The Cyclopedia of New Zealand [Auckland Provincial District]
The large amount of machinery used at the mines, not only at the Thames itself, but throughout the Peninsula, has led to the establishment of some large and well-equipped iron foundries in the town, which is also extensively connected with the timber industry. Thames has furniture, biscuit, cordial and pickle factories, and Auckland is extensively supplied with fish by Thames fishermen. There are the usual churches, schools, hotels, places of business, Friendly Societies, a School of Mines and public library. The climate is delicious; fruit, ordinary and sub-tropical, thrives and abounds in the gardens of the miners and throughout the district; and the scenery consists in harmonious proportions of hill and flat, forest and sea, and far-stretching mountains. Steamers ply daily between Auckland and the Thames, which, now that the railway has been completed, has also daily direct communication with Auckland via the Waikato and the intervening districts.
A word may be added here concerning the original discovery of gold at the Thames. Early in the year 1867, through the influence of some Auckland people, Messrs Walter Williamson, Joe Smallman and William Middleton were permitted to prospect in the Karaka Creek, but they met with no success, because they were expecting to find alluvial deposits which did not exist. At the same time Mr. Alexander Hogg, who had a small store at Shortland, had some Maoris sluicing for him in the same creek for alluvial gold. The result of six weeks' working proved nonpayable, as only three pennyweights of gold were obtained. The first substantial return of gold from the Thames was obtained by Mr. Samuel Alexander in August, 1867, from six hundredweight of stone sent up to Auckland for treatment by him on behalf of himself and the other owners of the Shotover claim. Forty-five pounds of quartz were crushed by the late Mr. Beck, and yielded a return of ten ounces twelve pennyweights of gold. The remainder of the quartz was treated by Mr. Alexander by means of a dolly and stamper, which he had erected in Mrs. Grant's back yard, next door to the Governor Browne Hotel in Hobson street, then occupied by Mr. David Sheehan, father of the late Hon. John Sheehan. This first crushing was completed on Saturday, the 12th of September, 1867, and resulted in fifty-eight ounces two pennyweights of smelted gold. This small beginning was followed by the immense returns which were subsequently obtained from the Shotover, Long Drive, Golden Crown and Caledonia, which were the principal means of making the fame of the Thames, and were all within an area of little more than a quarter of a mile square.
Thames, as a town, had, of course, a small beginning. The first miners' tents were pitched in Eyre street, which led from the Shortland wharf to the ground set apart for the diggers' camp on land which has since been well known as Block 27. The small area of ground first set apart was shortly afterwards extended, and about the end of 1868, Mr. Robert Graham, at one time Superintendent of the Province of Auckland, secured from the natives the lands lying between Karaka and Waiotahi creeks, which he had laid off in allotments under the name of Grahamstown. The sale of this property was most successful, and was held by the late Mr. Samuel Cochrane on the 17th of September, 1869. After that time the business population of the town gravitated to Grahamstown.
The Hon. James McGowan, Member for Thames in the Houses of Representatives, and Minister of Justice, [unclear: M]ines, and Administrator of the Prisons Department, was born in Maxwell's Court, County Down, Ireland, in 1841, and was educated under the National School system of his native land. When he was fifteen years of age his father died and young McGowan commenced work on his own account by learning the trade of a baker, confectioner and storekeeper. Till 1864 he followed this occupation, and then, having saved some money, he decided to emigrate. Early in the following year he landed in Auckland from the ship “Liverpool.” He remained five years in Auckland, and then removed to the Thames goldfields, where he has long occupied a position in trade and politics. Mr. McGowan founded a large store, to which he added a bakery, and conducted an extensive business until he retired in 1897. Soon after settling on the Thames Mr. McGowan began to take an active interest in public matters, and it was not long before his services were in requisition generally in connection with local affairs. He became a member of the Hospital Board, a Governor of the High School, and a member of the Borough Council, and was several times mayor of the town. Mr. McGowan was returned to Parliament in 1893 in the interests of the goldfields, including those of the Coromandel Peninsula. He was elected Whip of the Liberal party in the House in 1896. Three years later Mr. McGowan was selected as Minister of Mines and Justice.
Borough of Thames.
The Borough Council Of Thames has jurisdiction over an area which includes the contiguous towns and suburbs of Grahamstown, Shortland, Parawai, Tararu, and Kauaeranga, with a total population of 4004 persons, according to the census of March, 1901. There is an area of 2560 acres within the borough, which has about 1560 ratable properties, and about 900 ratepayers. The general rate is 1s 2d, and there is a special rate of 4d, a water rate of 2£1/2d, and a library rate of 1d in the £. In March, 1899, the estimated annual value of ratable property in the borough was £30,759. The Council has formed twelve miles of streets. Loans amounting to £3500 have been raised for various improvements, and there is a good water supply, for which the council has borrowed specially to the extent of £6500. The town is supplied with gas by a gas company, which charges consumers at the rate of 10s per 1000 feet. The fire brigade at the Thames is under the control of the Borough Council, and has two branches—one at Shortland, and one at Grahamstown. Mr. R. R. Menzies is superintendent of the Shortland branch, and Mr. E. Gibbons is captain of the branch at Grahamstown. There are three wards in the borough—South, Middle, and North, and each ward returns three members to the Council, and the three wards together elect the Mayor. For the year 1901 the Council consisted of Mr. Frank Trembath, Mayor; and Messrs R. R. Menzies, Theodore Wood, and James Loughlin, South Ward; Messrs Thomas Radford, William Davey, and William Burton, Middle Ward; and Messrs J. W. Poulgrain, W. J. Deeble, and Archibald Burns, North Ward. Mr. Albert Bruce is Town Clerk.
His Worship The Mayor, Mr. Francis Trembath, who was elected for the year 1900, and again returned in April, 1901, was born in 1856 in the West of Cornwall, England. He arrived in Auckland in 1874 by the ship “Assay,” settled at the Thames, and in 1880 commenced a dairy business on his own account. Fourteen years later he added a baking and confectionery business, which he has since successfully conducted in addition to the dairy. Mr. Trembath first entered the Thames Borough Council in 1892, served for four years, and after being out for two years, was again elected, and held office till returned unopposed as mayor. Mr. Trembath is, ex officio; chairman of the Board of Governors of the Thames High School, and page 861 is also a trustee of the Thames Hospital and a member of the committee of the Thames Library and of the Harbour Board.
Councillor William Davey, who has been a Member of the Thames Borough Council since 1893, and has represented the Council on the Hospital and Charitable Aid Board, was born in Cornwall, England, in 1852. He is a blacksmith by trade, and came to Auckland by the ship “Miltiades” in 1874, and settled at the Thames in the same year.
Councillor William Henry Lucas, who holds a seat on the Thames Borough Council, is referred to in another article as secretary of the Thames Miners' Union.
Councillor Robert Robertson Menzies, who is a member of the Thames Borough Council, is referred to in another article as the proprietor of the well-known aerated water factory of Menzies and Co.
Councillor John William Poulgrain , who represents the North Ward on the Thames Borough Council, was born at Gisborne, New Zealand, on the 16th of August, 1859. He received his early education in Auckland, and, removing with his father to the Thames in 1869, finished at a private school in that town. In December, 1871, he entered the employ of Messrs. Macdonald and Miller, barristers and solicitors, Thames. Mr. Macdonald retired from the firm in 1878, and Mr. Poulgrain, whose connection with the business extends over a period of thirty years, has acted as managing clerk to Mr. Miller ever since the dissolution. He was elected in September, 1895, to represent the North Ward on the Thames Borough Council, and was shortly afterwards appointed one of the Board of Governors of the Thames High School. Mr. Poulgrain takes considerable interest in friendly societies; he has been for many years identified with the order of Foresters, and is one of the trustees of Court Pride of Parnell, No. 4409, Thames, which position he has occupied for about seventeen years. Mr. Poulgrain has also held a seat on the committee of management of the Thames Permanent Land, Building and Investment Society for over twenty years.
Councillor J. W. Poulgrain.
Councillor Thomas Radford , J.P., who represents the Middle Ward on the Thames Borough Council, and was until recently the popular mayor of that municipality, is a gentleman of large colonial experience. He was born in the famous county of Devonshire, England, in 1833, and received his education in the public schools of his native place. When yet a youth he received employment in the Tammer Silver Lead Mines, and followed that occupation until twenty-three years of age, when he went to Chili and worked in the copper mines at Tambillions for some three years. Returning to his native land, he again entered into mining pursuits, and about 1864 emigrated to Australia in the S.S. “Great Britain,” engaging in the search for the precious metal in various fields of that continent for some seven years. He was for two years of that period mine manager for the Clunes United Gold Mining Company at Clunes, Victoria. Mr. Radford crossed the Tasman Sea in 1872, and, locating at the Thames, was for seven years employed in the Caledonia Gold Mine as underground foreman, afterwards becoming mine manager for the Piako and Queen of Beauty Gold Mining Companies. While in the “Caledonia,” he, together with three other men, was instrumental in preventing what might have proved a sad fatality. Three miners, while working underground, were overcome by the fumes of a deadly gas, and would probably have been suffocated had not Mr. Radford and his comrades risked their lives in a gallant effort to rescue them. They were successful in bringing them to the surface, though the victims of the escape were in a very exhausted condition, and more dead than alive. For this act of bravery Mr. Radford was presented with a gold watch at the hands of the Thames and Auckland public. In 1881 he resigned his positions to assume the management of the Alburnia Mine, which at that time was producing 4000 ozs, per month; this position he successfully filled for a period of five years. He then had charge of the Moanataiari Mine for three years, after which he was again in the employ of the Alburnia Gold Mining Company until he resigned on account of ill-health. Mr. Radford afterwards became mine manager for the New Whau Gold Mining Company. Always taking an active interest in municipal affairs, Mr. Radford was elected in November, 1885, to represent the Middle Ward on the Thames Borough Council, and retained this seat till November, 1893, when he was installed in the mayoral chair. Having filled the responsible position of chief magistrate of the borough for four successive terms, he was intending to retire from active participation in municipal affairs, but, receiving a anumerously signed requisition from the ratepayers of the Middle Ward to allow himself again to be nominated as their representative, he consented, and was returned by a large majority. Mr. Radford has also been a member of the Thames Harbour Board and of the Thames High School Board of Governors, and chairman of both bodies, and chairman of the Thames Hospital and Charitable Aid Board, and Waiotahi school committee, besides belonging to other bodies connected with the good government and progress of the borough.
Councillor T. Radford.
Councillor T. Wood.
Mr. Albert Bruce, Town Clerk and Treasurer to the Thames Borough Council, was born in Sydney, New South Wales, in 1848, and when quite young came to Auckland with his father. Mr. Charles Bruce, who entered into business as a builder in that city. The subject of this notice was educated in Auckland, and, after leaving school, learned the trade of a watchmaker, and carried on business for several years in Queen Street. In 1867 he opened business at the Thames as a dealer in fancy goods, jewellery, etc., and continued the same for about five years. During a portion of that time he was manager of the battery of the Waiotahi Gold Mining Company, which consisted of twenty stampers. Shortly after the inception of the “Hospital and Charitable Institutions Act, 1885,” Mr. Bruce was appointed secretary and treasurer of the Thames and Coromandel Hospital and Charitable Aid Boards, which position he resigned to accept that of Town Clerk in May, 1896. He is also secretary to the Thames Harbour Board and School of Mines' Council, and for about eighteen years has been secretary of the Sir Walter Scott Masonic Lodge, No. 15, N.Z.C.
Mr. Thomas William Clark, A Clerk in the office of the Thames Borough Council, was born in Sunderland, Durham, England, in 1838, and was brought up to clerical work. Coming to Auckland in 1865, Mr. Clark was variously engaged until January, 1868, when he went to the Thames, and for twenty years thereafter he was busy with mining pursuits. He then went into business as an accountant and general agent. In 1889, he was appointed Valuer to the Thames Borough Council; in the following year he was appointed Returning Officer for the Kauaeranga district, and since May, 1894, he has been agent for the Official Assignee in the Thames district, and agent also for the South British Insurance Company. In 1895, Mr. Clark was also appointed Returning Officer for the Borough of Thames and for several wards thereof, and a year later the Government appointed him Returning Officer for the electoral district of the Thames. He is not now Valuer for the borough, but a clerk in the office.
Mr. T. W. Clark.
The Thames Public Library, which was established about thirty years ago, is under the management of a committee consisting of the Mayor with three councillors, and three citizens, with Mr. A. Bruce as secretary. The building was erected in the early days as a Mechanics' Institute, and contains a public reading room, supplied with the leading papers, and a library of 3300 volumes, besides a refer!-- -->ence library of 242 volumes. It is a very popular and well managed institution.
Mr. Edwin Wass Lowe, Librarian of the Thames Public Library, was born in 1836 at Sherwood, Nottinghamshire, England. He spent a number of years in his early days on the Victorian goldfields, but returned to England in 1860. Three years later he came to Auckland by the ship “Tyburnia,” with the Albertland settlers. For a time he was engaged in mining at Coromandel, and arrived at the Thames on the 4th of September, 1867. For twenty years Mr. Lowe was well known in the Thames and Ohinemuri districts as a mine manager, and took his certificate in 1883, before the establishment of the School of Mines. He had to give up mining on account of ill health, and was appointed librarian in April, 1892. Mr. Lowe was one of the promoters of the Thames Miners' Union, having called the first meeting prior to its establishment, and was its first president. In 1900 he was the Union's auditor. As an Oddfellow he has passed all the chairs in the Loyal Waikato Lodge; he is also a Freemason and a member of Lodge Sir Walter Scott, N.Z.C. Mr. Lowe was married, in 1863, to a daughter of the late Mr. J. Clarke, of Nottingham, and has four sons and one daughter.
Mr. E. W. Lowe.
Mr. John Sydney Waterman, formerly Captain of the Thames Volunteer Fire Brigade (south division), was born at Invercargill, New Zealand, in May, 1862. He came to the Thames with his parents in 1868, and at the age of nine years began his business career as an errand boy in a grocery shop, which position page 863 he filled for some three years. Subsequently he served an apprenticeship of three years with Mr. Robert Stowe, shipbuilder, and then worked for some years as a carpenter. Mr. Waterman was for ten years in the employ of the Thames Borough Council as asphalter, resigning in April, 1896, to engage in business as a builder, contractor, and practical asphalter. He has been a member of the Thames Volunteer Fire Brigade for about twenty-one years, and has received one five years' service silver medal, and seven two years' service bars from the New Zealand Fire Brigade Association. He was elected captain of the south division of the Thames Volunteer Fire Brigade in 1895, but has since been succeeded by Mr. E. Gibbons.
Mr. Henry James Greenslade retired from the position of Mayor of the Thames on the 31st of May, 1900, having served eighteen months. He was born in Auckland in 1867, was taken, when only eighteen months old, to the Thames by his father, the late Mr. James Greenslade, and has always been looked upon as a Thames boy. He was educated at the Thames, and was well known for nineteen years as a journalist connected with the Thames “Star.” Mr. Greenslade served his time as a compositor on that paper; then he was its mining reporter, and was afterwards its editor and manager for seven years. In 1899 Mr. Greenslade unsuccessfully contested the Thames seat for the House of Representatives. He was prominently connected with most of the public bodies, and held office as chairman of the Board of Governors of the Thames High School, as a member of the Harbour Board, public library committee, and as one of the trustees of the cemetery and hospital. Mr. Greenslade was for many years a steward of the Thames Jockey Club, and took a prominent part in connection with outdoor amusements as vice-president of the Rugby Union and president of the St. Albans and other cricket clubs. Mr. Greenslade was married, in 1889, to a daughter of Mr. Thomas Penk, of Manchester, England, and has two sons. His property of “Glengarith” at Pukerimu, in the Waikato, is referred to in another section of this volume.
Mr. H. J. Greenslade.
Mr. James Renshaw, an ex-mayor of the Thames, and a well-known ironmonger and leather merchant, was born at Sheffield, Yorkshire, England, in 1833, and after leaving school learned the trade of a cutler. He came to New Zealand in 1863, settling at Auckland, and six months after his arrival entered into business as an ironmonger. In 1867 he took up his residence at the Thames, and established his present business, which is said to be the oldest of its kind in the district. Mr. Renshaw was one of the first members of the Thames Borough Council, and served in all some seventeen years, for one year of which period he occupied the mayoral chair. He has been a member of the Thames Public Library Committee since its inception. Mr. Renshaw represents the Thames district on the Land Board, and was for six years a member of the Charitable Aid Board, being the first chairman of that body. He has always been an active member of the Thames Baptist Church, having held the position of trustee for a number of years, and for about thirty years that of superintendent of the Sunday School.
Mr. Alfred Price, who has served as a Member of the Thames Borough Council, and was at one time a member of the Harbour Board, was born in Gloucestershire, England, in 1838. He was brought up to the iron trade from boyhood, and came to Auckland in 1863. Mr. Price afterwards visited England, but returned to the colony in 1868. He and his brother founded the business.
Mr. George Price has at different times served as a Member of the Thames Borough Council. He was born in 1841 in Gloucestershire, England, accompanied his brother to Auckland in 1868, and is well known on the Thames as a partner in the firm of A. and G. Price.
Foy Bros., photo.
Mr. and Mrs. W. D. Reid.
Mr. Joseph Roberts, who was formerly a member of the Thames Borough Council, was born in Cornwall, in 1864, and went to school when four years of age, but at the age of seven had to leave it and go to work owing to his father's death. His first occupation consisted in carrying a mail to a small settlement, for which he received two shillings a week. In 1875 Mr. Roberts landed in Auckland from the ship “Dilharrie.” He bought a small grocery business in Richmond Road, Auckland, in 1897, and was subsequently in business at Onehunga for three years and a half, for the greater part of which he was a member of the local school committee. Mr. Roberts settled at the Thames in 1896, and bought Mr. J. Cook's business in Mary Street. With his brother Stephen he founded the firm of J. and S. Roberts, and subsequently bought the business in Pollen Street conducted by Mr. Gavin Wallace. The firm now has branches at Waihi and Waikino.
Mr. Matthias Whitehead, who was for some time a member of the Thames Borough Council, is exceedingly well known as a thriving manufacturer and retailer of boots and shoes in Pollen Street. Mr. Whitehead was born at Elsham, Lincolnshire, England, in 1848, and came out to New Zealand eleven years later in the sailing vessel “Matoaku.” His father, Mr. William Whitehead, was one of the first settlers at Mongonui. The subject of this notice commenced his business life at Auckland as an errand boy, and, after following that occupation for two years, served an apprenticeship in a boot and shoe making establishment. He was subsequently employed in that business as a journeyman and salesman, and in 1868 removed to the Thames to take charge of a boot and shoe store, eventually, about 1872, commencing business with a Mr. McLeay under the style of Whitehead and McLeay. After a few years the latter withdrew, and since that time Mr. Whitehead has conducted the business solely. Some six years ago he built large and commodious premises, and began to manufacture on a small scale. The business has grown so rapidly that still larger premises are in contemplation. Mr. Whitehead was elected in September, 1895, to represent the Middle Ward in the Thames Borough Council, and is a member of the Board of Trustees of the Thames Hospital. He has been for many years connected with the Baptist Church, and holds the position of secretary to the church committee. Mr. Whitehead, who has for years been a total abstainer, was married at Auckland in 1870 to Miss Hannah M. Hewson, only daughter of Mr. Chas, Hewson, of Mongonui, and has six sons and one daughter. His eldest son, Charles, manages the boot factory, which is situated behind the main business premises, and other sons are employed in the shop in Pollen Street.
Thames Harbour Board.
Thames Harbour Board. Members for 1900: Mr. W. Deeble, chairman, and Messrs H. C. Gillespie, E. McDonnell, W. H. Potts, W. Davey, R. W. Bignall, W. H. Moore, F. Trembath, and J. Paterson. Mr. Albert Bruce, the town clerk, is secretary, and Captain T. C. Bayldon is harbour-master. The Board has borrowed to the extent of £10,000, and has an annual income of £1,700. A wharfage rate is charged of one shilling per ton, port charges are made of twopence per ton, and pilotage charges at the rate of sixpence per ton for sailing vessels, and fourpence per ton for steamers. Vessels are berthed at the wharf up to a register of 217 tons, and up the river to a tonnage of 480. The depth of water at the wharf at high tide is nine feet, and at neap tide seven feet. There is a bar outside the river, which is five feet below the surface at low tide, and sixteen feet at high tide.
Mr. Henry Cameron Gillespie, J. P., who represents the Government on the Thames Harbour Board, was born in Cork, Ireland, and comes of a military family. Educated in his native place, he was employed for several years in mercantile pursuits in Ireland, and afterwards in Manchester, London, and other English cities. Mr. Gillespie came to New Zealand in 1859, as a passenger on the troopship “Spirit of Trade,” and settled at Manukau, where he engaged in the timber business with Messrs. Gibbons and Co., sawmillers, etc., and soon rose to the position of manager, which he held for seven years. Shortly after the opening of the Thames goldfields in 1867 he gravitated thitherwards, becoming financial manager for Mr. John Gibbons, who had sawmills at Keri Keri and other places, for about three years; during this period he was also actively engaged in mining pursuits, managing the “Flora McDonald,” “Russell,” and other batteries. Mr. Gillespie held the lease of the Tararu Creek Tramway from the Government for six years, and was manager of the Grahamstown and Tararu Railway for some four or five years. About 1885 he became associated with Mr. R. R. Gibbons in the Junction Sawmills, and remained with him for nine years, when they dissolved partnership. About this time, in conjunction with Mr. Robert Blair, he purchased the Keri Keri Sawmills, and he and his partner conducted them for some three years, when they sold out to the Kauri Timber Company. Nine months later he took the management of the mills for that company, retaining it until May, 1897. Mr. Gillespie has also been identified with the shipping interests of the Thames; over twenty years ago he entered into partnership with Mr. W. Sauter as agents for all Auckland steamers. They continued in partnership for four years, when Mr. Gillespie took over the business which he has since carried on solely. As representative of the Government on the Thames Harbour Board for the past seven or eight years, chairman of the Licensing Committee for six years, visiting justice to the Thames Gaol for the past five years, and a present member of the Board of Governors of the Thames High School, Mr. Gillespie has cheerfully given his time and ability to the public service, and takes a keen interest in the advancement of the district.
Mr. H. C. Gillespie.
Mr. Edward McDonnell, J.P., who is one of the two Members of the Thames Harbour Board elected by the payers of dues, has held a seat on the Board since 1882, except while he was absent from the colony on a visit to England. He was born in Galway, Ireland, in 1838, apprenticed as an ironmonger in his native place, and came out to Melbourne in 1863. After being eighteen months in Victoria, Mr. McDonnell went to New South Wales, where he remained six months, and was subsequently a year in Queensland. In 1866 he came to the West Coast of New Zealand, and there had his first digging experience in the colony. Mr. McDonnell returned to Queensland in 1867, when he came back to New Zealand on the discovery of gold at the Thames, of which he became one of the pioneers and has been closely associated with its progress and development as a merchant, a mining investor and a public man. He is vice-president of the School of Mines, has been a member of the Thames Licensing Committee since 1884, and his name has been on the Commission of the Peace since 1888. Mr. McDonnell has taken a keen interest in sport as a member of the Thames Jockey Club, of the committee of which he is chairman. He was married, in 1882, to a daughter of the late Mr. John McIntyre, solicitor, of Londonderry, Ireland.
Mr. William Henry Potts, who is a Member of the Thames Harbour Board, on which he has held a seat for a good many years, and who served for six years as a member of the Borough Council, was born at Belfast, Ireland, in 1843. He arrived in Victoria in 1858, and after three years' experience on the goldfields, came to the Otago diggings, and was afterwards for several years on the West Coast. Mr. Potts was one of the pioneers of the Thames and has taken considerable interest in mining, and for a number of years acted as mine manager. He has been prominently connected with volunteering since 1874, and has for many years been captain of the Thames Navals.
Captain Thomas C. Bayldon, Harbourmaster, Pilot and Officer in Charge of the Customs at the Thames, was born in Devonshire, England, in 1849, and at the age of fourteen went to sea. Three years later—in 1866—he sailed for New Zealand, in the ship “Mermaid, under Captain Rose, now so well known in Wellington as manager for the New Zealand Shipping Company. At the conclusion of his apprenticeship in 1869, Captain Bayldon decided to remain in New Zealand, and settled at the Thames. There for three years he was engaged in surveying, and then he again took to the sea, this time as a master, trading on the coast and between this Colony and New South Wales, and in service on board the Government steamers “Sturt” and “Luna. In 1880–1 he was chief officer of the s.s. “Hinemoa,” of which the late John Fairchild was then commander. Among the vessels commanded by Captain Bayldon may be mentioned the s.s. “Emu,” “Oreti,” “Star of the South,” and “Wanganui.” In February, 1883, Captain Bayldon received his appointment as harbourmaster and pilot at Thames, and seven years later he undertook the duties of officer-in-charge of the Customs. Captain Bayldon is a Mason of high standing. He is a member of the Grand Lodge, E.C., and a past master of the Corinthian Lodge, of which he was for some years secretary.
Captain T. C. Bayldon.
Mr. Richard Edmund Schofield, Deputy Harbourmaster at the Thames, was born in Hobart, Tasmania, in 1836. He was brought up to a seafaring life, and went to sea from Hobart for fifteen years. In 1862 he settled on Onehunga. Since settling at the Thames he has engaged in mining on his own account and as a tributer. In 1877 he entered page 866 the service of the Thames Harbour Board, and has since held his present position. As a Freemason he is attached to Lodge Sir Walter Scott. He was married, in 1862, to a daughter of the late Mr. J. Finney, of the Thames, and has three sons and three daughters.
Mr. William Scott, formerly Chair, man of the Thames Harbour Bord is a son of the late Mr. Robert Scott, farmer, of Whangarei, and was born in that district in April, 1857. In May, 1870, he went to the Thames, and there learned the bakery trade, subsequently working as a journeyman for about eight years with Messrs. Hamilton and Nash. In 1880 Mr. Scott purchased the business of that firm, and has since very much enlarged and improved it by the addition of the latest machinery for the manufacture of confectionery, etc., thus giving employment to a large number of men. In 1888 he added the produce business, and in this branch also does a large and extensive trade. Mr. Scott has always taken an active interest in municipal affairs. He was elected to represent the Middle Ward in the Thames Borough Council in 1893, and, after a three years' term, was re-elected in 1896. For a number of years he represented the shippers and importers on the Thames Harbour Board, and was elected chairman of that body in March, 1897. He was elected Mayor of the Thames in November of the same year.
Mr. W. Scott.
Thames County Council.
The Thames County Council controls a district with an area of 496 square miles. At the census of April, 1901, the county had a population of 5030, and it has about 1320 ratable properties, with an annual ratable value £278,000, carrying a rate of 1£1/2d in the £. The county's liabilities are slight, and its assets are valued at about £7000. There are five ridings in the county—namely, Hastings, Kauaeranga, Waiotahi, Totara, and Parawai. The members of the Council for 1900–1901 were: Mr. T. A. Dunlop, chairman, and Messrs James Corbett, William Deeble, James McEnteer, W. W. Otter, J. D. Steedman, T. Kilgour, J. H. Taylor, and R. W. Bagnall, Mr. E. W. Hollis is clerk, collector and treasurer, and Mr. James McLaren, engineer.
Councillor Thomas Aitken Dunlop , the Chairman of the Thames County Council, was born in Edinburgh, Scotland, in 1844. At the age of ten years he was apprenticed to a mechanical engineer, and, after serving three years, was employed in various iron and coal mines in Scotland and the north of England, thus gaining a thorough knowledge of practical mining. Mr. Dunlop came out to the colonies in 1863, and, proceeding to Coromandel in the following year, engaged in quartz mining at the “Kapanga” and other mines, and subsequently also on the West Coast of the South Island. In 1868 he gravitated northwards again, and settled at the Thames. For two years Mr. Dunlop was underground foreman in the “Golden Crown” Gold Mine, and was afterwards in charge of the “Duke of Edinburgh” Mine for two years. He also had charge of the “Waitemata” Gold Mine, and when, twelve months later, it was formed into a joint stock company, took the upper workings of the “Golden Crown” on tribute; these he worked with considerable success for about two years, when he took charge of the “Bird in Hand” Gold Mine. Four years later he assumed the management of the “Manukau” Gold Mine, and had at the same time the supervision of the “Golden Calf” Mine. Mr. Dunlop in 1878 became manager of the “Piako” Gold Mine, and had charge of it for three years, during which time he worked the shaft to a depth of 560 feet. He then again took up the “Golden Crown” Mine on tribute, and when, twelve months later, this property was sold at auction, purchased it and re-floated it into a company, which he managed until 1887. He afterwards had charge of the “Saxon” Gold Mine until 1892, when he undertook the management of the “Alburnia” and “Victoria” Mines. Mr. Dunlop erected the machinery on these properties, and continued to successfully conduct both mines until March, 1896, when he resigned to fill the position of general manager of the Thames Hauraki Goldfields, Ltd., which is one of the most important mining properties at the Thames. Mr. Dunlop is thus one of the oldest and most practical miners on the Peninsula. He takes an interest in all matters relating to the welfare of the district, and was in November, 1887, elected a member of the Thames County Council. Mr. Dunlop was chosen to preside over the deliberations of that body in November, 1892, and has since been re-elected annually.
Foy Bros., photo.
Councillor T. A. Dunlop.
Councillor James McEnteer, who has represented the Waiotahi riding on the Thames County Council since 1892, and has held a seat on the Thames and Coromandel Charitable Aid Board for the same period, was born in County Cavan, Ireland, in 1842. In 1865 he arrived in Auckland by the ship “Ernestine,” and was for about eighteen months on the Great Barrier Island. He removed to the Thames in the early stage of the goldfield; he has been mine manager at the Eclipse, and is now (1900) manager at the New Alburnia mine. Mr. McEnteer is a member of the Hibernian Friendly Society, in which he has filled all the chairs. He was married, in 1864, to a daughter of the late Mr. M. Muldoon, of County Cavan, Ireland, and has four sons and six daughters.
Foy Bros., photo.
Councillor J. McEnteer .
Councillor William Walton Otter, who is a storekeeper in Franklin Street, Block 27, Thames, was born at Caistor, Lincolnshire, England, in 1853, and came out to New Zealand with his parents in October, 1859. The family resided for some time in Auckland, and Mr. Otter received his early education in the schools of that city. His father, Mr. Robert Otter, removed to the Thames in 1868, and opened a general store at Grahamstown; he died in 1880, and the business is still carried on by his widow. The subject of this notice, on his arrival at the Thames with his father, engaged in mining pursuits, and in January, 1885, entered into business as a storekeeper at his present address. Mr. Otter was a member of the Thames County Council from 1893 to 1896, and is now (1901) again a member of that body. In friendly society matters, he is a member of the Sir Walter Scott Lodge of Freemasons, No. 15, N.Z.C., has been for many years a member of Loyal Waikato Lodge, I.O.O.F., M.U., and is one of the trustees of the latter.
Councillor W. W. Otter.
Councillor James Donaldson Steedman , the representative of the Hastings Riding in the Thames County Council, was born in Waikato, New Zealand, in 1866, and is a son of Mr. James B. Steedman, who came to New Zealand in 1859, and moved to Tararu, Thames, in 1872. After leaving school, the subject of this notice assisted his father on his farm at Waikawau for some time, and about 1893 took over the entire property on his own account; he has since carried on a large business in sheepfarming and fruit-growing. He has about 570 acres of land, and devotes about twenty-five of acres to an orchard, the product of which enables him to do a considerable trade in the local market in preserved and canned fruits. Mr. Steedman has long taken an active interest in local affairs. He has been a member of the Tapu School Committee for some years, was elected a member of the Thames County Council in November, 1896, and is one of the representatives of the Council on the Hospital and Charitable Aid Board.
Councillor J. D. Steedman.
Councillor John Henry Taylor has represented Waiotahi riding on the Thames County Council since November, 1899, and at the election three years previously, lost the seat only on the casting vote of the returning officer. He was born in 1852 at Arundel, Sussex, England, and was educated at Greenwich, where he served five years to the carpentering trade. In 1870 he arrived in Auckland by the ship “Chili,” settled at the Thames, and has since been mining, or tributing on his own account, or on wages. Mr. Taylor is one of the tributers in the Moanataiari mine. As a Freemason he is attached to Lodge Sir Walter Scott, and as a Forester to Court Pride of the North.
Foy Bros., photo.
Councillor J. H. Taylor.
Mr. Edwin Wise Hollis, Clerk and Treasurer of the Thames County Council since its constitution in February, 1877, was born in Hampshire, England, in 1825. He came to Lyttelton under the auspices of the Canterbury Association by the ship “William Hyde” in 1851, but removed to Taranaki, where he took up land on which he settled till the outbreak of hostilities, when he joined the Taranaki Bush Rangers, and was on active service till the conclusion of the war, during which he lost everything, but received a small compensation from the Government. Mr. Hollis settled at the Thames in 1868, as a professional draughtsman and architect.
Mr. J. M. McLaren.
Mr. Joseph Lewis Walton, J.P., is a native of Yorkshire, England, having been born near Thurgoland, Sheffield, in December, 1848. At the age of sixteen he emigrated with his father, Mr. Joseph Walton, to New Zealand, and was employed in mining at Coromandel until early in 1869; he then removed to the Thames, where he continued to follow mining pursuits for some years. His father, on his arrival at the Thames, opened a grocery establishment, and carried on business in that line until his death on the 2nd of January, 1874. The subject of this notice then took over the business, and has conducted it up to the present time, although of late years he has not given it his entire attention, having devoted a large portion of his time to the management and improvement of his real estate. In 1887 Mr. Walton was elected for a period of three years to a seat on the Thames County Council. In November, 1896, he again offered himself as a candidate, and was duly returned. Mr. Walton has always taken an active interest in the management of the local schools, and has for many years been connected with the Wesleyan Church, in which body he is a member of the board of trustees. Mr. Walton was married at the Thames to a daughter of Captain Cleveland; Mrs. Walton died on the 21st of December, 1893, leaving seven children—four boys and three girls.
Foy Bros., photo.
Mr. J. L. Walton.
The Thames Naval Volunteer Corps dates back to the 8th of October, 1868. The corps in 1900 numbered sixty-six rank and file, and the band consisted of twenty-eight active members. Captain W. H. Potts is in command of the corps, and Mr. G. D. [unclear: S]mith is bandmaster.
The Hauraki Rifle Volunteer Corps was established about 1897. Its strength is sixty, and it has a brass band with twenty-five members. Officers for 1900; Captain E. F. Adams, and Lieutenants W. H. Lucas and J. Swindley; with Mr. E. Williams as bandmaster.
General Government Offices.
The Post And Telegraph Office at the Thames occupies eight rooms in the Government Buildings in Queen Street. The Thames postal district extends eastward to Raukokore, south to Gordon settlement, and west to Miranda. The staff, in addition to the chief postmaster, includes five postal officers, two telephone exchange officers, nine telegraph operators, five telegraph messengers, two telegraph counter clerks, four letter carriers, one distributor, one post office message boy, and two linemen.
Mr. James Emilius Coney, Chief Postmaster at the Thames, was born in London, in 1839, and arrived in New Zealand with his parents in 1845. He entered the post office in 1859, was promoted to the position of chief clerk in 1870, and has been in charge at the Thames since 1877. Mr. Coney was married, in 1862, to a daughter of the late Mr. J. Davis, of Waimate, Bay of Islands, and has three sons and two daughters.
The Registry Office For Births, Deaths And Marriages at the Thames is situated in Mary Street, next to the County Chambers. The district extending from Hikutaia to beyond Tapu is controlled from the office.
Mr. Edward Honiss, Registrar of Births, Deaths and Marriages for the Thames District, was born at Hastings, Sussex, England, in March, 1827. He was educated in his native land, and was brought up to business as a grocer. In 1852 he landed in Australia, where he followed goldmining for five years, and was afterwards in business on his own account for three years. Mr. Honiss landed in Auckland in 1860, and went in the following year to Coromandel. During the Waikato war he served in the militia in Auckland and suburbs, and subsequently became tide-walter in the Customs Department at Auckland. On the discovery of gold at the Thames Mr. Honiss became one of the pioneers of the field, and continued to take an active part in goldmining for a number of years, till his health broke down. For a good many years he conducted a commission and insurance business. He was the first secretary of the Kauaeranga Highway Board, and became secretary of the Thames Hospital on its foundation, and held the office till 1887. Two years later he was appointed to his present position as registrar. Mr. Honiss was married at Islington, London, to a daughter of the late Mr. J. Smith, an officer of the Bank of England. Mrs Honiss died in 1898, leaving two sons and two daughters.
Foy Bros., photo.
Mr. E. Honiss.
The Thames Railway Station was opened on the 18th of December, 1898, and is the terminus of the Auckland-Thames railway. It is built of wood, and contains the customary rooms and offices for the staff and the public, with goods and engine sheds, a turntable, and a large asphalt passenger platform. Trains run between the Thames and Auckland and the Waikato.
The Shortland Railway Station was opened in December, 1898, and consists of the customary offices, platform and sheds. The stationmaster, Mr. C. Bell, was born in Dublin, in 1878, and arrived in Napier with his parent in 1884. He was educated in that town, and after filling various positions in the railway department, was transferred to Shortland in 1899.
The Thames And Coromandel United Charitable Aid Board. Members for 1900: Mr. J. M. Foy, chairman, Messrs T. Radford, T. A. Dunlop, R. R. Menzies, W. W. Otter, J. D. Steedman, W. Mcore, N. Gow, and S. James, Mr. T. Cantley is secretary and treasurer. By levying on the Thames Borough Council, and the Thames. Ohinemuri and Coromandel County Councils the Board raises a sum sufficient, with the Government subsidy, for the purpose of page 869 charitable aid in its districts. The amount required for the year 1900 was £1600, one half of which was contributed by the local bodies, and the balance by the Government. Mr. Cantley is relieving officer for the Thames district, and there are deputy relieving officers at Paeroa and Coromandel.
The Thames District Hospital Board was established in 1886. Members for 1900: Mr. J. M. Foy, chairman, Messrs T. Radford, W. Davey, J. McEnteer, W. W. Otter, J. D. Steedman, and W. Moore; with Mr. T. Cantley as secretary and treasurer. The Board is charged with the duty of levying the amount required for the maintenance of the Thames Hospital, and the contributory bodies are the Thames Borough Council, and the Thames and Ohinemuri County Councils. The amount raised in 1899 was £1406, and in 1900, £1447.
The Thames Hospital is managed by a board of trustees, who, in the year 1900, were the Right Rev. Monsignor O'Reilly (chairman) and Messrs T. A. Dunlop, W. Deeble, T. Radford, J. M. Foy, R. R. Menzies, W. Moore, and F. Trembath, with Mr. T. Cant[gap — reason: illegible]ey as secretary. The old hospital was founded about 1869, and was superseded by the new building in 1900. It was a single storey wooden structure, and had three wards, including a fever ward, and there was accommodation for about thirty males and thirteen females. The new hospital building was completed in 1900 and has four wings with accommodation for fifty patients. It is equipped with all the most modern appliances and fittings, and has apartments for the matron, medical officer, nurses and servants. The enlargements were made at a cost of about £500. There is a separate residence for the medical officer at the Baillie Street end of the section.
Dr. Emile Dupont Aubin, B.A., the Resident Surgeon of the Thames Hospital, was born at Alexandra, (now known as Pirongia) in the Waipa district, in 1869. He was educated at Parnell Grammar School, and graduated Bachelor of Arts in 1890 at the Auckland University. In the following year Dr. Aubin went to England and studied in London, where he took his degrees as M.R.C.S., and L.R.C.P., M.B., and B.S., London University, in 1895. He was for about a year House Physician at the Middlesex Hospital, and returned to Auckland in 1897. After practising for a time in Ponsonby, Auckland, he was appointed to his present position in November, 1899.
Dr. E. D. Aubin.
Foy Bros., photo.
Miss M. Stewart.
Mr. Thomas Cantley, the Secretary of the Thames Hospital Trustees, was born at Edinburgh, Scotland, in December, 1866, and, after leaving school, took to the law as a profession. He followed this pursuit for a period of five years, during which time he succeeded in passing the ordinary law examinations. Mr. Cantley came to New Zealand in 1885, settling at the Thames, and engaged in the gold mining industry. Four years later he again pursued the study of the law, and followed that profession in the office of a prominent solicitor until 1894, when he returned to the Thames, and turned his attention again to mining. Mr. Cantley was, in June, 1896, appointed secretary to the Thames Hospital Trustees, to the District Hospital Board, and also to the Thames and Coromandel United Charitable Aid Board. He has for some years been a member of the Sir Walter Scott Lodge of Freemasons, N.Z.C., Thames, and is a past master of Lodge St. Andrew, S.C., Auckland; he is also a member of Loyal Charles Bruce Lodge, I.O.O.F., M.U., Thames.
The Old Men's and Old Women's Home is situated at Tararu, Thames. It is one of the institutions under the control of the Thames-Coromandel Charitable Aid Board, and has been in existence for a number of years. The site covers thirteen acres of land. There is a main building with three small wards, and there are three small buildings which are used as sick wards. Besides this, there is a large two storey building of fourteen rooms, used by the master and matron, and for the women inmates. A large garden, laid out in walks and flower borders, and in which the vegetables used at the institution are mostly grown, surrounds the buildings. In the paddocks belonging to the establishment four cows are kept for the use of the Home.
Foy Bros., photo.
Mr. W. Spong.
The Thames High School is managed by a Board of Governors, who, in 1901, consisted of the Mayor, who is chairman, ex officio, and Messrs H. C. Gillespie, J. Hague Smith and Rev. J. McKenzie, M.A., appointed by the Government, and Councillors Poulgrain, Radford and Wood representing the Borough Council; with Mr. S. Carter, as secretary and treasurer. The school dates from 1881, and occupies a well chosen site of over an acre between Baillie Street and Karaka Road. It consists of two buildings, one for the senior, and one for the junior scholars, and a chemical laboratory is attached to the senior division. The playground, which is well sanded and provided with the necessary appointments, is divided into two portions, one for the girls and the other for the boys, and the house of the headmaster is on the same site. The school has accommodation for 100 pupils, and in 1901 there were thirty-five in attendance; eighteen boys, and seventeen girls. Competitive scholarships are offered yearly and the winners of these receive free tuition at the school, which is open to all who pay the customary fees. The school is maintained by the income derived from an endowment of land at Waiorngomai, the ordinary fees, and occasional Government grants. Several pupils from the school have gained distinction at the New Zealand University. One of them has become Government geologist in Queensland, and several have gained scholarships at the Thames School of Mines. The school is under the management of Mr. James Adams, B.A., headmaster, with Mr. B. H. Low, B.A., as assistant, and Miss Foy, as mistress.
Mr. Samuel Carter, B.A., Secretary of the Thames High School Board of Governors and Accountant at the Thames-Hauraki mine, was born in Leeds, England, in 1856, and was educated at the Dublin University, where he graduated in 1882, and had ten years' experience as a teacher in England. He arrived in Auckland in 1895, and was appointed accountant at the Thames-Hauraki mine in the same year.
Kauaeranga Boys' School, which was formerly known as the Kauaeranga Baillie Street School, was established about 1870, and is said to have been the first school on the Thames. The building has six class rooms, with headmaster's and teachers' rooms, and appropriate vestibules and lavatories. It has accommodation for 450 children, has that number of names on the roll, and the average attendance is 405. The headmaster is assisted by eight certificated teachers and two pupil teachers.
Mr. William Henry Pasco Marsdon, who holds a D1 certificate, is in charge of the Kauaeranga Boys' School. He was born in London in 1859, and educated in Dublin and at Rochester Cathedral Grammar School, where he was a King's scholar. In 1880 he arrived in Auckland by the ship “Lady Jocelyn” and joined the staff of the Board of Education as first assistant at Mount Eden. Prior to his appointment to the Thames, in 1899, he had been stationed at Whangarei and Te Aroha.
Mr. William Hammond, First Assistant Teacher at the Kauaeranga Baillie Street School, has filled this position since the 1st of July, 1893. His father, Mr. Thomas Hammond, came to New Zealand in 1863, and the subject of this sketch was born at the Thames on the 24th of April, 1870. He attended the local page 871 schools for several years and completed his education under Mr. Adams at the Thames High School. At the age of sixteen years he began his career as a pupil teacher, and was so employed for about three years. He subsequently had charge of different schools in the country, for about three and a half years, and then he entered upon his present duties. Mr. Hammound has been a member of the Thames Volunteer Fire Brigade for some years, and since October, 1895, has filled the position of honorary secretary to that body.
The Kauaeranga (Sandes Street) Public School has four large class rooms in addition to the headmaster's room, vestibules and lavatories. There is accommodation for 400 children; there are 260 names on the roll, and the average attendance is 232. The master is assisted by three certificated, two ex-pupil teachers, and one pupil teacher.
Mr. John Fisher, Headmaster of Sandes Street School, holds a D1 certificate. He was born in Stockport, England, in 1853, is an English trained certificated teacher, and was teaching for fourteen years before coming to New Zealand. Mr. Fisher arrived in Auckland in 1881, when he entered the service of the Board of Education. He was stationed at Waipu for three years, and at Pukekohe West fourteen years, before his appointment to the Thames, in 1899.
The Tararu Public School was one of the earliest schools opened at the Thames. It contains four class rooms, and has accommodation for 300 children; there are 178 names on the roll, and the average attendance is 161.
Mr. William Henry Newton, who holds a D1 certificate, is Headmaster in charge of the Tararu school. he was born in Leeds, England, in 1865, and arrived in the colony with his parents in 1875. He served his pupil teachership at Thames schools, and after two years at the Auckland Training College, was appointed to Waiotahi Creek as first assistant. After some experience in Newton East and West schools in Auckland, he was appointed to his present position in 1890.
The Waiokaraka Public School contains five class rooms, with accommodation for 500 children. There are 430 on the roll, and the average attendance exceeds 400. There is a teaching staff of nine members.
Mr. Thomas Isemonger, Headmaster of the Waiokaraka School, was born and educated in England, and, after arriving in Auckland, became a teacher under the Board of Education. He had the charge of several country schools before being appointed to the Thames in 1887.
St. George's Church stands on an ample section at the corner of Mackay and Mary Streets, Thames. The building is in the Gothic style of architecture, is erected of wood, with a spire, and has accommodation for 750 persons. There is a powerful pipe organ, said to be the only one on the Thames. St. George's was opened in 1872, and the old church in Rolleston Street, which was built in 1868, and has accommodation for 300 persons, is used as a sunday school, and the old Maori church at Parawai is used as a branch Sunday school. The vicar in charge of the Thames holds services at St. John's, Tararu, and at Tapu, Puriri, and other outlying places.
The Rev. Thaddues O'Callaghan, D.D., Vicar of St. George's, Thames, was born in County Cork, Ireland, on the 8th of September, 1846. He was educated in Dublin, and, having studied at the University at Salamanca in Spain, he gained his degree there in 1869, in which year he was also ordained deacon and priest. Dr. O'Callaghan laboured for some years in Victoria, came to Dunedin in 1883, and was in charge of Epiphany Church, Newton—which he built—for five years prior to his appointment to the Thames in 1886, to a daughter of the late Mr. W. Errington, of Auckland, and has two daughters.
St. James Presbyterian Church, Thames, Shortly after the opening of the goldfields in 1867, fortnightly services were commenced in connection with the Presbyterian Church at Shortland. On the 18th of February, 1868, a meeting of Presbyterians was held in the commercial-room of Butt's Hotel, Rev. James Hill in the chair, when it was resolved that steps be taken to raise subscriptions for the erection of a church. On the 25th of March following, a tender was accepted from Mr. G. Heron to build a church on allotments in Richmond Street (presented by Mr. W. H. Taipari) at a cost of £150. The new church was opened on the 3rd of May of the same year by the Rev. James Hill, and it was arranged shortly afterwards that weekly services be held in the church, Mr. James McKee to conduct alternate services. On the 1st of June following a meeting was held in the church (Rev. D. Bruce, of St. Andre's Church, Auckland, presiding), when a petition was prepared to be forwarded to the Auckland Presbytery, praying that the members and adherents of the Presbyterian Church located in Shortland and adjoining district be constituted a regular congregation as soon as possible. Towards the end of the same month the petition previously adopted was rescinded, and another petition prepared as follows:—“To the Rev. the Presbytery of Auckland, to meet on the 1st of July, 1868. The Presbyterians residing at Shortland, Grahamstown, and neighbourhood pray that a clergyman be located in the district as soon as possible, and that the Presbytery make arrangements for giving a call to a minister.” At a meeting held in the Presbyterian Church on the 28th of July, 1868, the Rev. J. U. Taylor presiding, the Rev. James Hill, of St. James' Church, Wellington Street, Auckland, was elected as the minister to be called. This call, which was signed by 175 persons, was duly sustained by the Presbytery, and in October, 1868, the Rev. J. Hill was inducted to the pastoral charge of the Thames district by a commission consisting of the Revs. D. Bruce and J. Wallis, of Auckland. In the early part of 1871 a new church, costing £450, was built on allotments at the corner of Pollen and Pahu Streets, and a pulpit was presented by Mr. Robert Sommerville (now the Rev. R. Sommerville, of St. Peter's Church, Surrey Hills, Auckland). In May, 1877, the Rev. James Hill received and accepted a call from the Presbyterian Church, Lyttelton, and in July following the Rev. S. J. Neill, of Cambridge, Waikato, was called to the pastorate of the church, and was inducted a month later. The Rev. John Mackenzie, M.A., licentiate of the Timaru Presbytery, succeeded in 1895, being ordained in the church on the 2nd of October of that year. In 1897 it was resolved to erect a new church, and plans were accordingly prepared by Mr. W. H. Skinner, of Auckland. The old building was removed from its original site, and replaced by the present handsome structure, which cost £2000.
St. Francis' Roman Catholic Church. This church was established early in the history of the Thames. The church, presbytery and convent stand on a section of two acres of land at the corner of Willoughby and Baillie Streets. The church itself has accommodation for 600 worshippers. There is a parochial school, which fronts Queen Street. The Roman Catholic Church has been represented at the Thames since 1868, and the Rev. Father O'Reilly, now the Right Rev. Monsignor O'Reilly, was in charge of the parish for twenty-two years.
The Rev. William Henry Mahoney, Priest in charge at the Thames, is a son of the late Mr. E. Mahoney, architect, of Auckland, where Father Mahoney was born in 1857. He was educated in Ireland, and afterwards in the North of France, and was ordained in 1884 at Oscott, near Birmingham. During the same year he returned to New Zealand and was stationed at Puhoi, where he remained till 1899, when he was appointed to the Thames.
Wesleyan Methodist Church, corner of Mary and Pollen Streets, Thames. The first Wesleyan church at the Thames was erected early in 1868 in Willoughby Street, Shortland, and was opened by the Rev. G. S. Harper. In 1869, during the ministry of the Rev. James Buller, a commodious building was erected in Grahamstown, and was enlarged a year later. The cause was carried on in these two churches until the year 1885, when they were amalgamated into one central church on the present site. The Rev. E. Best was minister at that time. The attendance has since considerably increased and now there is a regular congregation of 400, under the spiritual guidance of the Rev. D. J. Murray. In 1898 the central hall adjoining the church was erected at a cost of upwards of £1200. It has accommodation for 400 adults, and eighteen class rooms opening out into the main hall serve admirably for Sunday school purposes. At the inner end of the building there are two very large vestries. The Sunday school has 400 names on the roll, with an average attendance of about 300, and there are thirty-three teachers. The minister in charge at the Thames holds services periodically at Omahu, Puriri, Kopu and waiomo.
The Rev. Daniel James Murray, Wesleyan Minister in charge at the Thames, was born in Cambridge, England, in 1851, and was educated at Peterborough. He entered the ministry in England, and was ordained in May, 1879. In the same year he arrived at Port Chalmers, and was appointed to Wanganui. He was successively stationed at Milton, Tapanui, Mornington, Hutt, Woodend, St. Albans, Waimate and Lyttelton before being placed at the Thames in 1899. Mr. Murray has been secretary of the New Zealand Conference for six consecutive years—1895 to 1901—and before taking up the duties of the position, he acted for seven years as assistant secretary. Mr. Murray was married, in 1883, to a daughter of the late Mr. C. Holder, of Tong, Salop, England, and has two daughters and one son.
The Primitive Methodist Church, situated in Mackay Street, has seats for 280 people, and there is a Sunday school with accommodation for 250 children. There are 200 children on the roll, and the school is worked by sixteen teachers. The minister in charge holds services at several of the outlying settlements.
The Rev. Edward Drake, Minister in charge of the Primitive Methodist Church at the Thames is referred to at page 399 of the Wellington volume of this Cyclopedia. He left Wellingtoa in 1897, and after two years in Dunedin, settled at the Thames in March, 1899. In that year Mr. Drake was married to a daughter of Mr. Alfred Hanson, of Dunedin.
Thames Baptist Church. Soon after the opening of the Thames goldfields in August, 1867, a number of the members of the Baptist Church in Auckland removed to the Thames, and, as soon as a convenient room could be obtained, met for worship each Sabbath morning. Their numbers gradually increasing, they took steps to erect a chapel, and a freehold site at the corner of Willoughby and Baillie Streets was generously presented by the native chiefs, Taipari and Rapana. In January, 1869, the Rev. Stuart Wilson, a Baptist minister from Victoria, arrived in Auckland, and, having made the acquaintance of the Rev. P. H. Cornford, the pastor of the Baptist Church in that city, was by him introduced to the brethren at the Thames, the result being that they invited him to assist them in establishing a church. By earnest and united efforts the chapel, which seats 200 persons, was erected, and opened for public worship on Sunday, the 9th of May, 1869. On the 27th of September, in the same year, the members, numbering twenty-five, were formally united as a church by the Rev. P. H. Cornford, a letter of dismissal for that purpose having been obtained from the parent church in Auckland. A Sabbath school in connection with the church was established on the 11th of July, 1869, a Tract Distributors' Society in 1871, and a Cottage Meeting Society in 1875. The Rev. S. Wilson was the first minister of the church, and retained the pastorate for about two years. In 1889 the Baptist and Congregational Churches page 873 united for work and worship, and the Rev. W. R. Woolley, who settled at the Thames in 1883 ministered for many years to both churches.
The Rev. Arthur Dewdney, Minister in charge at the Thames Baptist Church, was born in Surrey, England, in 1864. He received his theological education at Spurgeon's College, in London, and his first charge was at Spreydon, Canterbry, where he commenced to minister on the 1st of May, 1887, having come to Wellington in the s.s. “Aorangi.” Five years later to a day, Mr. Dewdney took up his duties in Oamaru, where he became prominently engaged in the Prohibition movement, and was president of the Oamaru branch of the Prohibition League. He entered on his present charge at the Thames in July, 1899. Mr. Dewdney was married, in 1888, to a daughter of Mr. J. Sayers, of Dorking, Surrey, and has one son.
The Salvation Army Barracks, in Pollen Street, can seat 500 people, and at the back there is a junior soldiers' barracks with accommodation for 150 persons. The strength of the corps, which was founded in 1884, is about ninety.
Lodge Of Light, 454, I.C. Officers for 1900: A. Wells, W.M., F. J. Smith, S. W., J. F. Inglis, J.W., W. Johns, S.D., W. P. Johnson, J.D., J. Shand, I.G., and G. Page, secretary and treasurer. This lodge was established in 1870, and has about sixty members. Its fine hall, built in brick and plaster at the cost of £800, is in Queen Street, Thames.
Lodge Sir Walter Scott, No. 15, N.Z.C. Officers for 1900: J. P. Williams, W. M., W. H. Lucas, S.W., N. A. Pearce, J.W., J. West, P.M., treasurer, and A. Bruce, secretary. The lodge had 127 members in 1900. Monthly meetings are held in the Freemasons' Hall, Owen Street.
The Loyal Waikato Lodge, I.O.O.F., M.U. Officers for 1900: W. G. Lang, N.G., W. H. Freeman, V.G., J. Lang, G.M., R. W. Rowe, elective secretary, J. Rowe, permanent secretary, and R. W. Akers, treasurer. This lodge has 266 members and its accumulated funds exceed £4000.
Court Pride Of Parnell, A.O.F., 4409, was established in 1863 at the Thames. Officers for 1901: Messrs D. Henderson, C.R., G. W. Clark, senior, S.C.R., G. W. Clark, junior, S.W., T. Burritt, J.W., J. Duggan, treasurer, and W. A. Carter, secretary. There are about 120 members, and the accumulated funds amount to £4900.
Court Pride Of The North, 5575, A.O.F., was established at the Thames in 1875. Officers for 1900: T. W. Somerville, C.R., J. Redwood, S.C.R., T. Johnston, S.W., D. Redwood, J.W., W. R. Galbraith, S.B., D. H. Redwood, J.B., G. Gribble, treasurer, and H. Kennerley, secretary. This court has 114 members, and its accumulated funds amount to £340.
Grahamstown Branch, No. 35, H.A.C.B.S., was established in 1870. Officers for 1900: Messrs R. Kenny, junior, president, W. J. Nolan, vice-president, J. M. Foy, secretary, G. Kenny, treasurer, H. P. Farrely, warden, J. Twohill, guardian; Messrs R. Kenny, senior, J. McIntyre, and J. Twohill, trustees; and Drs Callan and Bond, medical attendants. The society's hall in Pollen Street will seat 300 persons.
Excelsior No. 6, L.O.L. Officers for 1900: Messrs J. McDonald, W.M., G. S. Clark, D.M., J. Johnston, treasurer, R. Scott, chaplain, and J. Patterson, secretary. This lodge was established in 1868.
The Prince Of Wales Lodge of the Protestant Alliance Friendly Society of Australasia, was established at the Thames in 1873. Officers for 1900: W. B. McDonald, W.M., J. W. Gwilliam, D.M., R. Scott, treasurer, and J. McDonald, secretary. The accumulated funds amount to about £1300, and there are 124 members.
Hauraki Rowing Club. Officers for 1900: Messrs A. M. Myers, commodore, J. M. Foy, president, T. Somerville, captain, and H. G. Gillespie, secretary and treasurer. The club was established many years ago; it owns a large shed at the Shortland wharf, and has a fair plant, chiefly whaleboats.
Thames Cricket Association. Officers for 1900: Mr. N. Pearce, chairman, and Messrs J. Pratt, N. Bowden, P. Watson, T. Aitken, W. Rudkin, W. Donavan, and J. Ryan, committee of management; Mr. W. A. Carter, treasurer, and Mr. H. G. Nicoll, secretary. The associated clubs are the Tararu, St. Alban's and Foundry senior and junior clubs.
St. Alban's Cricket Club dates from 1868, when it was a junior body, but on account of the large number of its players it soon became a senior club. Officers for 1900: Messrs H. J. Greenslade, patron, W. Scott, president, Rev. D. J. Murray and Messrs R. R. McGregor, J. Renshaw, J. Loughlin, A. Court and C. Brown, vice-presidents; J. Pratt, captain, W. Renshaw, junior captain, and B. H. Low, secretary and treasurer. The club in its first year won both senior and junior championships under the local association.
The Thames Rugby Union is an old established body. Officers for 1900: Mr J. McIntyre, chairman, Messrs D. Twohill, F. Ladner, W. McGregor, T. Scott and H. Koefoed, trustees; Mr. H. G. Nicoll, secretary. There are three senior clubs—namely, the Thames, Native Rose, and Rovers, and three junior clubs—True Blue, Carlton, and Nelson, belonging to the Union. In football the Thames is very strong, and has the distinction of being the only union in the colony which has beaten Auckland, the champion provincial union, for three consecutive years.
The Thames Jockey Club was established about 1875. Officers for 1900: Hon, J. McGowan, president, Mr. A. Smith, vice-president, Mr. C. J. Winder, treasurer, Mr. E. McDonnell, clerk of the course, and Mr. W. H. Potts, secretary. The racecourse is situated at Parawai, where the club owns thirty acres of land, on which it has spent about £2000 in grassing, draining, and erecting new buildings since 1896. The grandstand is erected on a hill and has seating accommodation for 500 persons. There are two annual meetings—namely, on the 26th and 27th of December, and on the 1st Monday in March.
The Thames Poultry, Pigeon And Canary Club was established in 1895. An annual show is held, and at the fifth, which took place on the 21st of July, 1900, there were 423 separate entries for exhibition.
The Thames-Hauraki Brass Band was established early in 1899, and has twenty-five active members. Officers for 1900: Mr. E. G. Williams, bandmaster, Mr. T. B. Booth, sergeant and secretary, Mr. A. Henderson, corporal, and Mr. J. Lang, treasurer. The services of the band are available for public functions and charitable performances.
Wildman, Thos. , Teacher of Violin and Orchestral Instruments, Pollen Street, Thames. Mr. Wildman was born in 1850 at Settle, West Riding of Yorkshire, and was educated at the Giggleswick Grammar School. He came out to Australia in the “Superb” in 1887, and crossing the Tasman Sea established himself in business at the Music Warehouse, Alexandra Hall, New Plymouth. After being five years in business there, Mr. Wildman followed his profession for two years in Gisborne, whence he moved, in 1894, to Whangarei. He now (1901) resides at Thames, and is well known as a successful teacher.
Wildman, Mrs. , Teacher of Pianoforte, Thames. Mrs Wildman is a daughter of the late Mr. Francis, Chief Surveyor to the Corporation of Manchester. She received the groundwork of her musical training from Madame Etinrant, and was for some time a member of Sir Charles Halle's Chorus. Mrs. Wildman was for a few years a private governess at the Thames, and is now a teacher of the pianoforte.
The “Thames Advertiser” appeared for the first time on the 11th of April, 1868. It was for some time published by Messrs Wilkinson and Horton, who were succeeded by Mr. W. Wilkinson, the senior partner, who published the paper for a number of years. A public company called the Thames Newspaper and Printing Company was then established to purchase the paper. About three years later Colonel William Fraser became the proprietor, and in the end of 1894, it was bought by the present owner, the Hon. W. McCullough. The “Advertiser” is a four page double demy sheet of twenty-eight columns, of which about fifteen are devoted to reading matter, and the balance to advertisements. Cables are received and published daily. The paper is Liberal in politics, and is printed at the office of the proprietor in Albert Street.
Mr. Ernest Vivian Hall, Editor of the “Thames Advertiser, was born at the Thames in 1878, and was educated at public schools and at the Thames High School. Mr. Hall was brought up to journalism, and became a reporter on the “Evening Star” in 1894. Three years later he was appointed to the position of editor of the “Thames Advertiser.” Mr. Hall takes an interest in football and cricket and has been associated with various football clubs and with the school of Mines Cricket Club.
“Evening Star.” This journal was established about 1869, and was originally printed in Willoughby Street. For a number of years it belonged to the firm of Hopcraft, McCullough and Co. Since Mr. Hopcraft's death Mr. McCullough has conducted the paper as sole proprietor. The “Evening Star” and “Advertiser” are published in a single storey wooden building, which contains editorial, publishing, and jobbing offices, and machine and composing rooms. The plant is driven by a Pelton water wheel, and consists of two Wharfdale presses, two hand presses for jobbing work, a full book-binding plant, and large fonts of type. Electric light is laid on throughout the building, and is produced by a dynamo on the premises. The “Evening Star” is a double royal sheet of thirty-two columns of which twelve are reading matter. The politics of the paper are Liberal.
Mr. Leonard Walter Parsons, Editor of the “Evening Star” at the Thames, was born in Kenilworth, England, in 1860. He was educated at Bishop Vesey's Grammar School, Sutton Coldfield, near Birmingham, and was brought up to journalism in England. Mr. Parsons arrived in Auckland in 1879 by the ship “City of Agra,” and for a short time acted as reporter on the “Auckland Star.” Since 1880, when he arrived at the Thames, he has been connected with the “Thames Advertiser” or “Evening Star, except for two years, while he was editing the Gisborne “Herald.” Mr. Parsons has worked for the “Evening Star” since 1896, and has been its editor since January, 1900. He was married, in 1882, to a daughter of the late Mr. J. Enson, of the Thames, and has one son and five daughters.
The Thames Warden's and Magistrate's Court was established about 1870. The building, which is of two stories, contains, besides the courthouse, offices for the inspector of mines, district surveyor, warden's private room, clerk's room, public room and strong room, and the police station and post and telegraph offices are in another part of the same building. The court has jurisdiction over the counties of Thames, Ohinemuri, and Coromandel. Mr. Robert Smelt Bush is the stipendiary magistrate and warden.
Mr. James Jordan, Clerk of the Magistrate's and Warden's Court, was born in County Kerry, Ireland, in 1864. He was educated at the Auckland Grammar School, and entered the Government service in 1884 as a cadet in the Magistrate's Court. In 1892 he became Clerk of the Court for Paeroa and Te Aroha, and was promoted to the Thames in 1896. Mr. Jordan was married, in 1894, to a daughter of Mr. J. W. Walker, well known on the Thames, and has two sons and one daughter.
The Thames Police District extends from Hikutaia to beyond Tapu. The staff consists of the sergeant in charge a detective, and six constables.
Sergeant Andrew Clarke, Officer in charge of the Thames Police District, was born in County Armagh, Ireland, in 1838. He came to Auckland by the ship “Ganges” in 1863, joined the police force in 1864, and was appointed to the Thames in April, 1899.
The Shortland Police Station was originally used as a police gaol for a good many years. The building is of wood and contains seven rooms, and there are six cells behind the building.
Mr. Richard James Hodgson, Constable-in-charge of the Shortland Police Station, was born in Canterbury in 1870. He joined the police force in 1892, and was stationed two years in Auckland and four years at Eden Terrace, before being appointed to the Thames in 1898.
Clendon, Edwin John, Barrister and Solicitor, Thames. Mr. Clendon is a son of page 876 Mr. James Stephenson Clendon, who came to this colony in 1840, and settled at the Bay of Islands, where he was for many years the Stipendiary Magistrate of the district, and was very highly esteemed by the Maoris and his fellow-settlers. Mr. E. J. Clendon was born at the Bay of Islands in 1865, and was educated at the Government schools, Auckland, and at the Whangarei High School, in which he won two gold medals as dux of the school. For twelve years Mr. Clendon was with Messrs Devore and Cooper, the well-known barristers of Auckland. He was admitted to the Bar in 1887, and settled at the Thames during the early part of 1892.
Mr. E. J. Clendon.
Day, Victor Grace, Barrister and Solicitor, sometime of Thames. Mr. Day, who came to the colony in 1879, settled at Napier, where he was articled to his uncle, Mr. W. L. Rees, the well-known solicitor of Napier and Gisborne. In 1884, Mr. Day was admitted a barrister and solicitor of the Supreme Court by Mr. Justice Gillies, and in the following February he began practice at Tapanui, Otago. Before the close of the year, however, Mr. Day removed to Gore, where he practised until March, 1887, when he entered into partnership with Mr. Rees in Gisborne. In November, 1886, this partnership was dissolved, and Mr. Day established a business at the Thames, where he had a large practice, principally in native land work. Mr. Day was born in London School and at St. Matthew's Grammar School. His father, Mr. William Day, being a member of the Haberdasher's Company of London, Mr. Day was entitled to compete for the Ask Scholarship, which he gained when at the age of fourteen years. This qualified him for a three years' course at King's College School, and at the conclusion of his term there, Mr. Day entered the London and South-Western Bank, where he remained three years. As he is a relative of the world-renowned Graces, it need hardly be said that Mr. Day takes a great interest in cricket. Mr. Day is now District Land Registrar and Registrar of Deeds and Deputy Commissioner of Stamps for Westland, and, as such, he resides at Hokitika.
Mr. V. G. Day.
Miller And Son (James Armstrong Miller and Ernest Napier Miller), Barristers, Solicitors, and Notaries, Albert Street, Thames. This firm was constituted in the beginning of 1900, but the business had been previously conducted for many years by the senior partner.
Mr. James Armstrong Miller, Senior Partner in the firm of Miller and Son, was born at Tonga, in the Friendly Islands, in 1848, his father, Mr. G. H. Miller, M.D., being engaged as a Wesleyan missionary amongst the natives of those islands. The subject of this notice came to New Zealand with his parents in 1854, and attended school at Auckland. Shortly after reaching the age of twelve he was articled to Mr. Andrew Beveridge, solicitor, and was subsequently in the office of Mr. T. B. Gillies (afterwards Mr. Justice Gillies), solicitor, for a period of about three years. Mr. Miller passed his examination early in 1869, but, not being of age, was not admitted to the Bar until a year later. He removed to the Thames in July, 1869, and, immediately after being admitted, commenced the practice of his profession in conjunction with Mr. A. Beveridge, with whom he was connected for two years. He then became associated with Mr. J. E. Macdonald, the style of the firm being Messrs. Macdonald and Miller. Six years later the former was appointed Chief Judge of the Native Land Court, and consequently retired from the firm. Mr. Miller was appointed a notary public about 1876. In church matters, Mr. Miller has for many years been a member of the Wesleyan body, and for the past twenty-nine years has acted as secretary to the board of trustees of the Thames Wesleyan Church.
Mr. J. A. Miller.
Bond, Joseph Henry, L.R.C.S.I., L.R.C.P.I., L.M., Physician and Surgeon, Queen Street and Sealey Street, Thames. Dr. Bond was born in Dublin, in 1856, and took his degrees there in 1879. After practising for five years at Brighton, England, he settled in Auckland in 1891, and, five years later, removed to the Thames.
Callan, Patrick, L.K.Q.C.P.I., L.R.C.S.I., Physician and Surgeon, Mary Street, Thames. Dr. Callan was born in County Louth, Ireland, in 1842, and was educated in Dublin, where he took his degrees in 1869. Having practised for a number of years, he came to Auckland by the ship “Ben Nevis” in 1880, and shortly afterwards settled at the Thames. He was married, in 1869, to a daughter of the late Mr. H. Stewart, County Wexford, and has four sons and one daughter.
Lapraik, George, M.B., C.M., (Glassgow University), Physician and Surgeon, Pollen Street, Thames.
Dr. G. Lapraik.
Thomas, Henry William Earp, Surgeon Dentist, Pollen Street, Thames. Mr. Thomas, who is a dental surgeon by examination, established his business in 1894.
Wright, Harry Lambert, Surgeon Dentist, 139 Pollen Street, Thames. This practice was founded in 1888 by Mr W. H. Wright, of Auckland, and was taken over by the present proprietor in 1891. Mr. H. L. Wright was born in Parnell in 1863, and was educated at the Auckland College and Grammar School. He commenced the study of his profession with his brother, the late Mr. A. L. Wright, in Shortland Street, Auckland, passed his examination under the Dental Board of New Zealand in Dunedin, and was registered as a surgeon dentist on the 3rd of April, 1888. Mr. Wright was married, in 1888, to a niece of the Rev. B. V. Ashwell, of Taupiri, and has one son and one daughter.
Denby, George, Chemist and Druggist, Pollen Street, Thames. This business dates from 1869, and the premises consist of a large double-fronted shop of two stories, and with a verandah. The proprietor was born in Yorkshire, England, in 1834. He was brought up to the business in his native land, arrived in Wellington in 1867, and became one of the earliest settlers at the Thames.
Hall, John William, Chemist and Druggist, Owen Street, Thames. This business was established by the proprietor soon after the opening of the Thames goldfield in 1867. Mr. Hall was born in 1830, in Leicestershire, England, where he was educated and apprenticed to his profession. He arrived in Auckland by the ship “Egmont” in 1858, and engaged in farming at Otahuhu till the opening of the Thames goldfields, when he established his present business. Mr. Hall has always taken a great interest in the botany and flora of New Zealand and in the cultivation of indigenous trees and ferns.
Ray, Frederick James, Chemist, Pollen Street, Thames. This business has been conducted since 1896 by Mr. Ray, who was born in Berkshire, England, in 1861, educated in London, and served his apprenticeship at Maidstone, Kent. He was in business on his own account about six years, and came to New Zealand in 1896.
Bank Of New South Wales, Thames . An agency of this bank was first opened at the Thames in July, 1868, under the management of Mr. H. Jones, at Shortland. Subsequently an agency was also opened at Grahamstown (in March, 1869), but about eighteen months later (in August, 1870) the Shortland agency was closed, since which time the agency at Grahamstown has continued to be the sole Thames branch. At first the premises were leased, but in 1882 the freehold was purchased by the bank. Goldbuying has been a feature of the business, and all the necessary appliances for melting and treating the bullion, from retorted up to refined gold, are in use in the branch.
Mr. Reginald Smith, Manager of the Thames Branch of the Bank of New South Wales, was born in 1861 in Middlesex, England, and was educated at Palace School, Engfield, near London. He arrived in Port Chalmers in 1876, and shortly afterwards joined the staff of the National Bank of New Zealand, in which he served at Dunedin and elsewhere, and became accountant at Napier in 1883. Three years later Mr. Smith accepted a position as relieving manager in the inspector's department of the Bank of New South Wales, and served in upwards of twenty-five of the Bank's branches in the colony. In 1891 he became manager at the Thames. He was married in the same year, to a daughter of Mr. H. F. Hardy, architect, of Dunedin, and has two sons and one daughter.
Bank Of New Zealand. Thames , This is said to be the leading bank on the Thames Goldfields, and to do the largest business in the district. The imposing buildings, built in brown stone, are undoubtedly the finest in the place. The bank first opened an agency at Shortland in 1868, but closed it up about two years later. The present branch was established in February, 1869, and has extensive premises, and all the modern appliances for assaying, etc.
Mr. Alfred Smith, Manager of the Thames branch of the Bank of New Zealand, entered the service of the bank in August, 1873, as a junior clerk at Wanganui. He has since successively filled the positions of teller, accountant, relieving officer, and manager in various parts of the Colony. Mr. Smith was manager for a year at Wanganui, and for two years at Gisborne, and was appointed to the management of the Thames branch of the bank in October, 1894. Mr. Smith is a native of New Zealand, having been born at Wanganui in 1857, where he received his education at the Collegiate School.
Mr. Robert Tobin Bush, Assayer and Accountant at the Bank of New Zealand, Thames, is the eldest son of Mr. R. S. Bush, Stipendiary Magistrate and Warden for the Hauraki Peninsula. He was born in 1872 in Auckland, and educated at Opotiki, where, after a year of private study, he entered the service of the Bank in 1886.
Professional, Commercial, and Industrial.
Baggott, James, Sharebroker, Davey Street. Thames. Mr. Baggott was born in Limerick, Ireland, in 1842, landed in Victoria in 1859, and was engaged in goldmining in that colony till 1862, when he visited Otago. Three years later he went to the West Coast of the South Island, and settled in 1871 at the Thames, where he has conducted business as Thames, where he has conducted business as a sharebroker.
Kilgour, Richard, Sharebroker, Albert Street, Thames. This business was established in the early days by Messrs Frater Brothers, who conducted it till May, 1900, when the present proprietor took it over. Mr. Kilgour is the second son of the late Dr. J. Kilgour, of Thames and Auckland, who died in September, 1897. He was born in Geelong, Victoria, in 1856, and after a good many years' experience in the Bank of New Zealand, he retired from the service in March, 1899.
McGregor, Roderick Ross, Auctioneer and Gum Merchant, Queen Street opposite Government Buildings, Thames. This large business was established many years ago, and the proprietor maintains a considerable stock of household furniture and furnishing, besides carrying on a general auctioneering business. He has been on the Thames since the early days of the field, and has declined to accept public offices in consequence of his time being absorbed in his own business. Mr. McGregor has taken a great interest in mining, and has done much to foster the industry.
Melhose, Louis Rudolph Wilhelm, sometime Stock and Share Broker, Exchange Buildings, Albert Street, Thames. Mr. Melhose was born at Stettin, Prussia, on the 20th of April, 1841.page 879
During his youth he followed a seafaring life and passed his examination as chief mate at the age of eighteen years. In 1862 he sailed from London in the ship “Queen of the Mersey” for Auckland, New Zealand, and engaged in mercantile pursuits for a short period after his arrival. In 1863 he joined Major Von Tempsky's Forest Rangers, in which he served about three years, after which he entered the employment of Mr. Jerome Cadman, who was engaged in the timber business. In July, 1867, Mr. Melhose removed to the Thames, where he joined Mr. James Mackay, junior, and Dr. Pollen in prospecting; but not being successful, he engaged in quartz mining in which he speculated largely and with considerable success. Mr. Melhose embarked in the sharebroking and land agency business in May, 1871, in partnership with Mr. William Mierhouse, but the partnership was dissolved six months later. After that Mr. Melhose continued the business on his own account, and his became the oldest business of its kind on the Thames. He was for many years agent for the Norwich Union Insurance Company, and the Mutual Life Association of Australasia, and was also the local representative of Messrs James Speight and Co., City Brewery, Dunedin. He was one of the oldest members of the Thames Stock Exchange, and was chairman of that association. Mr. Melhose was a member of Corinthian Lodge A.F. and A.M. No. 1655 E.C. He was treasurer of the Lodge for about ten years, and on resigning that office, the members presented him in April, 1894, with a very handsome jewel as a token of their esteem. Mr. Melhose died on the 5th of April, 1900, and the business is now carried on, on behalf of the widow and family, by his daughter, Miss Adeline Melhose.
Styak, William Silvester, Share-broker, Albert Street, Thames. Mr. Styak is the eldest son of the late John Styak, J.P., of Green Mount, East Tamaki, New Zealand, and was born in New South Wales, in 1844, and when four years of age came with his father to Auckland, where Mr. Styak, senior, became a large farmer at East Tamaki. Mr. W. S. Styak joined Colonel Nixon's cavalry in the early sixties, and served two years. Having transferred into one of the Waikato Regiments, he obtained a commission as lieutenant, and was afterwards transferred to the commissariat transport corps, in which he served till the close of the war, throughout the Wanganui, Taranaki and Waikato campaigns, and received the New Zealand war medal. Mr. Styak visited the Thames in the early days, and followed mining for a short time. For two years afterwards he was in business as a sharebroker in San Francisco, and returned to Auckland to manage the late Mr. J. Dilworth's properties. On the death of his father, Mr. Styak was for about four years on his farm at East Tamaki, but, having sold the property, he returned to the Thames in 1880, and for some years managed the local brewery, which was, however, destroyed by fire. Since 1882 he has page 880 conducted business on the Thames as a sharebroker. He was married, in 1869, and has a family of two—one daughter and one son. His son is at present (1901) a solicitor in Auckland.
Foy-Bros., photo.See page 879.
Mr. W. Styak.
Mountain And Newton (Thomas John Mountain and Alexander Davis Newton), Surveyors, Albert Street, Thames. Mr. Mountain was born in Wellington in 1861, and was educated in that city. He learned his profession as a surveyor in Napier, where he commenced practice on his own account about 1888. Mr. Mountain was afterwards in business in Woodville and Gisborne, before settling at the Thames in 1895. Messrs Mountain and Newton are surveyors for the Mahara Royal, Eclipse, Karaka, Monowai and Golden Belt mines.
Foy Bros. (Joseph Michael Foy), Photographers, Pollen Street, Thames. This is claimed to be the oldest business of its kind at the Thames, having been established in 1872. The studio is replete with all the latest improvements, and the proprietor is ever on the alert for anything fresh in his line. Many samples of his work are to be seen in the illustrations of this portion of the present volume of the Cyclopedia.
Mr. J. M. Foy was born in London in 1847, and came with his father, the late Mr. James Foy, to New Zealand in 1849. After leaving school he assisted his father in the building trade at Onehunga. In 1867 he entered the employ of Mr. Webster, photographer, of Auckland, and eighteen months later commenced business in that line on his own account. Mr. Foy joined his brother, Mr. James Joseph Foy, in 1872, in establishing the present business at the Thames. The latter died early in 1890, and since that date the subject of this notice has thrown all his time and energies into the improvement of the business. Mr. Foy has for many years been a member of the H.A.C.B.S., Grahams-town branch, and has filled various offices in that body, including those of president, vice-president, and secretary, the latter of which he has held for the past twelve years. He was elected in 1894 to represent the South Ward on the Thames Borough Council, and was re-elected in 1896, but is not now a member. On the death of Mr. Mulligan, one of the trustees of the Thames Hospital, in 1896, Mr. Foy was appointed to fill the vacancy, and, at the annual meeting of the subscribers to the Hospital in 1897, was unanimously elected to represent their interests on the Board.
Learmouth, William, Baker and Confectioner, Brown Street, Thames. This well known business was established about 1880, and has been conducted by Mr. Learmouth since 1896. The premises include a large shop and refreshment room, with a bakery and dwelling. It is a two storey wooden building, with a verandah, and an extensive local trade is carried on. Mr. Learmouth was born at Falkirk, Scotland, in 1861, and learned the trade with his father, who was in business for a great many years. Landing in Sydney in 1876. Mr. Learmouth worked there at his trade for over three years, when he came to New Zealand, and was in partnership with a brother at the Bay of Islands for over ten years. He settled at the Thames in 1890, and worked in connection with Mr. Elijah Rollerson's trade till he took over his present business. Before settling at the Thames, Mr. Learmouth was in business in the Auckland district for over four years. He was married, in 1890, to the youngest daughter of Mr. E. Rollerson, of the Thames, and has one daughter.
Mennie And Dey (James Milne Mennie), Bakers and Confectioners, Queen Street, Thames. Head Office and Factory, Albert Street, Auckland. This business was established at the Thames in 1874, and was extended to Auckland ten years later.
Mr. John Rowe, Manager of the Thames Branch of Messrs Mennie and Dey's business, is the eldest surviving son of the late Mr. W. Rowe, once prominently connected with the celebrated Caledonia mine. He has managed the business since 1896, and is secretary of the Loyal Waikato Lodge of Oddfellows.
Chappell, Francis, Builder and Contractor, Thames. Mr. Chappell has been well known at Auckland, Thames, and Coromandel for the third of a century. Born in Nottingham, England, in 1835, he was apprenticed when fifteen years of age, to a builder of Grantham, in Lincolnshire. Five years later he returned to his native town, where he was employed at his trade till 1863, when he came to Auckland, per ship “Tyburnia.” He was then for three years under Mr. Robert Ridley, architect, of Auckland, and in that capacity assisted in the erection of the first building occupied by the “New Zealander” newspaper, Shortland Street. For a further period of three years, Mr. Chappell was engaged principally in the erection of batteries at Coromandel, and he afterwards went to the Thames, to assist Mr. John Goodall, civil engineer, in the building of a large battery at Tookey's Flat. For nine years, Mr. Chappell remained in Mr. Goodall's employment, attending to all the carpentry work in connection with numberous batteries, and then he went into business on his own account. Among a number of prominent public and private buildings erected by Mr. Chappell may be mentioned the Convent, Queen's Chambers, the new Thames County Chamber, the Primitive Methodist Church, and the private house of Mr. Court. page 881 draper. Mr. Chappell was a member of the Thames Borough Council for a short time, and for several years did good service on the licensing committee and the Parawai School Committee. In Oddfellowship he is probably the oldest member in the district, having been initiated more than forty years ago, and his present lodge is the “Fountain of Friendship,” Auckland. In 1862, Mr. Chappell was married at Grantham to Miss Ann Bristol, but this lady died in 1874, leaving an only child (now Mrs. C. T. Saunders, of Waihi). Five years later, Mr. Chappell married Miss Ann Hawkes, and has four daughters and two sons.
Mr. F. Chappell.
Donovan, Thomas, Builder and Carpenter, Thames. Mr. Donovan was born in London in November, 1840, and learned his trade and followed it in the great metropolis. In 1863 he came out to New Zealand, in the ship “Tyburnia,” and on arrival in Auckland experienced the miseries of quarantine, which were not lightened by the fact that his ship was the first quarantined in the port. He soon found employment at his trade, and in 1867 went to the Thames. After a short experience of mining, Mr. Donovan established his present business. He has erected many of the finest edifices in the district, including the Old Men's Home, two of the public schools, the original Baptist Church, his own house in Pollen Street, and many others. Some very fine houses in Auckland also have been erected by Mr. Donovan, who has had a large experience in removing and rebuilding large and small structures. For many years, Mr. Donovan has been actively connected with the Thames Baptist Church.
Hay, William Matthew, Contractor and Builder, Pollen Street, Thames. Bankers, Bank of New South Wales. Mr. Hay came to New Zealand with his parents in 1860, his father following mining pursuits in Otago for some years. The subject of this notice learned his trade at Tuapeka, Otago, serving an apprenticeship of five years with Messrs. Henderson and Amers, and remaining some two years subsequently with Mr. Henderson, thus gaining a knowledge of cabinetmaking. After following his trade as a journeyman for a few years he began business as a contractor, and, removing to Blenheim about 1882, carried on a large and extensive business for some fourteen years, during which time he erected many schools, churches, and other public as well as private buildings. He went to the Thames in January, 1896, and now carries on a considerable contract business in the district, giving employment to a large number of hands. Mr. Hay was born at Sandhurst, Victoria, in 1854, and has had a large experience as a builder.
Twentyman, Robert, Builder and Undertaker, Pollen Street, Thames. This business was established in 1875 by the late Mr. W. Twentyman, father of the present proprietor. When Mr. Twentyman died in 1888, the business was taken over by two of his sons, under the style of R. and W. Twentyman. In 1897 the junior partner retired, and the business has since been conducted by Mr. Robert Twentyman, who was born in Onehunga in 1866, educated at public schools and at the Thames High School, and was brought up to business by his father. As a Forester Mr. Twentyman belongs to Court Pride of Parnell. He was married, in 1893, to a daughter of the late Mr. G. Peace, of Auckland, and has two daughters.
Puriri Co-Operative Dairy (John Jessop, proprietor), Pollen Street, Thames. This establishment was founded in 1898. Fresh milk and dairy produce come in daily from Puriri and other districts, and the milk is delivered throughout the town.
Mr. John Jessop, the Proprietor, was born near Wakefield, Yorkshire, England, in 1862. He was brought up to a country life with an uncle, and came to Auckland in 1884 by the s.s. “Ruapehu” on her maiden trip. Mr. Jessop had experience in the Waikato with Mr Henry Reynolds, and afterwards at Devonport with Mr Stark. He was for some time in business in the stationery and fancy goods line in Hobson Street, Auckland, and then established the Puriri Co-operative Dairy. Mr. Jessop was married, in 1884, to a daughter of the late Mr. J. Scholey, of Wakefield, and has three sons and two daughters.
McDonald, William Bramwell, Painter and Decorator, Queen Street. Thames. Born at the Thames on the 1st of March, 1873, Mr. McDonald is a son of Mr. John McDonald, sailmaker, one of the earliest settlers in the district. Receiving his education at the Kauaeranga Boys' School, under Mr. Horatio Phillips, the subject of this notice, at the age of sixteen years, entered the service of Mr. H. D. Driver, painter and decorator, and with him learned his trade, serving some four years. Subsequently he worked as a journeyman painter, and in June, 1896, entered into business on his own account. Mr. McDonald is a young man, but is already well known throughout the district as a skilful and industrious tradesman. He has had quite a number of contracts for decorating and finishing large buildings in the district, including the new Thames County Council Chambers.
Mr. W. B. McDonald.
Phillipps, W. And Son (John Phillipps and Frank Phillipps), Thames Branch, Pollen Street; head office, Queen Street, Auckland. This business was established in 1867. The premises are large and convenient, and the business has long been under the management of Mr. Nathaniel Payne.
Rae Bros. (Arthur Campbell and Herbert Lewis Rae), Decorators and Painters, Pollen Street, Thames. Bankers, Bank of New South Wales. Mr. A. C. Rae, the senior partner, was born at Tauranga in 1865, and moved when quite young with his father, Mr. Lewis Rae, to the Thames. After leaving school he learned the trade of a painter with Mr. P. J. Burch, and subsequently perfected himself at his calling in Auckland. He then worked as painter and decorator in various parts of the Hauraki Goldfields. For some years past he has been associated with his brother, Mr. Herbert L. Rae, at their present address, where they carry on a large and lucrative business. Mr. A. C. Rae has for many years been a member of A.O.F. Court Pride of Parnell, No. 4409, and also of the Sir Walter Scott Lodge of Freemasons, N.Z.C. He has always taken an active interest in athletics, having been an early member of the Thames Football Club, one of the organizers of the Football Association, and a delegate for that organization on three different occasions. He has been for many years an active member of the Hauraki Rowing Club, holding the position of secretary for a lengthy period. Mr. Rae is also a life member of the Thames Volunteer Fire Brigade.
Court, Alfred, Draper and Clothier and Direct Importer, Mary and Pollen Streets. Thames. Mr. Court's business was established in 1896, and is conducted in a one storey shop with a verandah, and three large windows to Mary Street and three to Pollen Street. There are seven departments, including clothing, Manchester goods, millinery, fancy goods, mantles, dresses, and underclothing. Mr. Court was born at Bradley Green, near Redditch, Worcestershire, England, in 1855. He was educated at Feckinham, and apprenticed as a draper in Birmingham, where he was in business with a partner for two years, and afterwards with a brother for five years in Coleshill Street, Birmingham; but he took over the last-mentioned business on his own account in 1879, and conducted it till 1896, when he came out to New Zealand, and shortly afterwards established his present business at the Thames. For four years before coming to page 883 Auckland, Mr. Court was London buyer for the well known firm of Court Bros., of Auckland. He was married, in 1879, to a daughter of the late Mr. E. Pomfret, of Birmingham, and has one son and one daughter.
Cullen, G. and Co. (George Cullen), Importers and Cash Drapers, Pollen Street, Thames. This firm established its business in 1896, and conducts it in a large double-fronted shop, with a verandah. There is a full stock, and the departments include drapery, millinery, and furnishings. The greater portion of the stock is imported direct from the best markets of the world, and the volume of trade has steadily increased.
Mr. George Cullen, who is a son of the late Mr. Cullen, General Manager of the Kaiapoi Woollen Company, was born in Limerick, Ireland, in 1867, and was educated in Bradford, Yorkshire, England. He learned his trade in New Zealand, and settled at the Thames in 1896, when he established his present business. As a Freemason Mr. Cullen is attached to Lodge of Light, I.C. He was married, in 1889, to a daughter of Mr. G. Meachem, and has two daughters.
Mr. G. Cullen.
Hallenstein Bros. and Co. (New Zealand Clothing Factory), Thames Branch, Albert Street, Thames; Mr. George Page, manager. This branch of the well known firm of Hallenstein Bros. and Co., has been established for many years, and the premises, a two-storey building, contain a shop and office.
Mr. S. Hetherington.
Mr. S. Hetherington's Premises.
Wood, Robert, Draper and Clothier, Caledonian House, Albert and Davey Streets, Thames. Bankers, Bank of New Zealand. This business was established by Mr. Wood in October, 1896, when he arrived at the Thames. The premises are large and handsome, of great depth, and with a very fine front. A very large stock is carried, comprising drapery, millinery, clothing, hats, caps, men's mercery, etc. The interior is fitted handsomely with double counters, and the millinery department and show-room are elaborately decorated. Mrs. Wood, who is a thoroughly experienced milliner, has charge of this branch of the business. Mr. Wood does all his own buying, and personally manages the business. A very large strong-room, for the safe keeping of some of the most valuable portions of the stock, is a feature of the establishment. Mr. Wood is a native of Berwick-on-Tweed, Northumberland, England, and learned his business in Glasgow, where he spent about fifteen years in acquiring a thorough knowledge of the drapery business in all its branches. He came to this colony in 1892, and was engaged in some of the principal establishments in New Zealand, prior to entering into business on his own account at the Thames.
Wylie, William Smyth, Draper, Pollen Street, Thames. Mr. Wylie was born in the County of Londonderry, Ireland, in 1855. He learned his trade in his native place, and afterwards became acquainted with some of the leading factories and warehouses of Great Britain. For four years he was employed in Lurgan, the chief centre of the linen industry. In 1881 he arrived in Auckland by the ship “Lady Jocelyn,” and almost immediately settled at the Thames, and commenced business in a small shop, which was soon considerably enlarged to meet a steadly growing business, which was afterwards connected with more commodious and more central premises. Mr. Wylie now conducts two shops, which are both fully stocked with drapery, clothing, mercery, millinery and furnishing goods, and dress-making is also carried on. He is a large buyer of colonial manufactured goods, and from the local warehouses, and also imports direct from the best Home markets. Mr. Wylie was married to a daughter of the late Mr. Henry Driver, Pollen Street, Thames, and has now a family of seven children.
Mr. W. S. Wylie.
Milnes, Edward James, Tailor, Pollen Street, Thames. Private residence, Sealey Street. This business has been conducted by the proprietor since its establishment in 1890. The premises consist of a single fronted shop with a verandah, and with workrooms behind. Mr. Milnes, who was born in Staffordshire, England, in 1865, was brought as an infant to Auckland by his parents by the barque “Bolivar, and he was educated in Auckland and at the Thames. He served an apprenticeship as a tailor at the Thames, and after a short experience in Auckland, returned and worked for employers until he founded his present business. As a Freemason Mr. Milnes is a Past Master of Lodge Sir Walter Scott, N.Z.C., and as a Forester he has passed the chairs in Court Pride of the North. He was married, in 1889, to a daughter of Mr. John Brumby, of Te Aroha, and has three daughters.
Muir, John, Merchant Tailor, Corner of Brown and Williamson Streets, Thames. Mr. Muir claims to have the oldest established business in his line at the Thames. He was born at Douglas, Scotland, in 1835, and learned his trade at the village of Bothwell, a few miles from his birthplace. After serving an apprenticeship of five years he worked as a journeyman tailor in Glasgow, and also for a short time in London, subsequently sailing from Liverpool in the ship “Red Jacket,” bound for Melbourne, Victoria. Mr. Muir came to New Zealand in 1864, and commenced colonial life by trying his fortunes on the goldfields of Otago; ten months later he went back to Victoria, but, after remaining about six months, returned to settle down in New Zealand, and engaged in business at Invercargill as a merchant tailor. Selling out about four years later, he again went in quest of gold, this time to Hokitika. He gravitated to the Thames in 1869, for three years followed mining pursuits in that district, and subsequently opened a small tailoring establishment in Owen Street. Moving to his present commodious premises some twenty-six years ago, his business has steadily advanced towards prosperity, and now he carries a large and varied stock of tweeds, etc., and gives employment to a numerous staff of skilled hands. Mr. Muir has been for many years an active member of St. James' Pres-byterian Church. He takes an interest in friendly societies, being a member of A.O.F. Court Pride of Parnell, while he has also been connected for a number of years with the Sir Walter Scott Lodge of Freemasons, No. 15, N.Z.C. Mr. Muir was married at Auckland in August, 1874, to a daughter of Mr. John Flett, an early settler of that city, and has five children.
Mr. J. Muir.
The Thames Land, Building And Investment Society (Permanent), was established on the 26th of July, 1871. page 885 Directors for 1900: Messrs J. Renshaw, E. Rollerson, J. Danby, J. L. Walton, J. W. Poulgrain, J. Read, J. Patterson, T. Donovan, R. B. Hudson, and J. Kernick; Mr S. T. Whitehouse, Secretary. This Society has had a long and successful career, and is in a strong position. Its offices are in Albert Street, in the building originally owned by the Bank of Australasia.
Mr. Samuel Thomas Whitehouse, Secretary of the Thames Building Society, was born in Staffordshire, England, in 1843, and was educated at Birmingham, where he became an accountant. He arrived in Auckland in 1864 by the ship “John Duncan,” and was for a time at the Albertland Settlement. Mr. Whitehouse has been on the Thames since 1869, and has held his present position since 1887.
Bane Brothers (William Bane), House Furnishers, corner of Pollen and Mary Streets, Thames. This business was established in 1874 by Mr. A. Cullen, and has been conducted under the style of Bane Brothers since 1885. The premises consist of a large corner shop, with several show windows, and has workrooms upstairs. The firm imports furniture and other lines, and does a considerable business in the manufacture of furniture.
Mr. William Bane, Proprietor, was born in Wellington in 1865, and came to the Thames in 1874. He was brought up to the trade in connection with the business of which he is now proprietor. Mr. Bane is a member of the Thames Volunteer Fire Brigade, and as a Freemason he is attached to Lodge Sir Walter Scott.
Dann, Frederick, Cabinetmaker, Upholsterer, and General House Furnisher, Pollen Street, Thames. Bankers, Bank of New Zealand. This business was established in 1872, and since then it has increased to such an extent that the single shop of that date has given place to three extensive compartments. The first is occupied by bodding, linoleums, etc., the second with carpets, furniture, etc., and the third is the factory, which is fitted with all the latest machinery and improvements. Mr. Dann manufactures all his furniture and imports carpets, linoleums, and such things as cannot be produced in the Colony. The premises have a frontage of 110 feet by a depth of 165 feet.
Governor Bowen Hotel (Samuel Thomas Speer, licensee), Owen Street, Thames. This hotel is one of the oldest at the Thames. It consists of two buildings, one of one storey, and one of two stories, and contains over sixty bedrooms, six sitting rooms, and a large dining room capable of seating 200 guests. The hotel stands on a large section of ground, and is conveniently situated in the borough.
Mr. Samuel Thomas Speer was born in Oamaru in 1877, and was educated in Auckland. He was brought up to business as a saddler, and took over his present business at the death of his father in 1899. Mr. Speer was married, in 1898, to a daughter of Mr. T. Bowden, of the Thames.
Junction Hotel, Thames (Alfred Rogers, proprietor). Mr. Rogers was born at King's Laughley, in Buckinghamshire, England, in 1851. He served his apprenticeship in London to the wine, spirit, and bottling trade, after which he took the Prince Albert Hotel, Brushfield Street, Bishopsgate; from there he went into the Alma Hotel, New North Road, Kingsland; and afterwards the White Lion in High Street, Islington. In 1884 he visited New Zealand, and, on his return to England, again took possession of the “White Lion.” He, however, was so favourably impressed with New Zealand that he decided to make it his future home. He came out again in 1892, and took over the Kaihu Hotel, Dargaville, Northern Wairoa. Mr. Rogers has always taken a deep interest in local affairs, and while in Dargaville was a prominent Freemason, a member of the Hobson County Council and Dargaville school committee, and also a trustee of the race-course. While Mr. Rogers was in the Kaihu Hotel, Lord Glasgow (then Governor of the colony) stayed with him, and His Excellency afterwards expressed his entire satisfaction with the hotel management, and remarked that the comfort and convenience could not have been excelled. In 1897 Mr. Rogers left Dargaville to take over the proprietorship of the “Junction” at the Thames. The Junction Hotel is situated at the corner of Pollen and Pahu Streets, and is the principal house for commercial men and tourists. It has lately been considerably enlarged and refurnished throughout, and for convenience cannot be surpassed.
Pacific Hotel (William Woodward, proprietor), Corner of Brown and Albert Streets, Thames. This hostelry occupies a leading position at the Thames, being provided throughout with commodious and handsomely furnished rooms, including a spacious dining-room, while the catering is first class, and the attention all that could be desired. The upper portion of the house is under the direct supervision of Mrs. Woodward, who is most assiduous in her attention to the wants of her patrons. The hotel has been favoured by the patronage of many of the leading mining and other visitors to the goldfields. For the convenience of travellers and others arriving late, a night porter is in attendance.
Mr. W. Woodward.
Warwick Arms Hotel (John Brooks Mason, proprietor), Pollen Street, Shortland, Thames. This hotel was established in 1868, and has been conducted by the present proprietor since 1886. Mr. Mason was born in Leicestershire, England, in 1830, came out to the Cape of Good Hope in 1858, to Auckland in 1863, and has been well known on the Thames since the opening of the field in 1867.
Hart, John Sanders, Gunsmith, Pollen Street, Thames. Mr. Hart is a native of Ireland, and learned the trade of a gunsmith with Messrs. Richardson and Sons, of Cork. He has followed that occupation ever since 1854. From 1860 to 1867 Mr. Hart was in Her Majesty's service, serving in the special corps of Armourers, and was attached to the 34th Regiment of Foot. He held the rank of Armourer's Sergeant, and on leaving for the colonies received very high testimonials from the officers of his regiment. Mr. Hart came out to New Zealand in the ship “Racehorse” in July, 1868, as a military settler. For a short time he carried on business in Auckland, and in the following September moved to the Thames, establishing himself in his present business in Pollen Street. He claims to be the oldest gunsmith at the Thames, and is well known to the sporting fraternity. Mr. Hart does an extensive business in manufacturing and repairing firearms, and is a direct importer of sportsmen's requisites from the leading manufacturers of England.
Mr. F. Battson.
Paterson, James, Tinsmith, Plumber, etc., Pollen Street, Thames. Mr. Paterson was born in Melbourne, Victoria, in 1865, and, when only four years of age, came to New Zealand with his father. Mr. W. K. Paterson, who was specially engaged to erect a mining battery at Tapn Creek. The family, shortly after arrival, settled at the Thames, and the subject of this notice received his education at the Hauraki Grammar School. At the age of fourteen he was apprenticed to Mr. G. McCaul, tinsmith and plumber, with whom he served his time (five years). As he was desirous of perfecting himself in his trade, at the expiration of his term of apprenticeship he moved to Auckland, where he remained for fifteen months for the purpose of acquiring a thorough knowledge of lead work. On his return to the Thames Mr. Paterson started for himself, and has built up a large and extensive business. His premises are most commodious, and admit of his carrying a heavy plant for manufacturing purposes. He makes a specialty of iron piping for the Cyanide Process, lead head nails, iron chimneys, etc., and does a large wholesale trade. He is also an expert in the ventilation of mines. His father, Mr. W. K. Paterson, is associated with him in the business. Several years ago the subject of this notice purchased a small paint manufacturing business from Messrs. T. and S. Morrin and Co., Ltd.; this has since been very much enlarged, new buildings, machinery, etc., having been added. The style of the firm is now the Thames Paint Manufacturing Company. A specialty is made of producing hematite paints, which are largely used for shipping and ironwork. These paints are made in several colours, and are used almost exclusively by the Union Steamship Company, as well as by the Government Railways of the North Island. The proprietor employs in all from thirty-five to forty hands, and has branches of the tinsmith, plumbing, and galvanized iron works at Waitekauri and Paeroa. Mr. Paterson became a member of the Thames Volunteer Fire Brigade in September, 1884, and in 1889 was elected captain; at the same time he was presented with a medal by the United Fire Brigades Association of New Zealand, and again in September, 1897, for a similar term of service. In 1894 he was delegate to the annual meeting of the Fire Brigades Association, held in that year at Napier. In February, 1896, Mr. Paterson received the appointment of fire inspector for the Thames; he has also during his term of service acted as treasurer for five years. In 1893 he resigned the captaincy of the brigade, and was promoted to the superintendency—a position which he holds at the present time. Mr. Paterson takes an active interest in friendly societies; he is a prominent member of the A.O.F. Court Pride of the North, and is also a member of the Sir Walter Scott Lodge of Freemasons.
Mr. J. Paterson.
Price, A. And G. (Alfred Price and George Price), Engineers and Ironfounders, Thames. This well known firm dates from 1868, when it established a business in Onehunga. Four years later it removed to the Thames, where its works front Beach, Burke, Brown, and Abraham Streets. The Messrs Price are well known as large iron and brass founders, general engineers, and boilermakers, and their extensive wood and iron buildings occupy almost the whole of two acres of land centrally situated in the borough of Thames. They are manufacturers of marine and stationary engines, and undertake repairing work as well as original construction. The workshops are well equipped with all the most modern appliances; the boilermaking plant is a very fine one; and the machinery is driven by a combination of engines propelled by water, steam, and gas, and equal to about fifty horse-power. The members of the firm are elsewhere referred to in connection with the Thames Borough Council.
Thames Iron Works (Charles Judd, proprietor), Queen Street and Kirkwood Street, Thames. Bankers, Bank of New South Wales. This extensive business was established about 1869 in a small way, by the present proprietor, and through his ability as a practical mechanist, combined with energetic business capacity, has been brought up to its present proportions. The premises have a frontage of 300 feet to Queen Street and a depth of over 130 feet to Kirkwood Street. On this area are erected several large buildings, which are divided for practical purposes into five departments. Each department is under the direction of an experienced foreman, and the entire works are personally supervised by Mr. Judd himself. The machinery and appliances throughout are of the latest and most improved designs. There are from fourteen to fifteen machines in constant use, including lathes, screwing, planing and drilling machines, fans and blowers, plate rolling and punching machines. Most of the welding is done by a huge steam hammer, with an exceptionally heavy striking force, and yet capable of very delicate manipulation. The heavier pieces of machinery operated upon are moved about by means of a powerful steam travelling crane, which can easily be handled by an apprentice. The machinery is driven by steam and water power, and the manufactures turned out consist chiefly of winding, pumping, sawmilling and general mining machinery. Many of the principal batteries on the goldfields, including one at Waihi, and one at Waitekauri, were manufactured by Mr. Judd. From twenty to thirty skilled workmen are employed in accordance with the amount of business in hand. Mr. Judd is a native of Hertfordshire, England, and learned his trade as engineer and ironfounder in Derbyshire. He came to New Zealand in 1859, and worked at his trade in Auckland for about ten years. He has had a thoroughly practical experience in his business, extending over forty years, and stands high in the esteem of his fellow workers.
Mr. J. West.
Smith, J. Hague and Co. (John Hague Smith), Hardware Merchants, Owen and Burke Streets, Thames. This large and prominent business was established by Messrs T. and S. Morrin, of Auckland, soon after the opening of the Thames goldfield in 1867. Subsequently Mr. C. J. Stone bought the business, which was repurchased a few years later by the founders, and conducted continuously till taken over by the present firm in 1889. The firm has a branch business at Paeroa, and another at Waihi, and both are separately mentioned in other articles. The firm extensively imports all classes of hardware, and does a very large trade in explosives and mining material.
Mr. John Hague Smith, A Colonist of over forty years' standing, was born at Grantham, Lincolnshire, England, in September, 1846, and came to Auckland in 1859 by the ship “Mataoka.” For a number of years Mr. Hague Smith was with his brother, Mr. S. Hague Smith, hardware merchant, in Auckland, and removed to Thames in 1874, on behalf of the late Mr. C. J. Stone, as manager of the large hardware business, which he conducted for about fifteen years, when he himself became proprietor. During his residence at Thames, Mr. Hague Smith has been largely interested in mining matters, and has been a director on numerous boards. He has also been for many years a Governor of the Thames High School, and was for several years a member of the Thames Harbour Board. Mr. Hague Smith has been connected with the Thames School of Mines from its inception, and for the past five years (1901) has occupied the position of treasurer of that institution. As a Freemason, Mr. Hague Smith has been connected with Lodge Sir Walter Scott, in which he held office as treasurer fourteen years. He married, in 1870, and has a family of three sons and two daughters.
Buckley, Roland, Saddler and Bootmaker, Brown Street, Thames. This business was established in 1896, in Albert Street, and was removed to Brown Street in 1900. There is a convenient shop with a large show window, and a workshop behind. Mr. Buckley keeps a well assorted stock of boots and saddlery, and undertakes the manufacture of either line on the premises. He was born in 1874 at the Thames, where he learned his business.
Scott, Robert, Bootmaker, Rolleston Street, Thames. Mr. Scott is an old pioneer settler, and was born in 1821 near Donegal, Ireland. His parents removed to Glasgow in 1830, and there he was apprenticed as a bootmaker. He arrived in Auckland by the ship “Jane Gifford” in 1842, and worked as a journeyman at his trade in the Bay of Islands for a year. Until the breaking out of Heke's war Mr. Scott was working as a bootmaker at Waimate, but in 1845 he removed to Auckland and commenced business on his own account in Queen Street. He settled at the Thames in October, 1867, and soon after the discovery of gold in the district, engaged in gold mining for a short time, but established his business as a bootmaker in 1868. Mr. Scott has been for twenty-one years a member of the Kauaeranga school committee and of the Kauaeranga Highway Board, of which he was at one time chairman. During the Waikato war he was forced into the Militia, and served afterwards in No. 6 Company as a volunteer—as private, corporal, and sergeant—for sixteen years. He was sergeant, and subsequently lieutenant, in the Thames Rifle Rangers. Mr. Scott was married, in 1842, to a daughter of the late Mr. J. Kerr, of County Tyrone, Ireland, and has six sons and one daughter, over fifty grandchildren, and five great-grandchildren.
Pyne, Charles Stuart, Butcher, Queen Street, Thames. This business was established in 1879, and has been conducted by the present proprietor since 1896. Mr. Pyne was born in London in 1840, and was brought up to business at Wolverhampton. He came out to Australia in 1855, but soon afterwards returned to England for a brief visit. In 1858 he arrived in Port Chalmers by the ship “Nourmahal,” and for some years he followed the goldfields in various part of the colony. At the time of the native troubles Mr. Pyne threw up good employment to join the 3rd Waikato Volunteers, and at the conclusion of the war, he settled at the Thames. Before entering on his present business he was for eight years storekeeping at Te Aroha. He was married, in 1868, to a daughter of Mr. W. Wright, of Ireland, and has one daughter—Mrs J. Parslow, of Waihi.
Walsh, James Henry, Butcher, Thames. Mr. Walsh was born at Otahuhu, Auckland, on the 28th of October, 1851 After leaving school he learned the trade of shoemaker with his father, who had a large establishment, and carried on an extensive business. The subject of this notice moved to the Thames in 1867, and was for four years employed at his trade; he then purchased an interest in the bakery business of Messrs. Adriane Warren and Co., and acted as manager up to the time he sold out some years later. Mr. Walsh then entered the employ of Mr. W. Bobbett, butcher, and, remaining with him some years, acquired a thorough knowledge of the business in which he subsequently engaged on his own account at Owharoa. After two years he sold out, and purchased the Owharoa Hotel, which he conducted for seven years, and about 1890 took over the extensive butchering establishment of Mr. John Neal, Owen Street, Thames, which he has since successfully conducted. Mr. Walsh became a member of the Thames Volunteer Fire Brigade on its organization, but, owing to business engagements, resigned a few years later. Rejoining in July, 1893, he was at once elected captain, but has since been succeeded by Mr. R. R. Menzies. Mr. Walsh was one of the first members of the Ohinemuri County Council, to which he was elected by a large majority, and claims to have been the first representative from that county to assist in the organisation of the Thames Hospital and Charitable Aid Boards.
Mr. J. H. Walsh.
Wells, Thomas George, Butcher, Brown Street. Mr. Wells was born at Onehunga in 1868, and accompanied his parents to the Thames when he was two years of age. He was educated in the district, and learned his business with his father, Mr. Frederick Wells. After an experience of some twelve years in the Napier district, in connection with his own trade, Mr. Wells established his present business in 1897. He was married, in 1881, to a daughter of Mr. D. Clark, of Peebleshire, Scotland, and has two sons and one daughter.
Mr. T. G. Wells' Premises.
Burra, Robert, Bookseller and Stationer, Fancy Goods and Music Dealer, Brown Street, Thames. Private residence, Queen Street. This business was established in 1870, and has been conducted by Mr Burra since 1874. The premises are erected on freehold land, and consist of a two-storey wooden building, with a very large shop and storeroom. Mr. Burra was born, in 1840, in Westmorland, England, and was educated in his native county and in Manchester, where he learned his trade. He arrived in Auckland by the ship “Portland” in 1863, found employment for six years in various parts of the provincial district, and went, in 1869, to the Thames, where, five years later, he established his present business. As a Freemason, Mr. Burra is attached to Lodge Sir Walter Scott, N.Z.C.
Mr. R. Burra.
Nodder, John, Bookseller and Stationer, Pollen Street, Thames. Mr. Nodder was born in Sheffield, England, in 1836, and was educated at the Lancastrian School. He served nine years as an apprentice to the file manufacturing trade, and came to Auckland in 1858 by the ship “Caduceus.” After a short stay in Auckland he went to the Thames, where he found employment in road-making. He was afterwards in Wellington, and subseqently for four years in the Nelson district, where he and three other men drove the first sheep from the Awatere Valley to the head of the Grey River. In 1864 he started for Auckland, but went ashore at New Plymouth while the steamer was discharging cases, and was requisitioned under martial law and sworn in as a volunteer. He was engaged with the Taranaki Bush Rangers, in which he became a sergeant, and served till 1869. At the time of the White Cliff's massacre Mr. Nodder gained the New Zealand war medal for active service. He settled at the Thames page 891 in 1869, and was employed as a teacher for two years. In 1872 he founded his business as a bookseller and stationer, in connection with which he has since been well known at the Thames. Mr. Nodder has taken a prominent part in all temperance movements, and has been active in the formation of Orders of Rechabites and Good Templars. He has passed all the chairs in the Star of Hauraki Tent, I.O.R., and was its secretary for ten years. He was a Past District Chief Ruler of the New Zealand District No. 1, and Deputy of the Grand Lodge, I.O.G.T. for twenty years. Mr. Nodder was for twenty-six years Superintendent of the Juvenile Tent of Rechabites, and was presented with an inscribed watch in recognition of his services. He was married, in 1867, to a daughter of the late Mr. S. Howell, of New Plymouth, and has four sons and four daughters.
Browne, M. and Co. (Edward McDonnell, J.P.), Grain and Produce Merchants, Albert Street, Thames. Private residence, Shortland. This business was founded in 1868 by Mr. Michael Browne, whose name it still bears. Mr. McDonnell, who bought the business in 1875, and is the sole proprietor, is referred to in another article as a member of the Thames Harbour Board.
Ellis, Charles Jackson, Storekeeper, Tararu Road, Thames. Mr. Ellis is an old settler, and was born at Canwick, near Lincoln, England, in 1834. He arrived in Auckland by the ship “Mataoka in 1859, was for four years at a special settlement at Mongonui, north of the Bay of Islands, and afterwards spent about two years at a copper mine on the Great Barrier, and two years in Auckland in the engineering shops. In August, 1867, he arrived at the Thames with the pioneers in the cutter “Severn.” Mr. Ellis has had a large experience in mining in the district, as an engineer and a battery manager, and his business as a storekeeper dates from 1869. It has been managed for several years by his family.
Ellis, Richard Henry, Storekeeper, Tararu, Thames. Mr. Ellis is a son of Mr. Charles Jackson Ellis, who came to New Zealand in 1859, settled at Mongonui for a few years, and in 1868 moved to the Thames, where he began his business life at the age of 15 years. He was employed in various stores, and also assisted his father in the conduct of a grocery business. In 1880 Mr. Ellis, senior, purchased a general store at Tararu, and his son assisted in its management until about 1887, when he took over the business from his father. Since that time he has conducted it very successfully, and has worked up a considerable connection. Mr. Ellis is a native of Lincolnshire, England, where he was born in 1859—a few months before his parents sailed for New Zealand. He has been a member of the Corinthian Masonic Lodge, No. 1655, E.C., for over fifteen years, and has passed through the various chairs of that lodge, including that of master. He was for many years a member of the Tararu School Committee, holding the position of hon. secretary for several years. and that of chairman for one year. Mr. Ellis is a vestryman of St. George's Anglican Church, Thames.
Mr. R. H. Ellis.
Hansen Brothers, General Storekeepers, Pollen Street, Thames. This business was founded by the father of the present owners, Mr. J. E. Hansen, a native of Denmark, who came out to the Australian colonies when nearly twenty years of age. Landing in Victoria in 1858, he followed mining pursuits on the goldfields of Bendigo, and was also for a time employed in the building of railroads. In 1861 Mr. Hansen crossed over to New Zealand in the S.S. “Tasmania” with a large number of others, with the intention of joining in the Gabriel's Gully “rush.” After engaging in mining pursuits on that and other goldfields of Otago, Mr. Hansen gravitated to the Thames in 1868, and opened a general store; this he carried on till recently, when he was succeeded by his sons in what is now claimed to be the oldest established business of its kind in the town. The Telephone and Telegraph Offices for the Shortland district are located in the store. Mr. Hansen represented the South Ward in the Thames Borough Council in 1878–79, but, his private business requiring his whole attention, he did not seek re-election. He now (1901) lives in retirement at Parawai, Thames.
Loughlin, James Mcgowan, Produce and Provision Merchant, and Commission Agent, Pollen Street, Central Thames. Bankers, Bank of New South Wales. Mr. Loughlin is a son of the late Mr. John Loughlin, who came to New Zealand about 1866. The subject of this notice was born in 1868, and went to the Thames with his parents shortly after the opening of the goldfields. He began his business life in the employ of Mr. Alexander Carl, grocer, and two years later, when Mr. James McGowan purchased that business, continued in the latter's employ, managing various of his grocery shops for some five years. Subsequently Mr. Loughlin engaged in mining pursuits, devoting a large portion of his time to prospecting and working claims of his own. He has had a varied and practical experience upon the goldfields, and, being of an observant nature, has acquired a thorough knowledge of gold mining in all its aspects. In May, 1893, Mr. Loughlin purchased his present business premises, and established the nuclens of his now large and extensive page 892 trade as wholesale and retail provision merchant; he also deals largely in horses, buggies, waggons, etc., besides which his business place is the emporium for large quantities of produce from the outlying agricultural districts. Mr. Loughlin takes considerable interest in all local matters, and was at one time the popular captain of the boating club. Being one of the most enlightened and practical young men of the Thames, he is likely to make his mark in the future.
Mr. J. M. Loughlin.
Patterson, James, Storekeeper, Owen Street, Thames. This business dates back to the 21st of May, 1868, when it was established by the proprietor, who has since been well known on the Thames, and prominently as a Freemason under the Irish Constitution, and as a member of the Orange Lodge.
Reid, W. D. , Wholesale and Retail Grocer, and Insurance and Commission Agent, Pollen Street, Thames. Mr. Reid, accompanied by his wife, settled at the Thames in 1867, established his present business in the following year, and has ever since conducted it. He acts as agent for the Standard and North Queensland Insurance Companies, and for the New Zealand Accident Company. Mr. Reid is further referred to in another article as an ex-member of the Thames Borough Council.
Roberts, J. And S. (Joseph Roberts and Stephen Roberts), General Storekeepers, Pollen Street, Thames. Branches at Waihi and Waikino. Bankers. Bank of New South Wales. This business was conducted by Mr. Gavin Wallace for some years before it was purchased by the Messrs Roberts in 1899. Mr. Joseph Roberts is elsewhere referred to as an ex-member of the Borough Council, and the firm's branches are noticed under Waihi and Waikino respectively.
Wood, William, General Storekeeper, Pollen Street, Thames. Mr. Wood was born in London in 1847, and was educated in South Africa, where he lived for thirteen years. He came to Auckland in 1866, and settled at the Thames in the following year, soon after the opening of the goldfield. During the first few years of his colonial life Mr. Wood was engaged in mining, and was interested in mines in New South Wales, on the Palmer, and in other parts of Australia. In 1876 he established himself in business at the Thames as a fruiterer, and has since then built up a substantial trade. His premises consist of three buildings, which are devoted to the sale of crockery, seeds, produce, grocery, and fruit. As a member of the Independent Order of Rechabites. Mr. Wood is attached to the Star of Hauraki Tent. A few years ago he went to England, via America and Canada, and saw the Chicago Exhibition, and on the return journey he visited South Africa. He was married, in 1879, to a daughter of Mr. S. Herringshaw, of Lincoln, England, and has three sons and two daughters.
The Thames Gas Company, Limited, Head Office, Queen Street, Auckland. This Company possesses a capital of £25,000 in 10,000 shares of £2 10s each, of which £1 18s 6d per share has been called up. Dividends have been paid regularly from the first year, and six per cent. has been the ruling rate for a number of years. The works are crected on a freehold section one acre in extent, at the corner of Mary and Queen Streets. There is a complete gas making plant, a large holder 50 feet in diameter, with a capacity of about 30,000 feet. Mains are laid throughout the borough, and in the immediate suburbs, to the extent of about seven miles, and there are 450 consumers.
Mr. Robert Wilson, the Manager of the Thames Gas Company, was born in Lanarkshire, Scotland, and, after receiving a good education at the public schools, served his time to the building trade. He came to New Zealand in January, 1864, by the sailing vessel “Aboukir,” and resided for a few months at Dunedin, where he worked at his trade. In December of the same year he removed to Auckland, and entered the employ of the Auckland Gas Company, with which he had a long experience, and thus acquired thorough knowledge of the manufacture and distribution of gas. On the formation of the Thames Gas Company in 1872, Mr. Wilson proceeded to that district, and, after erecting the works, assumed his present position. He is a thoroughly practical man in his particular line of business, and has by his ability and energy made the company a pronounced success. Mr. Wilson formerly identified himself with municipal matters, but of late years has given his entire attention to his business duties. He was a member of the Thames Borough Council for four years, and of the Thames Harbour Board for a like period, but resigned both offices.
Rickit and Co. (James Rickit), Livery Stable Keepers, Brown Street, Thames. This firm dates from 1875. The premises contain fifty stalls and five loose boxes, and about forty horses and thirty conveyances are used in connection with the business.
Gillespie And Son (H. C. Gillespie, J.P., and H. G. Gillespie, F.I.A.N.Z.), Timber Merchants, Shipping and Commission Agents and Valuers, Brown Street, Thames. This partnership has existed since 1897, when the firm was appointed by the Government to value the borough of Thames. Messrs Gillespie and Son act as agents for Messrs Parker, Lamb and C., and the Mountain Rimu Timber Company, and for the Northern page 893 Steamship Company, the Colonial Mutual Life, Imperial, and Liverpool and London and Globe Fire Insurance Companies.
Mr. H. Gibbons Gillespie, F.I.A.N.Z., was born in 1871 at the Thames, and was educated at the Parawai School and Thames High School. His commercial life began in his father's office, where he served for five years; he was for some time afterwards accountant at the office of the Thames “Star.” In 1896 he began business on his own account, and became a member of the Thames Stock Exchange, entering the firm of Gillespie and Son in the following year. In 1899 Mr Gillespie passed his examination as a Fellow of the Institute of Accountants of New Zealand. He has taken a general interest in athletics in the district, and was secretary of the Thames Athletic and Gymnastic Club, and also of the Hauraki Rowing Club.
Mr. H. G. Gillespie.
The Kauri Timber Company, Ltd. (Robert Barlow Hudson, manager), Thames. Head Office, Customs Street West, Auckland. Mills, East and West Coast. This company carries on an extensive colonial and intercolonial trade, and holds the largest stock of seasoned kauri timber in New Zealand. The business as a whole is referred to at page 421 of this volume.
Mr. Robert Barlow Hudson, Local Manager for the Kauri Timber Company at Thames, was born in Auckland in 1859. He is a son of the late Mr. Richard Hudson, an old mining identity, who came to the Colony in the early days. Mr. Hudson was educated at the public schools of Auckland, and when seventeen years of age he entered the public service in the Postal Department. He was soon removed to the Thames, where he served in the department for five years, when he returned to Auckland, and after a further period of two years, he withdrew from the service and established himself as a fruit grower at the Thames. Mr. Hudson has nearly five acres of land laid out in a fine orchard, which annually yields many tons of fruit, for which there is a ready sale. In 1890 he entered the service of the Kauri Timber Company, Ltd., as accountant at the Thames branch, and was afterwards advanced to the position of manager. As an active member of the Congregational Church, Mr. Hudson has for several years held the post of secretary and treasurer to that body.
Lamb Bros. (Peter Lamb and Alexander Lamb), Timber Merchants, and Builders' Ironmongers, Mary and Queen Streets, Thames. This business was established in 1870. The partners, who were born in Scotland, came to New Zealand in the early fifties, and have been prominent in connection with the timber trade.
Steedman, James Bramwell, Farmer, Waikawau, County of Thames. Mr. Steedman was born in 1838, in Perth, Scotland, where he also received his education. Apprenticed to the engineering with the Scottish Central Railway Company, he served under that company for eight years. Influenced by the growing importance of New Zealand, he set sail for the Colony in the good ship “Joseph Fletcher,” arriving at Auckland in 1859. Here he followed his profession in various capacities until the Maori War broke out in the Waikato, when, accepting an engagement under the Government as assistant to Mr. James Stewart, C.E., he proceeded to Waikato Heads to assist in the erection of the Government gunboats, which had been designed by Mr. Stewart and built in Sydney, and had been brought over in sections. The War being over, Mr. Steedman entered into business in the Waikato, and subsequently, on the discovery of the Thames Goldfields, proceeded thither, being among the first to arrive. He then followed a “rush” to Tapu, meeting with considerable success. In the following year he was appointed manager and confidential adviser to Messrs. Brown, Campbell and Co., in their mining business, retaining that position for over twenty years, until, in fact, the firm closed this branch of their business. He then took other managements, including the “Golden Gem” and other mines in the Waiomo district. The “Golden Gem” having been sold, he retired to his farm at Waikawau, where he engaged largely in fruit-growing for some years. The mining boom of 1895 commencing, however, his services were again in request. After opening up several mines in the Waitekauri district, he received the appointment of manager of the Hauraki North Mine, and materially assisted in bringing that property again into prominence. Mr. Steedman is a member of the Sir Walter Scott Lodge of Freemasons, Thames. Amongst other positions, he was chairman of the school committee for over ten years, also a member of the Thames County Council and other local bodies for a number of years, while he has always taken an active part in the advancement of his district. As a cricketer. Mr. Steedman is still remembered. At the age of eighteen he was selected as one of Scotland's twenty-two against an All England eleven. He represented Auckland against All England in the match played at Ellerslie, and it might also be mentioned that as far back as 1860, when the first interprovincial cricket match between Auckland and Wellington was played at Wellington, he represented Auckland, and contributed largely towards winning the match for his province. Mr. Steedman is at present (June, 1901) devoting himself to his farm at Waikawau.
Mr. J. B. Steedman.
Mr. Williams Culpitt, Old Colonist, has been in business as a saddler on the Thames since 1869. He was born in Alderborough, Suffolk, England, in 1826, and was brought up to his trade in Ipswich. In 1864 he came to Auckland by the ship “Columbus,” and after working as a journeyman in that city for a short time, removed to the Thames in 1867 with the pioneers of the district. He was married, in 1853, to a daughter of Mr. Perkins, of Bury, St. Edmonds. This lady died in 1855, leaving at son. At Dublin in 1859, Mr. Culpitt entered into a second marriage, and Mrs Culpitt was spared for forty years, but died in 1895, leaving five sons and two daughters. In 1897 Mr. Culpitt was married to a daughter of Mr. J. McLaren, of Glasgow, and sister of Mr. J. M. McLaren, well known on the Thames.
Mr. James Darrow has long been prominent as an enterprising colonist. He was born in 1840 in Belfast, Ireland, came out to Victoria in 1858, and after following the goldfields in that colony for four years, removed to Otago, where he was at Gabriel's Gully and Weatherstones. After a year he returned to Victoria, and having sold out his interest in Inglewood, returned to Otago, and was at the Hartley and Riley “rush.” page 894 Subsequently he went into the carting and carrying business between Dunedin and the Dunstan, when £120 a ton was charged for the trip. Subsequently Mr. Darrow built stables at Invercargill, and came to the Thames in September, 1867. For three years he was manager of the Una battery, and subsequently of the Tararu Creek, Flora Macdonald, and Queen of Beauty batteries. About 1880 he had a contract for reclamation under the Government, and afterwards contracted for the supply of 100,000 sleepers, which he floated down a water-race four miles in length, constructed by himself. Since that Mr. Darrow has been largely engaged in the timber business. As a public man he served for five years on the licensing bench, and as a Freemason he is attached to Lodge Sir Walter Scott. Mr. Darrow has always taken a deep interest in the progress of mining in the district. He was married, in 1869, to a daughter of Mr J. Taylor, of the Thames, and has seven sons and two daughters.
Mr William Lang Thorburn is one of the very Old Settlers of the colony. He was born in Glasgow in 1819, and accompanied his parents to America. Two years later the family returned to Scotland, and Mr. Thorburn became an engineer and practical mechanic in Glasgow. He arrived in Auckland by the ship “Duchess of Argyle” in 1842, and settled in Mechanics' Bay, where he continued for ten years. In 1850 he went to California as a digger, but returned to Auckland after a few months. Subsequently he had three years' experience on the New South Wales and Victorian goldfields. In July, 1868, having returned to the colony, he settled at the Thames, and was for many years actively engaged in mining. He was for a number of years mine manager of the Wild Missouri mine, and was afterwards mining successfully on his own account. Subsequently he was engineer at the celebrated Caledonian mine, and was afterwards battery manager at the Golden Crown battery for about ten years. Mr. Thorburn was married, in 1839, to a daughter of the late Mr. A. Spiers, of Glasgow. This lady died in 1893, leaving seven daughters and five sons, and one daughter has since died. Mr. Thorburn has over 100 grandchildren.
Mr. George Wilson, sometime Inspecting Engineer to the Mines Department, was born in 1837 in the north of Scotland, and emigrated to Victoria in 1855. There he was engaged in mining pursuits until he volunteered at the outbreak of the Waikato War in 1863, and came to this Colony. Shortly after his arrival in Auckland he joined the 1st Waikato Militia and afterwards joined the Forest Rangers under Major Von Tempsky, serving with them until they were disbanded. Mr. Wilson proceeded to the Thames in 1868 and engaged in mining. He entered the Government service in 1879, filling various positions in connection with mining, until 1896, when he was appointed Inspecting Engineer to the Mines Department. Mr. Wilson resigned in 1897, and now resides at the Thames.
Mr. William Ferguson, who acts for the Northern Steamship Company at the Thames wharf, was born in 1834 in Belfast, Ireland. He was brought up as a wholesale grocer, and was engaged in mercantile life in his native place till 1859, when he arrived in Auckland by the ship “Whirlwind.” Mr. Ferguson spent ten years at Whangarei as a general contractor, and settled at the Thames in 1869, when he commenced business in carting and delivering goods. He has been for the last fourteen years in the Northern Steamship Company's employment. Mr. Ferguson was married, in 1859, to a daughter of the late Mr. N. White, of Belfast, and has four sons.
Mr. W. Ferguson.