Picturesque Dunedin: or Dunedin and its neighbourhood in 1890
The First School and Teacher
The First School and Teacher.
Among those who arrived in the ship "Philip Laing," in April, 1848, along with the Rev. Thomas Burns and other immigrants, was Mr. James Blaekie, whom the Otago Association had page 140appointed Schoolmaster of the settlement. He conducted a school with much acceptance in a portion of the original First Church building until September, 1850, when failing health compelled him to retire from active duty. He left for Sydney shortly afterwards for change of air, but he survived only a few months. When Mr. Blackie left Dunedin, his friend Mr. James Elder Brown, now of Milton, was prevailed upon to take temporary charge of the school, with a view to its being kept open. Mr. Brown can thus claim to be the oldest ex-teacher of an Otago public school now living.