The Cyclopedia of New Zealand [Wellington Provincial District]
Sports, Games, And Pastimes
Sports, Games, And Pastimes.
Wellington Amateur Athletic Club. The officers for this Club for 1895 were—Messrs. H. D. Bell, M.H.R., president; C. A. Knapp, J. W. Davis, J. M. King, L. O. H. Tripp, vice-presidents; H. T. McCardell, secretary; and A. M. Stuart, treasurer. The committee consists of Messrs. Kruft, Cooper, Leingham, Gore, Hawthorne, Marchbanks, Hempton, and Galbraith. The Club started with fifty-one members and held its inaugural meeting on the 22nd of January, 1889. The principal event of that meeting was the 120 yards hurdle championship of New Zealand, which was won by Batger in seventeen seconds. In October, 1891, the Club amalgamated with the Wellington Cycling Club, but in August, 1893, reverted to its old position, as the inclusion of cycling did not seem to help that sport much. At the end of its first year it had a cash balance in hand of £9 15s. 8d. In 1894 the balance to credit was £40 6s. 11d., while the Club's assets were valued at £135 6s. 11d. The Club has paid the City Council £90 as rent for the Basin Reserve. In November, 1890, Batger, one of the Club's members, put up the record of sixteen-and-one-fifth seconds for the 120 yards hurdles. In July, 1892, Batger and Hempton, two of the Club's members, represented New Zealand at the English Championship meeting at Stamford Bridge, London. The cross country race was inaugurated by the Club in October, 1892, and won that year by N. Gurr. In 1893 the Club was runner-up for the champion banner, securing forty-eight points to forty-nine by Canterbury, which won. At Dunedin in the following year the Wellington Amateur Athletic Club won the banner with fifty-two points. At Napier in 1895 the Club scored twenty-one points to Auckland's thirty-two points for the Banner. The greatest number of competitors taking part in a Club meeting up to the present was ninety-eight in 1893.
Mr. Harry Thomas McCardell, Secretary of the Wellington Amateur Athletic Club, was born in Christchurch in 1858. He was educated at Christ's College, and subsequently joined the New Zealand Survey Department. At college Mr. McCardell took an active part in athletics. As a member of the College Football Club's first fifteen he was chosen to represent his province, and played for Canterbury in interprovincial matches in 1875, 1876, 1878, 1879 and 1883. He also played as a three-quarter in the Wellington representative team in 1882 and 1886. In May, 1879 he competed at the South Canterbury Amateur Athletic Club's championship meeting, winning the 100, 250, 440, 120 yards hurdles, and the long jump, and coming second in the 880 yards and hop, step and jump, winning the champion cup and gold medal for the greatest number of points at the meeting. He also gained Parker's challenge cup at this meeting. Mr MeCardell was in the same year chosen to represent the Wellington Amateur Athletic Club, at Wellington, in an inter-club contest with the Wanganui Amateur Athletic Club. He has passed the Junior and Senior Civil Service Examinations, and at present is an assistant draughtsman in the General Survey Office, Wellington. Mr McCardell was hon. secretary to the Wellington Rugby Football Union for three years, and served the Wellington Cricket Association as its secretary for two years. He also acts as delegate for the Canterbury Union on the council of the New Zealand Rugby Union.
Caledonian Society of Wellington. This Society was established in 1885. The offices for 1895 were:—President, Mr. James Russell; vice-presidents, Messrs. David Ross and Alexander Cameron; directors (eighteen), Colonel Hume, Messrs. John Jack, J. Duthie, M.H.R., Jas. Barry, Chas. Stewart, D. S. Gray, Jas. Hutchens, Geo. Wilson, Jas. Marchbanks, Geo. Pine, John Ross, A. S. Paterson, Captain Strang, John Young, E. Wilson, J. McDowell, Jas. McLellan, and W. Cable. All the directors are judges for the games. The Society holds a sports gathering in the Basin Reserve every New Year's Day, and an annual page 416 concert in the month of September. Other office-bearers in the Society are:—Starter, Mr. C. Stewart; handicapper, Mr. Harry McCardell; referee, Mr. A. S. Paterson; secretary, Mr. Jas. B. Speed; treasurer, Mr. John Jack; auditors, Messrs. J. Russell and J. Hutchens; director of music, Mr. John Jack.
Wellington Harriers' Club. Messrs. H. D. Bell, M.H.R. (president), C. P. Skerrett, and G. F. C. Campbell (vice-presidents), G. B. Nicholls (captain), S. R. Hawthorne (secretary), and P. Caffin (treasurer). This Club exists for the promotion of long distance running. During the sessions, which are from September to the 15th of December, and the 15th of January to the 31st of March, club runs of from five to eight miles are held every Wednesday night, and a hare and hounds run. monthly. The Club was founded by Messrs. C. D. Morpeth and G. B. Nieholls. The membership is fifty, and the subscription 5s. per annum. Any amateur runner may become a member. The Club's colours are black with red stripe. It has established a five-mile championship race for a trophy presented by the president. The present holder is Mr. S. R. Hawthorne.
The New Zealand Amateur Rowing Association, which controls the conditions of amateur rowing competition in the Colony, was founded in 1337 by the late Mr. William FitzGerald, the then captain of the Star Boating Club, Wellington, and now has affiliated to it a total of forty-three clubs, which represents all the clubs in New Zealand that are eligible for membership. The institution ia one that rowing men have every reason to be proud of, as it has placed the sport on a sound amateur basis. The officers of the Association, for the current, season (1895–96) are as follows:—Patron, His Excellency the Governor, Lord Glasgow; president, Mr. Joseph Gould, Christchurch; vice-presidents, Messrs. E. C. Rutherford, Picton, and R. B, Smith, Napier; hon. secretary and treasurer, Mr. A. M. Burns, Wellington; Council, Messrs. E. C. Batkin, A. S. Biss, W. H. Field, A. G. Johnson, J. C. Martin, W. Boss, and L. O. H. Tripp, all of Wellington; Association representatives at other centres, Messrs. E. W. Burgess (Auckland), W. H. Tylee (Napier), W. Rodwell (Wanganui), H. A. Sharp (Marlborough), J. F, Grierson (Canterbury), W. J. P. Hodgkins (Otago and Southland). The championship events under the auspices of the Association are rowed for annually at the one regatta, and comprise: Four-oar (with coxswain), two miles; double scull, pair-oar, and single sculls, each one mile and a half. Pieton Harbour is the favourite course for the Championship Regatta, Negotiations are at present proceeding with the Amateur Bowing Associations in the various Australian colonies for the establishment of an annual contest for the four-oared championship of Australia, and if satisfactory arrangements can be made, it is the intention of the New Zealand Association to send a crew to Australia to contest the title during the present season.
The Wellington Rowing Club is one of the best-known aquatic institutions in New Zealand, and its name is associated with some of the finest oarsmen and scullers the Colony has produced. The present Club was revived from the old Wellington Rowing Club in 1884, and from that date has had a very successful career on the water. Perhaps the Club is most widely known from the victories of its famous four-oared crew—W. Bridson, E. J. Rose, T. Sullivan, and T. McKay—the members of which during 1889–90 carried off the four championships under the auspices of the New Zealand Amateur Rowing Association. “Tom” Sullivan won the amateur sculling championship of the Colony in 1890, being coached by Captain Falconer, of the Torpedo Corps, who is a life active member of the Club. After leaving Wellington, Sullivan entered the professional ranks, and was beaten by Stanbury in the race for the championship of the world, but subsequently secured the title of champion of England, which he recently surrendered to Harding. The Club has a valuable plant, and its membership roll for the current season stands at 176. Its officers are as follows:—President, Mr. Joseph Sounders; vice-presidents, Sir Robert Stout, M.H.R., Messrs. John Duthie, M.H.B., John Rose, J. E. Hayes, and Marcus F, Marks; captain, Mr. William Ross; deputy-captain, Mr. S. Waters, jun.; hon. secretary, Mr. A. M. Burns; hon. treasurer, Mr. J. Patterson; general committee, Messrs. A. J. Bishop, J. Darby, A. Sargeant, P. Grahame, G. White, J. E. Crawford, and B. J. Finucane; selection committee, Messrs. W. Ross, A. J. Bishop, and P. Grahame. The Club is one of the largest on the roll of membership of the New Zealand Amateur Rowing Association, and has secured twelve of the championships since the institution of these events in 1888, In the social sphere, the Club is noted for the thorough success of its social gatherings, which are held during the winter months.
Mr. Alex. M. Burns, who holds the dual position of honorary secretary and treasurer of the New Zealand Amateur Rowing Association, and honorary secretary of the Wellington Rowing Club, was born at Lawrence, Otago, in 1871, and was educated at the Riverton District High School, and Invercargill Boys' High School. On leaving school, he joined the literary staff of the Marlborough Daily Times, Blenheim, and after serving a short apprenticeship in this position, he was appointed to a vacancy in the head office of the New Zealand Press Association at Wellington, and has been attached to the staff ever since—a period of six years. Mr. Burns' experience of active rowing has been confined to club racing, of which he has done a large share. He has held the position of secretary of the page 417 Wellington Rowing Club since 1892, and as such is well-known to rowing men throughout the Colony, He was unanimously elected secretary and treasurer of the governing body on the voluntary retirement of Mr. A. S. Biss from office in 1895. His genial and sunny nature, great capacity for work, and keen attention to administrative detail are responsible for his popularity.
Star Boating Club. Officers, Messrs. E. Pearce (president), W. H. Field (captain), N. Galbraith (deputy-captain), C. Pearce (secretary), and H. L. Wiggins (treasurer). The committee consists of Messrs. G. H. Bethune, G. C. Fache, C. A. Knapp, W. H. Morrah, A. H. Barnett, and C. B. Trimnell. This fine Club was established in 1865; it is the largest in the Colony, its members numbering some 360. The building owned and occupied by the Club is situate on the reclaimed land, and presents a handsome front to the harbour. It provides full accommodation for the large and valuable plant, besides a social and reading-room, a complete gymnasium, comfortable dressing-rooms, and other conveniences. The social and reading-room, situate on the first floor, is a large apartment, from which a magnificent view of the shipping and harbour is obtainable. It is supplied with daily, weekly, and illustrated papers. The Star Boating Club possesses one of the most complete plants in the Colony. It is fully up-to-date, a great portion having been recently imported from England. In 1884 an eight- oar rowing boat arrived in Wellington to the order of the Club, this being the first boat of its kind to reach the Colony. The engraving given above is an excellent representation of these fine boatsheds.
Mr. William Hughes Field, who for the past six years has been Captain of the Star Boating Club, is the son of Mr. H. C. Field, of Wanganui, where he was born. Educated at Wellington College, he served his articles with Mr. C. H. Borlase, solicitor, of Wanganui. In 1885 he joined the firm of Messrs Buckley, Stafford, and Treadwell, and five years later was admitted a barrister and solicitor of the Supreme Court of New Zealand. On the Hon. Sir P. A. Buckley's elevation to the Supreme Court Bench, Mr. Field was admitted a partner. He has long taken a keen interest in the Star Boating Club, having rowed in representative crews successfully for many years past. In 1893 Mr. Field was married to the daughter of Mr. W. M. Hodgkins, barrister and solicitor, of Dunedin—who is well known as an artist and as president of the Otago Art Society—and has two daughters.
Port Nicholson Yacht Club. This Club was formed in 1883, and holds a regatta annually on the 22nd of January. Its club-room is in the Empire Hotel, Wellington, and it has seventy subscribing and seven honorary members. The officers for 1895 were commodore, Mr. E. W. Mills; vice-commodore, Mr. George Mee; rear-commodore, Mr. R. Turnbull; treasurer, Mr. J. H. H. Jack; secretary, Mr. J. B. Speed. Committee:—Messrs. Laing, Dean, Winstanley, McLean, and Gibbons. Auditors:—Messrs. Symons and Hall. Starter, timekeeper and handicapper, Mr. A. G. Dixon. Measurers:—Messrs. Carrington and FitzGerald. The Club's colours are black and red, and the fleet numbers sixteen yachts. The champion yacht of the club in 1895 was the “Waitangi,” and also in 1896.
Arawa Sailing Club. This Club was formed to encourage the building and the sailing of boats. The officers for 1895 are:—Commodore, Mr. T. Y. Wardrop; vice-commodore, Mr. A, H. Turabull; rear-commodore, Mr. J. Chalmers; secretary Mid treasurer, Mr. C. M. Banks; auditor, Mr. E, M. Silk; handicappers, Messrs. W. J. Osborn and H. G. Smith; starter, timekeeper, and measurer, Mr. E. Gell; committee, Messrs. C. M. Banks, J. Chalmers, M. Chapman, Dr. F. W. Mackenzie, W. Moore, E. M. Silk, A. H. Turnbutl, T. Y. Wardrop. The Club holds regattas and organises races during the season. The annual subscription is five shillings. The Club's flag is a triangular blue flag with a white diamond on it.
Thorndon Yacht Club. This Club was formed to provide a shed (which was built on Thorndon Quay in October 1889) for the accommodation of yachts and yacht properties, and a club-room for yachtsmen. The shed is being extended, and when finished will be a two-story wooden building about fifty feet in length, costing about £400, the money being raised by debentures amongst yachtsmen, subscriptions from members and rents from yacht-owners. The Club has a yearly income of over £50. Its affairs are managed by a committee, a captain and a secretary. The captain for 1895 was Mr. Martin Chapman, the secretary and treasurer Mr. A. B. Dean, and the committee Messrs. H. P. Bawson, J. Jack, and G. Mee. The fleet attached to the shed consists of fifteen yachts, the best known of which is the champion yacht Waitangi, The Club is registered under the Unclassified Societies Act.
Wellington Amateur Swimming Club. Officers (1896):—Dr. Chapple (president), Sir Robert Stout, M.H.R., Messrs. H. D. Bell, M.H.R., J. Duthie, M.H.R., W. Allen. T. Shields, and C. M. Luke (vice-presidents), F. Pullen (captain), T. Evans (sub-captain), E. J. Fleming (hon. treasurer), W. Ross (starter and timekeeper), R. C. Renner, H. Dacre, G. Read, L. Partridge, B. Grimmel (committee), R. Hood (auditor). This successful Club, which was founded in 1894 by Messrs. R. C. Benner, T, Evans, J. Driscoll, and E. J. Fleming, has a membership of one hundred. The first annual competition, held in 1895, was a great success.
Mr. Ernest Joseph Fleming, the Hon. Secretary, was born in Timaru in 1866. He was educated at East Christchurch School, and entered the railway station, Christchurch, as a cadet, on the 24th of May, 1883. He was speedily promoted to the position of booking clerk, which he held for seven years. In 1890 he was transferred to the Accountant's branch in Wellington as clerk. Me. Fleming has always advocated swimming as a healthy recreation. He is an expert in the Monte Christo feat, the performer being tied in a sack and thrown into a bath, where he liberates himself, to the amazement of the spectators.
North Island Bowling Association of New Zealand. Officers (1890):—Mr. William Gorrie (Auckland), president; J. Bennie (Wanganui), vice-president; J. H. Mentiplay (Wellington), hon. secretary and treasurer. The Council is composed of delegates from the affiliated clubs, which number fifteen. The Association was founded in 1892; it governs bowling generally, as well as making rules for the guidance of clubs and for the conduct of competitions. Tournaments are held each alternate year. At Easter, 1894, a successful tournament was held in Napier. The last one was fixed for the 24th of February, 1896, in Wellington, the prizes being silver-mounted bowls and certificates. There are about one thousand members belonging to the various affiliated clubs.
Newtown Bowling Club, Limited. The Club's ground covers nearly half an acre, and is situated in Mansfield Street, South Wellington. The shares are 350 of £3 each, none of which is called up. The Club was instituted in May, 1893. The number of members is ninety-two. The ex-presidents are Messrs. H. J. H. Blow, J. Telford and W. G. Tustin. President, J. Danks; vice-president, G, B. Prince; directors, A. Morris, J. McLean, W. F. Richards, J. N. Astill, T. L. Blyth; treasurer, J. H. Davies; secretary, William H. Butterworth, 79 Daniel Street, Newtown. The Club was instituted by a number of Newtown residents, very few of whom had previously played bowls. The Club has so far had a very successful career both financially and from a sporting point of view, having held its own with the two senior clubs in various competitions.
Thorndon Bowling Club, Limited. The present club, which has been registered as a limited liability company, took over from the liquidators of the old Thorndon Bowling Club the lease of the ground, pavilion, and appurtenances in Tinakori Boad. The Club has a capital of £1500 in 300 shares of £5, which, however have not all been allotted. The Club is managed by seven directors, a secretary, and a treasurer. The membership stands at sixty. The Club has been fairly successful on the green, and at the New Zealand Bowling Tournament of 1895 the only rink from the Club was second in the rink competition. The Club's secretary is Mr. P. Macintyre, Treasury Office, Wellington.page 419
Wellington Bowling Club. This Club was founded in 1886 by Colonel Hume, Dr. Macgregor, Messrs T. J. W. Gale, W. N. Blair, and W. M. Maskell. The latter gentleman was its first secretary. The officers associated with him were:—President, Mr. G. S. Cooper; vice-president, Mr. J. Duthie; treasurer, Colonel Hume. The year it was formed the Club acquired its present green, which is an acre in extent, in Wordsworth Street. In 1893 the handsome pavilion was erected at a cost of £400. The Club has a membership of 150, The directors for 1895 were Messrs. F. F. Grady (president), Jas. McLellan (vice-president), Captain E. A. Edwin (secretary), Thos. Ballinger (treasurer), Jno. Blundell, W. Gray, T. Scoullar, W. N. Muir, and T, J. W. Gale. The Club holds the premier position amongst the Wellington bowling clubs.
The New Zealand Chess Association was established in Christchurch about the end of 1892 with a membership of five senior and two junior clubs. The annual subscription was fixed at £2 2s. senior, £1 1s. junior, and £1 1s. honorary members. The officers were—president, the Hon. Sir Robert Stout, K.C.M.G.; vice-presidents, His Honor Mr. Justice Dermiston, Mr. H. Hookharn (Canterbury), His Honor Mr. Justica Williams and Mr. J. Roberts, G. (Otago), and the Hon. J. Bryce and Mr. C. W. Benbow (Wellington). Hon. Secretary and Treasurer, Mr. P. W. Tait, Wellington. Under former organizations, congresses to decide who should be chess champion for the Colony had been held at irregular intervals. The first tournament in chess under the auspices of the Canterbury Club was held in 1879, Mr. H. Hookham of that Club proving the victor. Nine years later a second contest resulted in favour of Mr. A. M. Ollivier, in the same place. In 1889 the Otago Chess Club promoted a competition, when Mr. Hookham was again victorious. In 1890 a central organization with a committee in Wellington was established, and a successful congress held in the Empire City, Mr. E. J. Barnes, of the Wellington Chess Club, winning the championship. An association was set up at this congress, consisting of affiliated clubs, and under its auspices a contest was held in Auckland in December, 1891, when Mr. Siedeberg, of Otago, carried off the championship. This association appears to have fallen through shortly after, and but for the keen interest taken in the King of Games by the Christchurch Chess Club, it is probable that no contest would have been held in 1893. The tournament resulted in the favour of Mr. Siedeberg for a second time and the present association was formed as above. The first congress of the new association was held in Dunedin in 1893, and was brilliantly successful, Mr. J. Edwards, of the Wellington Chess Club, being victor. At the end of 1894 the second contest was held, the meeting being in Wellington, when Mr. W. Mackay became the champion. In December, 1895, the third congress was commenced, the place being Wanganui, when Mr. W. Meldrum of Hunterville, was the winner. Mr. H. C. Skeet, Union Bank of Australia, is the hon. secretary and treasurer.
Mr. William Mackay, the Chess Champion of New Zealand for 1895, is a bookseller in Lambton Quay, Wellington. He has been a member of the Wellington Chess Club since 1885. Born in Melbourne in 1863, he was educated in the Victorian capital. Mr Mackay and his brother came to New Zealand in 1878, and opened a bookselling business in Dunedin, but after some time removed to Wellington, where the firm of S. and W. Mackay is well known. Mr. W. Mackay started chess twelve years ago, and has competed in local tournaments several times. In the Chess Congress of 1895 he played altogether eleven games, of which he won seven, two were drawn, and two lost. This was his first appearance at a colonial congress.
Mr. Richard James Barnes, who is a member of the Wellington and Working Men's Club Chess Club, is one of the most prominent figures in the chess world of New Zealand. As an accountant, he occupies the position of acting-secretary for the Empire Loan and Wellington Opera House Companies. Born near Ballarat, Victoria, Mr. Barnes was educated in Dunedin. Shortly after leading school, he came to Wellington, and entered a solicitor's office as engrossing clerk, but was laid up by a severe illness for a long time. On his recovery he took a position as bookkeeper in a large drapery establishment where he remained three years, Mr. Barnea commenced chess about 1884, when he joined the Wellington Chess Club, and carried off the first prize in the Club handicap tourney of the same year. His first appearance in a Chess Congress was in 1889–90 (Christmas and New Year Holidays) in Dunedin, when he tied with Mr. Hookham of Christehurch for the first prize and championship. In the play-off Mr. Hookham was successful. The following Congress, 1890–91, at Wellington, Mr. Barnes won the first prize and championship right out, against page 420 what is regarded as the strongest collection of chess players that has ever come together in New Zealand. In the 1891–92 Congress at Auckland Mr. Barnes was unplaced. The following year at Christchurch he was third, and second at Dunedin in 1893–91, being only half a point behind the winner. In the 1894–95 Congress at Wellington he was suffering from severe indisposition, and was unplaced, but got the special prize for the best score against the prize-winners. At Wanganui where the Congress was held in 1895–96, although again in indifferent health, Mr. Barnes tied with Mr. Hookham for third place, but being compelled to leave for Wellington before the last round was finished he was not present when called upon to play off the tie, and the prize was awarded by default to Mr. Hookham. In Congress tournaments his record is one first, two seconds, one third, and one special prize, in local tournaments five firsts, three seconds, and one third.
The Wellington Chess Club was founded in 1876. Its inauguration was the outcome of a match played in that year between the town and the Civil Service, which brought the principal players together, and in that way suggested the formation of the Club. Mr. George Hunter, M.H.R., was the first president, and among the members were a number of prominent citizens. The meetings were at first held in a room over the offices of the president, the use of which he kindly granted to the Club. Quite a number of changes of residence have been made during the life of the Club; but at last very comfortable quarters have been secured on the top floor of the Exchange Buildings in Lambton Quay. Mr. C. W. Benbow has been president for the past fifteen or sixteen years, and Mr. H. C. Skeet is in his third year as secretary. The Wellington Club has measured swords with all the first-class clubs of the Colony, and has by its successes earned for itself the very satisfactory title of the “Champion Club of New Zealand.” The struggles with the clubs of the other large cities have always been difficult, and no doubt efforts will be made to wrest the championship from the Wellington Club. Intercolonial chess matches have not yet come into vogue, so there has been little opportunity of judging of the capabilities of the New Zealand chess players in comparison with those of the other Australasian colonies. Some day chess may be considered as worthy of public encouragement as football, and then a representative team may be sent across the Tasman Sea. In the meantime the only way of gauging the relative strength of the clubs of this Colony with those of the world outside is by means of individual tourists. In October, 1887, a very rare opportunity of this kind occurred when Count Hydebrand und der Lasa, an ambassador of Germany, was passing through Wellington. The Count was the guest of His Excellency the Governor, and his time was therefore well occupied; but he made it convenient to attend the Club in fulfilment of an appointment with the president. Twenty years ago Count Von der Lasa was referred to in the chess journal as “the first living authority upon the theory of chess.” It was Count Von der Lasa who was referred to in those enthusiastic lines addressed by E. J. Weller to Paul Morphy in the New York Chess Monthly in 1857. Mr. Morphy had conquered nearly all the world's players, but he had not yet met the famous German Count, hence the concluding verse:—
“But one remains—the noblest heart—
At him thy glove be hurled;
Der Lasa conquered, then thou art
The champion of the world.”
New Zealand Chess Congress, Held In Wellington 1894–95.
J. Wood (Wellington) O. C. Pleasants (Colyton) H. S. Cocks (Wellington) J. Edwards (Otago) Dr. Hatherly (Wanganui) W. Mackay (Wellington) H. C. Skeet (Hon. Sec. N. Z. Chess Assn)
G. Pearce (Manaia). H. Hookham (Canterbury). R. J. Barnes (Wellington). A. A. Lelievre (Hastings). A. Gifford (Rangitikei). W. F. Barrand (Wellington).
Mr. C. W. Benbow In 1874.
Wellington Cricket Association. This Association is the controlling power in cricket matters. It arranges matches, selects representative teams, and generally supervises cricket in Wellington City. It promotes cup competitions and interclub contests. The Association consists of delegates from the various cricket clubs in the city. There are four senior and nine junior clubs affiliated to the Association. Four of the junior clubs play for the third class championship. The senior clubs are the Wellington, Midland, Phœnis and Rival. The juniors are the Excelsior, Johnsonville, Karori, Kilbirnie, St. Patrick's College, Thorndon, Wesley, Wellington College, and Petone, The Association's colours are claret and gold, the officers for 1895 being Messrs. H. D. Bell, M.H.R., (president), Dr. Collins (vice-president), Messrs. H. Gully, N. W. Werry, C. W. Benbow, D. J. Nathan, and John Duthie, M.H.R., W. C. Marter, secretary, Near Zealand Times Office, Mr. J. Hyams, treasurer.
of the four clubs whose first elevens compete for the Senior Championship, the Midland and Wellington are most prominent, the competitions each year usually resulting in a close contest for first place between these two teams.
Midland Cricket Club. This Club was founded in 1883, being an amalgamation of the Excelsior and United Clubs. The principal officers for 1895 were—President, Mr. J. Duthie, M.H.R.; captain, Mr. A. Blacklock; secretary, Mr. Steel (Roach and Co). This Club has a large membership and plays three teams, all being fairly high up in their several competitions. The first eleven have been for two or three seasons general favourites for the championship, and included among them are such well-known players as A. and R. Blacklock, Warren, Upham and Fitzsimmons. The Club is always well represented in representative matches. In the match New South Wales v. Wellington in 1895, Messrs. R. Blacklock, Warren, Upham and Fitzsimmons were chosen to represent the province, and took no small part in the honours which fell due to the Wellington team. In the first innings Warren scored fifty, thus ably contributing to making the score as large as it was. To Upham must be accorded the honour of keeping down the runs and preventing the visitors from making a still larger score, while Fitzsimmons also bowled with fair success.
Phœnix Cricket Club. This Club was established in 1881. It has a membership of eighty, and plays three teams. The officers for 1895 were—president, Mr. J. Duncan, vice-presidents, Dr. Martin, Major Gudgeon, Messrs. F. Allen, C. W. Benbow, H. D. Crawford, H. Gully, J. Lachman and A. H. Turnbull, secretary and treasurer, Mr. C. E. Stevens, Lands and Survey Department; captain, Mr. G. Webb; auditor, Mr. D. S. Gray; delegates to Cricket Association, Messrs. Burton, Stevens, and Motley. Committee—Messrs. S. Roberts, G. E. Burton, W. Chisholm, W. Bennett, W. J. Hueston, with the secretary.
Rival Cricket Club. This Club was formed in 1884, and became affiliated to the Wellington Cricket Association in 1887. In the 1888–89 season, the first eleven won the Junior Cup with an innings to spare in every match but one. The following year the Club entered for the senior championship shield. Since then the Club has been runner-up for the championship three times in five years. To Mr. C. J. Johnson, its secretary from 1884 to 1896, and to Mr. D. M. Fuller, captain from 1890 to 1896, the Club owes much for its present position. It has had representatives in Wellington representative teams on different occasions, and was also represented in the New Zealand team of 1894. The Club's third eleven won the Third-Class Championship in 1889–90. The colours are Oxford and Cambridge blue. The membership is sixty, and the subscription £1 1a. The officers for 1895 were president, Mr. D. J. Nathan; vice-presidents, Messrs. H. D. Bell and J. Duthie, M.H.R.s, A. de B. Brandon, J. Lachman and J. W. Abbott; captain, Mr. D. M. Fuller; secretary, Mr. J. Murray, Stamp Office; treasurer, Mr. R. Reid.
Wellington Cricket Club. This Club was founded prior to 1869. The officers for 1895 were:—President, Mr. H. D. Bell, M.H.R.; vice-presidents, Dr. Collins, Messrs. N. W. Werry, C. A. Knapp, and A. T. Bate; captain, A. B. Holdship; secretary and treasurer, W. E. Pearson. The Club membership is 70. The subscription and fees amount to 36s. annually for senior playing members. In the early days of the City this Club supplied nearly all the players to the Wellington representative teams. It now vies with the Midland Club in supplying the greater number. In 1894–95 the Club won the senior championship, which it had held several times previously. The illustration accompanying this sketch shows the team which won the championship in 1894–95. The Club plays three elevens, and has a record of nine wickets for 247 runs, made in three and a-half hours by its second eleven against the Phœnix second, this being an unequalled feat in junior cricket in the Colony, The score of the 1835 season in Wellington was made by a member of the Club, when Mr. A. R. Holdship, the captain, made 136, not out, playing against the Phœnix. The Club has twenty-five shares in the Athletic Park Company. The Club's colours are chocolate and white, and its annual meeting is held in August.
Mr. Alfred Richardson Holdship, B.A., Captain of the Wellington Cricket Club, Wellington representative, page 423 and New Zealand representative teams, was born in Aucklandin 1866. When about thirteen years of age he went to England to complete his education. He entered Cheltenham College, and made his first public appearance in the cricket field as a member of the College eleven, in 1886. While at school he made four centuries in minor matches, Entering Cambridge University, he seems to have devoted more time to study than to cricket, for, though he played in the trial matches, he never got into the ‘Varsity eleven’ Playing for Caius II. eleven against Magdalene College in 1887 he put up a record as a bowler, taking eight wickets for five runs, the total of the innings being eight. In 1889, after taking his B.A. degree, he left Cambridge and went to study law at the Inner Temple, London. In that year, playing for Surbiton against M.C.C., he got forty-one runs out of sixty-one scored by his side off the bat. The year following he appeared in a South of England eleven, with Maurice Reid, Lockwood, Abel, Sharp, Brockwell, and other well-known cricketers, in a benefit match against eighteen of Merton and district; Mr. Holdship made forty-six, Maurice Reid being top scorer with eighty-two. Playing against Surrey eleven, he made thirty, with Lohmann and Sharpe bowling. On the 30th of July of that year, playing for Surbiton against Kensington Park, he made 116, and on the following day, for the same club, against Wimbledon, he made 176, excelling his performance of 1888, when on consecutive days he got 122 not out, and 125, against Queen's College, Cambridge, and Clare College respectively. His record for 1890 was fifty-one innings, 1927 runs, average 37.78, and in bowling he took 168 wickets for an of 9.77. In 1691 his principal scores were 114 for Surbiton against Long Ditton, and 102 for the game club against Kensington Park. Mr. Holdship was called to the Bar in London in 1892. He continued playing cricket, and appeared in various teams at different times, such at Surrey Second, Gentlemen of Surrey, Ineogniti, and other well known teams. In 1893 he returned to New Zealand, and joined the firm of Messrs. Brown and Dean, solicitors, Wellington, with whom he remains. His principal scores in New Zealand cricket are seventy for Wellington against Auckland, forty-five against New South Wales, eighty-one against the Rival Club, and sixty-eight, carrying bat through innings, against the Phœnix. In the 1894–95 season he made 136 not out against the Phœnix, eighty-five against Midland, fifty-six against Rival, forty-five against Otago, fifty-three and twenty-three against Canterbury. In 1895–96 he got forty-five against Canterbury, and forty-two against Phœnix, He played for New Zealand against New South Wales in 1894 and 1895–96. As a footballer, he was captain of the Caius College, Cambridge, fifteen, and has played for the Richmond Club in England at half-back. He is unmarried.
Wellington Junior Cricket Association. This Association comprises those junior cricket clubs in Wellington that are not engaged in the Senior Association's contests. The Association, which was formed at the beginning of the season 1895–96, arranges for contests amongst the clubs affiliated, and assists largely in the development of junior cricket. The principal clubs which engage in these contests are as follows: — Painters, Vivians, New Zealand Times, and St. Johns.
New Zealand Rugby Football Union. This Union is the supreme body in New Zealand as far as football under Rugby rules is concerned. It controls a membership of some 50,000, and is therefore the largest and moat powerful athletic governing body in the Colony. It was founded by Mr. E. D. Hoben, who, when he took the initial steps towards its foundation was hon. secretary of the Hawkes Bay Rugby Football Union. The first conference of delegates from the different district and provincial unions of the Colony to consider a basis for this Union met in Wellington in November, 1891. A constitution was drawn up and Submitted to a second conference in April, 1892, On this occasion the New Zealand Rugby Football Union was formed, embracing the Auckland, Wellington, Hawkes Bay, Taranaki, Wanganui, Westland, Nelson, Marlborough, Manawatu, Wairarapa and South Canterbury Unions. Otago and Canterbury, though represented at the conference, declined to join. In 1894 Canterbury yielded, and a year later Otago and Southland gave in their allegiance, thus completing the combination of the unions of the Colony. In 1893 the representative team of the New Zealand Union visited Australia and won five out of six matches played in New South Wales, the score being eighty-eight points to thirty-sis, and of three games played against the Australian colony one only was lost. In Queensland five matches were played, two against the Colony, the scoring being seventy-six points to eight, On its return the team was accorded a public reception, the Premier and leading public men taking part. The Union received a visit from a New South Wales Representative team in 1894, which played ten matches against district unions, New Zealand winning seven. Against the North Island representative fifteen the visitors lost by fifteen to three; but won against the Colony by eight to six (two goals to two tries). The New Zealand Rugby Football Union deals with the interpretation of rules, punishes misconduct on the part of footballers as such, on or off the field, prevents professionalism, and generally upholds the good name which the game has obtained in New Zealand, where it has become the chief national pastime. A New Zealand Referees' Association with branches at various centres has been established. This has effected great improvement in the dignity and status of referees throughout the Colony, under the direction of Mr. E. D. Hoben, its general secretary. The New Zealand Rugby Union was instrumental in having passed through the Parliament of New Zealand an Act which gives unique powers and status to the athletic bodies of the Colony. The District Unions are as follows:— North Island:—Auckland, with fifty-seven affiliated teams; Poverty Bay, ten teams; Hawkes Bay, fifteen teams; Bush Districts, seven teams; Manawatu, five teams; Wanganui, twelve teams; Taranaki, ten teams; Horowhenua, four teams; Wairarapa, ten teams; Wellington, twenty-four teams. South Island—Nelson, eight teams; Marlborough, eleven teams; Buller, six teams; West Coast, nine teams; Canterbury, thirty-five teams; South Canterbury, sixteen teams; Otago, fifty-four teams; Southland, eighteen teams. There are Referees' Association Branches at Auckland, Wanganui, Wellington, Nelson, Marlborough, West Coast, Canterbury and Otago. The officers for 1895 were Patron, His Excellency Lord Glasgow; President, Mr. Thomas Henderson, Auckland; Vice-Presidents, A. E. Devore (Auckland), A. W. Rees (Poverty Bay), F. Logan (Hawkes Bay, G. H. Smith (Bush), W. Bailey (Manawatu), W. Empson (Wanganui), G. F. Bayly (Taranaki), T. Bartholomew (Horowhenua), E. M. D. Whatman (Wairarapa), G. F. C. Campbell (Wellington), W. S. Littlejohn (Nelson), J. Snodgrass (Marlborough), C. E. Harden (Buller), G. H. Boyd (West Coast), A. E. G. Rhodes (Canterbury), Moss Jonas (South Canterbury), A. F. Hawke, Southland; Hon. Sec., E. D. Hoben; Assistant Sec., A. De Costa; Hon. Treasurer, G. C. W. Morris (Mr. I. Hyams succeeded Mr. Morris towards the end of the year); Appeal Committee, G. F. C. Campbell (Wellington), J. P. Firth (Wellington), W. J. Cotterill (Christchurch), T. Henderson (Auckland), Management Committee, the delegates from Auckland (Mr. Wells), Wellington (Mr. Bate), Southland (Mr. Wesney), Wanganui (Mr. Hyams), Otago (Mr. Bee), and Canterbury (Mr. McCardell), with the officers ex officio; Auditors, Messrs. L. Coupland and G. Fache.
Mr. Ernest Denis Hoben, late Hon. Secretary, New Zealand Rugby Football Union, was born in Auckland on the 3rd of February, 1864. After a few years in New South Wales, he spent his youth at Tauranga, where he was a prominent figure in local athletics, captain of football and boxing clubs, secretary of cricket club, and noted as a walker, swimmer and general athlete. After some banking experience he finally took to journalism (with which he had already been connected as a contributor at Tauranga and Napier), subsequently removing to Wellington, where, as parliamentary special of the Evening Post he became well known throughout the Colony. A long series of successes in the publication of special political news had as a leading incident a Royal Commission—“The Fox Commission,” set up to ascertain how he became possessed of certain information respecting the relations of the Commandant and the Premier. The Commission, after sitting a considerable time, failed in its object, Mr. Gillon, the editor of the Post, and Mr. Hoben declining to appear before it, though the Commandant, the Premier and his Ministers, page 425 the heads of the Public Service and numbers of others were examined. Mr. Hoben, in conjunction with his brother, Mr. Sydney Hoben, has published songs which have met with much success; some verse which has been well received, and a pamphlet on the life of John Ballance, which was appreciatively reviewed here and in England, and had wide circulation. He was also well known as musical and dramatic critic of his journal, which he left in January, 1896, to join the staff of the Sydney Daily Telegraph. He was the founder, and remained up to his departure the chief executive officer of the New Zealand Rugby Union, and has been an officer of a large number of athletic, literary, chess and other organisations, as well as member of the Council of the New Zealand Journalists' Institute. For some years prior to his departure he was New Zealand correspondent of the Sydney Morning Herald, and has written considerably for reviews and magazines.
Athletic Football Team. Senior Fifteen.(Season 1895.)
R. P. Hood (Hon. Sec.) H. Kelly. J. Swindley. J. McLean. W. Rhodes. J. Pauling F. Ashbolt. W. Fraser. J. McKee (Club Captain.
E. Hales. W. Hales. T. Gray. O. Crawford (Captain) J. Fairley. J. Glasgow. A. Pritchard.
G. Coldie. — Sheriff.
There are at the time of writing (1896) six senior clubs, whose first fifteens compete for the honour of winning the Senior Championship and Senior Shield. Of these, the Wellington Club has been longest in existence, having been established in 1870. The other five clubs—Athletic, Poneke, Melrose, Petone, and Selwyn—were formed respectively in 1877, 1883, 1887, 1889, and 1889. The Senior Cup contests were started in 1882, and up to 1895 the results were as follows:—1882, won by Athletic; 1883, Wellington and Greytown draw; 1884, Athletic; 1885, Wellington; 1886-7-8-9, Poneke; 1890, Wellington; 1891, Athletic; 1892–3–4, Poneke; 1895, Petone.
Athletic. This Club was formed in 1877. The officers for 1894 were:—President, Mr. H. D. Bell, M.H.R.; vice-presidents, Captain Falconer, Messrs. G. F. C. Campbell, E. Davy, J. Coates, G. Robertson; captain, J. McKee; vice-captain, J. Murphy; secretary, R. P. Hood, Government Insurance Department; treasurer, J. H. Pagni; committee, Wells, Goldie, Simons, Arnott, Ridler, and officers; match committee, McKee, Wells, and Simons; delegates, G. F. C. Campbell, Davy, and Fraser; auditors, J. A. Thomson and J. Cooper. The colours are blue and black, and the membership is 100. The Club's annual meeting is held in March. A gymnasium was opened by this Club in Taranaki Street, and is much used by members. For ordinary members the annual subscription is 10s., but for country members living more than three miles out of town, for youths attending school, and for those under eighteen, the subscription is 5s. The picture given on the preceding page shows the senior team for the season 1895, which was placed second in the Championship.
Melrose. Established in 1887, this is the youngest senior club in the Wellington Union. Despite its youth it has taken a very creditable position in all the contests in which its teams competed. In 1894 its third fifteen won the eight matches it played, and gained the third class championship, scoring 146 points to nil against it. The officers for 1894 were:—President, Mr. E. T. Taylor; vice-presidents, Drs. Ewart and Alexander, Messrs. A. A. Bowley, N. Nathan, W. Cloggie, A. A. S. Menteath, C. Smith, C. Hulke; captain, J. Laughton; deputy-captain, J. Bourke; secretary, J. N. Grant, Wallace Street, Wellington; treasurer, F. Jackson; delegates, F. Jackson, E. T. Taylor, A. Campbell; match committee, J. Laughton, A. Campbell, J. N. Grant.
Petone. This Club was established in 1889. Its officers for 1895 were as follows:—President, Dr. Newman, M.H.R.; vice-presidents, Messrs. J. T. King, W. E. Donne, T. M. Wilford, W. Marsden, and H. Findlay; captain, H. Wynyard; sub-captain, W. McKenzie; secretary, W. McKenzie, Jackson Street, Petone; treasurer, E. Mills; match committee, W. McKenzie, Shore, W. Pringle; delegates, J. T. King, W. McKenzie, H. Wynyard; auditors, H. Findlay and Carey. The number of active members is page 427 50. The Club won the senior championship [gap — reason: illegible] Wellington in 1895. In 1894 two of its members, Maber and McKenzie, played in the New Zealand v. New South Wales match, and Pringle represented his Club in the North Island match. The Club's record has been a good one since its formation.
Poneke. This Club has a colonial reputation. It was formed in 1883. Since its formation it has won the senior cup and championship seven years and three years in succession. The record for the whole period of the Club's existence to the end of 1894 is: Matches played, 112; won, 86; lost, 15; drawn, 11; scoring 102 goals 157 tries, against 30 goals 31 tries. The officers for 1894 were as follows:—President, Dr. Newman, M.H.R.; vice-presidents, Hon. J. Carroll, Dr. Mackin, Messrs. H. Gully and J. P. Maxwell; captain, Mr. W. J. White; deputy-captain, J. Pudney; secretary, W. White, care of S. Danks and Son, Brandon Street; treasurer, W. S. Hood; match committee, T. Ellison, White, and Sim; delegates, T. Ellison, Sim, and Nicholls; general committee, S. Nicholls, F. B. Young, A. Blacklock, and officers. The Club's first fifteen has met and beaten most of the crack fifteens of New Zealand. The accompanying engraving shows the Club's renowned team of 1892-3-4.
Poneke Football Club, First Fifteen—Winners Of Senior Championship (1892-3-4).
H. Hare (umpire.) G. Beck. R. Sim. R. Oliphant. H. Lee. G. H. Astall. F. De Leun. A. Blacklock. P. Broderick.
W. H. Arnott. P. Cooney. A. Stuart. J. Kelly. T. R. Ellison (capt). W. White (hon. sec.) W. Roberts. J. Pudney. A. J. Beauchamp.
A. Tiweka, H. Davidson.
Wellington. This Club, established in 1870, was the first Rugby football club started in the province. The officers for 1895 were:—President, Mr. N. W. Werry; vice-presidents, Messrs. P. P. Webb, A. Hoby, A. G. Bate, and J. C. Martin; captain, J. Murray; secretary, Geo. C. Fache, Government Insurance Department, Wellington; treasurer, N. Galbraith; match committee, J. Murray, F. Pownall, J. E. Roe; general committee, F. Pownall, J. E. Roe, E. W. G. Strange, W. E. Rawson, J. Roache, H. Dacre, J. D. Barnett, and officers; delegates, A. G. Bate, J. Murray, and G. C. Fache; representative on Rugby Union Committee, A. G. Bate; delegate to English Rugby Union, C. W. Palliser; captain second fifteen, J. E. Widdop. The Club's active membership in 1895 was 102. Besides these there are twenty life and eleven retired members. The colours are yellow and black. The Club's record for 1894 was:—First fifteen: Matches played, six, won three, lost three; second fifteen: matches played, eight, won seven, lost one; third fifteen; matches played six, won three, lost three. The second fifteen won the Junior Cup, scoring fourteen points out of a possible sixteen. In 1890 the first fifteen won the Senior Championship. The accompanying picture is that of the champion team of that year. The Club has always taken an honourable position in the championship contests, and its players have been distinguished for their gentlemanly conduct on and off the field.
Oriental — Secretary, A. W. Stevens, Manawatu Railway Company.
Selwyn—Secretary, E. J. Archibald, Sargood, Son and Ewen (the Selwyn became a senior club in 1896).
St. Patrick's College—Secretary, F. Lynch, St. Patrick's College.
Wellington College—Secretary, S. H. Gilmer, Wellington College.
Wednesday Half-Holiday Clubs.
Drapers—Secretary, A. P. Smith, Te Aro House.
Pirate—Secretary, J. Burton, Telegraph Office.
United Tradesmen—Secretary, E. Read, care of Mr. W. Campbell, Manners Street.
Wellington Junior Rugby Football Union. This is a union of the junior football clubs in Wellington, consisting of those clubs which do not feel qualified to enter into competition with the clubs competing for the higher championships. In 1895 the following clubs were affiliated:—Alhambra, St. John's, Brooklyn, Koro-koro, Addington, Empire, Merivale, and Pioneer. The officers for that year were:—Vice-presidents, Messrs. J. Skinner (chairman), and T. W. Wickens; secretary and treasurer, Mr. E. P. Rundle. The Union promotes and supervises contests between the clubs affiliated. The champion junior club in 1894 was the Pioneer, and in 1895 the Empire Club's teams won both Cups. The Union has also played matches against other unions of the kind and visiting teams.
Wellington Public Schools' Rugby Union. This Union consists of the various public schools' football clubs. There are seven clubs affiliated, viz., Clyde Quay, Te Aro, Mt. Cook, Newtown, Petone, Terrace, and Thorndon. Davis and Clater's cup, for which the clubs compete, was won in 1894 by Clyde Quay. The schools representative team play an annual match with the Wairarapa Schools' Union. These school unions do a great deal to foster the game, and keep it free from any undesirable element.
New Zealand Football Association. This is the supreme body governing Association football in this country. The headquarters are at Wellington. The New Zealand Football Association was formed in 1891, and consists of one delegate from each of the district associations. The associations affiliated in 1895, with their delegates, were: Auckland, Mr. J. R. Gibbons; Ruahine, Mr. A. J. Abbott; Wellington, Mr. M. Fraser; Canterbury, Mr. C. T. Jones; Buller, Mr. W. W. Bain: Otago, Mr. P. D. Leslie. The office-bearers for 1895 were:—Patron, His Excelency Lord Glasgow; president, Hon. J. G. Ward; vice-presidents, Hon. Geo. McLean (Dunedin), Messrs. A. Heather (Auckland), T. Maude (Christchurch), and L. O. H. Tripp (Wellington); secretary, Mr. A. Henderson; treasurer, Mr. A. E. Gibbs. The Association holds a tournament every year, usually in the different centres of the Colony, for a very handsome silver shield, which in 1895 was won by Auckland. The Society exists to foster and guide the Association game of football for the benefit of those who prefer that style to the Rugby game.
Wellington Football Association. This is the body which controls the Association game of football in Wellington and selects representative teams. It was formed in 1890, and consists of delegates from the various Association clubs in Wellington. The subscription for clubs is one guinea. The representative uniform is a white shirt with monogram “W.F.A” on breast, black knickers and stockings. The officers for 1895 were Messrs. C. H. Izard, president; A. E. Gibbs, W. Forsyth, J. W. Abbott, A. de B. Brandon and D. R. Caldwell, vice-presidents; C. Fordham, secretary and treasurer; M. Fraser, delegate to New Zealand Association. The representative team won first place in the New Zealand Association Tournament of 1892. The clubs affiliated in 1895 were as follows:—Rovers—president, Mr. C. H. Izard; secretary, R. Hepworth; captain, M. Fraser. Queen's Park—president, Mr. W. Forsyth; secretary, W. Wighton; captain, T. Shields. United—president, Dr. Whitehead; secretary, N. Bell; captain, W. H. Stewart. Swifts—president, Mr. A. de B. Brandon; secretary, C. Cramp; captain, A. Henderson. Thistle—president, Sir Robert Stout; secretary, W. Cowden; captain, A. Fergusson. Thorndon—president, Mr. George Fisher; secretary, H. Godber; captain, A. Sampson. Diamonds—president, Mr. Davenport; secretary, W. J. Hamilton; captain, W. R. Roulston. The Senior Championship was won in 1891 by the Petone Wanderers; 1892 by Queen's Park; 1893, Rovers; 1894, Rovers; 1895, Swifts.
Wellington Junior Association. The officers for 1895 were Messrs. A. E. Gibbs, president; A. Henderson, Davis and Davenport, vice-presidents; A. Williams, secretary and treasurer. The clubs affiliated are Swifts. Thorndon, Thistle and Diamonds. The Junior Cup was won in 1893 by Thorndon, 1894 by Diamonds, 1895 by Thorndon Second.
New Zealand Lawn Tennis Association. This is the supreme body governing lawn tennis in New Zealand. It is comprised of the various provincial lawn tennis associations. Its headquarters are in Wellington. The secretary is Mr. Henderson, of Abbot, Oram and Co, Customhouse Quay. The Association promotes annual tournaments, which are held in different centres of the Colony. It has established championships for both lady and gentleman players, and provides gold medals for these. The 1895 tournament was held in Wellington.
Wellington Provincial Lawn Tennis Association. This Association was formed in 1895, and consists of delegates from the various lawn tennis clubs in the Wellington Provincial District. Its officers for 1895 were:—President, Mr. R. M. Simpson; vice-presidents, Messrs. H. M. Gore and W. E. Pearson; committee, Messrs. S. R. Kennedy, F. A. Kebbell, F. J. Parsons, H. J. Reid, W. Clayton, and J. Harrold; secretary, Mr. Arthur Young; treasurer, Mr. Jas. Wilson. The colours of the Association are light blue and white. The subscription for clubs having a membership under fifty is one guinea, over fifty and under 100 it is two guineas.
Thorndon Lawn Tennis Club. This is the only lawn tennis club in Wellington affiliated to the Wellington Provincial Lawn Tennis Association. It was formed in 1881, and is a proprietary club. The committee who conduct the affairs of the institution are Messrs. F. A. and M. Kebbell, and C. S. Brandon. There are eighty members, elected by the committee. The courts, four in number, are in Thorndon. The Club's colours are blue and white. The New Zealand Lawn Tennis Association's annual tournament was held in 1895. Both of the champions for the year were members of the Club, viz., Miss Nunnelay and Mr. Parker. The Club champion for 1895 was Miss Kennedy. Mr. M. Kebbell is the secretary.
Wellington Golf Club. This Club was formed in May, 1895. Its officers for that year were—president, His Excellency the Earl of Glasgow; secretary, Mr. L. O. H. Tripp (Chapman and Tripp, Wellington); treasurer, Mr. J. Duncan; captain, T. Y. Wardrop. Committee:—Messrs. Martin Chapman, D. R. Caldwell, D. B. Howden, and E. Jackson. Ladies' division—captain, Mrs. H. D. Bell; secretary, Miss Duncan; council, Mrs. G. Hutchison, Mrs. A. D. Crawford and officers. The Club's links are at Miramar, the course being two and a half miles round. The club's colours are yellow and black, the subscription being £1 1s. The Club will have for competition amongst its members a trophy presented by Mr. Cook Daniels, of Denver, U.S.A. The Miramar ladies succeeded in defeating the Hutt ladies in their first match in 1895.
Wellington Pigeon Flying Club. This Club was formed in 1891 by Mr. J. B. Hackworth. In 1895 it was affiliated with the Fancier's Club, and has been conducted by a racing committee of that Club since. The committee consists of Messrs. J. F. Fitzgerald, M. Clark, A. Smith and F. J. Rudge, secretary and treasurer. There are eighteen members who fly pigeons, having between them some 800 birds. The entrance fee to the Club is five shillings, and each member bears a share of hamper fees and other training and racing costs. The season is from September till May. Birds are sent off for training twice a week, and races are frequently held. Gisborne in the North and Hokitika in the South Island, are the furthest points yet attempted by the Club. The Te Aro House Cup, competed for by members, was won in 1895 by Mr. Hopwell, of Willis Street, who has one of the largest lofts in the city. Other large lofts are those of Mr. Laney, of Wallace Street, and Mr. Rudge, of Boulcott Street.
Wellington Provincial Gun Club. Officers (1896): Messrs. A. A. Stuart Menteath (president), W. S. Broderick, S. Brown, H. D. Crawford, J. H. Kingdon, W. L. Meek, C. W. Mullins, H. D. O'Callaghan, S. Scott, C. G. White, and T. M. Wilford (committee), W. H. Tisdall (hon. treasurer), and W. A. Aldred (hon. secretary). This successful Club was founded in 1894 by Messrs. Kingdon, O'Callaghan, and Tisdall, and its present membership is about forty. The original intention of the founders was to establish a club for clay pigeon shooting. Competitions are held every Saturday during the summer, and the gatherings have page 430 become very popular. As some of the members desired to have an annual open handicap pigeon match (with live birds), the Club decided to hold such an event in January each year. This match is open to competitors in any part of the Colony. The second match was held on the 23rd of January, 1896, when four prizes aggregating one hundred pounds were competed for.
Wellington Polo Club. This Club was established in 1894, and was affiliated in the same year with the New Zealand Polo Association. The officers (1896) are as follows:—Patron, His Excellency the Governor; president, Hon. W. W. Johnston; vice-presidents, Messrs. H. D. Bell, M.H.R., E. Pearce, and James Coates; captain, Mr. D. G. A. Cooper; secretary, Mr. A. D. Crawford. The Club's grounds are at Mhamar.
The Wellington Athletic Park Company (Limited). Directors:—Messrs. J. P. Maxwell, M.I.E. (chairman), H. D. Bell, M.H.R., C. H. Izard, C. A. Knapp, J. Firth. W. McMuir and Dr. Collins. Bankers, Union Bank of Australia, Limited. Solicitors, Messrs. Bell, Gully and Izard; auditor, Mr. A. S. Biss; secretary, Mr. J. W. Williams, 11 Grey Street. Capital, £5000 in 5000 shares of £1 each, of which 2000 are subscribed and fully paid up. Many of the local clubs are considerable shareholders; among these may be named the Wellington Rugby Union, Wellington Football Club, Wellington Cycling Club, Wellington Cricket Association, Wellington Amateur Athletic Club, and several of the Cricket Clubs. The company was formed in 1893. The ground, which it is expected will be the scene of a large number of athletic sports of the future, is situated between Adelaide and South Roads, within five minutes walk of the tramway. It consists of eight-and-three-quarter acres, which is held on a long lease and will afford convenience for two football matches and for a first-class cricket ground. It will be available for the football season of 1896.
Racing And Sporting.
The Wellington Racing Club: Mr. H. D. Bell, President; Messrs E. Pearce and T. G. Macarthy, Vice-Presidents; Mr. G. H. Scales, Judge; Mr. Franklyn, Hon. Treasurer; Mr. N. Grace, Time-Keeper; Mr. J. O. Evett, Handicapper; Messrs. J. Ames, W. E. Bidwell, J. Duncan, J. C. Harcourt, G. H. Harbroe, C. P. Skerrett and J. Saunders, stewards; Mr. H. M. Lyon, Secretary; Lambton Quay. Wellington. The founders of Wellington were fond of sport as are their successors in 1895. It is said that the Club is the oldest in the colony, it having been founded as far back as 1840. Racing commenced in 1842, when events were “pulled off” on Te Aro flat, about the spot where the Royal Oak Hotel now stands. Later on, the scene was changed to Mirimar, and ultimately to the Hutt Park Racecourse. This fine site was under water when the first Wellington Jockey Club was established, but the earthquake of 1855 raised it above the water level. The Hutt Park, which includes the racecourse, is vested in trustees for the people of Wellington. The Club, which is the outcome of that already named, was established in 1875. The old Jockey Club changed its name to the Wellington Amateur Turf Club, and afterwards fell back to the original name. From the trustees of the Hutt Park the present Club leased the racecourse at a nominal rental. They have expended large sums of money in improving the property, and adapting it to the purposes contemplated by the lease. The grandstand has seating accommodation for 1500 spectators, and is fitted up in the most modern style, the basement being occupied with a fine luncheon room with a bar attached. The Stewards' stand is replete with every convenience, and has club offices and telegraph room below. Within the enclosure there is a fine row of loose-boxes and stalls, together with gentlemen's cloak rooms and the jockeys' room containing lockers and all appliances required. Outside the enclosure there is a large people's stand, with room for 600, bar and lunch rooms being below. Three meetings are held regularly every year, viz., the Spring meeting in November, the Summer in January, and the Autumn and Steeplechase meetings at the end of April or the beginning of May. For the season 1895–1896 the amount of added money offered by the Club is £4240, of which £965, £1955 and £1320 are to be given respectively at the Spring, Summer and Autumn meetings. The Wellington Racing Club has adopted a new patent starting machine which, although of local manufacture, has been proved to be a great success. Mr. James Crawford, of the Imperial Hotel, Cuba Street, Wellington, is the patentee. A long time was spent by him in developing and perfecting his discovery, which he has named “Crawford's Starting Machine.” It is permanent in character, marvellously simple in construction, and instantaneous in its action. Mr. Crawford completed his invention in the month of November, 1894, and the first public trials took place at the Hutt Racecourse on the 22nd, 24th, and 26th of Jannuary, 1895. Two substantial posts, standing seventeen feet out of the ground, are erected at each side of the course, about eight or ten feet apart. At either side of the course a hinged board is fixed to one of the posts, and broad white tapes connect these in such a way that the wide side is towards the heads of the horses standing ready for starting close to the tapes. Powerful rubber bands at each side of the course are attached to the end of the hinged boards, and, passing over pulleys fixed on the tops of other posts, are secured a little above the ground. These bands constitute powerful springs whereby the levers and the tapes stretched before the horses' noses can be raised instantly to the top of the machine, where the edge only of the tapes is visible to the animals. At each end a trigger holds a pin in position, which in turn keeps the hinged board and its connections from moving. A strong cord or wire connects with the lever that governs the triggers, and the moment the starter pushes down the lever the pins are simultaneously withdrawn, and the tapes and levers fly upwards, thus liberating the field at the same time exactly. The patentee claims that the starting machine is not liable to frighten the horses when in postion ready for starting, the broad side only of the tapes being seen, and when lifted to a horizontal position the edges alone are visible. Mr. H. M. Lyon, the secretary of the Club, is confident in recommending Mr. Crawford's invention to other racing clubs in the Colony. The Evening Post, New Zealand Times, Christchurch Weekly Press and Referee, and Christchurch Truth, all speak in glowing terms of the success of this simple machine. The cost (£15) of Crawford's starting mnchine is very small, considering its great utility, and though but a few months have elapsed since the trial, no less that fifteen machines are already in use. There is no doubt they will soon be generally adopted.
Mr. Horatio Maculloch Lyon, Secretary to the Wellington Racing Club, was born in Wellington, in 1851. Educated at private schools and at the Collegiate School in Wellington, and at the Christchurch High School, he entered commercial life in the establishment of his father, Mr. Wm. Lyon. With Mr. J. R. Blair he purchased the large bookselling, stationery, and printing business conducted by the former and established the firm of Lyon and Blair. Mr. Lyon remained in the business until the death of his father in 1879, when he sold his interest to his partner. In this year he was first appointed secretary to the racing club but resigned the position in 1880, when he was appointed secretary to page 431 the Harbour Board, which office he retained five years. During this period Mr. Lyon was a steward of the club. In 1885 he was again appointed to the secretariat and still holds the position. He has held the office of secretary to the Hutt Railway Company since its inception. Mr. Lyon is also secretary to the Fire and Marine Underwriters' Associations.
Wellington Trotting Association. Officers (1896): Messrs. H. D. Crawford (chairman), R. Pollock, J. A. Connell, and J. K. Hamilton, and Messrs. Williams and Mabey (Upper Hutt) (delegates), J. A. Connell (secretary and treasurer). This Association is the governing body on all matters pertaining to ‘trotting,' and is empowered to make rules for the guidance of clubs in the district. All programmes and balance sheets must be submitted to the Association, and without its recommendation the Colonial Secretary will not issue a permit for a meeting. The Association was established in 1894, and is affiliated to similar societies in Canterbury, Otago, Nelson, Westland and Taramaki.
Wellington Trotting Club. Officers (1896): Messrs. H. D. Crawford (president), C. P. Skerrett and D. G. A. Cooper (vice-presidents), T. Green, J. Coyle, W. Ramsay, F. J. Preston, J. K. Hamilton, G. McDonald, R. Pollock, and M. McGrath (stewards), J. K. Hamilton (judge), W. Ramsay (clerk of scales), J. King (timekeeper), J. A. Connell (handicapper and secretary), J. K. Hamilton (treasurer). This Club was founded in May, 1892. During the year ending May, 1894, three meetings were held, the following year four, and for 1896 two. The meetings are held at Miramar Park, Kilbirnie.
Wellington Hunt Club. This Club exists for the promotion of stag hunting. His Excellency the Governor is patron, Mr. F. Mills, Secretary, Mr. H. D. Crawford, master, and Mr. D. G. A. Cooper, deputy-master. The members number sixty. The subscriptions are three guineas and one guinea. The Club's pack of eight couples, formerly the Feilding pack, is kept at Miramar under the charge of Mr. G. McDonald, huntsman. Club runs are held on every favourable Saturday during the season, the ground hunted over being principally Miramar, Tawa Flat, Porirua, Taita, and Lower Hutt. The Club's colours are green coat and red vest. A race meeting is held by the Club every year on the Racing Club's course at the Hutt. The stakes given amount to £380. The principal event is the Hunt Club Steeplechase of £50.
The New Zealand Academy of Fine Arts. This Association was founded in 1882 under the name of the Fine Arts Association of New Zealand, and was in 1889 registered under the sections of “The Companies Act” relating to associations not for profit, as the New Zealand Academy of Fine Arts. The objects of the Association are, inter alia, to promote the study, practice and cultivation of the fine arts in New Zealand, and to encourage the production of works of art by periodical exhibitions at Wellington. The Association consists of subscribing and artist members, the annual subscriptions being £1 1s. and 10s. 6d. respectively. The society has a good brick building in Whitmore Street, which is used as an exhibition building, and is also utilized for small concerts, lectures, etc., its sitting accommodation being about 280. This hall is noted for its excellent acoustic properties. The following are the officers of the Association:—Patron, His Excellency the Right Hon. the Earl of Glasgow; Messrs. C. D. Barrand, president; H. S. Wardell and Dr. Fell, vice-presidents. The members of the Council are Misses Hill and Richardson, the Hon. Dr. Grace, Messrs. H. Gore, R. H. Govett, J. M. Nairn, W. S. Reid, and D. T. Stuart; hon. treasurer, Mr. W. F. Barraud. Auditors, Messrs. T. R. Fleming and F. H. Fraser; secretary, Mr. L. H. B. Wilson, No. 1, Grey Street.
The New Zealand Public Service Association was established in 1890. His Excellency the Governor is patron, Rev. W. J. Habens, B.A. president, Colonel Hume and Mr. H. W. Northcroft are vice-presidents for the North Island, and Messrs. H. W. Bishop and C. W. S. Chamberlain for the South Island. Mr. H. Pollen is hon. treasurer, Messrs. G. F. C. Campbell and H. Blundell are hon. auditors, and Mr. F. Hartmann general secretary. The Society has eleven hundred members in the Colony. The subscription has been fixed on a sliding scale in proportion to salary received from 2s. 6d. to 20s. Its objects are to promote the general welfare of the service, to uphold its rights and just claims, to afford opportunity for giving expression to its views and opinions, to encourage social intercourse and esprit-de-corps, to obtain public recognition of the principle that faithful performance of duty in the service of the State is deserving of respect and honour. Public servants only are eligible for membership; a monthly newspaper, the Public Service Journal of New Zealand, is issued under the auspices of the Society.
The Philatelic Society of New Zealand was established in September, 1888. Its head-quarters are in Wellington. Where the number of members in any one district is sufficiently large, local circuits or branches are formed, each having their own officers. These branches are affiliated to the Society, and derive all the advantages which the latter possesses through being in communication with kindred institutions in other parts of the world. The Society's officers for 1895 were—President.page 432
The Hon. the Postmaster-General; vice-president, Mr. E. G. Pilcher; hon. secretary and treasurer, Mr. L. A. Sanderson; and committee, Messrs. A. T. Bate, H. J. Knowles, and F. Lawrenson. The objects of the Society, as stated by its rules, are:—(a) The exchange of ideas relating to, and the general advancement of the pursuit of philately; (b) the research for stamps hitherto uncatalogued, errors, etc.; (c) the detection and exposure of forgeries and frauds; (d) the formation of a library of philatelic literature; (e) the mutual exchange of duplicate stamps. Ladies and gentlemen over the age of seventeen, who are interested in the hobby of stamp collecting, are eligible for membership. The annual subscription is five shillings. Meetings of the executive are held monthly, and the annual meeting takes place in the month of September. The organ of the Society is The Australian Philatelist, published in Sydney. One copy per month is sent direct to each member free. The Society has a membership of 55.
Mr. L. A. Sanderson, the Hon. Secretary and Treasurer of the Philatelic Society of New Zealand, has been interested in the fascinating pastime of stamp collecting since 1875, and possesses a collection of over 7000 varieties. He has also taken a keen interest in the working of the Society since its inception.
Polynesian Society (patron, Liliuokalani, ex-Queen of Hawaii; president, the Right Rev. W. L. Williams, Bishop of Waiapu[gap — reason: illegible] Council: the Rev. W. J. Habens, B.A., J. C. Martin, H. Dunbar Johnson, Elsdon Best, E. Tregear, F.R.G.S., F.R. Hist. S., S. Percy Smith, F.R.G.S.; joint hon. secretaries and treasurers and editors of Journal, Ed. Tregear and S. Percy Smith). This Society was formed in 1892 to promote the study of the anthropology, ethnology, philology, history, and antiquities of the Polynesian races, by the publication of a quarterly journal called the Journal of the Polynesian Society, and by the collection of books, manuscripts, photographs, relics, and other illustrations. Its members now number nearly 200, who are resident in various parts of the globe, but mostly in New Zealand and the Pacific Islands. Three volumes of Proceedings and Transactions have appeared up to the present time, and such is the amount of original matter received that the quarterly publication will probably have to be enlarged, or appear oftener. A noticeable feature in this Society is the number of contributions to its Journal received from the natives of New Zealand and other parts of Polynesia, many of whom are members, and take an active interest in its proceedings. The Society was originally started by Mr. S. Percy Smith, who, finding a number of people interested in the study of the Polynesians, with no means of communicating their ideas in a convenient form for the benefit of all, sent out a number of circulars in July, 1891, to which over 100 responses of a favourable nature were received, and the Society was started in January, 1892. The term “Polynesia” is intended to include Australia, New Zealand, Melanesia, Micronesia, and Malaysia, as well as Polynesia proper. Candidates for admisson to the Society are admitted on the joint recommendation of a member of the Society and a member of the Council, and on the approval of the Council. The subscription is one pound a year, which entitles to all benefits of membership. Papers are received on any of the above subjects if sent through a member.
The Wellington Acclimatisation Society, whose operations cover the counties of Hutt, Wairarapa North and South, Pahiatua, Horowhenua and Manawatu, was founded in 1884. His Excellency the Governor is President of the Society. Sir James Hector, K.C.M.G., and Major-General Schaw, C.B., R.E., are Vice-Presidents, the Chairman and Hon. Secretary being Mr. A. J. Rutherfurd; the Treasurer, Mr. L. G. Reid, and the Curator of the Fish Ponds at Masterton, Mr. L. F. Ayson. On the founding of the Society, it is said that no fish were to be found in the rivers of the North Island. At the Society's Hatchery and Fish Ponds at Masterton every facility exists for the work, and during the season of 1895 one million and a half of ova has been handled, 364,000 eyra ova have been sent out, and 820,000 fry hatched out. Most of the rivers and streams in the district have been well stocked with brown trout, and large quantities have been sent to the New South Wales Government and to kindred Societies in all parts of New Zealand. The Society has also taken an interest in ducks, pheasants and other imported birds. The report and balance sheet, which are made up to the 31st of March, 1895, for presentation to the annual meeting of members held in the month of September in each year, discloses a satisfactory state of things. The income from game licenses was £371, from fishing licenses £291; contributions by the Government of New South Wales and kindred institutions produced £296, making a grand total of about £1000. On the expenditure side, £573 is the outlay on the Masterton Hatchery and Fish Ponds. £63 was expended by the various sub-committees in the country towns, £210 represented the ranger's salary, and the balance is put down to sundries. The Society is energetically and economically managed, and has been a great success.
Mr. Alex. J. Rutherfurd, who has been Hon. Secretary for eleven years, and is now also the chairman, has been very persistent in his efforts to further the objects of the Society. He has recently returned from a holiday trip to England, during which he had the opportunity of inspecting the fish hatcheries in Italy, Alsace, Britain, and America. Though his absence from the meetings of the trustees was severely felt, as page 433 noted in the last report, there is no doubt that the knowledge gained during his journeyings will prove very beneficial to the Society, to whose interest he is so devoted.
The Wellington Agricultural and Pastoral Association, which is incorporated under Act of Parliament relating to such societies, was established in 1889. The objects of the Association are to hold periodical shows, and to encourage the rearing of well-bred stock and the development in agricultural products generally within the district. His Excellency the Governor is the patron of the Association. For the first two years the late Mr. W. H. Levin was president. Since that time the following gentlemen have successively occupied that position:—Dr. A. K. Newman, M.H.R., Messrs. W. E. Bidwill, W. A. Fitzherbert, W. H. Beetham, and E. W. Mills (1895). Messrs. F. Bradey and A. Matthews are vice-presidents. The general committee consists of Messrs. H. H. Beetham, W. H. Beetham, J. Bidwill, W. E. Bidwill, W. S. Broderick, A. D. Crawford, H. Eglinton, C. Elgar, W. A. Fitzherbert, H. Gillies, W. A. Grace, T. H. Hanna, W. Lingard, F. A. Majendie, A. McKenzie, W. H. Millward, C. W. Mullins, L. Nathan, Dr. A. K. Newman, Messrs. A. E. Pearce, E. J. Riddiford, G. H. Scales, D. Sladden, and J. Stuckey. Mr. R. Wilberfoss is the hon. treasurer, Mr. W. Skey acts as hon. analyst, Mr. T. Michie, M.R.C.V.S., as hon. veterinary surgeon, and Mr. G. H. Scales as secretary. Seven shows have been held under the auspices of this Society. The first three were at the Hutt Park, the last four were held in the property acquired by the Association for that purpose. The showground is situated within the borough of Petone, near the Lower Hutt railway station. The area is twenty acres, for which £100 per acre was paid. A good deal of money has been expended on the ground. The show oval is one of the finest in the Colony, and all needful yards and buildings have been erected. Notwithstanding the drawbacks arising from floods and wet show-days, the Society has had a considerable measure of success. At the first show the number of exhibits was 752, in 1894 it had increased to 860, and in 1895 the number was 1283.
Wellington Art Club. Officers for 1896, Messrs. J. M. Nairn (president), Dr. Fell (vice-president), J. H. W. Parsons, H. H. Seed, W. L. Palmer, and G. E. Butler (committee), M. C. Smith (hon. secretary and treasurer). This Club, which was established in 1892, includes nearly all the young working artists in Wellington, the membership being thirty-eight. Its objects are the encouragement of art by monthly meetings, at which papers are read, sketches exhibited or a model posed, by holding sketching excursions and generally to keep abreast with art matters in the “Older Land.” The distinctive feature of the Club is that it is run and ruled by the working members alone, the honorary members having no voice in its management. An annual exhibition takes place in the month of March, which is held in the Academy of Fine Arts, Whit-more Street, the successive exhibitions having grown in importance and merit, and at the time of writing (February, 1896) the next exhibition is anticipated and is likely to prove very attractive, special exhibits being expected from Australia. This successful Club was promoted by Messrs. J. M. Nairn, J. Baillie, W. L. Palmer, Dr. Fell and some others.
Mr. James McLachlan Nairn, President of the Wellington Art Club, was born near Glasgow. He was educated in art under the Glasgow School and on the Continent of Europe, and practised art before leaving for New Zealand. On account of bad health, Mr. Nairm came to Dunedin by ship “Forfarshire,” arriving on the 2nd of January, 1890. Soon after reaching the Edinburgh of New Zealand, he lectured on art, and exhibited sketches executed during the voyage. Mr. Nairn came on to Wellington, and soon after his arrival delivered a lecture to the students at the School of Design. He at once commenced the practice of his profession in Wellington. In 1891 he was appointed art instructor to the School of Design, which position he still fills. He was one of the first in New Zealand to start nude life classes, which have already resulted in several pupils proving themselves to have a good knowledge of the basis of art—“drawing.” As an artist, Mr. Nairn executes portraits, figure, and landscape work, and has done some important commissions in portraiture.
The Wellington Camera Club was founded in November, 1892. Its object is to encourage the study and practice of artistic and scientific photography. Its officers (1895–6) are—Messrs. A. de B. Brandon (president), A. McKay and J. McLellan (vice-presidents), F. Denton (secretary), T. M. Hardy (treasurer), and a committee of six members—Messrs. G. Crichton, E. W. Daniel, E. H. Freeman, A. B. Keyworth, T. Pringle, and Wm. C. Stephens. This successful Club has permanent quarters at No. 11 Exchange Buildings, Lambton Quay, which serves the purposes of a library and reading room for the members, of whom there are one hundred and ten. Monthly meetings of the Club are held, and at these photographic competitions take place, points being allotted to each competitor. At the end of the year two medals, a silver and a bronze, are allotted for the greatest number of points gained. During the winter months lantern slide competitions are held, which are very popular with members and their friends. The Club holds an annual exhibition of photographic art, assisted by the other clubs of the Colony.
The Wellington College Old Boys' Association. This Association was originally formed in August, 1885, the late Mr. William Fitzerald presiding at the meeting. For several years the Association was kept alive, but eventually became a “dead letter.” In March, 1891, it was revived, Mr. A. de B. Brandon (afterwards Mayor of Wellington) being elected chairman of the Council. The Association has now about 200 members. An annual dinner and ball take place under the auspices of the Association. The officers for 1896 are:—Messrs. J. P. Firth (chairman), W. Bethune, M. Myers, W. H. Denton, A. de B. Brandon, A. R. Meek, A. Young, B. A. Meek, M. Luckie, and B. Whitcombe (Council), and Messrs. A. M. Stuart and H. P. Tuckey joint honorary secretaries and treasurers.
The Wellington Commercial Travellers and Warehousemen's Association. Life Governors:—Messrs. Alfred J. Parsons, John Duthie, M.H.R., John Ross and Frank Neveller. President, Mr. John Ross. Trustees:—Messrs. M. Laing and J. H. Stringer. Committee:—Messrs. A. W. Booth, T. G. Brown, B. Buttle, G. Davies, S. Griffiths, J. A. Pike and W. J. Salmon (representing commercial travellers) and Messrs. W. G. Duthie, W. H. Harton, J. H. Owen and L. A. Williams (representing warehousemen). Hon. Treasurer, Mr. H. F. Upham. Secretary, Mr. J. J. Reich. Auditors:—Messrs. W. R. Cook and A. Kember. This society was started at the end of the year 1890 to provide a benevolent fund to grant relief to the widows and orphans of commercial travellers who are left in indigent circumstances. It has proved very beneficial, and has relieved many cases of distress. The annual reports, which have been exhibited to the writer, show steady progress and rapid accumulation of funds, which amounted to £682 at the beginning of the financial year in February, 1895. The members of the Association decided early in the year 1895 to erect a suitable building for the convenience of members, and a company has been incorporated to carry out the arrangements. Further particulars will be found under Wellington Commercial Travellers and Warehousemen's Club Company, Limited.
The Wellington Horticultural and Florists' Society has been in existence over eight years, and during this time has held some of the finest horticultural displays in New Zealand. Its objects are to promote the improvements and development of horticulture in all its branches. In the season of 1895–6 the Society arranged for three shows—Spring, Summer and Autumn, the last including a Chrysanthemum Show. His Excellency the Right Hon. the Earl of Glasgow, G.C.M.G., is Patron of the Society, the officers and committee being:—Mr. F. H. D. Bell, M.H.R. (president), The Right Rev. Dr. Wallis, Hon. Sir Robert Stout, K.C.M.G., M.H.R., Messrs. C. M. Luke, E. Pearce and A. de B. Brandon (vice presidents), L. G. Reid (chairman), W. H. P. Barber, G. Clapham, F. J. W. Fear, E. Focke, S. W. Green, C. J. Hill, T. H. Hustwick, A. McKay, W. H. Taylor, D. N. Wilkinson and C. H. Williams (committee), J. J. Kerslake (hon. treasurer), and Charles Callis (secretary). There is a ladies' committee, which consists of Mesdames F. H. D. Bell, A. de B. Brandon, J. Burne, Castendyk, Eberle, Focke, Hudson, C. H. Izard, T. K. Macdonald, C. B. Morison, J. Prouse, L. G. Reid, R. Triggs, Travers, and the Misses Pearce and Crease. The office of the Society is at 41 Featherston Street, Wellington.
Wellington Kennel Club. This Club is the outcome of a meeting held in December, 1888, to promote dog shows in Wellington. The Club was fairly launched in 1889, and the firs show held in 1890. Shows have been held annually ever since. The entries received for the Show of 1895 numbered 215. A photographic competition was also held in connection with the show. The Club's officers for 1895 were—Patron, His Excellency the Earl of Glasgow, G.C.M.G.; president, Dr. James; vice-presidents, Dr. Adams, Messrs. Cooper, Crawford, Hunter, Izard, Moorhouse, Triggs and Williams. Committee—Messrs. Bennie, Bannister, Bligh, Brown, Didsbury, Horax, Mackay, McDermid, Tuckey; hon. secretary and treasurer, A. W. J. Cook; auditor, L. J. Nathan; judge, J. W. Smyth (Melbourne).
The Wellington Philosophical Society. Officers; Messrs. T. W. Kirk, F.L.S. (president), W. T. L. Travers, F.L.S., and R. C. Harding (vice-presidents), W. M. Maskell, G. V. Hudson, F.E.S., E. Tregear, F.R.G.S., H. Farquhar, Sir J. Hector, K.C.M.G., F.R.S., and Sir W. Buller, K.C.M.G., F.R.S. (council), T. King (auditor), and R B. Gore (secretary and treasurer), This Society, which was established in 1851 by Sir George Grey, its first president, was inaugurated to promote the advancement of science, literature and art, and the development of the resources of the Colony. There are one hundred and thirty-five members of the Society. The Association became affiliated to the New Zealand Institute in 1867. Mr. Gore, who has filled the office of secretary for a quarter of a century, is also curator of the Museum, secretary of the New Zealand Institute, and meteorological observer and statist. Sir W. L. Buller, who has long been a member, is mentioned below.
Sir Walter Lawry Buller, K.C.M.G., F.R.S., the descendant of an ancient Cornish family, and the eldest surviving son of the late Rev. James Buller, was born at Newark, in the Bay of Islands, New Zealand, on the 9th of October, 1838. He received his early education at Auckland College, and afterwards became a pupil of William Swainson, F.R.S., the celebrated zoologist, who had settled in New Zealand. For a continuous period of fifteen years he held various official appointments, but chiefly in connection with native affairs, as he had early acquired a thorough knowledge of the Maori language, and on eight different occasions he received the special thanks of the colonial Government. During this time he also contributed largely to zoological literature, and was elected a Fellow of the Linnean and of various other societies. From 1855 to 1860 he acted as Government Interpreter and Native Commissioner. In 1861 he was appointed editor-in-chief of The Maori Messenger, an English and Maori journal published by authority. At the age of twenty-four he was appointed a Resident Magistrate, and three years later a Judge of the Native Land Court. In 1865 he served as a volunteer on Sir George Grey's staff, at the taking of the Wereroa Pah, for which he received the New Zealand war medal. On that occasion, declining the protection of a military escort, he carried the Governor's despatches at night through forty miles of the enemy's country, although attended only by a Maori orderly, for which gallant service he was mentioned in despatches. In 1871 he visited England, and two years later published a splendidly illustrated “History of the Birds of New Zealand.” The Royal University of Tübingen bestowed on him the honorary degree of Doctor of Science, and he received other foreign distinctions. In 1874 he was called to the Bar at the Inner Temple. In 1875 Her Majesty, in recognition of the value of his scientific work, created him a C.M.G., and in 1876 he was elected F.R.S. In 1882 he published a “Manual of the Birds of New Zealand” for the use of students; and in 1883 was awarded the gold medal of the New Zealand Exhibition for “Science and Literature.” From 1875 to 1885 he practised his profession in the Colony with page 435 remarkable success. In 1886 he returned to England as New Zealand Commissioner at the Colonial and Indian Exhibition, and for his services on that occasion was promoted by Her Majesty to the rank of K.C.M.G. In 1887 he was awarded the Galileian medal by the Royal University of Florence, and in 1888 he published a much larger edition of “The Birds of New Zealand” (Imperial quarto). Besides enjoying the dignity of a British Order, Sir Walter Buller holds the rank of “Officier” in the Legion of Honour. He is also “Officier de l'Instruction Publique” (Gold Palm of the Academy); Knight first-class of the Order of Francis Joseph of Austria; Knight first-class of the Order of Frederick of Wurtemberg; and Knight first-class of the Order of Merit of Hesse Darmstadt. The above sketch is taken from the last edition of Men of the Time (Routledge and Sons). It may be added that Sir Walter Buller now represents the Colony on the permanent governing body of the Imperial Institute; and that he has recently been made a Knight Commander of the Crown-of Italy. He is a widower, his wife having died in 1891. Lady Buller was the daughter of one of the early magistrates of the Colony and sister of Major Mair and Captain Mair, N.Z.C., who so distinguished themselves with the colonial forces during the Maori War. Sir Walter's permanent residence is in Wellington, but he owns a lovely country home sixty miles up the West Coast, where his two sons reside. This is the famous Lake Papaitonga—the “Beauty of the South,” as it has been called by the Maoris from time immemorial. It is acknowledged to be one of the choicest bits of scenery in New Zealand, with a wonderful admixture of mountain, woodland, and water; and the lake, which comprises 125 acres, is the secure asylum for all kinds of wildfowl, both native and introduced, which are of course rigidly protected.
The New Zealand Poultry, Pigeon and Canary Association. President, Mr. R. E. Bannister, Wellington; Secretary and Treasurer, Mr. Shepley Kestiven, Christchurch. “The objects of this Society, which was instituted about two years ago, are set forth in the Evening Post of the 18th of April, 1894. The New Zealand Poultry Association will serve the same good service as many more pretentious societies. It will bring together from various parts of the Colony, men engaged in a common pursuit that will enable them to compare notes and to compete in friendly rivalry, substituting a spirit of healthy emulation for narrow minded jealousy, and overweening self-conceit born of ignorance of the merits of others.” The Association was formed by Mr. Bannister, who is noticed below, assisted by Mr. Kestiven, the energetic secretary, who lives in Christchurch and fills a similar position for the Christchurch Poultry, Pigeon and Canary Association. The latter has long taken an interest in the fancy, and has been of the greatest assistance in arranging matters connected with this Association. The first championship meeting was held in Christchurch in 1894, and the second in Wellington in connection with the local exhibition in 1895, both being highly successful exhibitions.
The Wellington Poultry, Pigeon and Canary Society. Officers:—Mr. G. Fisher, Mayor (president), Dr. Newman, M.H.R., Dr. Adams, Messrs. J. Duthie, M.H.R., A. de B. Brandon, E. W. Mills, R. E. Bannister, E. B. Bristow, D. D. Hyde, F. Townsend, G. Donne, A. A. Elkins, I. James, F. Rogan and J. Kenning (vice-presidents), G. Remington, W. L. Curtis, E. Lowe, E. C. Farr, J. Besant, T. L. Barker and R. Buist (managing committee), E. B. Bristow (hon. treasurer), R. E. Bannister (hon. secretary). The judges are Mr. J. Maude, of Oakleigh, Melbourne, for poultry; Mr. W. H. Smith, of Sydney, for pigeons, and Mr. Scott, of Dunedin, for canaries and cage birds. This Society was established in 1881, and held its first exhibition in August, 1882. Annual shows have since been held, and these have done a great deal to stimulate the production of well-bred birds. At the thirteenth annual show, which was held in July, 1895, in conjunction with the second championship meeting, experienced judges, whose names are given above, officiated. The services of these gentlemen have been secured by the Wellington Society at great expense, and their presence was much appreciated. A considerable number of subscriptions, trophies, and specials, are annually presented by sympathisers to enable the committee to offer substantial prizes. The most valuable—the Balance Memorial Challenge fo Langshans, value, thirty guineas, was successfully floated by Mr. Rober Bannister. It was especially designed to perpetuate the memory of the late Hon. J. Ballance by Mr. F. Rogan, a most ardent fancier and a strong supporter of the Society. This trophy was raised by subscription, and is the most valuable prize ever offered at any similar show in the Colony. It must be won three times before it is the absolute property of the exhibitor. The Wellington, Poultry, Pigeon, and Canary Society has a large list of patronesses and patrons, which include many of the most influential ladies and gentlemen in the city.
Mr. Robert E. Bannister, President of the New Zealand Poultry, Pigeon and Canary Association and Hon. Secretary of the Wellington Poultry, Pigeon and Canary Society, claims the Empire City as his birthplace. Born in 1855 and educated at the late Mr. Holmes' and the late Mr. William Finnimore's schools, he served an apprenticeship of six years in the New Zealand Times Printing Office. On the completion of his term Mr. Bannister was promoted to the position of publisher, which he held for two years. In 1875 he joined the Evening Post in a similar capacity, and he has continually performed the duties up to the present time, which is practically that of manager of the commercial page 436 department of that well-conducted journal. It is not surprising that Mr. Bannister should have early developed a liking for fancy, seeing his father, the late Mr. E. Bannister, of Woodlawn, Johnsonville, had always a dairy farm on which the rearing of choice fowls has been a specialty. The subject of this notice has been connected with the Wellington Society since its infancy, and he is the founder of the New Zealand Association, which has made such an excellent beginning.
The Wellington Scenery Preservation Society. Patron, His Excellency the Earl of Glasgow; officers, Dr. Newman, M.H.R. (president), Messrs. E. W. Mills and L. G. Reid (vice-presidents), and Mr. B. M. Molineaux (treasurer). This Society was established in February, 1895, to endeavour to preserve national scenery and historical sites within the District of Wellington; to prevent the unnecessary destruction of native flora, especially along the banks of rivers and in steep places; to encourage tree-planting and the improvement of public reserves, and to co-operate with other kindred societies. Similar societies have been established in other parts of the Colony, and have already achieved most gratifying results. The Taranaki Society has been instrumental in securing large reserves of native forest, and has done much to beautify the town of New Plymouth. That these societies are engaged in laudable work no one will deny, for every effort should be made to preserve the national heritage before it is too late.
Wellington Shorthand Writers' Association. Officers (1896): Messrs. E. T. Gillon (president), A. W. Kitson (vice-president), Misses C. A. Barnicoat and K. Williams, and Messrs. H. D. Grocott, and W. E. Whyte (committee), H. W. Rowden (treasurer), and T. H. Cramp (secretary). The objects of the Society are to assist members to attain speed in phonography, the system practised being Pitman's. By permission of the Board of Education the weekly meetings are held in one of the Technical schoolrooms. Discussions take place as to the best methods of perfecting members in the system, and trial dictation forms part of the ordinary means employed to further the society's objects. Since the arrival in Wellington of Mr. A. W. Kitson, the vice-president, the Association has steadily prospered, the membership having increased to forty-five. Mr. Kitson has undertaken a course of monthly lectures to the Society on shorthand subjects, to which the public are admitted. These have been largely attended, and have proved very useful. In connection with the Association there is a movement on foot to establish in New Zealand a branch of the National Phonographic Society of England, which will be the first branch of the society established outside Great Britain.
Mr. Alfred William Kitson, Fellow of the National Phonographic Society, and Vice-President of the Wellington and Auckland Shorthand Writers' Associations, was born in Suffolk, England, in 1846. He was educated at Kensington, London, and at an early age acquired considerable dexterity in shorthand. He went to America, and was for two years employed as reporter on a Chicago daily newspaper. On his return to London he accepted, and for many years retained, a position in the office of an eminent legal firm. Among various appointments held by Mr. Kitson were those of hon, foreign secretary to the Shorthand Society, secretary to the International Shorthand Congress, 1887 (of which Lord Rosebery was president), and him, secretary to the committee of Sir Isaac Pitman's Jubilee celebration. He is a constant contributor to the shorthand periodicals, and a frequent lecturer upon stenography and cognate topics, Mr. Kitson came to New Zealand by the s.s. “Ruapehu” in September, 1891. A few days after arrival he joined the staff of the Bank of New Zealand, and on the removal of the head office from Auckland, was transferred, to Wellington.
The Women's Institute. The officers for 1896 are—Mesdamea F. Jones (president), A. W. Booth and Boyes (vice-presidents), E. Hume (secretary), and Miss Lee (assistant secretary). The Institute was established in 1805. Its objects are to conserve the interests of the sex, the members pledging themselves to stand together as women, apart from all considerations of class or party, and matters pertaining to material and social advancement. Meetings of the Women's Institute are held periodically to elect new members and discuss matters of general interest.
The Yorkshire Society of New Zealand was established on the 29th of November, 1895, The first officers of the Society are, president, Rev, J. C. Andrew (Whitby), Ica Station, Masterton; vice-presidents, Messrs. T, H. Hustwick (Hull) and C, Wilson (Harrogate); committee, Messrs. H. Flockton (Wakefield), J. Charlesworth (Dewsbury), H. Hurrell (Bradford), W. Furness (Birstall), A. H. Motley (Leeds), H. Brook (Huddersfield), and P. Penty (York); hon. secretary and treasurer, Mr. P. Bedford (Heckmondwike). The names given above in brackets signify the birthplaces of the respective gentlemen, and will serve to show that the county is well represented. The objects of the Society are to promote unity and good fellowship among Yorkshiremen; to draw them together in friendly and social intercourse; to maintain a patriotic attachment to the county of their birth; and to render friendly assistance and information to Yorkshiremen.
Mr. Frank Bedford, Hon. Secretary and Treasurer of the Yorkshire Society, is the step-son of Mr. H. Flockton, of Manners Street. Mr. Bedford was born in 1856 at Heckmondwike, Yorkshire, was educated at a private school, and was brought up to the furniture trade in his native town. For three years before starting for the Colony he was employed in a large co-operative establishment in Manchester, which is now said to be doing a business of ten millions annually. He came to the Colony with Mr. Floekton, arriving in Port Chalmers in 1880 per ship “Padishah,” and settled in Wellington. With the exception of a short time at the building trade, Mr. Bedford has been associated with Mr. Floekton in his large business since arriving in the capital.
Operatic And Dramatic.
Wellington Amateur Operatic and Dramatic Society. His Excellency the Governor, patron. Officers: Messrs. P. Parfitt (president), J. Duthie, M.H.R., Dr. Collins, W. Ferguson, and J, Coates (vice-presidents), P. Levi (hon. secretary), A. E. Mabin (hon. treasurer), W. D. Lyon (chairman of committee), and A. Levi (stage manager). The Wellington Amateur Operatic Society was established in 1888, and three years later an amalgamation was effected with the Wellington Amateur Dramatic Club, the name being altered to the present style. Already twelve opera seasons have been produced by the Club, with a considerable amount of success.