, Proprietor, was born in Lochinber, Sutherlandshire, Scotland, in 1859, and was educated at Dingwall. His father was a hotel keeper and a farmer, and Mr. D. McKenzie, who was brought up to country life, had experience among cattle, horses and sheep from his early days. He came out to Otago in 1879, and was employed for a number of years as a shepherd. For about four years subsequently he was farming on his own account in the Cromwell district, and removed to Poverty Bay in 1885 as sub-manager of Mr. R. J. Reynolds' station. Tolago Bay. Three years later Mr. McKenzie started a livery stable business in Gisborne, and has had the British Empire Stables since 1895. He was married, in 1899, to a daughter of Mr. J. Farrell, of the Thames, and has one son.
Masonic Stables (F. S. des Barres, proprietor). Lowe Street, Gisborne. Telephone 80. Bankers, Union Bank of Australia. Private residence, Kaiti. The Masonic stables, which are amongst the best in Poverty Bay, were established in 1880. They are built of iron, and have about 100 stalls, in addition to a number of loose boxes There is a fine asphalt floor, and plenty of room for traps, and a very considerable business is done by the proprietor.
Mr. Frederick Stuart Des Barres, Proprietor of the Masonic Stables, was born in Halifax, Nova Scotia, in 1872, and educated at the United Service College, West ward-Ho, North Devon, where Kipling, the well-known author, went to school. Mr. des Barres was brought up to the army, and held a commission as lieutenant in H.M. 87th Irish Fusiliers. His father, who was a captain of the 21st Lancers, became a colonel in the Army Service Corps. Mr. F. S. des Barres came to Auckland in 1896, and in the following year settled at Gisborne, after having acquired the Masonic Stables. He was married, in 1900, to a daughter of Mr. W. G. Maitland, of Pomahaka. Otago.
Redstone, John Robert, Livery Stable Proprietor, Lowe Street, Gisborne. Bankers, Bank of Australasia. Telephone 70. Mr. Redstone was born at New Quay, parish of Tavistock, Devonshire, England, in 1850, and is the second son of Mr. John Redstone, of Tavistock. He was educated at Mr. Gaud's school, Goldsworthy, was apprenticed as a blacksmith, and after serving his time left the Old Country and arrived in Napier in 1872, per ship “Celæno,” via Wellington. Mr. Redstone obtained employment with Mr. Robertson, blacksmith, Taradale, and subsequently started in business with Mr. Redding, in Shakespeare Road, Napier. Owing, however to an accident which broke his right shoulder in three places, and to the fact of the fracture being treated for rheumatism by a local doctor, Mr. Redstone's shoulder became permanently disabled, and he had to abandon his trade. But he soon launched out in another direction, and started the first line of buses between Napier and the Spit. The line was afterwards transferred to the Napier Bus Company, but Mr. Redstone became manager and remained as such for six years, when the property was advertised to be sold. In June, 1891, Mr. Redstone arrived in Gisborne and started in his present business, and has secured one of the best connections in the district. He has a first rate plant, consisting of a waggonette, page 999 an English landau, a hearse, several buggies, gigs, and single brakes, and keeps about twenty first class saddle and harness horses, so that the public can rely upon being supplied with first rate turn-outs, and staunch cattle. Mr Redstone is a prominent member of the Presbyterian Church and choir, and was a performing vocalist of the Gisborne Choral Society. In 1875 Mr. Redstone married the eldest daughter of Mr. John Dean, Bilston, Staffordshire, Eng land, and has ten children.
Mr. J. R. Redstone.
Sawyer, Arthur, Carrier, Gladstone Road, Gisborne. Mr. Sawyer was born in Edmonton, London, in 1857, educated at Reading, and was brought up to country work. He arrived in Auckland by the ship “Bombay” in 1864, and settled in 1876 at Gisborne, where he found employment for several years in contracting for the construction of roads and tences. In 1886 Mr. Sawyer commenced business as a carrier and carter in connection with his wood and coal yard, under the style of Sawyer and Co. He was afterwards a partner with Mr. Lucas in the firm of Lucas and Sawyer, cordial manufacturers, for about a year. Mr. Sawyer was proprietor of the Royal Oak Hotel, Matawhero, for about eighteen months. He is attached to Turanganui Lodge, U.A.O.D., of which he has been trustee for many years, and in 1900 he held office as Past District President. As a Freemason he is a member of Lodge Turanganui, E.C., and has held office as Senir Warden. He was married, in 1884, t[unclear: o a] daughter of the late Mr. J. Ardern, of the Thames, and has two sons and two daughters.
Mr. A. Sawyer.
Smith, Henry Rawlings, Watchmaker and Jeweller, Gladstone Road, Gasborne. Bankers, Bank of New Zealand. Private residence, Gladstone Road. Mr. Smith was born in Isington, London, in 1845, and educated at Bath and Dover. He learned his business as a manufacturing jeweller in Clerkenwell, London, where he was afterwards in business on his own account for twenty years. In 1883 he came out to Sydney, and was in business at Ashfield for fourteen years. Mr. Smith removed to New Zealand on account of his wife's health; he was for eighteen months in Christchurch, and established his present business in 1897. He maintains a good general stock of jewellery, watches, clocks, eye-glasses and spectacles. While in London Mr. Smith served as a volunteer for seven years in the Royal City of London Engineers. He was married, in 1883, to a daughter of the late Mr. Charles Smith, of London.
Clayton Brothers (Walter Henry Clayton and Charles Edward Clayton), Timber Merchants, Builders, Ironmongers and Dealers in Bricks, Tiles, and Pottery Ware, Gladstone Road, Gisborne; Coal and Timber Yards at Whataupoko. Telephone 11. Bankers, Bank of New Zealand. Private residence, Whataupoko. This large business was founded by the senior partner in 1882, and he has continuously taken a leading part in the management. The firm takes contracts, and has erected a number of important buildings in the district, including Messrs Williams and Kettle's, the Bank of New South Wales, Messrs Rosie and Cols, and Mr. Petties', all in Gladstone Road. In 1900 the firm held contracts for building the sheds and cottages on the new railway from Gisborne to Ormond.
Mr. Walter Henry Clayton, Founder of the firm of Clayton Brothers, was born in London in 1864. When he was three years of age he arrived in Wellington with his parents by the ship “Berar,” and was educated chiefly in the Gisborne district, in which he has resided continuously since 1870. Mr. Clayton's father, the late Mr. Henry Clayton, was a well-known builder, and it was from him that his son received his training. Mr. Clayton, senior, was one of the first councillors of the borough of Gisborne, and sat continuously as a member till he left for England. As a member of the Order of Druids Mr. W.H. Clayton is attached to Lodge Turanganui. He was one of those who escaped from the wreck of the s.s. “Tasmania,” and was successful in saving his personal property. Mr. Clayton was married, in 1887, to a daughter of the late Mr. R. Woods, of London, and has one daughter.
Mr. Charles Edward Clayton, Junior Partner of the firm of Clayton Brothers, was born in Gisborne, in 1885, and takes part in the firm's business, especially in connection with the management of its sawmill.
Mr. Frederick Clayton, brother to the Members of the firm, acts as manager of the outside department of the firm's business. He was born in Napier in 1868, educated in Gisborne, brought up to the clothing business, entered the service of the New Zealand Clothing Factory, and was manager of its branch at Paeroa before taking up the duties of his present position.
Kennedy And Evans, And Kennedy, Evans And Company (Captain Joseph Kennedy and John Thomas Evans). Timber Merchants, Carriers, Lightermen, and Shipping and Insurance Agents, Read's Quay and Gladstone Road, Gisborne. Telephones 50 and 12. Bankers, Bank of New Zealand. Private residence: Captain Kennedy, Gisborne; Mr. Evans, Stout Street, Whataupoko. The large business conducted under the styles at the head of this article was founded in 1875 by the late Captain Read. The firm as at present constituted dates from February, 1885. It owns six lighters, capable of carrying from page 1000 450 to 500 tons, and has for years done the whole of the lightering for the Union Steamship, Huddart-Parker, and Tyser Companies. The firm also carries out mail Contracts, and represents the New Zealand Express Company, Westport Coal Company, and the Alliance and North British and Mercantiel Insurance Companies. Captain Kennedy supervises the shipping and coaling part of the business, and Mr Evans the management of the office.
Captain Joseph Bond Kennedy is referred to in another article as an early Gisborne settler.
Mr. John Thomas Evans, of the firm of Kennedy and Evans, was born in Chellenham, England, in 1841. He was brought up to mercantile life, and came to Port Chalmers in 1863 by the ship “Matoaka.” Mr. Evans spent twenty-two years in Oamaru, where he was well known as a grain merchant and a miller. The large mill now worked by Messrs J. and T. Meek was designed and built by Mr. Evans, who worked it for some time after its completion. He imported the latest new American machinery for purifying flour in that district. Mr. Evans served for years as a member of the Oamaru Harbour Board, the Oamaru Borough Council, and the local road boards. He was married, in 1863, to a daughter of the late Mr. J. Shacklock, of Nottinghamshire, England, and has seven daughters and five sons.
Stafford, Francis, Timber Merchant. Builder and Contractor, Gladstone Road, Gisborne. Private residence, Stout Street, Whataupoko. Bankers, Bank of Australasia. This business was established in 1892. Mr. Stafford was born in Arnold, Notts, England, in 1862. He was educated at Arnold and Hoveringham, and served his apprenticeship as a carpenter at Ilkeston, Derbyshire. After working at his trade for a number of years, he came to Auckland by the first trip of the s.s. “Ruapehu,” in 1884. After five years, during which he worked at his trade and also engaged in fruit farming in the Birkenhead district, he removed to Poverty Bay in 1889, and established his present business three years later. During his residence at Birkenhead Mr. Stafford served for one year as a member of the local road board, and was secretary of the fruitgrowers' association there. He was married, in 1886, to a daughter of the late M. A. Steele, of Standground, Huntingdonshire, England, and has one son and five daughters.
Assets Realisation Board's Stations. The Stations of the Assets Realisation Board in Poverty Bay include “Pakowhai, 5015 acres, on which 7500 sheep and 250 head of cattle are depastured; “Puru,” 4000 acres, of which a large portion is bush, but which, nevertheless, carries 3000 sheep and fifty head of cattle; “Tawapatu,” 4000 acres, on which there are 3000 sheep; “Te Aroha, at Waerenga-o-kuri, 12,000 acres in extent, maintains 6000 sheep and 3000 head of cattle; “Paramata,” 7000 acres, supports 5600 sheep and 400 head of cattle.
Mr. Richard Sherratt, Manager of these properties for the Assets Realisation Board, is well known in Gisborne, and resides at “Pouparae,” Bushmere Road. Mr. Sherratt was born near Melbourne in 1851, and was educated in England at Denham Grand Grammar School. He came to Lyttelton in 1877 by the ship “Gainsborough,” and served as a cadet for a year in Canterbury, and was subsequently for two years in the Waikato. He joined his brother-in-law, Captain Morris, and the firm purchased a farm in Tauranga, and worked it for three years, but afterwards removed to Tolago Bay. In 1880 Mr. Sherratt became manager of the estates of the East Coast Lands Company, and in July, 1899, he bought an estate of 3838 acres at Patutahi; it carries 3300 sheep and 200 head of cattle. He was married, in 1872, to a daughter of the late Mr. J. Rock, of Cheltenham, and has three daughters and three sons.
Cameron, Ewen, Sheepfarmer, T[unclear: e]anga, near Gisborne. Mr. Cameron, who has a splendid farm of 254 acres on the Middle Road and a leasehold of 1000 acres at Waerenga-o-kuri, shears about 3000 sheep, and keeps a flock of Polled Angus cattle. He has been a large dealer in cattle, and has shipped cattle, horses, and sheep to the Auckland markets. Mr. Cameron introduced the first Polled Angus into the Poverty Bay district, and has imported some very fine draught horses. He was born in 1842 in Invernesshire, where his father was a noted cattle dealer, known as “Corrychoillie,” and was brought up to farming. In 1860 he arrived in Auckland by the ship “Chariot of Fame,” joined the Militia, and afterwards served with the Government sanagging party on the Waikato river for three years. In 1865 he removed to Napier, and was engaged in country occupations. He settled in Poverty Bay in 1870, and had some exciting experiences in driving cattle overland in the central districts of Auckland. Mr. Cameron was one of the founders of the Poverty Bay Agricultural Society, and had a seat as a member of the committee for many years, and also served for a number of years as a member of the Poverty Bay Road Board. As a Freemason he is attached to Lodge Turanganui, E.C. On his farm there may still be seen the remains of a large redoubt, which was originally surrounded by a big ditch, and bullet proof walls twenty feet high. When he settled in the district there were no roads, and it was no uncommon thing for a settler to lose himself in the bush within a very short distance of his homestead. Mr. Cameron was married, in 1876, to a daughter of the late Mr. R. Breingan, of Gisborne, and has two daughters and seven sons.
Cooper, William, Sheepfarmer, Wainui, Gisborne. Mr. Cooper was born at Bradford in Yorkshire on the 23rd of March, 1845, and arrived in New Zealand in January, 1856, with his father, mother and four brothers. He assisted his father on land taken up by him about nine miles from Wellington, until 1858, when his father was accidentally killed by a falling tree. At the age of thirteen young Cooper then started out into the world on his own account, and worked at farming for some of the first settlers at the Hutt. Not caring for husbandry, he struck out in 1861 for the Wairarapa district, and was for about three years on a cattle station, where he gained a practical knowledge of stock, together with bush work and fencing. In 1864, Mr. Chew, one of the oldest residents of Masterton, took up a block of 5000 acres in the Tiraumea district, and offered Mr. Cooper the management, if he would first gain a year or two's experience of sheep farming. With this in view he worked for about three years as a shepherd on the Flat Point Station, and in 1867 took over the management of Mr. Chew's property, which he carried on for about twelve months. An opportunity then occurred to carry out his long cherished ambition of being his own page 1001 master, and in partnership with an old fellow shepherd, Mr. John Cross, he took up 4000 acres of unbroken country, nearly adjoining the property lately managed by him. In 1874 a satisfactory sale of the estate was made to Mr. Grant, a gentleman from Otago, and the partnership was dissolved. Mr. Cross took up another run at Wharehama, and Mr. Cooper went north to Poverty Bay, which was then practically a new district with its capabilities unknown. He there took up two runs of 7000 and 12,000 acres respectively, and was well on the high road to fortune, when the failure of the City of Glasgow Bank threw him back almost to his original starting point. However, with the stout heart which has been hitherto the main secret of his success, he again put his shoulder to the wheel. He first took up a lease of about 1150 acres at Wainui, where he established the home he now occupies, and has since acquired the freehold. The situation of this property, about three and a half miles from Gisborne, and overlooking the sea, makes it an ideal spot for a residence, and the homestead has been tastefully planted and laid out in harmony with its surroundings, and probably the many residential sites on the frontage will in future years form the suburban homes of the merchant princes of Poverty Bay. Mr. Cooper has since acquired the Puatai Estate of 4700 acres on the coast and an inland station of about 3000 acres, near the scene of his first start in the district. The three properties carry 14,000 sheep, 800 head of cattle and 100 horses. Notwithstanding the troublesome times Poverty Bay has gone through, owing to defective Native land laws, Mr. Cooper has acquired titles, either on his own account or for others, to over 100,000 acres of land, and has obtained a very valuable and extensive knowledge of this business, in which he has always been largely interested. In common with others he has taken an active part in endeavouring, against heavy odds, to get the existing land laws into a good workable form. Mr. Cooper has been connected with the endeavour to develop the petroleum oil industry in Poverty Bay from its initiation in the latter part of 1874, soon after his advent there, and he still owns some of the oil-bearing land and is sanguine that sooner or later a valuable result will be achieved with it. Since living in Poverty Bay, Mr. Cooper has materially assisted in its advancement, and he is at present a member of the Cook County Council.
Mr. W. Cooper.
Kiore Sheepfarming Company, Ltd. (Mr. P. T. Kenway, managing director). This company was incorporated in 1893 to acquire the Kiore Station, nine miles west of Tolago Bay. The property consists of 5600 acres of freehold, on which 10,000 sheep and 600 head of cattle are depastured. The company also owns Huanui Station, twenty-five miles north-west of Tolago Bay; it consists of over 11,000 acres of freehold, in course of improvement, and carries at present 14,000 sheep and 500 cattle.
Mr. Philip Thornton Kenway, Managing Director of the Kiore Sheepfarming Co., was born in Birmingham, England, and came to the colony by the s.s. “British King” in 1883. He settled in the Waimata Valley, Poverty Bay, with his brothers, and has had the management of the Kiore Company since its inception.
Kowhai Station (Messrs V. Lardelly and M. H. Strachn, proprietors), Waimata, Gisborne. This property is over 6000 acres in extent, and is mostly under grass; 10,000 sheep are depastured on the estate.
Mr. Malcolm Hovil Strachn, Managing Partner of Kowhai Station, was born in 1866 in Reading, England. He came to Wellington by the s.s. “Kaikoura” in 1885, and settled in Poverty Bay. Mr. Strachn has for some years served as a member of the Waimata Road Board. He was married, in 1898, to a daughter of General Hume, of the Indian Staff Corps, and has one son.
Reynolds, Richard James, Runholder, Mangaheia, Tolago Bay, Gisborne. Mr. Reynolds, who holds 7200 acres of freehold on which he runs 10,000 sheep, resides at Childers' Road, Gisborne, where he has 100 acres of land. He was born at Wallasey, near Liverpool, England, in 1844, was educated at Trinity College, Dublin, studied as a Civil Engineer, and afterwards served for three years as such in London. In 1879 Mr. Reynolds landed in Wellington, and settled in Poverty Bay in the following year. He was engaged in engineering for some years, and bought his run at Tolago Bay in 1886. It was then in its natural state, and has since been almost entirely laid down in grass. Mr. Reynolds is a member of the Agricultural and Pastoral Association, the Jockey Club, and the Poverty Bay Club. He was married, in 1871, to a daughter of the late Mr. G. H. Sunderland, of Swarthdale, near Ulverston, Lancashire, and has two sons and six daughters.
Mr. James Dunlop was one of the pioneer settlers of Poverty Bay. He was born in Glasgow in 1820, and gained some experience with the firm of Tennent and Company, wholesale chemists. In 1849 he arrived in Wellington by the ship “Lalla Rookh.” Six months later he went to Auckland, and settled in Poverty Bay in 1850, when the whole country was in a state of nature. He took up a site in the township, on a portion of which he continued to reside to the close of his life. Mr. Dunlop purchased eighty acres at Makaraka, where he farmed for a number of years, but left the property shortly before the Poverty Bay massacre. Just as he was packing up about eighty natives came to his place, and brought their guns inside, but they told him not to be frightened, and went away without disturbing anything. After he had left, however, his house was burnt down along with the homes of other settlers. Mr. Dunlop was married, in 1845, to a daughter of the late Mr. C. Cole, of Glasgow, and had four sons and seven daughters. On his father's side he was descended from Mrs Dunlop, the friend of the poet Burns. In his early days he was a daring horseman and enthusiastic sportsman. He died in June, 1901.
Captain G. E. Read, who was an old Colonist in the days of the New Zealand Company, was associated in business with the late Hon. W. B. Rhodes, of Wellington. He was also engaged in trading on the East Coast for some time, and resided at Te Mawhai, a whaling station, near Tokomaru, but about 1840, he settled in the Poverty Bay district, from which he kept up the coastal trade. It was, however, during later years, after 1865, that his name became most intimately connected with the district, where he was known as the “King of Poverty Bay,” of which, indeed, he might justly be called the father. His exertions after the massacres committed by Te Kooti, and through the subsequent hostilities, were of priceless assistance to the settlers. After that, too, he did very noteworthy work in furtherance of the cause of European settlement. He applied himself to the purchase of native land, for which he had particularly good opportunities, and these he used to the uttermost in promoting settlement in the district on conditions which were, on the whole, favourable to the colonists. There were those who criticised his methods, but, taking all the circumstances into consideration, Captain Read undoubtedly did much to promote the settlement of Poverty Bay. Personally, he was a shrewd and far-seeing man, and possessed of great industry. He died suddenly, at the age of sixty-two, in February, 1878.
The late Captain G. E. Read.
Mr. William Goodwin Scotter, Old Colonist, was born in Norfolk, England, in 1846. He came out to New South Wales in 1855, and in the following year arrived in Auckland, where he learned his trade as a blacksmith. Mr. Scotter has been a settler in Gisborne since 1878, and was at one time a member of the firm of Humphries and Scotter, but is now in business on his own account in Gladstone Road. As a volunteer he served in No. 3 Company, Parnell Rifles, and was on active service during the Waikato war, and received the New Zealand war medal. He is a member of the Wesleyan Church, and has filled every office that can be held by a layman in that church.
J. Sheen, Gisborne. This lady is the widow of Mr. Sheen, who was well known as the Gisborne representative of the Kaiapoi Woollen Company. Some time after her husband's death Mrs Sheen became proprietress of the Turanganui Hotel, Read's Quay, Gisborne. This hotel is most picturesquely situated on the banks of the Tauhere river, and the visitor can obtain an enchanting view of the surrounding scenery, including the Pacific Ocean, the river, and the undulating downs, and lofty mountains. The hotel contains thirty-five rooms, including sitting, dining, and commercial rooms, and private suites, as well as an excellent bathroom, with lavatories, etc. Under Mrs Sheen's management the hotel became one of the best equipped, and one of the most comfortable, in New Zealand. Mrs. Sheen now lives in retirement at Gisborne.